Skip to content

Proton Radiotherapy for Upper Gastrointestinal Malignancies

A Feasibility and Registration Study of Proton Radiotherapy for Upper Gastrointestinal Malignancies

Status
Completed
Phases
NA
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT01449864
Enrollment
22
Registered
2011-10-10
Start date
2011-08-31
Completion date
2019-12-31
Last updated
2020-04-15

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Gastrointestinal Cancer

Keywords

upper GI malignancies, concurrent chemoradiation with continuous infusion 5-Fluorouracil chemotherapy

Brief summary

The primary objectives are to determine feasibility and the acute toxicity profile of proton therapy with concurrent continuous infusion 5-FU chemotherapy. Secondary objectives are to determine late toxicities and to generate preliminary data on clinical efficacy.

Detailed description

This protocol invites patients with cancer of the upper digestive tract who will receive simultaneous proton radiation therapy and chemotherapy. The purpose of this study is to use a newer form of radiation therapy called proton radiation and to determine if its use is safe and effective in people with this type of cancer. Doctors will assess the safety of this method of treatment, record the side effects participants experience while receiving the standard dose of proton radiation.

Interventions

RADIATIONProton therapy

The goal of radiation therapy is to deposit the majority of the radiation dose to the target while minimizing the dose to the surrounding normal tissues.

Sponsors

Abramson Cancer Center at Penn Medicine
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Patients with histologic diagnosis of adenocarcinoma of the upper gastrointestinal tract, including patients with any of the following diagnoses and settings who are candidates to receive radiation which concurrent continuous infusion 5-FU chemotherapy: Pancreatic adenocarcinoma (unresected and adjuvant), Duodenal adenocarcinoma (unresected or adjuvant), Cholangiocarcinoma (unresected or adjuvant), Gastric adenocarcinoma (unresected or adjuvant), Gastroesophageal junction adeno carcinoma (adjuvant) * Patient must be \>18 years of age. * Patient must have an ECOG Performance Status of 0-2, and a life expectancy of greater than or equal to 3 months. * Patient must be able to provide informed consent. * Women of child-bearing potential as long as she agrees to use a recognized method of birth control (e.g. oral contraceptive, IUD, condoms or other barrier methods etc.). Hysterectomy or menopause must be clinically documented.

Exclusion criteria

* Prior or simultaneous malignancies within the past two years (other than cutaneous squamous or basal cell carcinoma, melanoma in situ or thyroid carcinoma) * Pregnant women, women planning to become pregnant and women that are nursing. * Patients who experience surgical complications which prevent radiation from starting for 3 months or more.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Serious Adverse Events90 daysSerious Adverse Events preventing more than 25% of planned treatments using proton radiotherapy.
Acute Toxicity90 daysMeasured by experience of adverse events

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Proton RT
Subjects receive proton radiation Proton therapy: The goal of radiation therapy is to deposit the majority of the radiation dose to the target while minimizing the dose to the surrounding normal tissues.
22
Total22

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicProton RT
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
14 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
8 Participants
Age, Continuous67.79 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 9.55
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
1 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
21 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
19 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
22 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
5 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
17 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
5 / 22
other
Total, other adverse events
15 / 22
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 22

Outcome results

Primary

Acute Toxicity

Measured by experience of adverse events

Time frame: 90 days

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Proton RTAcute Toxicity14 Participants
Primary

Serious Adverse Events

Serious Adverse Events preventing more than 25% of planned treatments using proton radiotherapy.

Time frame: 90 days

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Proton RTSerious Adverse Events0 Participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026