Skip to content

Gemcitabine Hydrochloride and Docetaxel Followed by Doxorubicin Hydrochloride or Observation in Treating Patients With High-Risk Uterine Leiomyosarcoma Previously Removed by Surgery

A Phase III Randomized Trial of Gemcitabine (NSC# 613327) Plus Docetaxel (NSC# 628503) Followed by Doxorubicin (NSC# 123127) Versus Observation for Uterus-Limited, High Grade Uterine Leiomyosarcoma

Status
Terminated
Phases
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT01533207
Enrollment
38
Registered
2012-02-15
Start date
2012-06-04
Completion date
2019-02-09
Last updated
2020-04-28

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Stage I Uterine Sarcoma AJCC v7, Uterine Corpus Leiomyosarcoma

Brief summary

This randomized phase III trial studies how well gemcitabine hydrochloride and docetaxel followed by doxorubicin hydrochloride work compared to observation in treating patients with high-risk uterine leiomyosarcoma previously removed by surgery. Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as gemcitabine hydrochloride, docetaxel, and doxorubicin hydrochloride, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells, by stopping them from dividing, or by stopping them from spreading. It is not yet known whether combination therapy after surgery is an effective treatment for uterine leiomyosarcoma.

Detailed description

PRIMARY OBJECTIVES: I. To determine whether overall survival of patients with uterus-limited high-grade leiomyosarcoma is superior among patients assigned to treatment with adjuvant gemcitabine hydrochloride (gemcitabine) plus docetaxel followed by doxorubicin hydrochloride compared to patients assigned to observation. SECONDARY OBJECTIVES: I. To determine whether treatment with adjuvant gemcitabine plus docetaxel followed by doxorubicin improves recurrence-free survival of patients with uterus-limited high-grade leiomyosarcoma compared to observation. II. To explore the impact of potential predictors of recurrence or death such as patient age, institution reported tumor size, cervix involvement (yes or no), and mitotic rate. OUTLINE: Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms. Arm I: Patients receive adjuvant gemcitabine hydrochloride IV over 70-90 minutes on days 1 and 8 and docetaxel IV over 30-60 minutes on day 8. Patients also receive filgrastim subcutaneously (SC) on days 9-15 or pegfilgrastim SC on day 9 or 10. Treatment repeats every 21 days for up to 4 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients then undergo computed tomography (CT) and/or magnetic resonance imaging (MRI). Patients with no evidence of disease receive doxorubicin hydrochloride IV every 21 days for 4 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients also receive filgrastim SC on days 2-8 or pegfilgrastim SC on day 2 or 3. Arm II: Patients undergo clinical observation. After completion of study treatment, patients in both arms are followed up every 4 months for 3 years and then every 6 months for 2 years.

Interventions

OTHERClinical Observation

Patients followed clinically

DRUGDocetaxel

Given IV

DRUGDoxorubicin Hydrochloride

Given IV

BIOLOGICALFilgrastim

Given subcutaneously (SC)

DRUGGemcitabine Hydrochloride

Given IV

BIOLOGICALPegfilgrastim

Given SC

Sponsors

National Cancer Institute (NCI)
CollaboratorNIH
Gynecologic Oncology Group
Lead SponsorNETWORK

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
FEMALE
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Patients with high-risk uterine leiomyosarcoma (LMS), Federation of Gynecology and Obstetrics (FIGO) stage I (confined to corpus +/- cervix); patients with known uterine serosa involvement are not eligible; patients should have had, at least, a complete hysterectomy (including removal of the cervix); bilateral salpingo-oophorectomy is not required * Institutional pathology review calls the uterine leiomyosarcoma ?high grade? * Additionally, if the pathology report indicates a mitotic rate, the mitotic rate should be greater than or equal to 5 mitoses/10 high-power field * All patients must be no longer than 12 weeks (3 months) from surgical resection of cancer at the time of enrollment on study; if a patient requires a second operation to complete her surgery, i.e., trachelectomy to remove the cervix and/or bilateral salpingo-oophorectomy (BSO), the 12 weeks may be counted from the time of the second operation * Patients who had a ?morcellation? hysterectomy procedure that involved morcellation within the peritoneal cavity are eligible IF a second operation is performed and biopsies from the second procedure show no evidence of leiomyosarcoma * All patients must have no evidence of persistent or metastatic disease as documented by a post-resection computed tomography (CT) of the chest/abdomen/pelvis or by CT chest + magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) abdomen/pelvis; the post-resection imaging studies should be performed within 4 weeks of registration on study * Absolute neutrophil count (ANC) greater than or equal to 1,500/mcL (ANC \>= 1.5 x 10\^9/liter \[L\]) * Platelets greater than or equal to 100,000/mcL (platelets \>= 100 x 10\^9/L) * Hemoglobin greater than 8.0 g/dL (= 80 g/L or 4.9 mmol/L) * Creatinine less than or equal to 1.5 x institutional upper limit of normal (ULN) * Bilirubin\* within normal range * Serum glutamic oxaloacetic transaminase (SGOT) (aspartate aminotransferase \[AST\])\* and serum glutamate pyruvate transaminase (SGPT) (alanine aminotransferase \[ALT\])\* less than or equal to 2.5 times ULN * Alkaline phosphatase\* less than or equal to 2.5 x ULN * \* Patients with a history of Gilbert?s syndrome may be eligible provided total bilirubin is less than or equal to 1.5 x ULN and the AST, ALT, and alkaline phosphatase meet the criteria detailed * Neuropathy (sensory and motor) less than or equal to Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) grade 1 * Patients with Gynecologic Oncology Group (GOG) performance status of 0 or 1 OR Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) PS of 0 or 1 OR Karnofsky performance status (PS) \>= 80% * Patients who have met the pre-entry requirements specified * Patients must have signed an approved informed consent * Patients participating through United States (U.S.) sites must sign an approved and authorization permitting release of personal health information * Patients should be free of active infection requiring antibiotics (with the exception of an uncomplicated urinary tract infection \[UTI\])

Exclusion criteria

* Patients who have had prior therapy with docetaxel, gemcitabine hydrochloride, or doxorubicin hydrochloride at any time in their history * Patients with a history of other invasive malignancies, with the exception of non-melanoma skin cancer, are ineligible if there is any evidence of other malignancy being present within the last five years; patients are also ineligible if their previous cancer treatment contraindicates this protocol therapy * Patients with a history of severe hypersensitivity reaction to Taxotere (docetaxel) or other drugs formulated with polysorbate 80 * Patients with GOG performance status of 2, 3 or 4; or ECOG performance status of 2, 3 or 4 * Patients who are breast-feeding * Patients with a known history of congestive heart failure or cardiac ejection fraction \< 50% (or less than institutional normal limits); echocardiogram (ECHO) or multigated acquisition scan (MUGA) is not required prior to enrollment; for patients assigned to the chemotherapy arm, an ECHO or MUGA should be done within 6 months of day 1 of gemcitabine-docetaxel treatment * Patients who enroll on study and are randomized to Regimen I (chemotherapy ) and then are found on baseline ECHO or MUGA to have cardiac ejection fraction \< 50% or below institutional normal will remain ON study; such patients will receive gemcitabine + docetaxel for 4 cycles but will NOT receive any doxorubicin treatment; they will continue treatment follow-up as outlined for all patients assigned to Regimen I * Patients with a history of prior whole pelvic radiation * Concurrent treatment with hormone replacement therapy is permitted at the discretion of the treating physician; patients who have been taking hormonal/hormone blocking agents for breast cancer or breast cancer prevention or other indication are eligible; use of anti-hormonal agents (tamoxifen, medroxyprogesterone, aromatase inhibitors) is permitted at the discretion of the treating physician; documentation of concurrent medications is required * Patients with recurrent uterine LMS * Patients who are known to be human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) positive are not eligible * Patients with gross residual or metastatic tumor findings following complete surgical treatment for uterine LMS

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Participants Who Experienced DeathFollow-up every 4 months for 3 years, then every 6 months for 2 years.The duration of time from study entry to time of death or the date of last contact.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Incidence of Grade 3 or Higher Adverse Events as Assessed by National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events Version 4.0Approximately 4 years
Number of Participants With RecurrenceFollow-up every 4 months for 3 years, then every 6 months for 2 years.The duration of time from study entry to time of recurrence or death, whichever occurred first, or the date of last contact.

Other

MeasureTime frameDescription
Univariate and Multi-variable Prognostic Significance of Baseline Clinical, Pathologic, or Demographic FactorsUp to 5 yearsAnalyses will be carried out using proportional hazards models of both survival and recurrence.

Countries

Belgium, France, Netherlands, Norway, Spain, United Kingdom, United States, Venezuela

Participant flow

Recruitment details

This study accrued 38 patients from June 2012 to September, 2016. Study was closed due to accrual futility.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Regimen 1
Gemcitabine 900 mg/m2 IV days 1 and 8 Docetaxel 75 mg/m2 IV day 8 GCSF 5 micrograms/kg days 9-15 or pegfilgrastim 6 mg day 9 or 10 Every 21 days for 4 cycles CT/MRI imaging to confirm disease-free Doxorubicin 60 mg/m2 IV every 21 days for 4 cycles
20
Regimen II
Observation
18
Total38

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicRegimen 1TotalRegimen II
Age, Customized
20-29 years
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Age, Customized
30-39 years
2 Participants2 Participants0 Participants
Age, Customized
40-49 years
4 Participants8 Participants4 Participants
Age, Customized
50-59 years
10 Participants17 Participants7 Participants
Age, Customized
60-69 years
3 Participants8 Participants5 Participants
Age, Customized
70-79 years
1 Participants3 Participants2 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
2 Participants2 Participants0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
16 Participants33 Participants17 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
2 Participants3 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
1 Participants5 Participants4 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
4 Participants6 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
15 Participants26 Participants11 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
20 Participants38 Participants18 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
5 / 201 / 18
other
Total, other adverse events
16 / 2012 / 18
serious
Total, serious adverse events
5 / 200 / 18

Outcome results

Primary

Number of Participants Who Experienced Death

The duration of time from study entry to time of death or the date of last contact.

Time frame: Follow-up every 4 months for 3 years, then every 6 months for 2 years.

Population: Eligible and evaluable participants

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Regimen 1Number of Participants Who Experienced Death5 Participants
Regimen IINumber of Participants Who Experienced Death1 Participants
Secondary

Incidence of Grade 3 or Higher Adverse Events as Assessed by National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events Version 4.0

Time frame: Approximately 4 years

Population: eligible and randomized patients

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Regimen 1Incidence of Grade 3 or Higher Adverse Events as Assessed by National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events Version 4.010 participants
Regimen IIIncidence of Grade 3 or Higher Adverse Events as Assessed by National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events Version 4.01 participants
Secondary

Number of Participants With Recurrence

The duration of time from study entry to time of recurrence or death, whichever occurred first, or the date of last contact.

Time frame: Follow-up every 4 months for 3 years, then every 6 months for 2 years.

Population: Eligible and evaluable participants

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Regimen 1Number of Participants With Recurrence8 participants
Regimen IINumber of Participants With Recurrence8 participants
Other Pre-specified

Univariate and Multi-variable Prognostic Significance of Baseline Clinical, Pathologic, or Demographic Factors

Analyses will be carried out using proportional hazards models of both survival and recurrence.

Time frame: Up to 5 years

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 28, 2026