Skip to content

Adjuvant Dabrafenib (GSK2118436) in Patients With Surgically Resected AJCC Stage IIIC Melanoma Characterized by a BRAFV600E/K Mutation

A Phase 2 Trial of Adjuvant Dabrafenib (GSK2118436) in Patients With Surgically Resected AJCC Stage IIIC Melanoma Characterized by a BRAFV600E/K Mutation

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT01682213
Enrollment
23
Registered
2012-09-10
Start date
2012-09-30
Completion date
2019-05-31
Last updated
2020-05-26

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Melanoma

Keywords

Dabrafenib, (GSK2118436), BRAFV600E/K, Resected AJCC Stage IIIC, 12-124

Brief summary

In this study, the investigator's want to find out if dabrafenib can stop stage IIIC melanoma from coming back after surgery.

Interventions

DRUGDabrafenib

Following definitive surgical resection, eligible patients will receive dabrafenib at 150 mg twice a day by mouth for 4 cycles (± 5 days). One cycle is 28 days.

Sponsors

National Comprehensive Cancer Network
CollaboratorNETWORK
Novartis
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
16 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* AJCC (2009) stage IIIC cutaneous melanoma rendered free of disease by surgical resection no greater than 90 days prior study enrollment. Patients with unknown primaries will be eligible for this trial. Patients with a history of resected stage I or II cutaneous melanoma who subsequently have their first disease recurrence meeting the criteria for stage IIIC disease will also be eligible for this trial. * Patients must have clear margins after wide local excision. Patients with nodes that are palpable or detectable on radiologic imaging must have an adequate lymphadenectomy. * Patients must be adequately recovered from surgery, radiation therapy, or any surgical complications prior to enrollment. In general, this means patients will be off antibiotics from wound infections and drains removed. However, if necessary, patients can be treated with a drain in place at the discretion of the PI if the 90 days window is about to expire. * Histologic proof of melanoma reviewed and confirmed by MSKCC. * A documented BRAFV600E or BRAFV600K mutation by genotyping or IHC \[35\]performed by a CLIA certified laboratory. * Age ≥ 16 years old * ECOG performance status = 0 or Karnofsky Performance Status equivalent * The ability to swallow pills. * Patients must have adequate organ and marrow function as defined below: Absolute neutrophil count ≥1.5 K/mcL Platelets ≥ 100 K/mcL Hemoglobin ≥ 9.0 g/dL Total bilirubin ≤ 1.5 X institutional upper limit of normal (ULN) ≤ 3.0 X institutional ULN if the patient has Gilbert's Syndrome AST (SGOT) and ALT (SGPT) ≤ 2.5 X institutional ULN Creatinine ≤ 1.5 X institutional ULN or creatinine clearance (calculated or measured) \> 60 ml/min * Women with child bearing potential and men with reproductive potential must be willing to practice acceptable methods of contraception.

Exclusion criteria

* Patients with a history of stage III melanoma (any primary melanoma with locoregional nodal/subcutaneous disease) treated with surgical resection who subsequently have disease recurrence meeting the criteria for stage IIIC disease. * Prior therapy with ipilimumab, other BRAF inhibitors, or MEK inhibitors. * Concurrent adjuvant immunotherapy, chemotherapy, or radiotherapy. * Current use of a prohibited medication while on dabrafenib * Presence of active gastrointestinal disease or other condition that will interfere significantly with the absorption of drugs. * A history of known glucose-6-phosphate dehydrogenase (G6PD) deficiency. * Pregnant women and lactating women. * A concurrent second malignancy even if it does not require active therapy. Patients with indolent B-cell malignancies will not be eligible. Prior malignancy will be allowed as long as the patient is known to be free of disease for at least 3 years. * Uncontrolled intercurrent illness including, but not limited to, ongoing or active infection, symptomatic congestive heart failure, unstable angina pectoris, cardiac arrhythmia, or psychiatric illness/social situations that would limit compliance with study requirements. * QTc interval \> 500 msec unless a bundle branch block is also present.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Percentage of Participants With Relapse Free Survival24 monthsRelapse free survival is defined as the time from surgical resection to the first recurrence or death as assessed by physical examination and radiographic evaluation. All recurrences will be confirmed by biopsy and histologic evaluation.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Overall Survival2 yearsOverall survival is defined as the time from surgical resection to death or last follow-up.
Number of Participants With Adverse Events1 yearToxicity will be graded by the NCI Common Toxicity Criteria (CTC) version 4.0 with each cycle of adjuvant dabrafenib.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Dabrafenib
This is a single institution phase II trial assessing the efficacy of adjuvant dabrafenib (GSK2118436) in patients with surgically resected AJCC stage IIIC melanoma characterized by a BRAFV600E/K mutation. Dabrafenib: Following definitive surgical resection, eligible patients will receive dabrafenib at 150 mg twice a day by mouth for 4 cycles (± 5 days). One cycle is 28 days.
23
Total23

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject2

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicDabrafenib
Age, Continuous54 years
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
1 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
22 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
21 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
23 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
8 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
15 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
8 / 23
other
Total, other adverse events
23 / 23
serious
Total, serious adverse events
5 / 23

Outcome results

Primary

Percentage of Participants With Relapse Free Survival

Relapse free survival is defined as the time from surgical resection to the first recurrence or death as assessed by physical examination and radiographic evaluation. All recurrences will be confirmed by biopsy and histologic evaluation.

Time frame: 24 months

Population: 2 participants withdrew consent 1 week after signing consent

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
DabrafenibPercentage of Participants With Relapse Free Survival28.6 percentage of participants
Secondary

Number of Participants With Adverse Events

Toxicity will be graded by the NCI Common Toxicity Criteria (CTC) version 4.0 with each cycle of adjuvant dabrafenib.

Time frame: 1 year

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
DabrafenibNumber of Participants With Adverse Events23 Participants
Secondary

Overall Survival

Overall survival is defined as the time from surgical resection to death or last follow-up.

Time frame: 2 years

Population: 2 participants withdrew consent 1 week after signing consent

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
DabrafenibOverall Survival78 percentage of participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026