Skip to content

RADVAX™: A STRATIFIED PHASE I/II DOSE ESCALATION TRIAL OF HYPOFRACTIONATED RADIOTHERAPY FOLLOWED BY IPILIMUMAB IN METASTATIC MELANOMA

RADVAX™: A STRATIFIED PHASE I/II DOSE ESCALATION TRIAL OF HYPOFRACTIONATED RADIOTHERAPY FOLLOWED BY IPILIMUMAB IN METASTATIC MELANOMA

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 1Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT01497808
Enrollment
22
Registered
2011-12-23
Start date
2011-11-29
Completion date
2015-10-12
Last updated
2021-08-10

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Metastatic Melanoma

Keywords

previously untreated, previously treated, bone, lung, liver or subcutaneous involvement, nodal involvement, without evidence of brain involvement

Brief summary

The primary objective is to determine the maximum tolerated hypofractionated radiotherapy dose (MTD) to a solitary metastatic focus ('index lesion') when followed by ipilimumab, in metastatic melanoma patients without brain involvement The secondary objectives are to determine late toxicity, immune-related clinical responses and immune pharmacodynamic changes after hypofractionated radiotherapy followed by ipilimumab

Interventions

DRUGIpilimumab
RADIATIONStereotactic Body Radiation Therapy

Sponsors

Abramson Cancer Center at Penn Medicine
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
NON_RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
SEQUENTIAL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Patient \> 18 years old * Histologically confirmed diagnosis of melanoma * Previously treated or previously untreated metastatic melanoma by AJCC staging criteria * Presence of an index lesion \> 1 cm amenable to hypofractionated radiotherapy and at least one other additional lesion that can be followed for response using RECIST criteria * ECOG Performance status 0 or 1 * Signed informed consent document * Ability to tolerate stereotactic body radiation therapy (e.g. lie flat and hold position for treatment)

Exclusion criteria

* Prior systemic therapy within 14 days of study enrollment. Patients must be adequately recovered from prior systemic therapy side effects as deemed by the PI. * Clinical contraindication to stereotactic body radiotherapy (e.g. active systemic sclerosis, active inflammatory bowel disease if bowel is within target field, etc) * Presence or history of central nervous system metastasis (including brain) * Long-term use of systemic corticosteroids * Prior RT that precludes the delivery of hypofractionated radiotherapy

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frame
Dose-limiting Toxicity (DLT)30 days

Secondary

MeasureTime frame
Participants With Adverse Eventsafter 30 days

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Ipilimumab and Radiotherapy (8 Gy x 2)
Ipilimumab Stereotactic Body Radiation Therapy
6
Ipilimumab and Radiotherapy (8 Gy x 3)4
Ipilimumab and Radiotherapy (6 Gy x 2)6
Ipilimumab and Radiotherapy (6 Gy x 3)6
Total22

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicIpilimumab and Radiotherapy (8 Gy x 2)Ipilimumab and Radiotherapy (8 Gy x 3)Ipilimumab and Radiotherapy (6 Gy x 2)Ipilimumab and Radiotherapy (6 Gy x 3)Total
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
3 Participants1 Participants4 Participants6 Participants14 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
3 Participants3 Participants2 Participants0 Participants8 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
6 Participants4 Participants6 Participants6 Participants22 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
6 Participants4 Participants6 Participants6 Participants22 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
1 Participants2 Participants1 Participants1 Participants5 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
5 Participants2 Participants5 Participants5 Participants17 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
EG003
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 60 / 40 / 60 / 6
other
Total, other adverse events
5 / 63 / 46 / 66 / 6
serious
Total, serious adverse events
5 / 61 / 43 / 62 / 6

Outcome results

Primary

Dose-limiting Toxicity (DLT)

Time frame: 30 days

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Ipilimumab and Radiotherapy (8 Gy x 2)Dose-limiting Toxicity (DLT)0 Participants
Ipilimumab and Radiotherapy (8 Gy x 3)Dose-limiting Toxicity (DLT)0 Participants
Ipilimumab and Radiotherapy (6 Gy x 2)Dose-limiting Toxicity (DLT)0 Participants
Ipilimumab and Radiotherapy (6 Gy x 3)Dose-limiting Toxicity (DLT)0 Participants
Secondary

Participants With Adverse Events

Time frame: after 30 days

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Ipilimumab and Radiotherapy (8 Gy x 2)Participants With Adverse Events6 Participants
Ipilimumab and Radiotherapy (8 Gy x 3)Participants With Adverse Events4 Participants
Ipilimumab and Radiotherapy (6 Gy x 2)Participants With Adverse Events6 Participants
Ipilimumab and Radiotherapy (6 Gy x 3)Participants With Adverse Events6 Participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 16, 2026