Skip to content

An Observational Study on Dual And Triple Therapies Based on Peginterferon Alfa (e.g. Pegasys) in Patients With Chronic Hepatitis C

Non-Interventional Cohort Study on the Utilization and Impact of Dual and Triple Therapies Based on Pegylated Interferon for the Treatment of Chronic Hepatitis C

Status
Completed
Phases
Unknown
Study type
Observational
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT01447446
Enrollment
4442
Registered
2011-10-06
Start date
2011-09-30
Completion date
2015-07-31
Last updated
2017-03-30

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Hepatitis C, Chronic

Brief summary

This prospective, multicenter, observational cohort study will evaluate the efficacy and safety of pegylated interferon alfa (peginterferon alfa) (e.g. Pegasys) plus ribavirin and treatment regimens containing direct-acting antivirals in participants with chronic hepatitis C who are treatment-naïve or treatment-experienced and HIV HCV co-infected. Data will be collected from participants receiving treatment according to current Summary of Product Characteristics (SPC) and local labeling for the duration of their treatment and a 24-week follow-up.

Interventions

Peg-IFN Alfa-2a according to standard of care and in line with local labeling.

Peg-IFN Alfa-2b according to standard of care and in line with local labeling.

DRUGRibavirin

Ribavirin according to standard of care and in line with local labeling.

DRUGBoceprevir

Boceprevir according to standard of care and in line with local labeling.

DRUGTelaprevir

Telaprevir according to standard of care and in line with local labeling.

Sponsors

Hoffmann-La Roche
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Observational model
COHORT
Time perspective
PROSPECTIVE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Adult (according to local legislation) participants * Chronic hepatitis C (HCV) * Naive or treatment experienced, HIV-HCV co-infected or HCV mono-infected * Receiving treatment for HCV with pegylated interferons plus ribavirin or regimens containing direct-acting antivirals (DAA) according to standard of care and in line with current SPC/local labeling

Exclusion criteria

* Contraindications according to SPC/local labeling * Treatment started \>4 weeks before entering study

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Percentage of Participants With Sustained Virological Response at 24 Weeks Post Completion of the Treatment Period (SVR24)24 weeks after end of treatment (up to 118 weeks)SVR24 rate for dual therapy participants is defined as percentage of participants with hepatitis C virus (HCV) ribonucleic acid (RNA) less than (\<) 50 international unit/milliliters (IU/mL) (as measured by a commercially available HCV RNA test with lower limit of detection less than or equal to \[\<=\] 50 IU/mL) at 24 weeks post completion of the treatment period. If a quantitative test was used, the lower limit of quantification had to be \<=50 IU/mL. SVR24 for triple therapy participants is defined as percentage of participants with undetectable HCV RNA assessed by a test with lower limit of detection \<= 50 IU/mL at 24 weeks post completion of the treatment period.
Percentage of Participants With Sustained Virological Response at 12 Weeks Post Completion of the Treatment Period (SVR12)12 weeks after end of treatment (up to 118 weeks)SVR12 rate for dual therapy participants is defined as percentage of participants with hepatitis C virus (HCV) ribonucleic acid (RNA) less than (\<) 50 international unit/milliliters (IU/mL) (as measured by a commercially available HCV RNA test with lower limit of detection less than or equal to \[\<=\] 50 IU/mL) at 12 weeks post completion of the treatment period. If a quantitative test was used, the lower limit of quantification had to be \<=50 IU/mL. SVR12 for triple therapy participants is defined as percentage of participants with undetectable HCV RNA assessed by a test with lower limit of detection \<= 50 IU/mL at 12 weeks post completion of the treatment period.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Virological Response at Various on Treatment Time Points and End of Treatment (EOT)Week 4, 12 and End of treatment (EOT) (up to 96 weeks)Virological response (VR) for dual therapy participants is defined as HCV RNA \<50 IU/mL as assessed by a qualitative HCV RNA test with a lower limit of detection (LLD) \<=50 IU/mL or as assessed by a quantitative test with a lower limit of quantification (LLQ) \<=50 IU/mL for all time points concerned. Results of HCV RNA tests with LLD and LLQ \>50 IU/mL were considered as non-response. VR for triple therapy participants is defined as undetectable HCV RNA assessed by a test with lower limit of detection \<=50 IU/mL (UVR). Results of HCV RNA tests with an LLD \>50 IU/mL were considered as non-response for triple therapy participants.
Virological Relapse After End of TreatmentUp to 24 weeks after EOT (up to 118 weeks)Virological relapse defined as non-virological response (non-VR)/non-undetectable virological response (non-UVR) at the last HCV RNA assessment during the treatment-free follow-up period in participants with VR/UVR at EOT. Here, number of participants analyzed is the participants with end of treatment response (EoT-R) who also had an HCV RNA test at least 12 weeks after EoT or whose last follow-up HCV RNA test showed non-response (HCV RNA \>=50 IU/mL).
Percentage of Participants Achieving Extended (Rapid) Virological Response (eRVR)Up to 98 weeksExtended (rapid) virological response (eRVR) defined as UVR at weeks 4 and 12 for telaprevir, and as UVR at weeks 8 and 24 for boceprevir.
Percentage of Participants With Very Rapid Virological Response, Rapid Virological Response, Complete Early Virological Response and Partial Early Virological Response (pEVR) During First 12 WeeksUp to 12 weeksPercentage of participants with very rapid virological response (VRVR) (defined as VR/UVR by study week 2), rapid virological response (RVR) (defined as VR/UVR by study week 4, but no VRVR), complete early virological response (cEVR) (defined as VR/UVR by study week 12, but no VRVR or RVR) and partial early virological response (pEVR) (defined as a 2 log10 drop of HCV RNA by study week 12, but no VRVR, RVR or cEVR) were reported.
Virological BreakthroughUp to EOT (up to 118 weeks)Virological breakthrough/rebound defined as non-VR/non-UVR during the treatment period (including end of treatment) in participants with prior VR/UVR or an increase of HCV RNA by \>=1 log10 during the treatment period in comparison to the lowest HCV RNA (nadir) previously measured during the treatment period in participants without VR/UVR during the treatment period. Here, Number of participants analyzed is the participants with at least 2 on-treatment HCV RNA assessments (including EoT) or 1 on-treatment HCV RNA assessment (excluding EoT) and response at EoT by backward imputation.
Percentage of Participants With Sustained Virological Response (SVR) in Participants With Dose Reductions or Treatment InterruptionsUp to first 12 weeks of treatmentSVR 12 and 24 rates for dual therapy participants are defined as percentage of participants with hepatitis C virus (HCV) ribonucleic acid (RNA) less than (\<) 50 international unit/milliliters (IU/mL) (as measured by a commercially available HCV RNA test with lower limit of detection less than or equal to \[\<=\] 50 IU/mL) at 12 or 24 weeks post completion of the treatment period. If a qualitative test was used, then the lower limit of detection has to be \<=50 IU/mL. SVR12 and 24 rates for triple therapy participants are defined as percentage of participants with undetectable HCV RNA assessed by a test with lower limit of detection \<= 50 IU/mL at 12 or 24 weeks post completion of the treatment period. Here, number of participants analyzed excluded the participants with premature withdrawal due to lack of efficacy or non-safety reasons and participants without dose reductions or interruptions during the first 99 study days.
Duration of Overall TreatmentUp to 118 weeksDuration of overall treatment was defined as the time between first and last administration of any study drug, in weeks.
Percentage of Participants Treated According to Label/Summary of Product Characteristics (SPC)Up to 118 weeks
Percentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Up to 72 weeks of treatmentParticipants who prolonged the treatment period from 72 weeks were not reported.
Percentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With Direct-Acting Anti-viral (DAA)Up to 72 weeks of treatmentParticipants who prolonged the treatment period from 72 weeks were not reported. Participants who discontinued their treatment as planned were included. Here, number of participant analyzed is the total number of participants who received direct-acting anti-viral (DAA).
Percentage of Participants With Concomitant Medical Condition at BaselineBaseline
Percentage of Participants With Adverse Events (AE)Up to 118 weeksAn AE was defined as any adverse medical event that occurred after the participant used the investigational medicinal product (IMP) or other intervention behaviors specified by the protocol in the clinical trial regardless of relationship to the study treatment.

Countries

Belgium, Egypt, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Kuwait, Lebanon, Morocco, North Macedonia, Oman, Pakistan, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Sweden, Switzerland, Syria, Taiwan, Turkey (Türkiye), United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom

Participant flow

Recruitment details

A total of 4442 participants were enrolled in the study, one participant had double enrollment. Out of 4442 participants, analyses were restricted to only core population, which included 4100 participants.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + Ribavirin
Participants with CHC receiving dual therapy (peg-IFN Alfa-2a along with ribavirin according to standard of care and in line with local labeling) were followed for the duration of their treatment and for up to 24 weeks after therapy.
2,312
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + Ribavirin
Participants with CHC receiving dual therapy (peg-IFN Alfa-2b along with ribavirin according to standard of care and in line with local labeling) were followed for the duration of their treatment and for up to 24 weeks after therapy.
496
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + Ribavirin
Participants with CHC receiving triple therapy (peg-IFN Alfa-2a along with ribavirin and boceprevir according to standard of care and in line with local labeling) were followed for the duration of their treatment and for up to 24 weeks after therapy.
292
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + Ribavirin
Participants with CHC receiving triple therapy (peg-IFN Alfa-2b along with ribavirin and boceprevir according to standard of care and in line with local labeling) were followed for the duration of their treatment and for up to 24 weeks after therapy.
93
Triple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + Ribavirin
Participants with CHC receiving triple therapy (peg-IFN Alfa-2a along with ribavirin and telaprevir according to standard of care and in line with local labeling) were followed for the duration of their treatment and for up to 24 weeks after therapy.
821
Triple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + Ribavirin
Participants with CHC receiving triple therapy (peg-IFN Alfa-2b along with ribavirin and telaprevir according to standard of care and in line with local labeling) were followed for the duration of their treatment and for up to 24 weeks after therapy.
86
Total4,100

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001FG002FG003FG004FG005
Overall StudyAdministrative/Other349102334
Overall StudyAdverse Event301020
Overall StudyDeath632170
Overall StudyFailure to Return/Consent Withdrawn35778317699
Overall StudyInsuff. VR/TRT too Short to Expect VR3007152219214
Overall StudyNew Treatment Started821020
Overall StudyReason not Specified111110
Overall StudySVR12 Assessment1312155

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicTotalDual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinDual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + Ribavirin
Age, Customized
Greater (>) 45 years
2643 participants1325 participants318 participants219 participants72 participants637 participants72 participants
Age, Customized
Less Than or Equal to (<=) 45 Years
1457 participants987 participants178 participants73 participants21 participants184 participants14 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
1679 Participants910 Participants250 Participants108 Participants37 Participants331 Participants43 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
2421 Participants1402 Participants246 Participants184 Participants56 Participants490 Participants43 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
EG003
affected / at risk
EG004
affected / at risk
EG005
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
— / —— / —— / —— / —— / —— / —
other
Total, other adverse events
1,225 / 2,312287 / 496207 / 29279 / 93709 / 82172 / 86
serious
Total, serious adverse events
148 / 2,31233 / 49643 / 2929 / 93163 / 8214 / 86

Outcome results

Primary

Percentage of Participants With Sustained Virological Response at 12 Weeks Post Completion of the Treatment Period (SVR12)

SVR12 rate for dual therapy participants is defined as percentage of participants with hepatitis C virus (HCV) ribonucleic acid (RNA) less than (\<) 50 international unit/milliliters (IU/mL) (as measured by a commercially available HCV RNA test with lower limit of detection less than or equal to \[\<=\] 50 IU/mL) at 12 weeks post completion of the treatment period. If a quantitative test was used, the lower limit of quantification had to be \<=50 IU/mL. SVR12 for triple therapy participants is defined as percentage of participants with undetectable HCV RNA assessed by a test with lower limit of detection \<= 50 IU/mL at 12 weeks post completion of the treatment period.

Time frame: 12 weeks after end of treatment (up to 118 weeks)

Population: Core population: treatment-naive/experienced participants who were without contraindication to Peg-IFN and RBV, end stage renal disease, major organ transplantation, co-infection with hepatitis B or HIV, acute hepatitis and with positive HCV RNA at baseline, known genotype, 1 of 6 treatment (excluding non-G1 participants receiving triple therapy).

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants With Sustained Virological Response at 12 Weeks Post Completion of the Treatment Period (SVR12)54.3 percentage of participants
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants With Sustained Virological Response at 12 Weeks Post Completion of the Treatment Period (SVR12)51.0 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants With Sustained Virological Response at 12 Weeks Post Completion of the Treatment Period (SVR12)50.0 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants With Sustained Virological Response at 12 Weeks Post Completion of the Treatment Period (SVR12)53.8 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants With Sustained Virological Response at 12 Weeks Post Completion of the Treatment Period (SVR12)62.0 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants With Sustained Virological Response at 12 Weeks Post Completion of the Treatment Period (SVR12)57.0 percentage of participants
Primary

Percentage of Participants With Sustained Virological Response at 24 Weeks Post Completion of the Treatment Period (SVR24)

SVR24 rate for dual therapy participants is defined as percentage of participants with hepatitis C virus (HCV) ribonucleic acid (RNA) less than (\<) 50 international unit/milliliters (IU/mL) (as measured by a commercially available HCV RNA test with lower limit of detection less than or equal to \[\<=\] 50 IU/mL) at 24 weeks post completion of the treatment period. If a quantitative test was used, the lower limit of quantification had to be \<=50 IU/mL. SVR24 for triple therapy participants is defined as percentage of participants with undetectable HCV RNA assessed by a test with lower limit of detection \<= 50 IU/mL at 24 weeks post completion of the treatment period.

Time frame: 24 weeks after end of treatment (up to 118 weeks)

Population: Core population: treatment-naive/experienced participants who were without contraindication to Peg-IFN and RBV, end stage renal disease, major organ transplantation, co-infection with hepatitis B or HIV, acute hepatitis and with positive HCV RNA at baseline, known genotype, 1 of 6 treatment (excluding non-G1 participants receiving triple therapy).

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants With Sustained Virological Response at 24 Weeks Post Completion of the Treatment Period (SVR24)52.1 percentage of participants
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants With Sustained Virological Response at 24 Weeks Post Completion of the Treatment Period (SVR24)49.4 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants With Sustained Virological Response at 24 Weeks Post Completion of the Treatment Period (SVR24)46.6 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants With Sustained Virological Response at 24 Weeks Post Completion of the Treatment Period (SVR24)50.5 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants With Sustained Virological Response at 24 Weeks Post Completion of the Treatment Period (SVR24)57.7 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants With Sustained Virological Response at 24 Weeks Post Completion of the Treatment Period (SVR24)47.7 percentage of participants
Secondary

Duration of Overall Treatment

Duration of overall treatment was defined as the time between first and last administration of any study drug, in weeks.

Time frame: Up to 118 weeks

Population: Core population: treatment-naive/experienced participants who were without contraindication to Peg-IFN and RBV, end stage renal disease, major organ transplantation, co-infection with hepatitis B or HIV, acute hepatitis and with positive HCV RNA at baseline, known genotype, 1 of 6 treatment (excluding non-G1 participants receiving triple therapy).

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinDuration of Overall Treatment34.2 WeeksStandard Deviation 16.04
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinDuration of Overall Treatment31.3 WeeksStandard Deviation 15.73
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinDuration of Overall Treatment35.2 WeeksStandard Deviation 17.48
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinDuration of Overall Treatment35.3 WeeksStandard Deviation 15.27
Triple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinDuration of Overall Treatment33.2 WeeksStandard Deviation 15.03
Triple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinDuration of Overall Treatment31.2 WeeksStandard Deviation 15.95
Secondary

Percentage of Participants Achieving Extended (Rapid) Virological Response (eRVR)

Extended (rapid) virological response (eRVR) defined as UVR at weeks 4 and 12 for telaprevir, and as UVR at weeks 8 and 24 for boceprevir.

Time frame: Up to 98 weeks

Population: Core population: treatment-naive/experienced participants who were without contraindication to Peg-IFN and RBV, end stage renal disease, major organ transplantation, co-infection with hepatitis B or HIV, acute hepatitis and with positive HCV RNA at baseline, known genotype, 1 of 6 treatment (excluding non-G1 participants receiving triple therapy).

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Achieving Extended (Rapid) Virological Response (eRVR)37.7 percentage of participants
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Achieving Extended (Rapid) Virological Response (eRVR)32.3 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Achieving Extended (Rapid) Virological Response (eRVR)45.6 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Achieving Extended (Rapid) Virological Response (eRVR)47.7 percentage of participants
Secondary

Percentage of Participants Treated According to Label/Summary of Product Characteristics (SPC)

Time frame: Up to 118 weeks

Population: The data for this outcome measure were not collected and analyzed because the standard of care has changed significantly since the development of the study protocol, this comparison was no longer of practical value.

Secondary

Percentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With Direct-Acting Anti-viral (DAA)

Participants who prolonged the treatment period from 72 weeks were not reported. Participants who discontinued their treatment as planned were included. Here, number of participant analyzed is the total number of participants who received direct-acting anti-viral (DAA).

Time frame: Up to 72 weeks of treatment

Population: Core population: treatment-naive/experienced participants who were without contraindication to Peg-IFN and RBV, end stage renal disease, major organ transplantation, co-infection with hepatitis B or HIV, acute hepatitis and with positive HCV RNA at baseline, known genotype, 1 of 6 treatment (excluding non-G1 participants receiving triple therapy).

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With Direct-Acting Anti-viral (DAA)Discontinued DAA During Week 13 to Week 2416.1 percentage of participants
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With Direct-Acting Anti-viral (DAA)Discontinued DAA During Week 3 to Week 42.1 percentage of participants
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With Direct-Acting Anti-viral (DAA)Discontinued DAA During Week 25 to Week 4859.2 percentage of participants
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With Direct-Acting Anti-viral (DAA)Discontinued DAA During Week 5 to Week 1213.4 percentage of participants
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With Direct-Acting Anti-viral (DAA)Discontinued DAA During Week 1 to Week 26.8 percentage of participants
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With Direct-Acting Anti-viral (DAA)Discontinued DAA During Week 5 to Week 128.6 percentage of participants
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With Direct-Acting Anti-viral (DAA)Discontinued DAA During Week 13 to Week 2418.3 percentage of participants
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With Direct-Acting Anti-viral (DAA)Discontinued DAA During Week 25 to Week 4864.5 percentage of participants
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With Direct-Acting Anti-viral (DAA)Discontinued DAA During Week 3 to Week 41.1 percentage of participants
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With Direct-Acting Anti-viral (DAA)Discontinued DAA During Week 1 to Week 27.5 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With Direct-Acting Anti-viral (DAA)Discontinued DAA During Week 5 to Week 1224.7 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With Direct-Acting Anti-viral (DAA)Discontinued DAA During Week 1 to Week 21.7 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With Direct-Acting Anti-viral (DAA)Discontinued DAA During Week 3 to Week 41.5 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With Direct-Acting Anti-viral (DAA)Discontinued DAA During Week 13 to Week 2471.7 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With Direct-Acting Anti-viral (DAA)Discontinued DAA During Week 25 to Week 480.4 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With Direct-Acting Anti-viral (DAA)Discontinued DAA During Week 13 to Week 2468.6 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With Direct-Acting Anti-viral (DAA)Discontinued DAA During Week 3 to Week 44.7 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With Direct-Acting Anti-viral (DAA)Discontinued DAA During Week 1 to Week 24.7 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With Direct-Acting Anti-viral (DAA)Discontinued DAA During Week 5 to Week 1222.1 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With Direct-Acting Anti-viral (DAA)Discontinued DAA During Week 25 to Week 480.0 percentage of participants
Secondary

Percentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)

Participants who prolonged the treatment period from 72 weeks were not reported.

Time frame: Up to 72 weeks of treatment

Population: Core population: treatment-naive/experienced participants who were without contraindication to Peg-IFN and RBV, end stage renal disease, major organ transplantation, co-infection with hepatitis B or HIV, acute hepatitis and with positive HCV RNA at baseline, known genotype, 1 of 6 treatment (excluding non-G1 participants receiving triple therapy).

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued PEG-IFN During Week 25 to Week 4841.7 percentage of participants
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued PEG-IFN During Week 1 to Week 125.7 percentage of participants
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued RBV During Week 13 to Week 2422.1 percentage of participants
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued RBV During Week 25 to Week 4843.0 percentage of participants
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued PEG-IFN During Week 49 to Week 7236.2 percentage of participants
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued PEG-IFN During Week 13 to Week 2413.5 percentage of participants
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued RBV During Week 1 to Week 126.3 percentage of participants
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued RBV During Week 49 to Week 7226.6 percentage of participants
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued RBV During Week 1 to Week 129.1 percentage of participants
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued RBV During Week 49 to Week 7221.0 percentage of participants
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued RBV During Week 13 to Week 2422.4 percentage of participants
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued PEG-IFN During Week 49 to Week 7232.1 percentage of participants
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued PEG-IFN During Week 25 to Week 4841.3 percentage of participants
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued RBV During Week 25 to Week 4846.6 percentage of participants
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued PEG-IFN During Week 1 to Week 128.3 percentage of participants
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued PEG-IFN During Week 13 to Week 2417.1 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued PEG-IFN During Week 49 to Week 7241.1 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued RBV During Week 49 to Week 7229.1 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued RBV During Week 1 to Week 129.6 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued PEG-IFN During Week 13 to Week 2416.8 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued PEG-IFN During Week 1 to Week 129.2 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued RBV During Week 13 to Week 2417.1 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued PEG-IFN During Week 25 to Week 4830.1 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued RBV During Week 25 to Week 4841.1 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued PEG-IFN During Week 1 to Week 129.7 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued PEG-IFN During Week 13 to Week 2414.0 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued PEG-IFN During Week 25 to Week 4829.0 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued RBV During Week 49 to Week 7231.2 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued RBV During Week 1 to Week 1210.8 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued PEG-IFN During Week 49 to Week 7247.3 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued RBV During Week 25 to Week 4841.9 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued RBV During Week 13 to Week 2416.1 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued PEG-IFN During Week 1 to Week 129.9 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued PEG-IFN During Week 13 to Week 2410.2 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued RBV During Week 49 to Week 7230.3 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued PEG-IFN During Week 49 to Week 7238.9 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued RBV During Week 13 to Week 2413.9 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued PEG-IFN During Week 25 to Week 4841.0 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued RBV During Week 25 to Week 4844.9 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued RBV During Week 1 to Week 1210.8 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued PEG-IFN During Week 25 to Week 4843.0 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued PEG-IFN During Week 1 to Week 1211.6 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued RBV During Week 1 to Week 1212.8 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued PEG-IFN During Week 13 to Week 2412.8 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued RBV During Week 13 to Week 2419.8 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued RBV During Week 25 to Week 4841.9 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued PEG-IFN During Week 49 to Week 7232.6 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)Discontinued RBV During Week 49 to Week 7225.6 percentage of participants
Secondary

Percentage of Participants With Adverse Events (AE)

An AE was defined as any adverse medical event that occurred after the participant used the investigational medicinal product (IMP) or other intervention behaviors specified by the protocol in the clinical trial regardless of relationship to the study treatment.

Time frame: Up to 118 weeks

Population: Core population: treatment-naive/experienced participants who were without contraindication to Peg-IFN and RBV, end stage renal disease, major organ transplantation, co-infection with hepatitis B or HIV, acute hepatitis and with positive HCV RNA at baseline, known genotype, 1 of 6 treatment (excluding non-G1 participants receiving triple therapy).

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants With Adverse Events (AE)60.3 percentage of participants
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants With Adverse Events (AE)65.7 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants With Adverse Events (AE)76.7 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants With Adverse Events (AE)88.2 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants With Adverse Events (AE)90.7 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants With Adverse Events (AE)87.2 percentage of participants
Secondary

Percentage of Participants With Concomitant Medical Condition at Baseline

Time frame: Baseline

Population: Core population: treatment-naive/experienced participants who were without contraindication to Peg-IFN and RBV, end stage renal disease, major organ transplantation, co-infection with hepatitis B or HIV, acute hepatitis and with positive HCV RNA at baseline, known genotype, 1 of 6 treatment (excluding non-G1 participants receiving triple therapy).

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants With Concomitant Medical Condition at Baseline48.1 percentage of participants
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants With Concomitant Medical Condition at Baseline50.4 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants With Concomitant Medical Condition at Baseline65.8 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants With Concomitant Medical Condition at Baseline68.8 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants With Concomitant Medical Condition at Baseline67.2 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants With Concomitant Medical Condition at Baseline41.9 percentage of participants
Secondary

Percentage of Participants With Sustained Virological Response (SVR) in Participants With Dose Reductions or Treatment Interruptions

SVR 12 and 24 rates for dual therapy participants are defined as percentage of participants with hepatitis C virus (HCV) ribonucleic acid (RNA) less than (\<) 50 international unit/milliliters (IU/mL) (as measured by a commercially available HCV RNA test with lower limit of detection less than or equal to \[\<=\] 50 IU/mL) at 12 or 24 weeks post completion of the treatment period. If a qualitative test was used, then the lower limit of detection has to be \<=50 IU/mL. SVR12 and 24 rates for triple therapy participants are defined as percentage of participants with undetectable HCV RNA assessed by a test with lower limit of detection \<= 50 IU/mL at 12 or 24 weeks post completion of the treatment period. Here, number of participants analyzed excluded the participants with premature withdrawal due to lack of efficacy or non-safety reasons and participants without dose reductions or interruptions during the first 99 study days.

Time frame: Up to first 12 weeks of treatment

Population: Core population: treatment-naive/experienced participants who were without contraindication to Peg-IFN and RBV, end stage renal disease, major organ transplantation, co-infection with hepatitis B or HIV, acute hepatitis and with positive HCV RNA at baseline, known genotype, 1 of 6 treatment (excluding non-G1 participants receiving triple therapy).

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants With Sustained Virological Response (SVR) in Participants With Dose Reductions or Treatment InterruptionsSVR at Week 12 After EOT37.1 percentage of participants
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants With Sustained Virological Response (SVR) in Participants With Dose Reductions or Treatment InterruptionsSVR at Week 24 EOT35.3 percentage of participants
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants With Sustained Virological Response (SVR) in Participants With Dose Reductions or Treatment InterruptionsSVR at Week 12 After EOT27.3 percentage of participants
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants With Sustained Virological Response (SVR) in Participants With Dose Reductions or Treatment InterruptionsSVR at Week 24 EOT24.2 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants With Sustained Virological Response (SVR) in Participants With Dose Reductions or Treatment InterruptionsSVR at Week 12 After EOT20.7 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants With Sustained Virological Response (SVR) in Participants With Dose Reductions or Treatment InterruptionsSVR at Week 24 EOT17.2 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants With Sustained Virological Response (SVR) in Participants With Dose Reductions or Treatment InterruptionsSVR at Week 12 After EOT14.3 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants With Sustained Virological Response (SVR) in Participants With Dose Reductions or Treatment InterruptionsSVR at Week 24 EOT14.3 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants With Sustained Virological Response (SVR) in Participants With Dose Reductions or Treatment InterruptionsSVR at Week 12 After EOT35.4 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinPercentage of Participants With Sustained Virological Response (SVR) in Participants With Dose Reductions or Treatment InterruptionsSVR at Week 24 EOT34.2 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants With Sustained Virological Response (SVR) in Participants With Dose Reductions or Treatment InterruptionsSVR at Week 12 After EOT44.4 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinPercentage of Participants With Sustained Virological Response (SVR) in Participants With Dose Reductions or Treatment InterruptionsSVR at Week 24 EOT44.4 percentage of participants
Secondary

Percentage of Participants With Very Rapid Virological Response, Rapid Virological Response, Complete Early Virological Response and Partial Early Virological Response (pEVR) During First 12 Weeks

Percentage of participants with very rapid virological response (VRVR) (defined as VR/UVR by study week 2), rapid virological response (RVR) (defined as VR/UVR by study week 4, but no VRVR), complete early virological response (cEVR) (defined as VR/UVR by study week 12, but no VRVR or RVR) and partial early virological response (pEVR) (defined as a 2 log10 drop of HCV RNA by study week 12, but no VRVR, RVR or cEVR) were reported.

Time frame: Up to 12 weeks

Population: The data for all of the above mentioned virological responses were not collected and was not analyzed.

Secondary

Virological Breakthrough

Virological breakthrough/rebound defined as non-VR/non-UVR during the treatment period (including end of treatment) in participants with prior VR/UVR or an increase of HCV RNA by \>=1 log10 during the treatment period in comparison to the lowest HCV RNA (nadir) previously measured during the treatment period in participants without VR/UVR during the treatment period. Here, Number of participants analyzed is the participants with at least 2 on-treatment HCV RNA assessments (including EoT) or 1 on-treatment HCV RNA assessment (excluding EoT) and response at EoT by backward imputation.

Time frame: Up to EOT (up to 118 weeks)

Population: Core population: treatment-naive/experienced participants who were without contraindication to Peg-IFN and RBV, end stage renal disease, major organ transplantation, co-infection with hepatitis B or HIV, acute hepatitis and with positive HCV RNA at baseline, known genotype, 1 of 6 treatment (excluding non-G1 participants receiving triple therapy).

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinVirological Breakthrough5.4 percentage of participants
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinVirological Breakthrough4.8 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinVirological Breakthrough8.7 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinVirological Breakthrough15.9 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinVirological Breakthrough15.0 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinVirological Breakthrough21.6 percentage of participants
Secondary

Virological Relapse After End of Treatment

Virological relapse defined as non-virological response (non-VR)/non-undetectable virological response (non-UVR) at the last HCV RNA assessment during the treatment-free follow-up period in participants with VR/UVR at EOT. Here, number of participants analyzed is the participants with end of treatment response (EoT-R) who also had an HCV RNA test at least 12 weeks after EoT or whose last follow-up HCV RNA test showed non-response (HCV RNA \>=50 IU/mL).

Time frame: Up to 24 weeks after EOT (up to 118 weeks)

Population: Core population: treatment-naive/experienced participants who were without contraindication to Peg-IFN and RBV, end stage renal disease, major organ transplantation, co-infection with hepatitis B or HIV, acute hepatitis and with positive HCV RNA at baseline, known genotype, 1 of 6 treatment (excluding non-G1 participants receiving triple therapy).

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinVirological Relapse After End of Treatment18.4 percentage of participants
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinVirological Relapse After End of Treatment19.7 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinVirological Relapse After End of Treatment21.0 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinVirological Relapse After End of Treatment20.6 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinVirological Relapse After End of Treatment13.8 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinVirological Relapse After End of Treatment7.5 percentage of participants
Secondary

Virological Response at Various on Treatment Time Points and End of Treatment (EOT)

Virological response (VR) for dual therapy participants is defined as HCV RNA \<50 IU/mL as assessed by a qualitative HCV RNA test with a lower limit of detection (LLD) \<=50 IU/mL or as assessed by a quantitative test with a lower limit of quantification (LLQ) \<=50 IU/mL for all time points concerned. Results of HCV RNA tests with LLD and LLQ \>50 IU/mL were considered as non-response. VR for triple therapy participants is defined as undetectable HCV RNA assessed by a test with lower limit of detection \<=50 IU/mL (UVR). Results of HCV RNA tests with an LLD \>50 IU/mL were considered as non-response for triple therapy participants.

Time frame: Week 4, 12 and End of treatment (EOT) (up to 96 weeks)

Population: Core population: treatment-naive/experienced participants who were without contraindication to Peg-IFN and RBV, end stage renal disease, major organ transplantation, co-infection with hepatitis B or HIV, acute hepatitis and with positive HCV RNA at baseline, known genotype, 1 of 6 treatment (excluding non-G1 participants receiving triple therapy).

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinVirological Response at Various on Treatment Time Points and End of Treatment (EOT)VR by Week 1271.3 percentage of participants
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinVirological Response at Various on Treatment Time Points and End of Treatment (EOT)VR by Week 439.5 percentage of participants
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinVirological Response at Various on Treatment Time Points and End of Treatment (EOT)VR by EOT73.6 percentage of participants
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinVirological Response at Various on Treatment Time Points and End of Treatment (EOT)VR by Week 1267.7 percentage of participants
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinVirological Response at Various on Treatment Time Points and End of Treatment (EOT)VR by Week 440.1 percentage of participants
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinVirological Response at Various on Treatment Time Points and End of Treatment (EOT)VR by EOT70.6 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinVirological Response at Various on Treatment Time Points and End of Treatment (EOT)VR by Week 1256.8 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinVirological Response at Various on Treatment Time Points and End of Treatment (EOT)VR by Week 49.9 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinVirological Response at Various on Treatment Time Points and End of Treatment (EOT)VR by EOT67.1 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinVirological Response at Various on Treatment Time Points and End of Treatment (EOT)VR by Week 1259.1 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinVirological Response at Various on Treatment Time Points and End of Treatment (EOT)VR by Week 49.7 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinVirological Response at Various on Treatment Time Points and End of Treatment (EOT)VR by EOT72.0 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinVirological Response at Various on Treatment Time Points and End of Treatment (EOT)VR by Week 1280.8 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinVirological Response at Various on Treatment Time Points and End of Treatment (EOT)VR by Week 449.8 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinVirological Response at Various on Treatment Time Points and End of Treatment (EOT)VR by EOT74.9 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinVirological Response at Various on Treatment Time Points and End of Treatment (EOT)VR by Week 451.2 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinVirological Response at Various on Treatment Time Points and End of Treatment (EOT)VR by EOT66.3 percentage of participants
Triple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinVirological Response at Various on Treatment Time Points and End of Treatment (EOT)VR by Week 1273.3 percentage of participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026