Skip to content

Bevacizumab With or Without Radiation Therapy in Treating Patients With Recurrent Glioblastoma

Randomized Phase II Trial of Concurrent Bevacizumab and Re-Irradiation Versus Bevacizumab Alone as Treatment for Recurrent Glioblastoma

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT01730950
Enrollment
182
Registered
2012-11-21
Start date
2012-12-20
Completion date
2022-12-22
Last updated
2022-12-29

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Adult Giant Cell Glioblastoma, Adult Glioblastoma, Adult Gliosarcoma, Recurrent Adult Brain Tumor

Brief summary

This randomized phase II trial studies how well bevacizumab with or without radiation therapy works in treating patients with recurrent glioblastoma. Monoclonal antibodies, such as bevacizumab, can block tumor growth in different ways. Some block the ability of tumor cells to grow and spread. Others find tumor cells and help kill them or carry cancer-killing substances to them. Specialized radiation therapy that delivers a high dose of radiation directly to the tumor may kill more tumor cells and cause less damage to normal tissue. It is not yet know whether bevacizumab is more effective with or without radiation therapy in treating patients with recurrent glioblastoma

Detailed description

PRIMARY OBJECTIVES: I. To establish an improvement in overall survival in recurrent glioblastoma (GBM) patients receiving bevacizumab and re-irradiation compared with patients receiving bevacizumab alone. SECONDARY OBJECTIVES: I. To estimate and compare the rate of objective response in patients with measurable disease. II. To estimate and compare the 6-month progression-free survival rate. III. To estimate and compare progression-free survival. IV. To estimate and compare the rate of treatment adverse events. V. To estimate and compare the rate of grade 3+ acute or delayed central nervous system (CNS) toxicity. OUTLINE: Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms. In both arms, courses repeat every 2 weeks in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. After completion of study treatment, patients are followed up every 2 months for 1 year, every 6 months for 1 year and then annually thereafter.

Interventions

BIOLOGICALbevacizumab

Staring within 14 days of randomization, IV 10mg/kg every two weeks until disease progression.

RADIATIONradiation therapy

Starting with second dose of bevacizumab, 35 Gy in 10 fractions of 3.5 Gy each delivered on consecutive treatment days (typically 5 fractions per week).

Sponsors

National Cancer Institute (NCI)
CollaboratorNIH
Radiation Therapy Oncology Group
Lead SponsorNETWORK

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Histopathologically proven diagnosis of glioblastoma or variants (gliosarcoma, giant cell glioblastoma etc); patients will be eligible if the original histology was lower-grade glioma and a subsequent diagnosis of glioblastoma or gliosarcoma is made * Patients who did not have recent surgery for their glioblastoma must have shown unequivocal radiographic evidence for tumor progression by contrast-enhanced magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) scan (or computed tomography \[CT\] scan for patients with non-compatible devices) CT scan within 21 days prior to registration. \* Note: Patients who did have surgery with a post-operative contrast-enhance scan falling outside the 5 week window prior to registration, must have a repeat MRI scan (or CT scan for patients with non-compatible devices) within 21 days prior to registration. * Patients also must have passed an interval of 6 months or greater between completion of prior radiotherapy and registration; if patients have not passed an interval of at least 6 months, they may still be eligible if they meet one or more of the following criteria: * New areas of tumor outside the original radiotherapy fields as determined by the investigator, or * Histologic confirmation of tumor through biopsy or resection, or * Nuclear medicine imaging, magnetic resonance (MR) spectroscopy, or MR perfusion imaging consistent with true progressive disease, rather than radiation necrosis obtained within 28 days of registration AND an interval of at least 90 days between completion of radiotherapy and registration * Patients unable to undergo MR imaging because of non-compatible devices can be enrolled provided CT scans are obtained and are of sufficient quality; patients without non-compatible devices may not use CT scans performed to meet this requirement * Prior history of standard dose CNS radiation of 60 Gy in 30 fractions or 59.4 Gy in 1.8 Gy fractions, or equivalent or lower doses * Patients who have received prior treatment with non-standard radiation therapy (RT) dose and fractionation, interstitial brachytherapy, stereotactic radiosurgery, etc. are eligible * Patients must have recovered from the toxic effects of prior therapy, and there must be a minimum time of 28 days prior to registration from the administration of any investigational agent or prior cytotoxic therapy with the following exceptions: * 14 days from administration of vincristine * 42 days from administration of nitrosoureas * 21 days from administration of procarbazine * Patients having undergone recent resection of their glioblastoma (within 5 weeks prior to registration) must have recovered from the effects of surgery; for CNS related core or needle biopsies, a minimum of 7 days must have elapsed prior to registration * Residual disease following resection of recurrent glioblastoma is not mandated for eligibility into the study; to best assess the extent of residual disease post-operatively, a post-operative or intra-operative MRI scan (or CT scan for patients with non-compatible devices) must be performed prior to registration and should be within 96 hours post surgery (although 24 hours would be optimum) * History/physical examination, including neurologic examination, within 14 days prior to registration * Karnofsky performance status \>= 60 within 14 days prior to registration * Complete blood count (CBC)/differential obtained within 14 days prior to registration, with adequate bone marrow function * Absolute neutrophil count (ANC) \>= 1,500 cells/mm\^3 * Platelets \>= 75,000 cells/mm\^3 * Hemoglobin \>= 9.0 g/dl (Note: the use of transfusion or other intervention to achieve hemoglobin (Hgb) \>= 9.0 g/dl is acceptable) * Total bilirubin =\< 2.0 mg/dL * Serum glutamic oxaloacetic transaminase (SGOT) or aspartate aminotransferase (AST) =\< 2.5 times the upper limit of normal * Serum creatinine =\< 1.8 mg/dL * Urine protein creatinine (UPC) ratio \>= 1.0 within 14 days prior to registration OR urine dipstick for proteinuria \>= 2+ (patients discovered to have \>= 2+ proteinuria on dipstick urinalysis at baseline should undergo a 24-hour urine collection and must demonstrate =\< 1g of protein in 24 hours to be eligible) * Note: UPC ratio of spot urine is an estimation of the 24-hour urine protein excretion; a UPC ratio of 1 is roughly equivalent to a 24-hour urine protein of 1 gm; UPC ratio is calculated using one of the following formulas: * \[urine protein\]/\[urine creatinine\]: if both protein and creatinine are reported in mg/dL * \[(urine protein) x 0.088\]/\[urine creatinine\]: if urine creatinine is reported in mmol/L * Patients must not be pregnant (positive pregnancy test) or breast feeding; pregnancy test must be done within 14 days prior to registration; effective contraception (men and women) must be used in patients of child-bearing potential while on trial and for 6 months after * Patients on full-dose anticoagulants (e.g., warfarin or low molecular weight (LMW) heparin) must meet both of the following criteria: * No active bleeding or pathological condition that carries a high risk of bleeding (e.g., tumor involving major vessels or known varices) * In-range international normalized ratio (INR) (usually between 2 and 3) on a stable dose of oral anticoagulant or on a stable dose of low molecular weight heparin, within 14 days prior to registration * Patient must be able to provide study-specific informed consent prior to study entry

Exclusion criteria

* More than three relapses * Infratentorial or leptomeningeal evidence of recurrent disease * Recurrent or persistent tumor greater than 6 cm in maximum diameter * Prior therapy with an inhibitor of vascular endothelial growth factor (VEGF) or VEGFR (including bevacizumab) * Prior invasive malignancy (except non-melanomatous skin cancer) unless disease free for a minimum of 1 year (for example, carcinoma in situ of the breast, oral cavity, or cervix are all permissible) * Severe, active co-morbidity, defined as follows: * Unstable angina and/or congestive heart failure requiring hospitalization within the last 6 months prior to registration * Transmural myocardial infarction within the last 6 months prior to registration * History of stroke or transient ischemic attack within 6 months prior to registration * Significant vascular disease (e.g., aortic aneurysm, history of aortic dissection) or clinically significant peripheral vascular disease * Acute bacterial or fungal infection requiring intravenous antibiotics at the time of registration * Chronic obstructive pulmonary disease exacerbation or other respiratory illness requiring hospitalization or precluding study therapy at the time of registration * Hepatic insufficiency resulting in clinical jaundice and/or coagulation defects; note, however, that laboratory tests for liver function other than screening panel and coagulation parameters are not required for entry into this protocol * Acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS) based upon current Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) definition; note, however, that human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) testing is not required for entry into this protocol; the need to exclude patients with AIDS from this protocol is necessary because the treatments involved in this protocol may be significantly immunosuppressive; protocol specific requirements may also exclude immuno-compromised patients * Pregnancy or women of childbearing potential and men who are sexually active and not willing/able to use medically acceptable forms of contraception; this exclusion is necessary because the treatment involved in this study may be significantly teratogenic * Prior allergic reaction to the study drug (bevacizumab) * Prior history of hypertensive crisis or hypertensive encephalopathy * History of a non-healing wound, ulcer, or bone fracture within 90 days (3 months) prior to registration * Gastrointestinal bleeding or any other hemorrhage/bleeding event Common Terminology Criteria for adverse Events (CTCAE), v. 4 grade 3 or greater within 30 days prior to registration * Major surgical procedure, open biopsy, or significant traumatic injury within 28 days prior to registration (with the exception of craniotomy)

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Overall SurvivalFrom randomization to last follow-up. Maximum follow-up at time of analysis was 52.8 months.Survival time is defined as time from randomization to the date of death from any cause or last known follow-up (censored). Survival rates are estimated by the Kaplan-Meier method. The protocol specifies that the distributions of failure times will be compared between the arms, which is reported in the statistical analysis results. Eighteen-month rates are provided. Analysis was planned to occur when 135 deaths were reported.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Percentage of Participants With Complete or Partial Best ResponseFrom randomization to last follow-up. Maximum follow-up at time of analysis was 52.8 months.Best observed objective response determined by serial measures of the product of the two largest perpendicular cross-sectional diameters using MacDonald Criteria: * Complete Response (CR): complete disappearance of measurable enhancing lesion sustained ≥ 4 weeks; and no new lesions; and no corticosteroids. * Partial Response (PR): ≥ 50% decrease from baseline in sum of products of the measurable enhancing lesion sustained ≥ 4 weeks; and no new lesions; and stable/reduced corticosteroid dose. * Progression (P): ≥ 25% increase in sum of products of enhancing lesions (patient has not had steroid dose decreased since the last evaluation period); or any new lesions. A concomitant decrease in steroid dose rules out progression designation during initial 12 weeks after radiotherapy. * Stable Disease (SD): all of following: does not qualify for CR, PR, or P; receiving stable/decreasing doses of steroids. Estimated using an exact binomial distribution.
Percentage of Participants Progression-free at 6 MonthsFrom randomization to six monthsBest observed objective response determined by serial measures of the product of the two largest perpendicular cross-sectional diameters using MacDonald Criteria: Progression (P): ≥ 25% increase in sum of products of enhancing lesions (patient has not had steroid dose decreased since the last evaluation period); or any new lesions. A concomitant decrease in steroid dose rules out progression designation during initial 12 weeks after radiotherapy. Progression-free at 6 months means patient alive without progression at 6 months.
Progression-free SurvivalFrom randomization to last follow-up. Maximum follow-up at time of analysis was 52.8 months.Progression using using MacDonald Criteria is defined as ≥ 25% increase from baseline in sum of products of the two largest perpendicular cross-sectional diameters of enhancing lesions (patient has not had steroid dose decreased since the last evaluation period); or any new lesions. A concomitant decrease in steroid dose rules out progression designation during initial 12 weeks after radiotherapy. Progression-free survival time is defined as time from randomization to the date of first progression, death, or last known follow-up (censored). Progression-free survival rates are estimated using the Kaplan-Meier method. The protocol specifies that the distributions of failure times will be compared between the arms, which is reported in the statistical analysis results. Eighteen-month rates are provided. Analysis was planned to occur when 135 deaths were reported.
Percentage of Participants With Grade 3+ Central Nervous System (CNS) Toxicity Within 90 Days of Start of Radiation Therapy Reported as Possibly/Probably/Definitely Related to Protocol TreatmentFrom randomization to last follow-up. Maximum follow-up at time of analysis was 52.8 months.Adverse events were graded using the Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) v3.0. Grade refers to the severity of the AE. The CTCAE v3.0 assigns Grades 1 through 5 with unique clinical descriptions of severity for each AE based on this general guideline: Grade 1 Mild, Grade 2 Moderate, Grade 3 Severe, Grade 4 Life-threatening or disabling, Grade 5 Death related to AE.
Number of Participants With Grade 3+ CNS Toxicity More Than 90 Days of Start of Radiation Therapy Reported as Possibly/Probably/Definitely Related to Protocol TreatmentFrom 91 days after the start of radiation therapy to end of follow-up. Maximum follow-up at the time of analysis is 58.2 months.Adverse events were graded using the Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) v3.0. Grade refers to the severity of the AE. The CTCAE v3.0 assigns Grades 1 through 5 with unique clinical descriptions of severity for each AE based on this general guideline: Grade 1 Mild, Grade 2 Moderate, Grade 3 Severe, Grade 4 Life-threatening or disabling, Grade 5 Death related to AE. Estimated using an exact binomial distribution together with 95% confidence interval. The difference between the two groups will be tested using a chi square test.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Bevacizumab
Bevacizumab (IV 10mg/kg) every 2 weeks until disease progression.
84
Bevacizumab + RT
Radiation therapy (35Gy in 10 fractions of 3.5 Gy) with bevacizumab (IV 10mg/kg) every 2 weeks until disease progression.
86
Total170

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001
Overall StudyProtocol Violation66

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicBevacizumabBevacizumab + RTTotal
Age, Continuous57 years60 years59 years
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
8 Participants3 Participants11 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
72 Participants81 Participants153 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
4 Participants2 Participants6 Participants
Histologic Tumor Type
Glioblastoma (WHO Grade IV)
79 Participants82 Participants161 Participants
Histologic Tumor Type
Gliosarcoma
2 Participants2 Participants4 Participants
Histologic Tumor Type
Other
3 Participants2 Participants5 Participants
Karnofsky Performance Status
60
3 Participants8 Participants11 Participants
Karnofsky Performance Status
70-80
42 Participants41 Participants83 Participants
Karnofsky Performance Status
90-100
39 Participants37 Participants76 Participants
Neurologic Function
Minor symptoms
40 Participants36 Participants76 Participants
Neurologic Function
Moderate symptoms (fully active)
17 Participants15 Participants32 Participants
Neurologic Function
Moderate symptoms (required assistance)
6 Participants9 Participants15 Participants
Neurologic Function
No symptoms
21 Participants24 Participants45 Participants
Neurologic Function
Severe symptoms
0 Participants2 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
4 Participants0 Participants4 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
6 Participants2 Participants8 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
3 Participants2 Participants5 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
5 Participants7 Participants12 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
66 Participants75 Participants141 Participants
Recent Resection
No / biopsy only
49 Participants57 Participants106 Participants
Recent Resection
Yes
35 Participants29 Participants64 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
38 Participants43 Participants81 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
46 Participants43 Participants89 Participants
Surgery for Initial Brain Tumor
Biopsy only
8 Participants7 Participants15 Participants
Surgery for Initial Brain Tumor
Gross total resection
56 Participants52 Participants108 Participants
Surgery for Initial Brain Tumor
Other
0 Participants2 Participants2 Participants
Surgery for Initial Brain Tumor
Subtotal resection
20 Participants25 Participants45 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
4 / 768 / 83
other
Total, other adverse events
70 / 7673 / 83
serious
Total, serious adverse events
27 / 7629 / 83

Outcome results

Primary

Overall Survival

Survival time is defined as time from randomization to the date of death from any cause or last known follow-up (censored). Survival rates are estimated by the Kaplan-Meier method. The protocol specifies that the distributions of failure times will be compared between the arms, which is reported in the statistical analysis results. Eighteen-month rates are provided. Analysis was planned to occur when 135 deaths were reported.

Time frame: From randomization to last follow-up. Maximum follow-up at time of analysis was 52.8 months.

Population: Eligible participants

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
BevacizumabOverall Survival25.1 percentage of participants
Bevacizumab + RTOverall Survival21.6 percentage of participants
Comparison: Null hypothesis: median survival time for both arms is 9 months; alternative hypothesis: participants receiving radiation therapy plus bevacizumab will have an improvement in median survival time to 13 months. One hundred and sixty eligible participants provides 80% power to detect a 31% reduction in the hazard ratio to 0.69 at a one-sided significance level of 0.10. Analysis was planned to occur when 135 deaths were reported, expected to occur 16 to 21 months after trial closure.p-value: 0.4695% CI: [0.7, 1.38]Log Rank
Secondary

Number of Participants With Grade 3+ CNS Toxicity More Than 90 Days of Start of Radiation Therapy Reported as Possibly/Probably/Definitely Related to Protocol Treatment

Adverse events were graded using the Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) v3.0. Grade refers to the severity of the AE. The CTCAE v3.0 assigns Grades 1 through 5 with unique clinical descriptions of severity for each AE based on this general guideline: Grade 1 Mild, Grade 2 Moderate, Grade 3 Severe, Grade 4 Life-threatening or disabling, Grade 5 Death related to AE. Estimated using an exact binomial distribution together with 95% confidence interval. The difference between the two groups will be tested using a chi square test.

Time frame: From 91 days after the start of radiation therapy to end of follow-up. Maximum follow-up at the time of analysis is 58.2 months.

Population: Eligible participants on the radiation therapy arm who started radiation therapy and were alive at least 91 days from the start of radiation therapy

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
BevacizumabNumber of Participants With Grade 3+ CNS Toxicity More Than 90 Days of Start of Radiation Therapy Reported as Possibly/Probably/Definitely Related to Protocol Treatment0 Participants
Secondary

Percentage of Participants Progression-free at 6 Months

Best observed objective response determined by serial measures of the product of the two largest perpendicular cross-sectional diameters using MacDonald Criteria: Progression (P): ≥ 25% increase in sum of products of enhancing lesions (patient has not had steroid dose decreased since the last evaluation period); or any new lesions. A concomitant decrease in steroid dose rules out progression designation during initial 12 weeks after radiotherapy. Progression-free at 6 months means patient alive without progression at 6 months.

Time frame: From randomization to six months

Population: Eligible participants with data at six months

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
BevacizumabPercentage of Participants Progression-free at 6 Months29.1 percentage of participants
Bevacizumab + RTPercentage of Participants Progression-free at 6 Months54.3 percentage of participants
p-value: 0.001Chi-squared
Secondary

Percentage of Participants With Complete or Partial Best Response

Best observed objective response determined by serial measures of the product of the two largest perpendicular cross-sectional diameters using MacDonald Criteria: * Complete Response (CR): complete disappearance of measurable enhancing lesion sustained ≥ 4 weeks; and no new lesions; and no corticosteroids. * Partial Response (PR): ≥ 50% decrease from baseline in sum of products of the measurable enhancing lesion sustained ≥ 4 weeks; and no new lesions; and stable/reduced corticosteroid dose. * Progression (P): ≥ 25% increase in sum of products of enhancing lesions (patient has not had steroid dose decreased since the last evaluation period); or any new lesions. A concomitant decrease in steroid dose rules out progression designation during initial 12 weeks after radiotherapy. * Stable Disease (SD): all of following: does not qualify for CR, PR, or P; receiving stable/decreasing doses of steroids. Estimated using an exact binomial distribution.

Time frame: From randomization to last follow-up. Maximum follow-up at time of analysis was 52.8 months.

Population: Eligible participants with response evaluations

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
BevacizumabPercentage of Participants With Complete or Partial Best Response20.5 percentage of participants
Bevacizumab + RTPercentage of Participants With Complete or Partial Best Response29.9 percentage of participants
p-value: 0.18Chi-squared
Secondary

Percentage of Participants With Grade 3+ Central Nervous System (CNS) Toxicity Within 90 Days of Start of Radiation Therapy Reported as Possibly/Probably/Definitely Related to Protocol Treatment

Adverse events were graded using the Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) v3.0. Grade refers to the severity of the AE. The CTCAE v3.0 assigns Grades 1 through 5 with unique clinical descriptions of severity for each AE based on this general guideline: Grade 1 Mild, Grade 2 Moderate, Grade 3 Severe, Grade 4 Life-threatening or disabling, Grade 5 Death related to AE.

Time frame: From randomization to last follow-up. Maximum follow-up at time of analysis was 52.8 months.

Population: Eligible participants on the radiation therapy arm who started radiation therapy

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
BevacizumabPercentage of Participants With Grade 3+ Central Nervous System (CNS) Toxicity Within 90 Days of Start of Radiation Therapy Reported as Possibly/Probably/Definitely Related to Protocol Treatment4.8 percentage of participants
Secondary

Progression-free Survival

Progression using using MacDonald Criteria is defined as ≥ 25% increase from baseline in sum of products of the two largest perpendicular cross-sectional diameters of enhancing lesions (patient has not had steroid dose decreased since the last evaluation period); or any new lesions. A concomitant decrease in steroid dose rules out progression designation during initial 12 weeks after radiotherapy. Progression-free survival time is defined as time from randomization to the date of first progression, death, or last known follow-up (censored). Progression-free survival rates are estimated using the Kaplan-Meier method. The protocol specifies that the distributions of failure times will be compared between the arms, which is reported in the statistical analysis results. Eighteen-month rates are provided. Analysis was planned to occur when 135 deaths were reported.

Time frame: From randomization to last follow-up. Maximum follow-up at time of analysis was 52.8 months.

Population: Eligible participants

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
BevacizumabProgression-free Survival8.9 percentage of participants
Bevacizumab + RTProgression-free Survival7.9 percentage of participants
p-value: 0.0595% CI: [0.53, 1]Log Rank

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 8, 2026