Skip to content

Open-label, Uncontrolled Phase II Trial of Intravenous PI3K Inhibitor BAY80-6946 in Patients With Relapsed, Indolent or Aggressive Non-Hodgkin's Lymphomas

Open-label, Uncontrolled Phase II Trial of Intravenous PI3K Inhibitor BAY80-6946 in Patients With Relapsed, Indolent or Aggressive Non-Hodgkin's Lymphomas

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT01660451
Enrollment
227
Registered
2012-08-08
Start date
2012-11-19
Completion date
2023-05-18
Last updated
2024-07-17

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Lymphoma, Non-Hodgkin

Keywords

Clinical trial, phase II, Phosphatidylinositol 3-Kinase, Class I, Non-Hodgkin's lymphoma

Brief summary

The objective of the study (part A) is to evaluate the efficacy and safety of BAY80-6946 in patients with indolent or aggressive Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma, who have progressed after standard therapy. 30 patients will be enrolled to both indolent and aggressive disease group. The objective of the study part B (CHRONOS-1) is to evaluate the efficacy and safety of BAY80-6946 in patients with relapsed/refractory follicular lymphoma. 120 patients will be enrolled in the part B of the study. Further objectives are to evaluate the pharmacokinetics and biomarkers. Quality of life will be a further objective of part B of the study. In a cohort of 20 patients (enrolled both in part A and B) an ECG substudy will be performed to assess the potential for cardiac toxicity and QT/QTc interval prolongation of BAY80-6946. After an up to 28-day screening period, eligible patients will start treatment with BAY80-6946 at a dose of 0.8 mg/kg (Part A) and at a dose of 60 mg (Part B). Treatment will be continued until disease has progressed or until another criterion is met for withdrawal from study. An end-of-treatment visit will be performed within 7 days after discontinuation of study treatment. Thirty to 35 days after last study drug administration, a safety followup visit will be performed for the collection of adverse events (AEs) and concomitant medication data. Patients will be contacted quarterly to determine overall survival status up to 4 years after last patient completed treatment. Patients who discontinue study drug for reasons other than disease progression will enter the Active Assessment Follow-up period. The end of study notification to Health Authorities will be based on the completion of the collection of survival data. The efficacy is measured by the decrease in tumor size. Tumor assessments will be done at Screening, every 8 weeks during Year 1, every 12 weeks during Year 2, and every 6 months during Year 3. Blood samples will be collected for pharmacokinetic analysis. Archival tumor tissue and blood samples will be collected for biomarker analysis (mandatory) and for central pathology review (part B), fresh biopsy tissue will also be collected if available.

Interventions

BAY 80-6946 is administered in a normal saline solution, 100 mL, intravenously over 1h. No intravenous glucose preparations should be administered on the days of infusion. Dosing is weekly for the first 3 weeks (on Days 1, 8, and 15) of a 28-day cycle, followed by a 1-week break (i.e., no infusion on Day 22). Part A: The individual dose will be 0.8 mg/kg (max. 65 mg) per infusion from Cycle 1 on. The maximum dose of 65 mg should never be exceeded. Part B: The individual dose will be 60 mg per infusion from Cycle 1 on.

Sponsors

Bayer
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
NON_RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Indolent NHL: * Histologically confirmed diagnosis of follicular lymphoma (FL) grades 1, 2 or 3a, marginal zone lymphoma (including nodal or splenic marginal zone B-cell lymphoma and mucosa-associated lymphoid tissue \[MALT\] lymphoma), lymphoplasmacytic lymphoma/Waldenström macroglobulinemia, chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL). * Relapsed after ≥ 2 prior chemotherapy- or immunotherapy-based regimens for indolent NHL, or refractory to 2 prior chemotherapy and/ or immunotherapy-based regimens. * Aggressive NHL: * Histologically confirmed diagnosis of grade 3b follicular lymphoma (FL), transformed indolent lymphoma, diffuse large B-cell lymphoma (DLBCL), mediastinal large B-cell lymphoma, mantle cell lymphoma (MCL), peripheral T-cell lymphoma unspecified, or anaplastic large cell lymphoma primary systemic type, or angioimmunoblastic T cell lymphoma. * Relapsed after ≥ 2 prior chemotherapy regimens, including the following: First-line treatment with standard anthracycline-containing regimen (e.g., cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin, vincristine, and prednisone or equivalent). At least 1 additional combination chemotherapy regimen. Patients relapsed after or refractory to first prior chemotherapy- and/or immunotherapy-based regimen for aggressive NHL and not eligible for high-dose regimen followed by transplant. High-dose chemotherapy, or chemoradiotherapy with autologous stem cell transplantation is considered 1 regimen. Patients with CD20 expressing neoplastic cells must have received prior rituximab, if available. * Patients with transformed indolent lymphoma must have received at least 2 prior chemotherapy- and/or immunotherapy-based regimens * Consent to provide fresh tumor tissue during screening * Indolent B-cell NHL lymphoma (study part B): * Histologically confirmed diagnosis of indolent B-cell NHL, with histological subtype limited to the following: * Follicular lymphoma (FL) grade 1-2-3a * Small lymphocytic lymphoma (SLL) with absolute lymphocyte count \< 5 x 109/L at the time of diagnosis and at study entry * Lymphoplasmacytoid lymphoma/Waldenström macroglobulinemia (LPL/WM) * Marginal zone lymphoma (MZL) (splenic, nodal, or extranodal) * Relapsed or refractory after ≥ 2 prior lines of therapy (refractory defined as not responding to a standard regimen or progressing within 6 months of the last course of a standard regimen). Patients must have received Rituximab and alkylating agents. * For all patients: * Male or female patients \> 18 years of age * ECOG performance status ≤ 2 (ECOG: Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group) * Life expectancy of at least 3 months * Adequate bone marrow, liver and renal function as assessed within 7 days before starting study treatment * Left ventricular ejection fraction (LVEF) ≥ lower limit of normal (LLN) for the Institution * Availability of archival tumor tissue

Exclusion criteria

* Uncontrolled hypertension (blood pressure ≥ 150/90 mmHg despite optimal medical management) * Patients with evidence or history of bleeding diathesis. Any hemorrhage or bleeding event ≥ CTCAE Grade 3 within 4 weeks of start of study medication (CTCAE: Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events). * History or concurrent condition of interstitial lung disease * Unresolved toxicity higher than CTCAE grade 1 (NCI-CTC version 4.0) attributed to any prior therapy/procedure excluding alopecia. (NCI: National Cancer Institute) * Prior treatment with PI3K inhibitors * Systemic corticosteroid therapy (ongoing) * Hepatitis B or C. All subjects must be screened for hepatitis B and C up to 28 days prior to study drug start using the hepatitis virus panel laboratorial routine. Subjects positive for HBsAg or HBcAb will be eligible if they are negative for HBV-DNA; subjects positive for HCV IgG will be eligible if they are negative for HCV RNA. * For Part B: * Histologically confirmed diagnosis of follicular lymphoma grade 3b or transformed disease and chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL) * History or concurrent condition of interstitial lung disease or severely impaired pulmonary function * Excluded medical conditions: * Previous or concurrent cancer that is distinct in primary site or histology from indolent B-cell NHL within 5 years prior to treatment start EXCEPT for curatively treated cervical cancer in situ, nonmelanoma skin cancer and superficial bladder tumors \[Ta (non-invasive tumor), Tis (carcinoma in situ) and T1 (tumor invades lamina propria)\]. * Hepatitis B or C. All subjects must be screened for hepatitis B and C up to 28 days prior to study drug start using the hepatitis virus panel laboratorial routine. Subjects positive for HBsAg or HBcAb will be eligible if they are negative for HBV-DNA; subjects positive for HCV IgG will be eligible if they are negative for HCV-RNA. * Type I or II diabetes mellitus with HbA1c \> 8.5% or fasting plasma glucose \> 160 mg/dL at screening. * Previous or concurrent cancer that is distinct in primary site or histology from indolent B-cell NHL within 5 years prior to treatment start EXCEPT for curatively treated cervical cancer in situ, nonmelanoma skin cancer and superficial bladder tumors \[Ta (non-invasive tumor), Tis (carcinoma in situ) and T1 (tumor invades lamina propria)\].

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Objective Response Rate (ORR) Based on Independent Review-Part ABaseline up to the last patient has completed the 16 weeks of treatmentObjective response rate was defined as the proportion of participants with a best response rating of complete response (CR), unconfirmed complete response (CRu) or partial response (PR), based on the Report of an International Workshop to Standardize Response Criteria for non-Hodgkins Lymphomas, Cheson, 1999, as evaluated by the Independent Response Adjudication Committee (IRAC). For chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL) patients Hallek criteria (2008) were used and assessed by investigator.
ORR Based on Independent Review-Part BBaseline up to the last patient has completed the 16 weeks of treatmentObjective response rate was defined as the proportion of participants with a best response rating of CR or PR, based on the International Working Group Revised response Criteria for Malignant Lymphoma, Cheson 2007.
ORR Based on Investigator Assessment-Part ABaseline up to the last patient has completed the 16 weeks of treatmentObjective response rate was defined as the proportion of participants with a best response rating of CR, CRu or PR, based on the Report of an International Workshop to Standardize Response Criteria for non-Hodgkins Lymphomas, Cheson, 1999. For CLL patients Hallek criteria (2008) were used and assessed by investigator.
ORR Based on Investigator Assessment-Part BBaseline up to the last patient has completed the 16 weeks of treatmentObjective response rate was defined as the proportion of participants with a best response rating of CR or PR, based on the International Working Group Revised response Criteria for Malignant Lymphoma, Cheson 2007.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
DOR Based on Investigator Assessment-Part BBaseline up to approximately 9 years 7 monthsDOR was defined as the time from the date of the first observed tumor response of CR or PR (whichever was noted earlier) to first subsequent disease progression (either first progressive disease \[PD\], first clinical progression or first AE associated with clinical disease progression) or death caused by disease progression, if this death occurred before progression was documented. All deaths were considered as 'caused by disease progression' except deaths with the reason other or AE not related to disease progression. DOR was evaluated only for patients with at least one tumor response of CR, CRu, or PR. Some patients may have had no report of disease progression nor death caused by disease progression until the date of the LPLV. With regards to DOR, these patients were considered as right censored at the date of their last tumor assessment after first observed tumor response.
Progression Free Survival (PFS) Based on Independent Review-Part ABaseline up to approximately 6 yearsPFS was defined as the time (in days) from the date of the first treatment to the date of first observed PD (radiological or clinical, or first AE associated with clinical PD, whichever was earlier) or death due to any cause (if death occurred before progression was documented).
PFS Based on Independent Review-Part BBaseline up to approximately 9 years 7 monthsPFS was defined as the time (in days) from the date of the first treatment to the date of first observed PD (radiological or clinical, or first AE associated with clinical PD, whichever was earlier) or death due to any cause (if death occurred before progression was documented).
PFS Based on Investigator Assessment-Part BBaseline up to approximately 9 years 7 monthsPFS was defined as the time (in days) from the date of the first treatment to the date of first observed PD (radiological or clinical, or first AE associated with clinical PD, whichever was earlier) or death due to any cause (if death occurred before progression was documented).
Duration of Response (DOR) Based on Independent Review-Part ABaseline up to approximately 6 yearsDOR was defined as the time from the date of the first observed tumor response of CR or PR (whichever was noted earlier) to first subsequent disease progression (either first progressive disease \[PD\], first clinical progression or first AE associated with clinical disease progression) or death caused by disease progression, if this death occurred before progression was documented. All deaths were considered as 'caused by disease progression' except deaths with the reason other or AE not related to disease progression. DOR was evaluated only for patients with at least one tumor response of CR, CRu, or PR. Some patients may have had no report of disease progression nor death caused by disease progression until the date of the LPLV. With regards to DOR, these patients were considered as right censored at the date of their last tumor assessment after first observed tumor response.
OS-Part BBaseline up to approximately 9 years 7 monthsOS was defined as the time (in days) from the date of first administration of study treatment to death due to any cause. OS was defined as the time (in days) from the date of first administration of study treatment to death due to any cause. Patients who were alive at the date of the LPLV were censored at the minimum of the date of LPLV and the last available date of evidence that the patient was still alive.
Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy - Lymphoma Lymphoma Subscale (FACT-Lym LymS) at Week 16 - Part BBaseline up to week 16HRQoL assessment was used to describe development of patients with copanlisib by using FACT-Lym questionnaire assessment tool. It contains 42 items (questions) covering HRQoL, common lymphoma symptoms and treatment side-effects. The FACT - General (FACT-G) questionnaire contains 27 items covering 4 core HRQoL subscales: Physical Wellbeing (7 items), Social/Family Wellbeing (7), Emotional Wellbeing (6), and Functional Wellbeing (7). The FACT-Lym also includes an Additional Concerns subscale (15 items) (FACT-Lym LymS), addressing issues typically experienced by lymphoma patients. Some of the issues covered include pain, itching, night sweats, trouble sleeping, fatigue and trouble concentrating. FACT-Lym also asks patients about lumps and swelling, fevers, infections, weight, appetite, emotional stability and treatment. Score range for the FACT-Lym LymS was 0 - 60, higher score represent less symptoms. Here in below table n signifies evaluable participants for the respective category.
Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy - Lymphoma (FACT-Lym) Total Score at Week 16 - Part BBaseline up to week 16HRQoL assessment was used to describe development of patients with copanlisib by using FACT-Lym questionnaire assessment tool. It contains 42 items (questions) covering HRQoL, common lymphoma symptoms and treatment side-effects. The FACT - General (FACT-G) questionnaire contains 27 items covering 4 core HRQoL subscales: Physical Wellbeing (7 items), Social/Family Wellbeing (7), Emotional Wellbeing (6), and Functional Wellbeing (7). The FACT-Lym also includes an Additional Concerns subscale (15 items) (FACT-Lym LymS), addressing issues typically experienced by lymphoma patients. Some of the issues covered include pain, itching, night sweats, trouble sleeping, fatigue and trouble concentrating. FACT-Lym also asks patients about lumps and swelling, fevers, infections, weight, appetite, emotional stability and treatment. FACT-Lym total score range was 0-168, higher score indicates better HRQoL. Here, in the below table n signifies evaluable participants for the respective category.
Overall Survival (OS)-Part ABaseline up to approximately 6 yearsOS was defined as the time (in days) from the date of first administration of study treatment to death due to any cause. Patients who were alive at the date of the LPLV were censored at the minimum of the date of LPLV and the last available date of evidence that the patient was still alive.
PFS Based on Investigator Assessment-Part ABaseline up to approximately 6 yearsPFS was defined as the time (in days) from the date of the first treatment to the date of first observed PD (radiological or clinical, or first AE associated with clinical PD, whichever was earlier) or death due to any cause (if death occurred before progression was documented).
DOR Based on Independent Review-Part BBaseline up to approximately 9 years 7 monthsDOR was defined as the time from the date of the first observed tumor response of CR or PR (whichever was noted earlier) to first subsequent disease progression (either first progressive disease \[PD\], first clinical progression or first AE associated with clinical disease progression) or death caused by disease progression, if this death occurred before progression was documented. All deaths were considered as 'caused by disease progression' except deaths with the reason other or AE not related to disease progression. DOR was evaluated only for patients with at least one tumor response of CR, CRu, or PR. Some patients may have had no report of disease progression nor death caused by disease progression until the date of the LPLV. With regards to DOR, these patients were considered as right censored at the date of their last tumor assessment after first observed tumor response.
DOR Based on Investigator Assessment-Part ABaseline up to approximately 6 yearsDOR was defined as the time from the date of the first observed tumor response of CR or PR (whichever was noted earlier) to first subsequent disease progression (either first progressive disease \[PD\], first clinical progression or first AE associated with clinical disease progression) or death caused by disease progression, if this death occurred before progression was documented. All deaths were considered as 'caused by disease progression' except deaths with the reason other or AE not related to disease progression. DOR was evaluated only for patients with at least one tumor response of CR, CRu, or PR. Some patients may have had no report of disease progression nor death caused by disease progression until the date of the LPLV. With regards to DOR, these patients were considered as right censored at the date of their last tumor assessment after first observed tumor response.

Countries

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Italy, New Zealand, Poland, Portugal, Russia, Singapore, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Turkey (Türkiye), United Kingdom, United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

Part A-Study enrolled participants from 41 study centers in 10 countries, between 19 NOV 2012 (first participant first visit \[FPFV\]) and 13 AUG 2018 (last participant last visit \[LPLV\]). Part B-Study enrolled participants from 81 study centers in 24 countries, between 04 NOV 2013 (FPFV) and 18 MAY 2023 (LPLV),

Pre-assignment details

Part A: Overall 125 participants were screened, of them 41 were screened but never assigned to treatment. Total 84 were assigned to treatment. Part B: Overall 213 participants were screened, of them 70 were screened but never assigned to treatment. Total 143 were assigned to treatment, of them 1 was suspected as fraudulent and excluded from analysis sets. Therefore 142 participants were evaluable.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Part A: Indolent NHL/CLL
Participants with indolent Non-Hodgkin's lymphoma/Chronic lymphocytic leukemia \[iNHL/CLL\] received copanlisib 0.8 milligram per kilogram (mg/kg), maximum 65 mg, intravenous (IV) infusion dosing over 1 hour in 100 milliliter (mL) normal saline solution on Days 1, 8, and 15 of a 28-day treatment cycle until occurrence of progressive disease, as defined in the Report of an International Workshop to Standardize Response Criteria for Non-Hodgkin's Lymphomas by Cheson et al. 1999, clinical progression, unacceptable toxicity, or any other criteria meeting withdrawal from study.
33
Part A: Aggressive NHL
Participants with aggressive NHL (aNHL) received copanlisib 0.8 mg/kg, maximum 65 mg, IV infusion dosing over 1 hour in 100 mL normal saline solution on Days 1, 8, and 15 of a 28-day treatment cycle until occurrence of progressive disease, as defined in the Report of an International Workshop to Standardize Response Criteria for Non-Hodgkin's Lymphomas by Cheson et al. 1999, clinical progression, unacceptable toxicity, or any other criteria meeting withdrawal from study.
51
Part B: Indolent NHL
Participants with indolent B-cell NHL received copanlisib 60 mg or 0.8 mg/kg, IV infusion dosing over 1 hour in 100 mL normal saline solution on Days 1, 8, and 15 of a 28-day treatment cycle until occurrence of progressive disease, as defined in the Revised Response Criteria for Malignant Lymphoma by Cheson et al., 2007, clinical progression, unacceptable toxicity, or any other criteria meeting withdrawal from study.
142
Total226

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001FG002
Overall StudyAE associated with clinical disease progression1311
Overall StudyAE not associated with clinical disease progression131040
Overall StudyDeath101
Overall StudyOther001
Overall StudyPhysician Decision125
Overall StudyProgressive disease - clinical progression4109
Overall StudyProgressive disease - radiological progression122350
Overall StudyProtocol Deviation001
Overall StudyProtocol Violation011
Overall StudySponsor Decision001
Overall StudySwitching to other therapy011
Overall StudyTrial closure.001
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject1120

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicPart A: Indolent NHL/CLLPart A: Aggressive NHLPart B: Indolent NHLTotal
Age, Customized
18 to 90 years
33 Participants51 Participants142 Participants226 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
2 Participants2 Participants6 Participants10 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
21 Participants36 Participants124 Participants181 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
10 Participants13 Participants12 Participants35 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants0 Participants15 Participants15 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
8 Participants11 Participants7 Participants26 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
25 Participants40 Participants120 Participants185 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
18 Participants22 Participants71 Participants111 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
15 Participants29 Participants71 Participants115 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
21 / 3339 / 5175 / 142
other
Total, other adverse events
33 / 3350 / 51138 / 142
serious
Total, serious adverse events
16 / 3331 / 5181 / 142

Outcome results

Primary

Objective Response Rate (ORR) Based on Independent Review-Part A

Objective response rate was defined as the proportion of participants with a best response rating of complete response (CR), unconfirmed complete response (CRu) or partial response (PR), based on the Report of an International Workshop to Standardize Response Criteria for non-Hodgkins Lymphomas, Cheson, 1999, as evaluated by the Independent Response Adjudication Committee (IRAC). For chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL) patients Hallek criteria (2008) were used and assessed by investigator.

Time frame: Baseline up to the last patient has completed the 16 weeks of treatment

Population: Per protocol set included all patients treated with study drug and evaluated for ORR and had no major protocol deviation. (In Part A, for CLL patients, there was no independent assessment. Instead, the investigator assessment had been used.)

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Part A: Indolent NHL/CLLObjective Response Rate (ORR) Based on Independent Review-Part A43.75 percentage of participants
Part A: Aggressive NHLObjective Response Rate (ORR) Based on Independent Review-Part A27.08 percentage of participants
Comparison: Response rate was statistically compared by exact binomial test if higher than 5%.p-value: 0.000190% CI: [30.49, 61.06]Exact binomial test
Comparison: Response rate was statistically compared by exact binomial test if higher than 5%.p-value: 0.000190% CI: [16.83, 39.57]Exact binominal test
Primary

ORR Based on Independent Review-Part B

Objective response rate was defined as the proportion of participants with a best response rating of CR or PR, based on the International Working Group Revised response Criteria for Malignant Lymphoma, Cheson 2007.

Time frame: Baseline up to the last patient has completed the 16 weeks of treatment

Population: FAS included all patients assigned to study treatment.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Part A: Indolent NHL/CLLORR Based on Independent Review-Part B59.15 percentage of participants
Comparison: Response rate was statistically compared by exact binomial test if higher than 40%.p-value: <0.000195% CI: [50.6, 67.32]Exact binominal test
Primary

ORR Based on Investigator Assessment-Part A

Objective response rate was defined as the proportion of participants with a best response rating of CR, CRu or PR, based on the Report of an International Workshop to Standardize Response Criteria for non-Hodgkins Lymphomas, Cheson, 1999. For CLL patients Hallek criteria (2008) were used and assessed by investigator.

Time frame: Baseline up to the last patient has completed the 16 weeks of treatment

Population: Per protocol set included all patients treated with study drug and evaluated for ORR and had no major protocol deviation. Patients who were not evaluable for ORR and discontinued due to a drug-related toxicity, death / progression by clinical judgment before disease was re-evaluated and included.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Part A: Indolent NHL/CLLORR Based on Investigator Assessment-Part A46.88 percentage of participants
Part A: Aggressive NHLORR Based on Investigator Assessment-Part A31.25 percentage of participants
Comparison: Response rate was statistically compared by exact binomial test if higher than 5%.p-value: 0.000190% CI: [31.54, 62.66]Exact binominal test
Comparison: Response rate was statistically compared by exact binomial test if higher than 5%.p-value: 0.000190% CI: [20.35, 43.97]Exact binominal test
Primary

ORR Based on Investigator Assessment-Part B

Objective response rate was defined as the proportion of participants with a best response rating of CR or PR, based on the International Working Group Revised response Criteria for Malignant Lymphoma, Cheson 2007.

Time frame: Baseline up to the last patient has completed the 16 weeks of treatment

Population: FAS included all patients assigned to study treatment.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Part A: Indolent NHL/CLLORR Based on Investigator Assessment-Part B51.41 percentage of participants
Comparison: Response rate was statistically compared by exact binomial test if higher than 40%.p-value: 0.003995% CI: [42.88, 59.87]Exact binominal test
Secondary

DOR Based on Independent Review-Part B

DOR was defined as the time from the date of the first observed tumor response of CR or PR (whichever was noted earlier) to first subsequent disease progression (either first progressive disease \[PD\], first clinical progression or first AE associated with clinical disease progression) or death caused by disease progression, if this death occurred before progression was documented. All deaths were considered as 'caused by disease progression' except deaths with the reason other or AE not related to disease progression. DOR was evaluated only for patients with at least one tumor response of CR, CRu, or PR. Some patients may have had no report of disease progression nor death caused by disease progression until the date of the LPLV. With regards to DOR, these patients were considered as right censored at the date of their last tumor assessment after first observed tumor response.

Time frame: Baseline up to approximately 9 years 7 months

Population: FAS included all patients assigned to study treatment. DOR was only evaluated for patients with at least one tumor response of CR, Cru (only for Part A) or PR.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Part A: Indolent NHL/CLLDOR Based on Independent Review-Part B14.9 Months
Secondary

DOR Based on Investigator Assessment-Part A

DOR was defined as the time from the date of the first observed tumor response of CR or PR (whichever was noted earlier) to first subsequent disease progression (either first progressive disease \[PD\], first clinical progression or first AE associated with clinical disease progression) or death caused by disease progression, if this death occurred before progression was documented. All deaths were considered as 'caused by disease progression' except deaths with the reason other or AE not related to disease progression. DOR was evaluated only for patients with at least one tumor response of CR, CRu, or PR. Some patients may have had no report of disease progression nor death caused by disease progression until the date of the LPLV. With regards to DOR, these patients were considered as right censored at the date of their last tumor assessment after first observed tumor response.

Time frame: Baseline up to approximately 6 years

Population: PPS included all patients with study drug administration that were evaluable for objective tumor response and had no major protocol deviation.~DOR was only evaluated for patients with at least one tumor response of CR, Cru (only for Part A) or PR.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Part A: Indolent NHL/CLLDOR Based on Investigator Assessment-Part A189 Days
Part A: Aggressive NHLDOR Based on Investigator Assessment-Part A190 Days
Secondary

DOR Based on Investigator Assessment-Part B

DOR was defined as the time from the date of the first observed tumor response of CR or PR (whichever was noted earlier) to first subsequent disease progression (either first progressive disease \[PD\], first clinical progression or first AE associated with clinical disease progression) or death caused by disease progression, if this death occurred before progression was documented. All deaths were considered as 'caused by disease progression' except deaths with the reason other or AE not related to disease progression. DOR was evaluated only for patients with at least one tumor response of CR, CRu, or PR. Some patients may have had no report of disease progression nor death caused by disease progression until the date of the LPLV. With regards to DOR, these patients were considered as right censored at the date of their last tumor assessment after first observed tumor response.

Time frame: Baseline up to approximately 9 years 7 months

Population: FAS included all patients assigned to study treatment. DOR was only evaluated for patients with at least one tumor response of CR, Cru (only for Part A) or PR.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Part A: Indolent NHL/CLLDOR Based on Investigator Assessment-Part B11.5 Months
Secondary

Duration of Response (DOR) Based on Independent Review-Part A

DOR was defined as the time from the date of the first observed tumor response of CR or PR (whichever was noted earlier) to first subsequent disease progression (either first progressive disease \[PD\], first clinical progression or first AE associated with clinical disease progression) or death caused by disease progression, if this death occurred before progression was documented. All deaths were considered as 'caused by disease progression' except deaths with the reason other or AE not related to disease progression. DOR was evaluated only for patients with at least one tumor response of CR, CRu, or PR. Some patients may have had no report of disease progression nor death caused by disease progression until the date of the LPLV. With regards to DOR, these patients were considered as right censored at the date of their last tumor assessment after first observed tumor response.

Time frame: Baseline up to approximately 6 years

Population: PPS included all patients with study drug administration that were evaluable for objective tumor response and had no major protocol deviation.~DOR was only evaluated for patients with at least one tumor response of CR, Cru (only for Part A) or PR.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Part A: Indolent NHL/CLLDuration of Response (DOR) Based on Independent Review-Part A322 Days
Part A: Aggressive NHLDuration of Response (DOR) Based on Independent Review-Part ANA Days
Secondary

Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy - Lymphoma (FACT-Lym) Total Score at Week 16 - Part B

HRQoL assessment was used to describe development of patients with copanlisib by using FACT-Lym questionnaire assessment tool. It contains 42 items (questions) covering HRQoL, common lymphoma symptoms and treatment side-effects. The FACT - General (FACT-G) questionnaire contains 27 items covering 4 core HRQoL subscales: Physical Wellbeing (7 items), Social/Family Wellbeing (7), Emotional Wellbeing (6), and Functional Wellbeing (7). The FACT-Lym also includes an Additional Concerns subscale (15 items) (FACT-Lym LymS), addressing issues typically experienced by lymphoma patients. Some of the issues covered include pain, itching, night sweats, trouble sleeping, fatigue and trouble concentrating. FACT-Lym also asks patients about lumps and swelling, fevers, infections, weight, appetite, emotional stability and treatment. FACT-Lym total score range was 0-168, higher score indicates better HRQoL. Here, in the below table n signifies evaluable participants for the respective category.

Time frame: Baseline up to week 16

Population: FAS included all patients assigned to study treatment. The analysis was performed by using last LOCF method.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEDIAN)
Part A: Indolent NHL/CLLFunctional Assessment of Cancer Therapy - Lymphoma (FACT-Lym) Total Score at Week 16 - Part BBaseline127.50 units on a scale
Part A: Indolent NHL/CLLFunctional Assessment of Cancer Therapy - Lymphoma (FACT-Lym) Total Score at Week 16 - Part BValue at Week 16130.83 units on a scale
Comparison: Hodges-Lehmann-estimate was used to calculate change to Week 16 and 95% confidence interval.95% CI: [-0.7, 3.2]
Secondary

Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy - Lymphoma Lymphoma Subscale (FACT-Lym LymS) at Week 16 - Part B

HRQoL assessment was used to describe development of patients with copanlisib by using FACT-Lym questionnaire assessment tool. It contains 42 items (questions) covering HRQoL, common lymphoma symptoms and treatment side-effects. The FACT - General (FACT-G) questionnaire contains 27 items covering 4 core HRQoL subscales: Physical Wellbeing (7 items), Social/Family Wellbeing (7), Emotional Wellbeing (6), and Functional Wellbeing (7). The FACT-Lym also includes an Additional Concerns subscale (15 items) (FACT-Lym LymS), addressing issues typically experienced by lymphoma patients. Some of the issues covered include pain, itching, night sweats, trouble sleeping, fatigue and trouble concentrating. FACT-Lym also asks patients about lumps and swelling, fevers, infections, weight, appetite, emotional stability and treatment. Score range for the FACT-Lym LymS was 0 - 60, higher score represent less symptoms. Here in below table n signifies evaluable participants for the respective category.

Time frame: Baseline up to week 16

Population: FAS included all patients assigned to study treatment. The analysis was performed by using last observation carried forward (LOCF) method.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEDIAN)
Part A: Indolent NHL/CLLFunctional Assessment of Cancer Therapy - Lymphoma Lymphoma Subscale (FACT-Lym LymS) at Week 16 - Part BBaseline46.50 units on a scale
Part A: Indolent NHL/CLLFunctional Assessment of Cancer Therapy - Lymphoma Lymphoma Subscale (FACT-Lym LymS) at Week 16 - Part BValue at Week 1649.00 units on a scale
Comparison: Hodges-Lehmann-estimate was used to calculate change to Week 16 and 95% confidence interval.95% CI: [0.5, 2.5]
Secondary

OS-Part B

OS was defined as the time (in days) from the date of first administration of study treatment to death due to any cause. OS was defined as the time (in days) from the date of first administration of study treatment to death due to any cause. Patients who were alive at the date of the LPLV were censored at the minimum of the date of LPLV and the last available date of evidence that the patient was still alive.

Time frame: Baseline up to approximately 9 years 7 months

Population: FAS included all patients assigned to study treatment.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Part A: Indolent NHL/CLLOS-Part B59.1 Months
Secondary

Overall Survival (OS)-Part A

OS was defined as the time (in days) from the date of first administration of study treatment to death due to any cause. Patients who were alive at the date of the LPLV were censored at the minimum of the date of LPLV and the last available date of evidence that the patient was still alive.

Time frame: Baseline up to approximately 6 years

Population: FAS included all patients assigned to study treatment.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Part A: Indolent NHL/CLLOverall Survival (OS)-Part A657 Days
Part A: Aggressive NHLOverall Survival (OS)-Part A211 Days
Secondary

PFS Based on Independent Review-Part B

PFS was defined as the time (in days) from the date of the first treatment to the date of first observed PD (radiological or clinical, or first AE associated with clinical PD, whichever was earlier) or death due to any cause (if death occurred before progression was documented).

Time frame: Baseline up to approximately 9 years 7 months

Population: FAS included all patients assigned to study treatment.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Part A: Indolent NHL/CLLPFS Based on Independent Review-Part B11.3 Months
Secondary

PFS Based on Investigator Assessment-Part A

PFS was defined as the time (in days) from the date of the first treatment to the date of first observed PD (radiological or clinical, or first AE associated with clinical PD, whichever was earlier) or death due to any cause (if death occurred before progression was documented).

Time frame: Baseline up to approximately 6 years

Population: FAS included all patients assigned to study treatment.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Part A: Indolent NHL/CLLPFS Based on Investigator Assessment-Part A224 Days
Part A: Aggressive NHLPFS Based on Investigator Assessment-Part A70 Days
Secondary

PFS Based on Investigator Assessment-Part B

PFS was defined as the time (in days) from the date of the first treatment to the date of first observed PD (radiological or clinical, or first AE associated with clinical PD, whichever was earlier) or death due to any cause (if death occurred before progression was documented).

Time frame: Baseline up to approximately 9 years 7 months

Population: FAS included all patients assigned to study treatment.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Part A: Indolent NHL/CLLPFS Based on Investigator Assessment-Part B10.8 Months
Secondary

Progression Free Survival (PFS) Based on Independent Review-Part A

PFS was defined as the time (in days) from the date of the first treatment to the date of first observed PD (radiological or clinical, or first AE associated with clinical PD, whichever was earlier) or death due to any cause (if death occurred before progression was documented).

Time frame: Baseline up to approximately 6 years

Population: FAS included all patients assigned to study treatment.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Part A: Indolent NHL/CLLProgression Free Survival (PFS) Based on Independent Review-Part A223 Days
Part A: Aggressive NHLProgression Free Survival (PFS) Based on Independent Review-Part A70 Days

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Mar 9, 2026