Skip to content

PET Scan Imaging in Assessing Response in Patients With Esophageal Cancer Receiving Combination Chemotherapy

Randomized Phase II Trial of PET Scan-Directed Combined Modality Therapy in Esophageal Cancer

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT01333033
Enrollment
257
Registered
2011-04-11
Start date
2011-07-31
Completion date
2023-04-01
Last updated
2023-04-13

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Adenocarcinoma of the Gastroesophageal Junction, Esophageal Cancer

Keywords

adenocarcinoma of the gastroesophageal junction, adenocarcinoma of the esophagus, stage IB esophageal cancer, stage IIA esophageal cancer, stage IIB esophageal cancer, stage IIIA esophageal cancer, stage IIIB esophageal cancer, stage IIIC esophageal cancer

Brief summary

RATIONALE: PET scans done during chemotherapy may help doctors assess a patient's response to treatment and help plan the best treatment. PURPOSE: This randomized phase II trial is studying PET scan imaging in assessing response in patients with esophageal cancer receiving combination chemotherapy.

Detailed description

OBJECTIVES: Primary * To induce a complete pathologic response (pCR) rate of 20% in positron emission tomography (PET) scan non-responders treated with either induction FOLFOX or carboplatin/paclitaxel, who then crossover to the other regimen during radiotherapy. Secondary * To compare PET/CT response between induction treatment arms. * To compare pCR between induction treatment arms among PET/CT scan responders. * To directly compare pCR between induction treatment arms among non-responders if both treatment regimens are found to be efficacious. * To determine 8-month progression-free survival (PFS) in PET/CT scan responders, and in non-responders treated with alternative crossover chemoradiotherapy. * Estimate the PFS and overall survival (OS) curves, overall and among PET responders and PET/CT non-responders by induction treatment. * To determine the rate of postoperative anastomotic leak after neoadjuvant chemotherapy followed by chemoradiation. * To evaluate immunohistochemistry and RT-PCR of ERCC1, and genetic polymorphisms of ERCC1, XPD, and XRCC1. * To evaluate status and levels of methylation of nine candidate biomarker genes as well as expression levels of selected specific microRNAs, which will be correlated with chemoradiation response. * To compare the quality of life (QOL) of responders and nonresponders (as determined by PET/CT scanning) to presurgical treatment for esophageal cancer, in terms of global QOL, physical symptoms, physical functioning, and emotional well-being. * To examine the association between OS and QOL in esophageal cancer patients treated with chemotherapy, chemoradiation therapy, and surgery. OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to T-stage (T1-2 vs T3-4) and nodal status (N0 vs N+). Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms. * Arm I: Patients receive modified FOLFOX-6 therapy comprising oxaliplatin IV over 2 hours and leucovorin calcium IV over 2 hours on day 1 and fluorouracil IV continuously on days 1-5. Treatment repeats every 14 days for 3 courses. Patients then undergo PET/CT scan. Patients with responsive disease (tumor metabolic activity decreased by ≥ 35%) receive 3 additional courses of FOLFOX-6 therapy and undergo concurrent radiotherapy (RT) (3D-conformal or intensity-modulated) once daily, 5 days a week, for approximately 6 weeks. Patients without responsive disease (tumor metabolic activity did not decrease by 35%) cross over to arm II during RT. * Arm II: Patients receive carboplatin IV over 30 minutes and paclitaxel IV over 1 hour on days 1 and 8. Treatment repeats every 21 days for 2 courses. Patients then undergo PET/CT scan. Patients with responsive disease (tumor metabolic activity decreases ≥ 35%) continue to receive carboplatin IV over 30 minutes and paclitaxel IV over 1 hour once weekly for 5 weeks and undergo RT (3D-conformal or intensity-modulated) once a day, 5 days a week, for approximately 6 weeks. Patients without responsive disease (metabolic activity did not decrease by 35%) cross over to arm I during RT. Within 4-10 weeks after completion of neoadjuvant chemoradiotherapy, patients undergo surgery at the discretion of the treating team. Patients may undergo blood sample collection at baseline and periodically during study for correlative studies. Patients may also complete quality-of-life questionnaires at baseline and periodically during study. After completion of study therapy, patients are followed up periodically for 5 years.

Interventions

DRUGOxaliplatin

Given IV

DRUGLeucovorin Calcium

Given IV

DRUGFluorouracil

Given IV

DRUGCarboplatin

Given IV

DRUGPaclitaxel

Given IV

PROCEDUREPositron Emission Tomography

Undergo PET/CT scan

PROCEDUREComputed Tomography

Undergo PET/CT scan

RADIATIONRadiation Therapy

Undergo RT

Sponsors

National Cancer Institute (NCI)
CollaboratorNIH
Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
CROSSOVER
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Surgically resectable, histologically confirmed esophageal adenocarcinoma, including Siewert gastroesophageal (GE) junction adenocarcinomas types 1 and 2 * T1N1-3M0 or T2-4NanyM0 as determined by endoscopic ultrasound (EUS) and PET/CT (histologic confirmation of lymph involvement is not required); all disease (tumor and nodes) must be both surgically resectable and capable of containment in a radiotherapy field; no T4 tumor with clear evidence of invasion of the vertebral column, heart, great vessels, or tracheobronchial tree * All patients must have locoregional staging determined by endoscopic ultrasound (EUS) if technically feasible; endoscopy reports or subsequent gastrointestinal (GI) clinic note should clearly state both the T and N stage * No evidence of distant metastases (as determined by EUS or PET/CT) * Patients with cervical, supraclavicular, or other nodal disease that is either not included in the radiation field or is not able to be resected at the time of esophagectomy are not eligible * Patient must have pre-resection tissue available for central pathology review, in case that the patient has a pCR at the time of surgical resection to confirm diagnosis * Patients must have an fludeoxyglucose F 18 (FDG)-avid tumor with a maximum standard uptake value (SUVmax) of \>= 5.0 on baseline PET/CT scan of primary tumor; baseline PET/CT scan should be performed; if it is necessary to repeat baseline PET/CT scan, reimbursement information is available * No prior malignancy within 5 years of registration, with the exception of basal or squamous cell skin cancers, or in situ bladder or cervical cancer; patients with prior malignancy treated with surgery only and disease free for more than 5 years are eligible; however, no prior thoracic radiation therapy (RT) or abdominal RT or chemotherapy allowed * No known contraindication to the use of fluorouracil, taxanes, or platinum compounds * No history of severe hypersensitivity reaction to Cremophor EL * Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status 0-1 * Patient must be non-pregnant and non-nursing; women of child bearing potential must have a negative serum or urine pregnancy test (minimum sensitivity 25 IU/L or equivalent units of human chorionic gonadotropin \[HCG\]) within 72 hours prior to randomization; women of child-bearing potential include any female who has experienced menarche and who has not undergone surgical sterilization (hysterectomy, bilateral tubal ligation or bilateral oophorectomy) or is not postmenopausal (defined as amenorrhea \>= 12 consecutive months; or women on hormone replacement therapy \[HRT\] with documented serum follicle stimulating hormone \[FSH\] level \> 35mIU/mL); even women who are using oral, implanted or injectable contraceptive hormones or mechanical products such as an intrauterine device or barrier methods (diaphragm, condoms, spermicides) to prevent pregnancy or practicing abstinence or where partner is sterile (e.g., vasectomy), should be considered to be of child bearing potential * Absolute neutrophil count (ANC) \>= 1,500/μL * Platelet count \>= 100,000/μL * Bilirubin =\< 1.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN) * Calculated creatinine clearance \>= 60 mL/min * Aspartate aminotransferase (AST)/alanine aminotransferase (ALT) =\< 2.5 times ULN

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Complete Pathological Response (pCR) of PET/CT Non-respondersUp to 5 yearsThe primary endpoint of this study is the percentage of PET/CT non-responders within each induction treatment group reporting a pCR. A pCR is defined as having no tumor found on pathology review at surgery in all resected lymph nodes and tissue. All tissues sampled must have NO viable tumor.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
PET/CT Response Between Treatment ArmsUp to 5 yearsA PET/CT response to induction therapy is defined as metabolic activity of the tumor decreasing by \>=35%, as measured by maximum standardized uptake value (SUVmax).
pCR Compared Between Induction Treatment Arms Among PET/CT RespondersUp to 5 yearsA PET/CT response to induction therapy is defined as metabolic activity of the tumor decreasing by \>=35%, as\> \>\> \>\> \>\> measured by maximum standardized uptake value (SUVmax). A pCR is defined as having no tumor found on pathology review at surgery in all resected lymph nodes and tissue. All tissues sampled must have NO viable tumor.
pCR Compared Among Non-responders Between Induction Treatment Arms if Treatment Regimens Are Found to be EfficaciousUp to 5 yearsA Complete Pathological Response (pCR) is defined as having no tumor found on pathology review at surgery in all resected lymph nodes and tissue. All tissues sampled must have NO viable tumor. A non-responder was defined as having a PET/CT SUV (standard uptake value) decrease of less than 35% after induction.\> \>\>\> \> \>\>\> Among the patients who completed induction therapy and did not respond, the percentage of patients reporting a pCR in each arm were compared.
Progression Free Survival (PFS) Among PET/CT Non-responders Within Each Induction Treatment GroupUp to 5 yearsA non-responder was defined as having a PET/CT SUV (standard uptake value) decrease of less than 35% after induction. Among the patients who completed induction therapy and did not respond, the progression free survival in each arm were compared. PFS will be measured from study entry until documented progression or death from any cause. PFS will be estimated using the method of Kaplan and Meier.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Arm I (FOLFOX Regimen)
Patients receive modified FOLFOX-6 therapy comprising oxaliplatin IV over 2 hours and leucovorin calcium IV over 2 hours on day 1 and fluorouracil IV continuously on days 1-5. Treatment repeats every 14 days for 3 courses. Patients then undergo PET/CT scan. Patients with responsive disease (tumor metabolic activity decreased by \>= 35%) receive 3 additional courses of FOLFOX-6 therapy and undergo concurrent RT (3D-conformal or intensity-modulated) once daily, 5 days a week, for approximately 6 weeks. Patients without responsive disease (tumor metabolic activity did not decrease by 35%) cross over to Arm II during RT. Oxaliplatin: Given IV Leucovorin Calcium: Given IV Fluorouracil: Given IV Carboplatin: Given IV Paclitaxel: Given IV Positron Emission Tomography: Undergo PET/CT scan Computed Tomography: Undergo PET/CT scan Radiation Therapy: Undergo RT
129
Arm II (Carboplatin + Paclitaxel + Radiation)
Patients receive carboplatin IV over 30 minutes and paclitaxel IV over 1 hour on days 1 and 8. Treatment repeats every 21 days for 2 courses. Patients then undergo PET/CT scan. Patients with responsive disease (tumor metabolic activity decreases \>= 35%) continue to receive carboplatin IV over 30 minutes and paclitaxel IV over 1 hour once weekly for 5 weeks and undergo RT (3D-conformal or intensity-modulated) once a day, 5 days a week, for approximately 6 weeks. Patients without responsive disease (metabolic activity did not decrease by 35%) cross over to Arm I during RT Carboplatin: Given IV Paclitaxel: Given IV Radiation Therapy: Undergo RT
128
Total257

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001FG002FG003FG004FG005
Overall StudyAdverse Event000021
Overall StudyIneligible000068
Overall StudyMD Decision000002
Overall StudyPET inevaluable000024
Overall StudyProgression000001
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject000042

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicArm I (FOLFOX Regimen)TotalArm II (Carboplatin + Paclitaxel + Radiation)
Age, Continuous62 years64 years64 years
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
1 Participants4 Participants3 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
126 Participants250 Participants124 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
2 Participants3 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants2 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
3 Participants6 Participants3 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
6 Participants10 Participants4 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants3 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
119 Participants235 Participants116 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
129 participants257 participants128 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
16 Participants30 Participants14 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
113 Participants227 Participants114 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
EG003
affected / at risk
EG004
affected / at risk
EG005
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
3 / 721 / 392 / 644 / 490 / 90 / 5
other
Total, other adverse events
72 / 7238 / 3963 / 6446 / 499 / 94 / 5
serious
Total, serious adverse events
3 / 721 / 392 / 644 / 490 / 90 / 5

Outcome results

Primary

Complete Pathological Response (pCR) of PET/CT Non-responders

The primary endpoint of this study is the percentage of PET/CT non-responders within each induction treatment group reporting a pCR. A pCR is defined as having no tumor found on pathology review at surgery in all resected lymph nodes and tissue. All tissues sampled must have NO viable tumor.

Time frame: Up to 5 years

Population: All eligible patients that registered to treatment and reported no PET/CT response to induction treatment were included in this endpoint.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
FOLFOX Non-ResponderComplete Pathological Response (pCR) of PET/CT Non-responders17.95 percentage of participants with a pCR
CP Non-ResponderComplete Pathological Response (pCR) of PET/CT Non-responders20 percentage of participants with a pCR
p-value: 1Fisher Exact
Secondary

pCR Compared Among Non-responders Between Induction Treatment Arms if Treatment Regimens Are Found to be Efficacious

A Complete Pathological Response (pCR) is defined as having no tumor found on pathology review at surgery in all resected lymph nodes and tissue. All tissues sampled must have NO viable tumor. A non-responder was defined as having a PET/CT SUV (standard uptake value) decrease of less than 35% after induction.\> \>\>\> \> \>\>\> Among the patients who completed induction therapy and did not respond, the percentage of patients reporting a pCR in each arm were compared.

Time frame: Up to 5 years

Population: All patients who completed induction therapy and were classified as a non-responder were included in this analysis.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
FOLFOX Non-ResponderpCR Compared Among Non-responders Between Induction Treatment Arms if Treatment Regimens Are Found to be Efficacious17.95 percentage of participants with a pCR
CP Non-ResponderpCR Compared Among Non-responders Between Induction Treatment Arms if Treatment Regimens Are Found to be Efficacious20 percentage of participants with a pCR
Secondary

pCR Compared Between Induction Treatment Arms Among PET/CT Responders

A PET/CT response to induction therapy is defined as metabolic activity of the tumor decreasing by \>=35%, as\> \>\> \>\> \>\> measured by maximum standardized uptake value (SUVmax). A pCR is defined as having no tumor found on pathology review at surgery in all resected lymph nodes and tissue. All tissues sampled must have NO viable tumor.

Time frame: Up to 5 years

Population: All eligible patients that were assessed as a PET responder by induction were included in this analysis.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
FOLFOX Non-ResponderpCR Compared Between Induction Treatment Arms Among PET/CT Responders40.28 percentage of participants with a pCR
CP Non-ResponderpCR Compared Between Induction Treatment Arms Among PET/CT Responders14.06 percentage of participants with a pCR
Secondary

PET/CT Response Between Treatment Arms

A PET/CT response to induction therapy is defined as metabolic activity of the tumor decreasing by \>=35%, as measured by maximum standardized uptake value (SUVmax).

Time frame: Up to 5 years

Population: All participants that were assessed for an induction response are included in this analysis.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
FOLFOX Non-ResponderPET/CT Response Between Treatment Arms64.86 percentage of patients with a response
CP Non-ResponderPET/CT Response Between Treatment Arms56.14 percentage of patients with a response
Secondary

Progression Free Survival (PFS) Among PET/CT Non-responders Within Each Induction Treatment Group

A non-responder was defined as having a PET/CT SUV (standard uptake value) decrease of less than 35% after induction. Among the patients who completed induction therapy and did not respond, the progression free survival in each arm were compared. PFS will be measured from study entry until documented progression or death from any cause. PFS will be estimated using the method of Kaplan and Meier.

Time frame: Up to 5 years

Population: All patients that began induction therapy and did not report a response were included in this analysis.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
FOLFOX Non-ResponderProgression Free Survival (PFS) Among PET/CT Non-responders Within Each Induction Treatment GroupNA months
CP Non-ResponderProgression Free Survival (PFS) Among PET/CT Non-responders Within Each Induction Treatment Group33.4 months

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Mar 21, 2026