Skip to content

Evaluation of Tabalumab Using Auto-Injector or Prefilled Syringe in Participants With Rheumatoid Arthritis (RA)

Pharmacokinetic Evaluations of Tabalumab Following Subcutaneous Administration by Prefilled Syringe or Auto Injector in Patients With Rheumatoid Arthritis Who Have Had an Inadequate Response to Methotrexate

Status
Terminated
Phases
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT01676701
Enrollment
8
Registered
2012-08-31
Start date
2012-09-30
Completion date
2013-08-31
Last updated
2018-04-26

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Rheumatoid Arthritis

Brief summary

The purpose of this study is to evaluate the serum concentration of tabalumab after the administration using either prefilled syringe or auto-injector after the initial loading dose and after 12 weeks of treatment. Treatment period is followed by 40 weeks optional safety extension.

Interventions

Administered SC by prefilled syringe

Administered SC by auto-injector

Sponsors

Eli Lilly and Company
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Ambulatory males or females ≥18 years of age * Diagnosis of adult-onset RA * Active RA (at least 8/68 tender and at least 8/66 swollen joints) * Screening C-reactive protein (CRP) \>1.2 times the upper limit of normal (ULN) or a screening erythrocyte sedimentation rate (ESR) \>28 millimeters per hour (mm/hr) * Documented history of, or current, positive rheumatoid factor (RF) and/or anti-cyclic citrullinated peptide antibody (anti-CCP Ab) test * Regular use of methotrexate (MTX) for at least 12 weeks and stable dose (10 to 25 mg/week) for at least 8 weeks prior to baseline * American College of Rheumatology (ACR) functional class I, II, or III * Able and willing to inject tabalumab by themselves (or have an assistant who will inject tabalumab) and able and willing to complete all study procedures * Able and willing to have blood drawn for pharmacokinetic (PK) sampling

Exclusion criteria

* Use of oral corticosteroids at average daily doses of \>10 milligrams per day (mg/day) of prednisone or its equivalent within 6 weeks prior to baseline * Injection of any parenteral (including intraarticular) corticosteroid within 6 weeks of baseline * Have previously discontinued treatment with a biologic disease-modifying antirheumatic drug (DMARD) or a novel drug that interrupts cytokine signaling \[for example, Janus kinase (JAK) inhibitors\] due to insufficient efficacy * Participants who had discontinued biologic DMARDS for reasons other than efficacy will not be excluded but must have done so prior to baseline * Participants who discontinued a JAK inhibitor for lack of efficacy * Participants who discontinued a JAK inhibitor for reasons other than efficacy will not be excluded, but must have done so prior to baseline for 21 days * Previous severe reaction to any biologic therapy that, in the opinion of the Investigator, would pose an unacceptable risk to the participant if participating in the study * Have had an inadequate response to treatment with 3 or more of the following DMARDs prescribed alone or in combination at approved doses for a minimum of 90 days: leflunomide, azathioprine, cyclosporine, and/or sulfasalazine * Use of other DMARDs (for example, gold salts, cyclosporin, azathioprine, or any other immunosuppressives) other than MTX, hydroxychloroquine, chloroquine, or sulfasalazine, or the use of a JAK inhibitor in the 8 weeks prior to baseline

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frame
Pharmacokinetics (PK): Maximum Serum Concentration (Cmax) of Tabalumab After Loading DoseDays 4, 7, 9, 11, and 14 after loading dose administered
PK: Area Under the Concentration Time Curve From Time 0 to 14 Days [AUC(0-14)]Days 4, 7, 9, 11, and 14 after loading dose administered

Secondary

MeasureTime frame
Percent Change From Baseline to 12-Week Endpoint in American College of Rheumatology (ACR-N) IndexBaseline, Week 12
Change From Baseline to 12-Week Endpoint in Disease Activity Score Based on a 28-Joint Count and C-Reactive Protein (DAS28-CRP) LevelBaseline, Week 12
Percentage of Participants Achieving European League Against Rheumatism Responder Index Based on the 28-Joint Count (EULAR-28)Week 12
Change From Baseline to 12-Week Endpoint in Achieving American College of Rheumatology (ACR) Core SetBaseline, Week 12
Number of Operation FailuresWeek 12
Change From Baseline Score in Subcutaneous Administration Assessment Questionnaire (SQAAQ)Baseline, Weeks 4 and 8
Number of Participants Developing Anti-Tabalumab AntibodiesWeek 12
Percentage of Participants Achieving ACR ResponseWeek 12

Countries

Argentina, Czechia, Poland, Puerto Rico, Russia, United States

Participant flow

Pre-assignment details

The study was to include a 12-week treatment period, optional 40-week safety extension, and post-treatment follow-up (at least 24 weeks). At the time of early study termination, all participants who had received tabalumab discontinued dosing and then completed the post-treatment follow-up period. No one entered the 40-week safety extension period.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Tabalumab Auto-Injector
Tabalumab: Using auto-injectors, participants received a 180 mg loading dose administered at Week 0 as 2 SC injections (90 mg each). Participants also received a 90 mg SC injection Q2W until early study termination (up to Week 6).
4
Tabalumab Prefilled Syringe
Tabalumab: Using prefilled syringes, participants received a 180 mg loading dose administered at Week 0 as 2 SC injections (90 mg each). Participants also received a 90 mg SC injection Q2W until early study termination (up to Week 6).
4
Total8

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001
Overall StudyProtocol Violation10
Overall StudySponsor Decision34

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicTabalumab Auto-InjectorTotalTabalumab Prefilled Syringe
Age, Customized
43.3 to 65.4 years
4 participants8 participants4 participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
4 Participants7 Participants3 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
4 Participants7 Participants3 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
4 Participants8 Participants4 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
3 Participants6 Participants3 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
1 Participants2 Participants1 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
EG003
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
— / —— / —— / —— / —
other
Total, other adverse events
0 / 41 / 40 / 40 / 4
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 40 / 40 / 40 / 4

Outcome results

Primary

Pharmacokinetics (PK): Maximum Serum Concentration (Cmax) of Tabalumab After Loading Dose

Time frame: Days 4, 7, 9, 11, and 14 after loading dose administered

Population: No participant had outcome measure data analyzed due to the termination of the trial and an insufficient sample size.

Primary

PK: Area Under the Concentration Time Curve From Time 0 to 14 Days [AUC(0-14)]

Time frame: Days 4, 7, 9, 11, and 14 after loading dose administered

Population: No participant had outcome measure data analyzed due to the termination of the trial and an insufficient sample size.

Secondary

Change From Baseline Score in Subcutaneous Administration Assessment Questionnaire (SQAAQ)

Time frame: Baseline, Weeks 4 and 8

Population: No participant had outcome measure data analyzed due to the termination of the trial and an insufficient sample size.

Secondary

Change From Baseline to 12-Week Endpoint in Achieving American College of Rheumatology (ACR) Core Set

Time frame: Baseline, Week 12

Population: No participant had outcome measure data analyzed due to the termination of the trial and an insufficient sample size.

Secondary

Change From Baseline to 12-Week Endpoint in Disease Activity Score Based on a 28-Joint Count and C-Reactive Protein (DAS28-CRP) Level

Time frame: Baseline, Week 12

Population: No participant had outcome measure data analyzed due to the termination of the trial and an insufficient sample size.

Secondary

Number of Operation Failures

Time frame: Week 12

Population: No participant had outcome measure data analyzed due to the termination of the trial and an insufficient sample size.

Secondary

Number of Participants Developing Anti-Tabalumab Antibodies

Time frame: Week 12

Population: No participant had outcome measure data analyzed due to the termination of the trial and an insufficient sample size.

Secondary

Percentage of Participants Achieving ACR Response

Time frame: Week 12

Population: No participant had outcome measure data analyzed due to the termination of the trial and an insufficient sample size.

Secondary

Percentage of Participants Achieving European League Against Rheumatism Responder Index Based on the 28-Joint Count (EULAR-28)

Time frame: Week 12

Population: No participant had outcome measure data analyzed due to the termination of the trial and an insufficient sample size.

Secondary

Percent Change From Baseline to 12-Week Endpoint in American College of Rheumatology (ACR-N) Index

Time frame: Baseline, Week 12

Population: No participant had outcome measure data analyzed due to the termination of the trial and an insufficient sample size.

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026