Skip to content

A Frontline Therapy Trial in Participants With Advanced Classical Hodgkin Lymphoma

A Randomized, Open-label, Phase 3 Trial of A+AVD Versus ABVD as Frontline Therapy in Patients With Advanced Classical Hodgkin Lymphoma

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT01712490
Enrollment
1334
Registered
2012-10-23
Start date
2012-11-09
Completion date
2026-02-02
Last updated
2026-02-27

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Hodgkin Lymphoma

Keywords

Hodgkin Lymphoma, Hodgkins Lymphoma, Antibody, Monoclonal, Antibody-Drug Conjugate, Antigens, CD-30, Immunotherapy, Lymphoma, Lymphoma, Classical, ECHELON-1

Brief summary

This open-label, randomized, 2-arm, multicenter, phase 3 study has the primary objective of comparing the modified progression-free survival (mPFS) obtained with brentuximab vedotin (ADCETRIS®) plus AVD (doxorubicin \[Adriamycin\], vinblastine, and dacarbazine; abbreviated A+AVD) versus that obtained with ABVD (doxorubicin \[Adriamycin\],bleomycin, vinblastine, and dacarbazine) for the frontline treatment of advanced classical Hodgkin lymphoma(HL)

Interventions

DRUGbrentuximab vedotin

Brentuximab vedotin (ADCETRIS®)1.2 mg/kg by IV infusion on Days 1 and 15 of each 28-day cycle.

DRUGdoxorubicin

Doxorubicin: 25 mg/m\^2 by IV infusion on Days 1 and 15 of each 28-day cycle.

DRUGbleomycin

Bleomycin: 10 units/m\^2 by IV infusion on Days 1 and 15 of each 28-day cycle.

DRUGvinblastine

Vinblastine: 6 mg/m2 will be administered by IV infusion on Days 1 and 15 of each 28-day cycle

DRUGdacarbazine

Dacarbazine (DTIC): 375 mg/m\^2 by IV infusion on Days 1 and 15 of each 28-day cycle.

Sponsors

Takeda
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY
Seagen Inc.
CollaboratorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

1. Treatment-naïve participants with Ann Arbor Stage III or IV HL. 2. Histologically confirmed classical Hodgkin Lymphoma (HL) according to the current World Health Organization (WHO) classification. 3. Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status less than or equal to (\<=) 2. 4. Bidimensional measurable disease as documented by radiographic technique per the International Working Group Revised Criteria for Response Assessment for Malignant Lymphoma.

Exclusion criteria

1. Nodular lymphocyte predominant Hodgkin lymphoma. 2. Cerebral/meningeal disease, including signs and symptoms of progressive multifocalleukoencephalopathy (PML). 3. Sensory or motor peripheral neuropathy. 4. Prior immunosuppressive chemotherapy, therapeutic radiation, or any immunotherapy within 12 weeks of first study drug dose. 5. Known human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) positive. 6. Known hepatitis B surface antigen-positive, or known or suspected active hepatitis C infection. Please note that there are additional

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Modified Progression-free Survival (mPFS) Per Independent Review Facility (IRF)Baseline until PD or death or receipt of any subsequent anticancer therapy for HL after completion of frontline therapy (approximately up to 4 years)mPFS was defined as the time from the date of randomization to the date of the first of documentation of progressive disease (PD), death due to any cause, or for participants who were confirmed non complete responders per IRF, receipt of subsequent anticancer therapy for Hodgkin lymphoma (HL) after completion of frontline therapy. PD was defined as any new lesion or increase by greater than or equal to (\>=) 50 percent (%) of previously involved sites from nadir. Frontline therapy is the part of standard set of treatments.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Overall Survival (OS)Baseline until death (approximately up to 4 years)OS was defined as the time from the date of randomization to the date of death. Participants without documented death at the time of analysis were censored at the date last known to be alive.
Complete Remission (CR) Rate at the End of Randomized Regimen Per IRFBaseline up to end of randomized regimen (approximately 1 year)CR rate at the end of randomized regimen per investigator was defined as the percentage of participants who achieved CR at the end of treatment with randomized regimen (ABVD or A+AVD) as determined by IRF. CR was defined as disappearance of all evidence of disease.
Number of Participants Who Experience at Least One Treatment Emergent Adverse Event (TEAE) and Serious Adverse Event (SAE)Baseline up to 30 days after last dose of study drug (approximately 1 year)
Number of Participants With Abnormal Clinical Laboratory ValuesBaseline up to 30 days after last dose of study drug (approximately 1 year)
Event-free Survival (EFS) Per IRFBaseline until PD or discontinuation of treatment or death, whichever occurs first (approximately up to 4 years)EFS was defined as the time from randomization until any cause of treatment failure: PD, premature discontinuation of randomized treatment for any reason, or death due to any cause, whichever occurs first. PD was defined as any new lesion or increase by \>=50% of previously involved sites from nadir per IRF.
Disease-free Survival (DFS) Per IRFFrom CR until PD or death (approximately up to 4 years)DFS per IRF was defined as the time from CR to disease progression as determined by an IRF or to death from lymphoma or acute toxicity from treatment. CR was defined as disappearance of all evidence of disease.
Overall Response Rate (ORR) Per IRFBaseline up to end of randomized regimen (approximately 1 year)ORR per IRF was defined as the percentage of participants who achieved CR or partial remission (PR) at the end of treatment with randomized regimen (ABVD or A+AVD) as determined by an IRF. CR was defined as disappearance of all evidence of disease. PR was defined as regression of measurable disease and no new sites.
Duration of Response (DOR) Per IRFFrom first documented response until PD (approximately 4 years)DOR per IRF in participants with response was the time between first documentation of response (PR or CR) and PD as determined by an IRF. PD was defined as any new lesion or increase by \>=50% of previously involved sites from nadir. CR was defined as disappearance of all evidence of disease. PR was defined as regression of measurable disease and no new sites.
Duration of Complete Remission (DOCR) Per IRFFrom first documentation of CR until PD (approximately 4 years)DOCR per IRF in participants with CR was the time between first documentation of CR and PD as determined by an IRF. PD was defined as any new lesion or increase by \>=50% of previously involved sites from nadir. CR was defined as disappearance of all evidence of disease.
Percentage of Participants Not in CR Per IRF Who Received Subsequent Radiation After Completion of Frontline TherapyBaseline up to end of frontline therapy (approximately 4 years)CR was defined as disappearance of all evidence of disease as determined by an IRF.
Complete Remission (CR) Per IRF Rate at the End of Frontline TherapyBaseline up to end of frontline therapy (approximately 4 years)CR rate at the end of frontline therapy per IRF was defined as the percentage of participants who achieved CR at the end of frontline therapy that is after completion of either randomized regimen or alternate frontline therapy as determined by an IRF. CR was defined as disappearance of all evidence of disease.
Positron Emission Tomography (PET) Negativity Rate Per IRF at Cycle 2Cycle 2 Day 25PET negativity rate at Cycle 2 was defined as the percentage of participants with negative Cycle 2 PET results defined as Deauville score less than or equal to (\<=) 3 at Cycle 2. The Deauville score according to IRF assessment of response was used to evaluate the results of PET scans.
A+AVD: Cmax: Maximum Observed Serum Concentration for Brentuximab Vedotin Antibody-drug Conjugate (ADC) and Total Antibody (TAb)Cycle 1 Day 1 and Cycle 3 Day 1: pre-dose and at multiple timepoints (up to 48 hours) post-dose
A+AVD: Cmax: Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration for Brentuximab Vedotin Monomethyl Auristatin E (MMAE)Cycle 1 Day 1 and Cycle 3 Day 1: pre-dose and at multiple timepoints (up to 48 hours) post-dose
A+AVD: AUCinf: Area Under the Plasma Concentration-time Curve From Time 0 to Infinity for Brentuximab Vedotin ADC and TAbCycle 1 Day 1: pre-dose and at multiple timepoints (up to 48 hours) post-dose
A+AVD: AUCinf: Area Under the Plasma Concentration-time Curve From Time 0 to Infinity for Brentuximab Vedotin MMAECycle 1 Day 1: pre-dose and at multiple timepoints (up to 48 hours) post-dose
A+AVD: Number of Participants With Antitherapeutic Antibody (ATA) and Neutralizing Antitherapeutic Antibody (nATA) Positive for Brentuximab VedotinBaseline up to end of treatment (approximately 1 year)The nATA positive was defined as positive ATA with neutralizing activity at any postbaseline visit.
Change From Baseline in Patient-Reported Outcome (PRO) Scores by mPFS Based on European Organization for Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC) Quality of Life Questionnaire-C30 (EORTC QLQ-C30) at EOTBaseline up to end of treatment (approximately 1 year)EORTC QLQ-C30 included 30 items across 5 functional scales (physical, role, cognitive, emotional, and social), 9 symptom scales (fatigue, nausea and vomiting, pain, dyspnea, insomnia, appetite loss, constipation, diarrhea, and financial difficulties) and global health status/QOL scale. It has 28 questions (4-point scale where 1=not at all \[best\] to 4=Very Much \[worst\]) and 2 questions (7-point scale where 1=very poor \[worst\] to 7= excellent \[best\]). Raw scores were converted into scale scores from 0 to 100. For functional scales and global health status/QOL scale, higher scores show better QOL; for symptom scales, lower scores show better QOL. mPFS was time from date of randomization to date of first of documentation of PD, death due to any cause, or for participants who were confirmed non complete responders per IRF, receipt of subsequent anticancer therapy for HL after completion of frontline therapy. PD is any new lesion or increase by \>=50% of previously involved sites from nadir.

Countries

Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Czechia, Denmark, France, Hong Kong, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Norway, Poland, Russia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Taiwan, Turkey (Türkiye), United Kingdom, United States

Contacts

STUDY_DIRECTORStudy Director

Takeda

Participant flow

Recruitment details

Participants took part in the study at 218 investigative sites in Asia Pacific, Europe, Latin America, and North America from 09 November 2012 to the primary completion date of 20 April 2017.

Pre-assignment details

Participants with histologically confirmed diagnosis of advanced classical hodgkin lymphoma (cHL) were enrolled to receive: brentuximab vedotin 1.2 mg/kg plus doxorubicin 25 mg/m\^2, vinblastine 6 mg/m\^2, and dacarbazine 375 mg/m\^2 (A+AVD) or doxorubicin 25 mg/m\^2, bleomycin 10 units/m\^2, vinblastine 6 mg/m\^2, and dacarbazine 375 mg/m\^2 (ABVD).

Participants by arm

ArmCount
A+AVD
Brentuximab vedotin 1.2 milligram per kilogram (mg/kg), infusion, intravenously over 30-minutes plus doxorubicin 25 milligram per square meter (mg/m\^2), vinblastine 6 mg/m\^2, and dacarbazine 375 mg/m\^2, infusion, intravenously, once on Days 1 and 15 of each 28-day treatment cycle for up to a maximum of 6 cycles. Brentuximab vedotin was administered within approximately 1 hour after completion of AVD.
664
ABVD
Doxorubicin 25 mg/m\^2, bleomycin 10 units per square meter (units/m\^2), vinblastine 6 mg/m\^2, and dacarbazine 375 mg/m\^2, infusion, intravenously, once on Days 1 and 15 of each 28-day treatment cycle for up to a maximum of 6 cycles.
670
Total1,334

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicABVDTotalA+AVD
Age, Continuous40.2 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 16.05
39.5 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 15.95
38.8 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 15.83
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
55 Participants106 Participants51 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
577 Participants1148 Participants571 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
38 Participants80 Participants42 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
57 Participants113 Participants56 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
25 Participants45 Participants20 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
17 Participants35 Participants18 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
17 Participants27 Participants10 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
554 Participants1114 Participants560 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
272 Participants558 Participants286 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
398 Participants776 Participants378 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
9 / 66213 / 659
other
Total, other adverse events
644 / 662632 / 659
serious
Total, serious adverse events
284 / 662178 / 659

Outcome results

Primary

Modified Progression-free Survival (mPFS) Per Independent Review Facility (IRF)

mPFS was defined as the time from the date of randomization to the date of the first of documentation of progressive disease (PD), death due to any cause, or for participants who were confirmed non complete responders per IRF, receipt of subsequent anticancer therapy for Hodgkin lymphoma (HL) after completion of frontline therapy. PD was defined as any new lesion or increase by greater than or equal to (\>=) 50 percent (%) of previously involved sites from nadir. Frontline therapy is the part of standard set of treatments.

Time frame: Baseline until PD or death or receipt of any subsequent anticancer therapy for HL after completion of frontline therapy (approximately up to 4 years)

Population: The ITT population included all participants randomized to treatment.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
A+AVDModified Progression-free Survival (mPFS) Per Independent Review Facility (IRF)NA months
ABVDModified Progression-free Survival (mPFS) Per Independent Review Facility (IRF)NA months
Comparison: Hazard ratio (A+AVD/ABVD) and 95% confidence interval (CI) are based on a stratified Cox's proportional hazard regression model with stratification factors region and number of International Prognostic Factor Project (IPFP) risk factors at baseline with treatment as the explanatory variable in the model. Hazard ratio less than (\<) 1 favors A+AVD arm.p-value: 0.03595% CI: [0.603, 0.983]Log Rank
Secondary

A+AVD: AUCinf: Area Under the Plasma Concentration-time Curve From Time 0 to Infinity for Brentuximab Vedotin ADC and TAb

Time frame: Cycle 1 Day 1: pre-dose and at multiple timepoints (up to 48 hours) post-dose

Population: The PK population included enrolled participants with sufficient dosing and PK data to reliably estimate PK parameters as determined by a clinical pharmacologist. The iPK population was the subset of PK population. The iPK population where data at specified timepoints was available.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
A+AVDA+AVD: AUCinf: Area Under the Plasma Concentration-time Curve From Time 0 to Infinity for Brentuximab Vedotin ADC and TAbCycle 1 Day 1: ADC47.4 day*microgram per milliliter (day*ug/mL)Standard Deviation 12
A+AVDA+AVD: AUCinf: Area Under the Plasma Concentration-time Curve From Time 0 to Infinity for Brentuximab Vedotin ADC and TAbCycle 1 Day 1: TAb93.0 day*microgram per milliliter (day*ug/mL)Standard Deviation 25.7
Secondary

A+AVD: AUCinf: Area Under the Plasma Concentration-time Curve From Time 0 to Infinity for Brentuximab Vedotin MMAE

Time frame: Cycle 1 Day 1: pre-dose and at multiple timepoints (up to 48 hours) post-dose

Population: The PK population included enrolled participants with sufficient dosing and PK data to reliably estimate PK parameters as determined by a clinical pharmacologist. The iPK population was the subset of PK population. The iPK population where data at specified timepoints was available.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
A+AVDA+AVD: AUCinf: Area Under the Plasma Concentration-time Curve From Time 0 to Infinity for Brentuximab Vedotin MMAE25.3 day*nanogram per milliliter (day*ng/mL)Standard Deviation 19.2
Secondary

A+AVD: Cmax: Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration for Brentuximab Vedotin Monomethyl Auristatin E (MMAE)

Time frame: Cycle 1 Day 1 and Cycle 3 Day 1: pre-dose and at multiple timepoints (up to 48 hours) post-dose

Population: The PK population included enrolled participants with sufficient dosing and PK data to reliably estimate PK parameters as determined by a clinical pharmacologist. The iPK population was the subset of PK population. The iPK population where data at specified timepoints was available.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (GEOMETRIC_MEAN)Dispersion
A+AVDA+AVD: Cmax: Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration for Brentuximab Vedotin Monomethyl Auristatin E (MMAE)Cycle 1 Day 13.20 nanogram per milliliter (ng/mL)Standard Deviation 2.99
A+AVDA+AVD: Cmax: Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration for Brentuximab Vedotin Monomethyl Auristatin E (MMAE)Cycle 3 Day 11.36 nanogram per milliliter (ng/mL)Standard Deviation 0.79
Secondary

A+AVD: Cmax: Maximum Observed Serum Concentration for Brentuximab Vedotin Antibody-drug Conjugate (ADC) and Total Antibody (TAb)

Time frame: Cycle 1 Day 1 and Cycle 3 Day 1: pre-dose and at multiple timepoints (up to 48 hours) post-dose

Population: The pharmacokinetic (PK) population included enrolled participants with sufficient dosing and PK data to reliably estimate PK parameters as determined by a clinical pharmacologist. The intensive PK (iPK) population was the subset of PK population. The iPK population where data at specified timepoints was available.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (GEOMETRIC_MEAN)Dispersion
A+AVDA+AVD: Cmax: Maximum Observed Serum Concentration for Brentuximab Vedotin Antibody-drug Conjugate (ADC) and Total Antibody (TAb)Cycle 1 Day 1: ADC22.9 microgram per milliliter (microgm/mL)Standard Deviation 6.72
A+AVDA+AVD: Cmax: Maximum Observed Serum Concentration for Brentuximab Vedotin Antibody-drug Conjugate (ADC) and Total Antibody (TAb)Cycle 3 Day 1: ADC23.6 microgram per milliliter (microgm/mL)Standard Deviation 6.81
A+AVDA+AVD: Cmax: Maximum Observed Serum Concentration for Brentuximab Vedotin Antibody-drug Conjugate (ADC) and Total Antibody (TAb)Cycle 1 Day 1: TAb22.6 microgram per milliliter (microgm/mL)Standard Deviation 5.48
A+AVDA+AVD: Cmax: Maximum Observed Serum Concentration for Brentuximab Vedotin Antibody-drug Conjugate (ADC) and Total Antibody (TAb)Cycle 3 Day 1: TAb26.4 microgram per milliliter (microgm/mL)Standard Deviation 6.11
Secondary

A+AVD: Number of Participants With Antitherapeutic Antibody (ATA) and Neutralizing Antitherapeutic Antibody (nATA) Positive for Brentuximab Vedotin

The nATA positive was defined as positive ATA with neutralizing activity at any postbaseline visit.

Time frame: Baseline up to end of treatment (approximately 1 year)

Population: The safety population included all enrolled participants who received at least 1 dose of any study drug. The safety population-immunogenicity-evaluable participants where baseline and at least one postbaseline sample was available.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
A+AVDA+AVD: Number of Participants With Antitherapeutic Antibody (ATA) and Neutralizing Antitherapeutic Antibody (nATA) Positive for Brentuximab VedotinATA positive109 participants
A+AVDA+AVD: Number of Participants With Antitherapeutic Antibody (ATA) and Neutralizing Antitherapeutic Antibody (nATA) Positive for Brentuximab VedotinnATA positive12 participants
Secondary

Change From Baseline in Patient-Reported Outcome (PRO) Scores by mPFS Based on European Organization for Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC) Quality of Life Questionnaire-C30 (EORTC QLQ-C30) at EOT

EORTC QLQ-C30 included 30 items across 5 functional scales (physical, role, cognitive, emotional, and social), 9 symptom scales (fatigue, nausea and vomiting, pain, dyspnea, insomnia, appetite loss, constipation, diarrhea, and financial difficulties) and global health status/QOL scale. It has 28 questions (4-point scale where 1=not at all \[best\] to 4=Very Much \[worst\]) and 2 questions (7-point scale where 1=very poor \[worst\] to 7= excellent \[best\]). Raw scores were converted into scale scores from 0 to 100. For functional scales and global health status/QOL scale, higher scores show better QOL; for symptom scales, lower scores show better QOL. mPFS was time from date of randomization to date of first of documentation of PD, death due to any cause, or for participants who were confirmed non complete responders per IRF, receipt of subsequent anticancer therapy for HL after completion of frontline therapy. PD is any new lesion or increase by \>=50% of previously involved sites from nadir.

Time frame: Baseline up to end of treatment (approximately 1 year)

Population: The ITT population included all participants randomized to treatment.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
A+AVDChange From Baseline in Patient-Reported Outcome (PRO) Scores by mPFS Based on European Organization for Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC) Quality of Life Questionnaire-C30 (EORTC QLQ-C30) at EOTBaseline: With mPFS event78.15 units on scaleStandard Deviation 16.527
A+AVDChange From Baseline in Patient-Reported Outcome (PRO) Scores by mPFS Based on European Organization for Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC) Quality of Life Questionnaire-C30 (EORTC QLQ-C30) at EOTWithout mPFS event79.85 units on scaleStandard Deviation 16.648
A+AVDChange From Baseline in Patient-Reported Outcome (PRO) Scores by mPFS Based on European Organization for Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC) Quality of Life Questionnaire-C30 (EORTC QLQ-C30) at EOTChange at end of treatment: with mPFS event2.68 units on scaleStandard Deviation 15.434
A+AVDChange From Baseline in Patient-Reported Outcome (PRO) Scores by mPFS Based on European Organization for Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC) Quality of Life Questionnaire-C30 (EORTC QLQ-C30) at EOTChange at end of treatment: without mPFS event3.35 units on scaleStandard Deviation 17.417
ABVDChange From Baseline in Patient-Reported Outcome (PRO) Scores by mPFS Based on European Organization for Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC) Quality of Life Questionnaire-C30 (EORTC QLQ-C30) at EOTChange at end of treatment: without mPFS event6.08 units on scaleStandard Deviation 16.141
ABVDChange From Baseline in Patient-Reported Outcome (PRO) Scores by mPFS Based on European Organization for Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC) Quality of Life Questionnaire-C30 (EORTC QLQ-C30) at EOTBaseline: With mPFS event76.68 units on scaleStandard Deviation 18.661
ABVDChange From Baseline in Patient-Reported Outcome (PRO) Scores by mPFS Based on European Organization for Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC) Quality of Life Questionnaire-C30 (EORTC QLQ-C30) at EOTChange at end of treatment: with mPFS event8.58 units on scaleStandard Deviation 17.848
ABVDChange From Baseline in Patient-Reported Outcome (PRO) Scores by mPFS Based on European Organization for Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC) Quality of Life Questionnaire-C30 (EORTC QLQ-C30) at EOTWithout mPFS event79.91 units on scaleStandard Deviation 16.218
Secondary

Complete Remission (CR) Per IRF Rate at the End of Frontline Therapy

CR rate at the end of frontline therapy per IRF was defined as the percentage of participants who achieved CR at the end of frontline therapy that is after completion of either randomized regimen or alternate frontline therapy as determined by an IRF. CR was defined as disappearance of all evidence of disease.

Time frame: Baseline up to end of frontline therapy (approximately 4 years)

Population: The ITT population included all participants randomized to treatment.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
A+AVDComplete Remission (CR) Per IRF Rate at the End of Frontline Therapy73 percentage of participants
ABVDComplete Remission (CR) Per IRF Rate at the End of Frontline Therapy71 percentage of participants
Secondary

Complete Remission (CR) Rate at the End of Randomized Regimen Per IRF

CR rate at the end of randomized regimen per investigator was defined as the percentage of participants who achieved CR at the end of treatment with randomized regimen (ABVD or A+AVD) as determined by IRF. CR was defined as disappearance of all evidence of disease.

Time frame: Baseline up to end of randomized regimen (approximately 1 year)

Population: The ITT population included all participants randomized to treatment.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
A+AVDComplete Remission (CR) Rate at the End of Randomized Regimen Per IRF73 percentage of participants
ABVDComplete Remission (CR) Rate at the End of Randomized Regimen Per IRF70 percentage of participants
Secondary

Disease-free Survival (DFS) Per IRF

DFS per IRF was defined as the time from CR to disease progression as determined by an IRF or to death from lymphoma or acute toxicity from treatment. CR was defined as disappearance of all evidence of disease.

Time frame: From CR until PD or death (approximately up to 4 years)

Population: The ITT included all participants randomized to treatment. The ITT population where participants achieved CR.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
A+AVDDisease-free Survival (DFS) Per IRFNA months
ABVDDisease-free Survival (DFS) Per IRFNA months
Secondary

Duration of Complete Remission (DOCR) Per IRF

DOCR per IRF in participants with CR was the time between first documentation of CR and PD as determined by an IRF. PD was defined as any new lesion or increase by \>=50% of previously involved sites from nadir. CR was defined as disappearance of all evidence of disease.

Time frame: From first documentation of CR until PD (approximately 4 years)

Population: The ITT population included all participants randomized to treatment. The ITT population where participants achieved CR.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
A+AVDDuration of Complete Remission (DOCR) Per IRFNA months
ABVDDuration of Complete Remission (DOCR) Per IRFNA months
Secondary

Duration of Response (DOR) Per IRF

DOR per IRF in participants with response was the time between first documentation of response (PR or CR) and PD as determined by an IRF. PD was defined as any new lesion or increase by \>=50% of previously involved sites from nadir. CR was defined as disappearance of all evidence of disease. PR was defined as regression of measurable disease and no new sites.

Time frame: From first documented response until PD (approximately 4 years)

Population: The ITT population included all participants randomized to treatment. The ITT population where participants achieved confirmed response of CR or PR.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
A+AVDDuration of Response (DOR) Per IRFNA months
ABVDDuration of Response (DOR) Per IRFNA months
Secondary

Event-free Survival (EFS) Per IRF

EFS was defined as the time from randomization until any cause of treatment failure: PD, premature discontinuation of randomized treatment for any reason, or death due to any cause, whichever occurs first. PD was defined as any new lesion or increase by \>=50% of previously involved sites from nadir per IRF.

Time frame: Baseline until PD or discontinuation of treatment or death, whichever occurs first (approximately up to 4 years)

Population: The ITT population included all participants randomized to treatment.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
A+AVDEvent-free Survival (EFS) Per IRFNA months
ABVDEvent-free Survival (EFS) Per IRFNA months
Secondary

Number of Participants Who Experience at Least One Treatment Emergent Adverse Event (TEAE) and Serious Adverse Event (SAE)

Time frame: Baseline up to 30 days after last dose of study drug (approximately 1 year)

Population: The safety population included all enrolled participants who received at least 1 dose of any study drug.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
A+AVDNumber of Participants Who Experience at Least One Treatment Emergent Adverse Event (TEAE) and Serious Adverse Event (SAE)TEAE653 participants
A+AVDNumber of Participants Who Experience at Least One Treatment Emergent Adverse Event (TEAE) and Serious Adverse Event (SAE)SAE284 participants
ABVDNumber of Participants Who Experience at Least One Treatment Emergent Adverse Event (TEAE) and Serious Adverse Event (SAE)TEAE646 participants
ABVDNumber of Participants Who Experience at Least One Treatment Emergent Adverse Event (TEAE) and Serious Adverse Event (SAE)SAE178 participants
Secondary

Number of Participants With Abnormal Clinical Laboratory Values

Time frame: Baseline up to 30 days after last dose of study drug (approximately 1 year)

Population: The safety population included all enrolled participants who received at least 1 dose of any study drug.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
A+AVDNumber of Participants With Abnormal Clinical Laboratory Values662 participants
ABVDNumber of Participants With Abnormal Clinical Laboratory Values658 participants
Secondary

Overall Response Rate (ORR) Per IRF

ORR per IRF was defined as the percentage of participants who achieved CR or partial remission (PR) at the end of treatment with randomized regimen (ABVD or A+AVD) as determined by an IRF. CR was defined as disappearance of all evidence of disease. PR was defined as regression of measurable disease and no new sites.

Time frame: Baseline up to end of randomized regimen (approximately 1 year)

Population: The ITT population included all participants randomized to treatment.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
A+AVDOverall Response Rate (ORR) Per IRF86 percentage of participants
ABVDOverall Response Rate (ORR) Per IRF83 percentage of participants
Secondary

Overall Survival (OS)

OS was defined as the time from the date of randomization to the date of death. Participants without documented death at the time of analysis were censored at the date last known to be alive.

Time frame: Baseline until death (approximately up to 4 years)

Population: The ITT population included all participants randomized to treatment.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
A+AVDOverall Survival (OS)NA months
ABVDOverall Survival (OS)NA months
Comparison: Hazard ratio (A+AVD/ABVD) and 95% CI are based on a stratified Cox's proportional hazard regression model with stratification factors region and number of IPFP risk factors at baseline with treatment as the explanatory variable in the model. Hazard ratio \<1 favors A+AVD arm.p-value: 0.19995% CI: [0.448, 1.184]Log Rank
Secondary

Percentage of Participants Not in CR Per IRF Who Received Subsequent Radiation After Completion of Frontline Therapy

CR was defined as disappearance of all evidence of disease as determined by an IRF.

Time frame: Baseline up to end of frontline therapy (approximately 4 years)

Population: The ITT population included all participants randomized to treatment.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
A+AVDPercentage of Participants Not in CR Per IRF Who Received Subsequent Radiation After Completion of Frontline Therapy8 percentage of participants
ABVDPercentage of Participants Not in CR Per IRF Who Received Subsequent Radiation After Completion of Frontline Therapy13 percentage of participants
Secondary

Positron Emission Tomography (PET) Negativity Rate Per IRF at Cycle 2

PET negativity rate at Cycle 2 was defined as the percentage of participants with negative Cycle 2 PET results defined as Deauville score less than or equal to (\<=) 3 at Cycle 2. The Deauville score according to IRF assessment of response was used to evaluate the results of PET scans.

Time frame: Cycle 2 Day 25

Population: The ITT population included all participants randomized to treatment.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
A+AVDPositron Emission Tomography (PET) Negativity Rate Per IRF at Cycle 289 percentage of participants
ABVDPositron Emission Tomography (PET) Negativity Rate Per IRF at Cycle 286 percentage of participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Mar 22, 2026