Skip to content

A Study Comparing Vemurafenib Versus Vemurafenib Plus Cobimetinib in Participants With Metastatic Melanoma

A Phase III, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled Study of Vemurafenib Versus Vemurafenib Plus GDC-0973 in Previously Untreated BRAF^600-Mutation Positive Patients With Unresectable Locally Advanced or Metastatic Melanoma

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT01689519
Acronym
coBRIM
Enrollment
495
Registered
2012-09-21
Start date
2013-01-08
Completion date
2019-07-21
Last updated
2022-05-02

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Malignant Melanoma

Keywords

Zelboraf, vemurafenib, RG7204, PLX4032, Genentech MEK inhibitor, Genentech BRAF inhibitor, Roche MEK inhibitor, Roche BRAF inhibitor, RO5185426, metastatic melanoma, BRAF positive melanoma, BRAF mutant melanoma, advanced melanoma, Genentech RAF inhibitor, Roche RAF inhibitor, BRAF V600E kinase inhibitor, Oncogenic BRAF inhibitor, BRAF kinase inhibitor, GDC-0973, XL518, melanoma

Brief summary

To evaluate the efficacy of vemurafenib in combination with cobimetinib (GDC-0973), compared with vemurafenib and placebo, in previously untreated BRAF V600 mutation-positive patients with unresectable locally advanced or metastatic melanoma, as measured by progression-free survival (PFS), assessed by the study site investigator.

Interventions

DRUGPlacebo

Placebo supplied as tablets

DRUGVemurafenib

Vemurafenib supplied as tablets

DRUGCobimetinib

Cobimetinib supplied as tablets

Sponsors

Hoffmann-La Roche
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
TRIPLE (Subject, Investigator, Outcomes Assessor)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Participants with histologically confirmed melanoma, either unresectable stage IIIc or stage IV metastatic melanoma, as defined by the American Joint Committee on Cancer 7th edition. Unresectability of stage IIIc disease must have confirmation from a surgical oncologist * Participants must be naïve to treatment for locally advanced unresectable or metastatic disease (ie, no prior systemic anti-cancer therapy for advanced disease; stage IIIc and IV). Prior adjuvant immunotherapy (including ipilimumab) is allowed * Documentation of BRAF V600 mutation-positive status in melanoma tumor tissue (archival or newly obtained tumor samples) using the cobas 4800 BRAF V600 mutation test * Measurable disease per RECIST v1.1 * Eastern Clinical Oncology Group performance status of 0 or 1 * Consent to provide archival for biomarker analyses * Consent to undergo tumor biopsies for biomarker analyses * Life expectancy greater than or equal to (≥) 12 weeks * Adequate hematologic and end organ function

Exclusion criteria

* History of prior rapidly accelerated fibrosarcoma or mitogen-activated protein kinase pathway inhibitor treatment * Palliative radiotherapy within 14 days prior to the first dose of study treatment * Major surgery or traumatic injury within 14 days prior to first dose of study treatment * Active malignancy other than melanoma that could potentially interfere with the interpretation of efficacy measures. Participants with a previous malignancy within the past 3 years are excluded except for participants with resected basal cell carcinoma or squamous cell carcinoma of the skin, melanoma in-situ, carcinoma in-situ of the cervix, and carcinoma in-situ of the breast * History of or evidence of retinal pathology on ophthalmological examination that is considered a risk factor for neurosensory retinal detachment, retinal vein occlusion, or neovascular macular degeneration * Uncontrolled glaucoma with intraocular pressure * Serum cholesterol ≥ Grade 2 * Hypertriglyceridemia ≥ Grade 2 * Hyperglycemia (fasting) ≥ Grade 2 * History of clinically significant cardiac dysfunction * Participants with active central nervous system (CNS) lesions (including carcinomatous meningitis) are excluded. However, participants are eligible if: 1. All known CNS lesions have been treated with stereotactic therapy or surgery, AND 2. There has been no evidence of clinical and radiographic disease progression in the CNS for ≥ 3 weeks after radiotherapy or surgery * Current severe, uncontrolled systemic disease * History of malabsorption or other condition that would interfere with absorption of study drugs * Pregnant, lactating, or breast feeding women

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Progression-free SurvivalBaseline to the 21 July 2019 data cut-off (up to 7 years, 6 months)Progression-free survival was defined as the time from randomization to the first occurrence of disease progression, as determined by the investigator using Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors v1.1, or death from any cause, whichever came first. Disease progression was defined as: (1) at least a 20% increase in the sum (the increase in the sum must be at least 5 mm) of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum during the study; (2) unequivocal progression of existing non-target lesions; or (3) the appearance of 1 or more new lesions.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Overall SurvivalBaseline to the 21 July 2019 data cut-off (up to 7 years, 6 months)Overall survival was defined as the time from randomization until the date of death from any cause.
Percentage of Participants With an Objective ResponseBaseline to the 21 July 2019 data cut-off (up to 7 years, 6 months)An objective response was defined as a complete response or a partial response determined on two consecutive occasions ≥ 4 weeks apart. Responses were determined by Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors v1.1. A complete response was defined as the disappearance of all target lesions or the disappearance of all non-target lesions and normalization of tumor marker level. A partial response was defined as at least a 30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum of the longest diameter of target lesions.
Duration of ResponseBaseline to the 21 July 2019 data cut-off (up to 7 years, 6 months)Duration of response was defined as the time from first occurrence of a documented confirmed objective response until the time of disease progression, as determined by investigator review of tumor assessments using Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors v1.1 or death from any cause during the study. Disease progression was defined as: (1) at least a 20% increase in the sum (the increase in the sum must be at least 5 mm) of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum during the study; (2) unequivocal progression of existing non-target lesions; or (3) the appearance of 1 or more new lesions.

Countries

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Czechia, France, Germany, Hungary, Israel, Italy, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Russia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Participant flow

Pre-assignment details

Written informed consent for participation in the study was obtained before performing any study-specific screening tests or evaluations.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Cobimetinib + Vemurafenib
Participants received cobimetinib 60 mg orally once daily on Days 1-21 of each 28 day cycle plus vemurafenib 960 mg orally twice a day on Days 1-28 of each 28 day cycle until disease progression, death, unacceptable toxicity, or withdrawal of consent, whichever occurs earliest.
247
Placebo + Vemurafenib
Participants received placebo orally once daily on Days 1-21 of each 28 day cycle plus vemurafenib 960 mg orally twice a day on Days 1-28 of each 28 day cycle until disease progression, death, unacceptable toxicity, or withdrawal of consent, whichever occurs earliest.
248
Total495

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001
Intent to TreatDeath157167
Intent to TreatLost to Follow-up48
Intent to TreatOther24
Intent to TreatPhysician Decision41
Intent to TreatStudy terminated by Spon6sor5948
Intent to TreatWithdrawal by Subject2120
Safety PopulationDeath158165
Safety PopulationLost to Follow-up48
Safety PopulationOther24
Safety PopulationPhysician Decision41
Safety PopulationStudy Terminated By Sponsor6047
Safety PopulationWithdrawal by Subject2020

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicPlacebo + VemurafenibCobimetinib + VemurafenibTotal
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
69 Participants64 Participants133 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
179 Participants183 Participants362 Participants
Age, Continuous55.3 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 13.8
54.9 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 14
55.1 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 13.9
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
Asian
0 Count of Participants1 Count of Participants1 Count of Participants
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
Black or African American
0 Count of Participants0 Count of Participants0 Count of Participants
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
Hispanic or Latino
12 Count of Participants14 Count of Participants26 Count of Participants
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
More than one race
1 Count of Participants1 Count of Participants2 Count of Participants
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islande
1 Count of Participants0 Count of Participants1 Count of Participants
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
Not Hispanic or Latino
223 Count of Participants213 Count of Participants436 Count of Participants
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
Not Stated
10 Count of Participants16 Count of Participants26 Count of Participants
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
Other
2 Count of Participants2 Count of Participants4 Count of Participants
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
Unknown
3 Count of Participants4 Count of Participants7 Count of Participants
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
Unknown or Not Reported
9 Count of Participants16 Count of Participants25 Count of Participants
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
White
235 Count of Participants227 Count of Participants462 Count of Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
108 Participants101 Participants209 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
140 Participants146 Participants286 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
160 / 247164 / 248
other
Total, other adverse events
239 / 248236 / 245
serious
Total, serious adverse events
105 / 24871 / 245

Outcome results

Primary

Progression-free Survival

Progression-free survival was defined as the time from randomization to the first occurrence of disease progression, as determined by the investigator using Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors v1.1, or death from any cause, whichever came first. Disease progression was defined as: (1) at least a 20% increase in the sum (the increase in the sum must be at least 5 mm) of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum during the study; (2) unequivocal progression of existing non-target lesions; or (3) the appearance of 1 or more new lesions.

Time frame: Baseline to the 21 July 2019 data cut-off (up to 7 years, 6 months)

Population: Intent-to-treat population: All randomized participants, regardless of whether or not study treatment was received.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEDIAN)
Cobimetinib + VemurafenibProgression-free SurvivalPrimary Analysis: 9 May 20149.90 Months
Cobimetinib + VemurafenibProgression-free SurvivalPost hoc Efficacy Analysis: 16 January 201512.30 Months
Cobimetinib + VemurafenibProgression-free SurvivalExtended 5-Year Analysis: 21 July 201912.60 Months
Placebo + VemurafenibProgression-free SurvivalPrimary Analysis: 9 May 20146.20 Months
Placebo + VemurafenibProgression-free SurvivalPost hoc Efficacy Analysis: 16 January 20157.20 Months
Placebo + VemurafenibProgression-free SurvivalExtended 5-Year Analysis: 21 July 20197.20 Months
Comparison: Primary Analysis 9 May 2014p-value: 0.000195% CI: [0.39, 0.68]Log Rank
Comparison: Post hoc Efficacy Analysis: 16 January 2015p-value: <0.000195% CI: [0.46, 0.72]Log Rank
Comparison: Extended 5-Year Analysis: 21 July 2019p-value: <0.000195% CI: [0.53, 0.79]Log Rank
Secondary

Duration of Response

Duration of response was defined as the time from first occurrence of a documented confirmed objective response until the time of disease progression, as determined by investigator review of tumor assessments using Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors v1.1 or death from any cause during the study. Disease progression was defined as: (1) at least a 20% increase in the sum (the increase in the sum must be at least 5 mm) of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum during the study; (2) unequivocal progression of existing non-target lesions; or (3) the appearance of 1 or more new lesions.

Time frame: Baseline to the 21 July 2019 data cut-off (up to 7 years, 6 months)

Population: Intent-to-treat population: All randomized participants, regardless of whether or not study treatment was received. Only participants with an objective response were included in the analysis.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEDIAN)
Cobimetinib + VemurafenibDuration of ResponsePrimary Analysis: 9 May 2014NA Months
Cobimetinib + VemurafenibDuration of ResponseExtended 5-Year Analysis: 21 July 201914.65 Months
Placebo + VemurafenibDuration of ResponsePrimary Analysis: 9 May 20147.29 Months
Placebo + VemurafenibDuration of ResponseExtended 5-Year Analysis: 21 July 20199.23 Months
Secondary

Overall Survival

Overall survival was defined as the time from randomization until the date of death from any cause.

Time frame: Baseline to the 21 July 2019 data cut-off (up to 7 years, 6 months)

Population: Intent-to-treat population: All randomized participants, regardless of whether or not study treatment was received.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEDIAN)
Cobimetinib + VemurafenibOverall SurvivalPrimary Analysis 9 May 2014NA Months
Cobimetinib + VemurafenibOverall SurvivalPost hoc Analysis 16 January 2015NA Months
Cobimetinib + VemurafenibOverall SurvivalFinal Analysis 28 August 201522.30 Months
Cobimetinib + VemurafenibOverall SurvivalExtended 5-year Analysis 21 July 201922.50 Months
Placebo + VemurafenibOverall SurvivalExtended 5-year Analysis 21 July 201917.40 Months
Placebo + VemurafenibOverall SurvivalPrimary Analysis 9 May 2014NA Months
Placebo + VemurafenibOverall SurvivalFinal Analysis 28 August 201517.40 Months
Placebo + VemurafenibOverall SurvivalPost hoc Analysis 16 January 201517.00 Months
Comparison: Primary Analysis 9 May 2014p-value: 0.046395% CI: [0.42, 1]Log Rank
Comparison: Post hoc Analysis 16 January 2015p-value: 0.003495% CI: [0.49, 0.87]Log Rank
Comparison: Final Analysis 28 August 2015p-value: 0.00595% CI: [0.55, 0.9]Log Rank
Secondary

Percentage of Participants With an Objective Response

An objective response was defined as a complete response or a partial response determined on two consecutive occasions ≥ 4 weeks apart. Responses were determined by Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors v1.1. A complete response was defined as the disappearance of all target lesions or the disappearance of all non-target lesions and normalization of tumor marker level. A partial response was defined as at least a 30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum of the longest diameter of target lesions.

Time frame: Baseline to the 21 July 2019 data cut-off (up to 7 years, 6 months)

Population: Intent-to-treat population: All randomized participants, regardless of whether or not study treatment was received.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
Cobimetinib + VemurafenibPercentage of Participants With an Objective ResponsePrimary Analysis: 9 May 201467.60 Percentage of participants
Cobimetinib + VemurafenibPercentage of Participants With an Objective ResponsePost hoc Efficacy Analysis: 16 January 201569.60 Percentage of participants
Cobimetinib + VemurafenibPercentage of Participants With an Objective ResponseExtended 5-Year Analysis: 21 July 201969.60 Percentage of participants
Placebo + VemurafenibPercentage of Participants With an Objective ResponsePrimary Analysis: 9 May 201444.80 Percentage of participants
Placebo + VemurafenibPercentage of Participants With an Objective ResponsePost hoc Efficacy Analysis: 16 January 201550.00 Percentage of participants
Placebo + VemurafenibPercentage of Participants With an Objective ResponseExtended 5-Year Analysis: 21 July 201949.60 Percentage of participants
Comparison: Primary Analysis: 9 May 2014p-value: <0.000195% CI: [14.13, 31.58]Chi-squared
Comparison: Post hoc Efficacy Analysis: 16 January 2015p-value: <0.000195% CI: [11, 28.3]Chi-squared
Comparison: Extended 5-Year Analysis: 21 July 2019p-value: <0.000195% CI: [11.4, 28.7]Chi-squared

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Mar 12, 2026