Skip to content

Rehabilitation and Exercise Training After Hospitalization

Rehabilitation and Exercise Training After Hospitalization: Assessing Benefit in Acute Heart Failure (REHAB-HF) Pilot Study

Status
Completed
Phases
NA
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT01508650
Acronym
REHAB-HF
Enrollment
27
Registered
2012-01-12
Start date
2011-10-31
Completion date
2012-09-07
Last updated
2019-02-07

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Heart Failure

Keywords

heart failure

Brief summary

Rehabilitation and Exercise Training after Hospitalization: Assessing Benefit in Acute Heart Failure (REHAB-HF) pilot is a multi-site, randomized clinical pilot study designed to establish the feasibility of conducting a larger clinical trial to address the hypothesis that, in addition to standard care, a novel, progressive, multi-domain 3-month rehabilitation intervention administered to elderly patients with acute decompensated heart failure (ADHF) will improve key clinical outcomes, including the rate of rehospitalization and death, physical function, and quality of life.

Detailed description

Three centers,Wake Forest Baptist Health along with Thomas Jefferson University Hospital-Co-Investigator Dr. David Whellan, and Duke Medical Center- Co-Investigator Dr. Christopher O'Connor, will recruit a total of 60 consenting patients ≥ 60 years old hospitalized with ADHF. Once identified and screened, the participants will be randomized in a 1:1 fashion to receive a 3 month novel rehabilitation and exercise training intervention or usual care. This multi-domain intervention will include endurance, mobility, strength, and balance training and be tailored based on participant performance in each of these domains. It will begin during the hospitalization and continue three times per week in an outpatient facility.

Interventions

BEHAVIORALUsual care

Usual care control group

Multi-domain rehabilitation intervention

Sponsors

Wake Forest University
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
60 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Age ≥ 60 years old * Hospitalized for the management of ADHF or diagnosed with ADHF after being hospitalized for another reason. ADHF will be defined as a combination of symptoms, signs, and HF-specific medical treatments.

Exclusion criteria

* Planned discharge other than to home or a facility where the participant will live independently. * Acute myocardial infarction * Already participating in cardiac rehabilitation

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
6 Minute Walk Testup to 3 monthsThe 6 minute walk test submaximal exercise test that measures how far a participant can walk in 6 continuous minutes. Participants are instructed to walk as far as possible in 6 minutes, and are allowed to slow down and take breaks as needed due to symptoms.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
SPPB (Short Physical Performance Battery)up to 3 monthsThe SPPB is a multi-component measure of physical function. The SPPB is composed of 3 components-standing balance, gait speed, and timed repeated chair rise-each scored on a scale from 0 to 4 and combined for a total score of 0 to 12. A higher score denotes better physical function.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
No Intervention
Usual care control group
12
Active Comparator
Multi domain rehabilitation intervention
15
Total27

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001
Overall StudyLost to Follow-up03

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicActive ComparatorTotalNo Intervention
Age, Continuous72.7 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 9.1
72.3 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 9.9
71.8 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 10.8
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
15 Participants26 Participants11 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
8 Participants15 Participants7 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
7 Participants12 Participants5 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
8 Participants16 Participants8 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
7 Participants11 Participants4 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 120 / 15
other
Total, other adverse events
2 / 125 / 15
serious
Total, serious adverse events
8 / 1211 / 15

Outcome results

Primary

6 Minute Walk Test

The 6 minute walk test submaximal exercise test that measures how far a participant can walk in 6 continuous minutes. Participants are instructed to walk as far as possible in 6 minutes, and are allowed to slow down and take breaks as needed due to symptoms.

Time frame: up to 3 months

ArmMeasureValue (LEAST_SQUARES_MEAN)Dispersion
No Intervention6 Minute Walk Test224 metersStandard Error 22
Active Comparator6 Minute Walk Test247 metersStandard Error 22
Secondary

SPPB (Short Physical Performance Battery)

The SPPB is a multi-component measure of physical function. The SPPB is composed of 3 components-standing balance, gait speed, and timed repeated chair rise-each scored on a scale from 0 to 4 and combined for a total score of 0 to 12. A higher score denotes better physical function.

Time frame: up to 3 months

ArmMeasureValue (LEAST_SQUARES_MEAN)Dispersion
No InterventionSPPB (Short Physical Performance Battery)6.3 units on a scaleStandard Error 0.5
Active ComparatorSPPB (Short Physical Performance Battery)7.4 units on a scaleStandard Error 0.5

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Mar 10, 2026