Skip to content

BAY81-8973 Pediatric Safety and Efficacy Trial

A Multicenter Phase III Uncontrolled Open-label Trial to Evaluate Safety and Efficacy of BAY81-8973 in Children With Severe Hemophilia A Under Prophylaxis Therapy

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT01311648
Enrollment
94
Registered
2011-03-09
Start date
2011-06-09
Completion date
2020-10-27
Last updated
2023-12-05

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Haemophilia A

Keywords

Recombinant factor VIII, Pediatric use

Brief summary

The primary objective was to evaluate the safety and efficacy of the treatment with BAY81-8973 for prophylaxis and treatment of breakthrough bleeds in children with severe hemophilia A. The secondary objectives were * To assess the safety and efficacy of BAY81-8973 during surgeries. * To assess incremental recovery of BAY81-8973. * To assess pharmacokinetic (PK) parameters in a subset of children (Previously treated patients \[PTPs\] and previously untreated patients \[PUPs\] / minimally treated patients \[MTPs\] - participation in PK sampling was voluntary and required consent).

Interventions

BIOLOGICALRecombinant Factor VIII (Kovaltry, BAY81-8973)

Main study: 25-50 IU/kg at least 2x/week for 6 months and at least 50 EDs, IV infusion; Extension study: 25-50 IU/kg at least 2x/week for at least 100 cumulative EDs (main study - Part A and extension study), IV infusion. Exposure day (ED): An ED is a unit of time (1 day) in which replacement treatment of Hemophilia is given to a patient.

Sponsors

Bayer
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
MALE
Age
0 Years to 12 Years
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Male * PTPs (previously treated patients): aged \<= 12 years * PUPs (previously untreated patients) / MTPs (minimally treated patients): aged \< 6 years * Severe hemophilia A defined as \< 1% FVIII concentration (FVIII:C) * PTPs: \>= 50 exposure days (EDs) with any FVIII concentrate, no current evidence of inhibitory antibody, and no history of FVIII inhibitor formation * PUPs: no prior exposure to any FVIII product * MTPs: having no more than 3 EDs with any FVIII product, no current evidence of inhibitory antibody and no history of FVIII inhibitor formation

Exclusion criteria

* With another bleeding disorder that is different from Hemophilia A * With thrombocytopenia (platelet count \< 100 000/mm\^3) * Creatinine \> 2x upper limit of normal or Aspartate aminotransferase (AST)/Alanine aminotransferase (ALT) \> 5x upper limit of normal * Without a negative inhibitor testing at screening (except for PUPs) * Receiving chemotherapy, immune modulatory drugs, has received another investigational FVIII product within the last month, or received another experimental drug within the last 3 months * Requires any pre-medication to tolerate FVIII treatment * Known hypersensitivity to active substance, mouse, or hamster protein

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Annualized Number of Total Bleeds Within 48 hWithin 48 hours post infusionAnnualized number (mean +/- standard deviation) of total bleeds that occurred within 48 hours after all prophylaxis infusions (Part A: 6 months and at least 50 exposure days \[EDs\]; Part B: at least 50 EDs or until inhibitor development) was summarized and reported. Total bleeds: sum of spontaneous bleeds, trauma bleeds (only treated bleeds were classified as spontaneous or trauma), untreated bleeds and 'other' bleeds ('other' bleeds were infusions with reason given as 'other').

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Hemostatic Control During Major and Minor SurgeriesPart A: 6 months and at least 50 exposure days (EDs) (median 73 EDs; median 6 months); Part B: at least 50 EDs or until inhibitor development (median 46 EDs; median 8 months)For participants who underwent major or minor surgeries during the study, hemostasis during the surgeries was assessed as excellent, good, moderate or poor. Number of surgeries per assessment was summarized and reported.
Number of Participants With Inhibitor Development in Main StudyPart A: 6 months and at least 50 exposure days (EDs) (median 73 EDs; median 6 months); Part B: at least 50 EDs or until inhibitor development (median 46 EDs; median 8 months)Number of participants with confirmed positive FVIII inhibitor titer (≥ 0.6 Bethesda unit \[BU/mL\]) during the main study was summarized and classified as participants developing low titer inhibitor (i.e. ≥ 0.6 to ≤ 5.0 BU/mL) and participants developing high titer inhibitor (i.e. \> 5.0 BU/mL).
Number of Participants With New Inhibitor Development in Extension StudyFrom start of extension study to at least 100 cumulative exposure days (EDs) (median 421 EDs; median 3.8 years)Number of participants who had not developed an inhibitor during the main study but developed an inhibitor (confirmed positive FVIII inhibitor titer \[≥ 0.6 BU/mL\]) during the extension study was summarized and classified as participants developing low titer inhibitor (i.e. ≥ 0.6 to ≤ 5.0 BU/mL) and participants developing high titer inhibitor (i.e. \> 5.0 BU/mL).
Factor VIII Recovery ValuesPart A: 6 months and at least 50 exposure days (EDs) (median 73 EDs; median 6 months); Part B: at least 50 EDs or until inhibitor development (median 46 EDs; median 8 months)Incremental recovery of Factor VIII (FVIII) at 20-30 min after end of infusions was determined and mean recovery values were reported.
Consumption of Factor VIII in All InfusionsPart A: 6 months and at least 50 exposure days (EDs) (median 73 EDs; median 6 months); Part B: at least 50 EDs or until inhibitor development (median 46 EDs; median 8 months)Factor VIII (FVIII) usage/consumption was summarized for all infusions. Consumption per participant's body weight per year was calculated and reported.
Annualized Number of Total Bleeds During Prophylaxis TreatmentPart A: 6 months and at least 50 exposure days (EDs) (median 73 EDs; median 6 months); Part B: at least 50 EDs or until inhibitor development (median 46 EDs; median 8 months)Annualized number (mean +/- standard deviation) of total bleeds that occurred during prophylaxis treatment was summarized and reported. Total bleeds: sum of spontaneous bleeds, trauma bleeds (only treated bleeds were classified as spontaneous or trauma), untreated bleeds and 'other' bleeds ('other' bleeds were infusions with reason given as 'other').
Consumption of FVIII in Infusions for the Treatment of BleedsPart A: 6 months and at least 50 exposure days (EDs) (median 73 EDs; median 6 months); Part B: at least 50 EDs or until inhibitor development (median 46 EDs; median 8 months)Factor VIII (FVIII) usage/consumption was summarized for infusions used to treat breakthrough bleeds. Consumption per participant's body weight per year was calculated and reported.
Number of Infusions Per BleedPart A: 6 months and at least 50 exposure days (EDs) (median 73 EDs; median 6 months); Part B: at least 50 EDs or until inhibitor development (median 46 EDs; median 8 months)The number of infusions used to treat a bleed was defined as the first infusion to treat the bleed plus all follow-up infusions to treat the same bleed, if any. The mean value of number of infusions for each bleed was calculated and reported.
Response to Treatment of BleedsPart A: 6 months and at least 50 exposure days (EDs) (median 73 EDs; median 6 months); Part B: at least 50 EDs or until inhibitor development (median 46 EDs; median 8 months)Participants or caregivers were asked to assess the response to treatment of bleeds as excellent, good, moderate or poor. Percentage of bleeds per assessment was summarized and reported.
Half-life (t1/2) of BAY81-8973 in PlasmaPre-infusion and until 24 hours post infusionHalf-life (t1/2) of BAY81-8973 in plasma was measured. Geometric mean and percentage geometric coefficient of variation (%CV) were reported.
Consumption of FVIII in Infusions for ProphylaxisPart A: 6 months and at least 50 exposure days (EDs) (median 73 EDs; median 6 months); Part B: at least 50 EDs or until inhibitor development (median 46 EDs; median 8 months)Factor VIII (FVIII) usage/consumption was summarized for prophylaxis infusions. Consumption per participant's body weight per year was calculated and reported.

Countries

Argentina, Bulgaria, Canada, Denmark, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Mexico, Norway, Poland, Romania, Russia, Spain, United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

The study was conducted at multiple centers in 18 countries and consisted of: Part A - between 09-JUN-2011 (FPFV) and 02-JAN-2013 (LPLV); Part B - between 19-SEP-2012 (FPFV) and 09-SEP-2019 (LPLV); Extension study - between 21-DEC-2011 (FPFV) and 27-OCT-2020 (LPLV).

Pre-assignment details

Overall, 58 participants were screened in Part A, of which 7 participants were screening failures and 51 participants received the study drug; 52 participants were screened in Part B, of which 9 participants were screening failures and 43 participants received the study drug. 46 participants from Part A and 36 from Part B entered the optional extension study.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 0-<6 Years
Previously treated patients (PTPs) aged below 6 years received BAY81-8973 25-50 IU/kg at least 2x/week for 6 months and at least 50 exposure days (ED) in main study - Part A.
25
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 6-12 Years
Previously treated patients (PTPs) aged 6 to 12 years received BAY81-8973 25-50 IU/kg at least 2x/week for 6 months and at least 50 exposure days (ED) in main study - Part A.
26
Main Study - Part B: PUPs/MTPs 0-<6 Years
Previously untreated patients (PUPs) or minimally treated patients (MTPs, patients who had no more then 3 exposure days (EDs) with any FVIII product) received BAY81-8973 15-50 IU/kg at least 1x/week for 50 EDs or until inhibitor development in main study - Part B.
43
Total94

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001
Extension StudyDiagnosed with von Willebrand disease10
Extension StudyFailure of ITI therapy03
Extension StudyFamily's decision01
Extension StudyIncorrect visit planning01
Extension StudyInhibitor management02
Extension StudyITI therapy with marketed product01
Extension StudyLong travel01
Extension StudyPhysician Decision01
Extension StudyWithdrawal by Subject01
Main StudyAdverse Event01
Main StudyInhibitor management017
Main StudyProtocol Violation01
Main StudyWithdrawal by Subject02

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicMain Study - Part A: PTPs 0-<6 YearsMain Study - Part A: PTPs 6-12 YearsMain Study - Part B: PUPs/MTPs 0-<6 YearsTotal
Age, Continuous3.8 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 1.3
8.8 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 1.8
1.1 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 0.8
3.9 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 3.4
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
1 Participants0 Participants9 Participants10 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
23 Participants25 Participants34 Participants82 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants1 Participants0 Participants2 Participants
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
American Indian or Alaska native
0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
Black
1 Participants2 Participants1 Participants4 Participants
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
Not reported
0 Participants0 Participants3 Participants3 Participants
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
White
24 Participants24 Participants37 Participants85 Participants
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
White, American Indian or Alaska native
0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
25 Participants26 Participants43 Participants94 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
EG003
affected / at risk
EG004
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 250 / 260 / 430 / 460 / 36
other
Total, other adverse events
16 / 2519 / 2628 / 4341 / 4624 / 36
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 255 / 2626 / 4323 / 4614 / 36

Outcome results

Primary

Annualized Number of Total Bleeds Within 48 h

Annualized number (median \[inter-quartile range (Q1-Q3)\]) of total bleeds that occurred within 48 hours after all prophylaxis infusions (Part A: 6 months and at least 50 exposure days \[EDs\]; Part B: at least 50 EDs or until inhibitor development) was summarized and reported. Total bleeds: sum of spontaneous bleeds, trauma bleeds (only treated bleeds were classified as spontaneous or trauma), untreated bleeds and 'other' bleeds ('other' bleeds were infusions with reason given as 'other').

Time frame: Within 48 hours post infusion

Population: Intent-to-treat (ITT) analysis set - main study: all participants of the SAF in main study who had infusion/bleeding data from the electronic patient diary (EPD)

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)Dispersion
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 0-<6 YearsAnnualized Number of Total Bleeds Within 48 h1.88 BleedsInter-Quartile Range 0
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 6-12 YearsAnnualized Number of Total Bleeds Within 48 h0.00 BleedsInter-Quartile Range 0
Main Study - Part B: PUPs/MTPs 0-<6 YearsAnnualized Number of Total Bleeds Within 48 h0.0 BleedsInter-Quartile Range 0
Primary

Annualized Number of Total Bleeds Within 48 h

Annualized number (mean +/- standard deviation) of total bleeds that occurred within 48 hours after all prophylaxis infusions (Part A: 6 months and at least 50 exposure days \[EDs\]; Part B: at least 50 EDs or until inhibitor development) was summarized and reported. Total bleeds: sum of spontaneous bleeds, trauma bleeds (only treated bleeds were classified as spontaneous or trauma), untreated bleeds and 'other' bleeds ('other' bleeds were infusions with reason given as 'other').

Time frame: Within 48 hours post infusion

Population: Intent-to-treat (ITT) analysis set - main study: all participants of the SAF in main study who had infusion/bleeding data from the electronic patient diary (EPD)

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 0-<6 YearsAnnualized Number of Total Bleeds Within 48 h2.23 BleedsStandard Deviation 2.77
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 6-12 YearsAnnualized Number of Total Bleeds Within 48 h1.86 BleedsStandard Deviation 3.08
Main Study - Part B: PUPs/MTPs 0-<6 YearsAnnualized Number of Total Bleeds Within 48 h1.9 BleedsStandard Deviation 3.3
Secondary

Annualized Number of Total Bleeds During Prophylaxis Treatment

Annualized number (median \[inter-quartile range (Q1-Q3)\]) of total bleeds that occurred during prophylaxis treatment was summarized and reported. Total bleeds: sum of spontaneous bleeds, trauma bleeds (only treated bleeds were classified as spontaneous or trauma), untreated bleeds and 'other' bleeds ('other' bleeds were infusions with reason given as 'other').

Time frame: Part A: 6 months and at least 50 exposure days (EDs) (median 73 EDs; median 6 months); Part B: at least 50 EDs or until inhibitor development (median 46 EDs; median 8 months)

Population: Intent-to-treat (ITT) analysis set - main study: all participants of the SAF in main study who had infusion/bleeding data from the electronic patient diary (EPD)

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)Dispersion
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 0-<6 YearsAnnualized Number of Total Bleeds During Prophylaxis Treatment2.03 BleedsInter-Quartile Range 0
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 6-12 YearsAnnualized Number of Total Bleeds During Prophylaxis Treatment0.93 BleedsInter-Quartile Range 0
Main Study - Part B: PUPs/MTPs 0-<6 YearsAnnualized Number of Total Bleeds During Prophylaxis Treatment4.7 BleedsInter-Quartile Range 2.1
Secondary

Annualized Number of Total Bleeds During Prophylaxis Treatment

Annualized number (mean +/- standard deviation) of total bleeds that occurred during prophylaxis treatment was summarized and reported. Total bleeds: sum of spontaneous bleeds, trauma bleeds (only treated bleeds were classified as spontaneous or trauma), untreated bleeds and 'other' bleeds ('other' bleeds were infusions with reason given as 'other').

Time frame: Part A: 6 months and at least 50 exposure days (EDs) (median 73 EDs; median 6 months); Part B: at least 50 EDs or until inhibitor development (median 46 EDs; median 8 months)

Population: Intent-to-treat (ITT) analysis set - main study: all participants of the SAF in main study who had infusion/bleeding data from the electronic patient diary (EPD)

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 0-<6 YearsAnnualized Number of Total Bleeds During Prophylaxis Treatment4.16 BleedsStandard Deviation 5.02
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 6-12 YearsAnnualized Number of Total Bleeds During Prophylaxis Treatment3.37 BleedsStandard Deviation 5.01
Main Study - Part B: PUPs/MTPs 0-<6 YearsAnnualized Number of Total Bleeds During Prophylaxis Treatment7.1 BleedsStandard Deviation 8.6
Secondary

Consumption of Factor VIII in All Infusions

Factor VIII (FVIII) usage/consumption was summarized for all infusions. Consumption per participant's body weight per year was calculated and reported.

Time frame: Part A: 6 months and at least 50 exposure days (EDs) (median 73 EDs; median 6 months); Part B: at least 50 EDs or until inhibitor development (median 46 EDs; median 8 months)

Population: Intent-to-treat (ITT) analysis set - main study: all participants of the SAF in main study who had infusion/bleeding data from the electronic patient diary (EPD)

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 0-<6 YearsConsumption of Factor VIII in All Infusions5499.1 international units/kilogram/yearStandard Deviation 1996.2
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 6-12 YearsConsumption of Factor VIII in All Infusions4679.1 international units/kilogram/yearStandard Deviation 1688.7
Main Study - Part B: PUPs/MTPs 0-<6 YearsConsumption of Factor VIII in All Infusions2195.8 international units/kilogram/yearStandard Deviation 1903.6
Secondary

Consumption of FVIII in Infusions for Prophylaxis

Factor VIII (FVIII) usage/consumption was summarized for prophylaxis infusions. Consumption per participant's body weight per year was calculated and reported.

Time frame: Part A: 6 months and at least 50 exposure days (EDs) (median 73 EDs; median 6 months); Part B: at least 50 EDs or until inhibitor development (median 46 EDs; median 8 months)

Population: Participants in intent-to-treat (ITT) analysis set in main study with at least one dose of prophylaxis treatment with study drug

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 0-<6 YearsConsumption of FVIII in Infusions for Prophylaxis5224.8 international units/kilogram/yearStandard Deviation 1760.2
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 6-12 YearsConsumption of FVIII in Infusions for Prophylaxis4492.7 international units/kilogram/yearStandard Deviation 1667.6
Main Study - Part B: PUPs/MTPs 0-<6 YearsConsumption of FVIII in Infusions for Prophylaxis1486.6 international units/kilogram/yearStandard Deviation 963.3
Secondary

Consumption of FVIII in Infusions for the Treatment of Bleeds

Factor VIII (FVIII) usage/consumption was summarized for infusions used to treat breakthrough bleeds. Consumption per participant's body weight per year was calculated and reported.

Time frame: Part A: 6 months and at least 50 exposure days (EDs) (median 73 EDs; median 6 months); Part B: at least 50 EDs or until inhibitor development (median 46 EDs; median 8 months)

Population: Participants in intent-to-treat (ITT) analysis set in main study with at least one bleed treated with study drug

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 0-<6 YearsConsumption of FVIII in Infusions for the Treatment of Bleeds457.07 international units/kilogram/yearStandard Deviation 526.87
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 6-12 YearsConsumption of FVIII in Infusions for the Treatment of Bleeds391.64 international units/kilogram/yearStandard Deviation 219.61
Main Study - Part B: PUPs/MTPs 0-<6 YearsConsumption of FVIII in Infusions for the Treatment of Bleeds835.4 international units/kilogram/yearStandard Deviation 1926.4
Secondary

Factor VIII Recovery Values

Incremental recovery of Factor VIII (FVIII) at 20-30 min after end of infusions was determined and mean recovery values were reported.

Time frame: Part A: 6 months and at least 50 exposure days (EDs) (median 73 EDs; median 6 months); Part B: at least 50 EDs or until inhibitor development (median 46 EDs; median 8 months)

Population: Participants in intent-to-treat (ITT) analysis set in main study with valid FVIII recovery values

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 0-<6 YearsFactor VIII Recovery ValuesParticipants without inhibitor1.63 International unit (IU)/dL per IU/kgStandard Deviation 0.31
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 6-12 YearsFactor VIII Recovery ValuesParticipants without inhibitor1.72 International unit (IU)/dL per IU/kgStandard Deviation 0.46
Main Study - Part B: PUPs/MTPs 0-<6 YearsFactor VIII Recovery ValuesParticipants without inhibitor1.76 International unit (IU)/dL per IU/kgStandard Deviation 0.55
Main Study - Part B: PUPs/MTPs 0-<6 YearsFactor VIII Recovery ValuesParticipants with low titer inhibitor0.86 International unit (IU)/dL per IU/kgStandard Deviation 0.56
Main Study - Part B: PUPs/MTPs 0-<6 YearsFactor VIII Recovery ValuesParticipants with high titer inhibitor0.38 International unit (IU)/dL per IU/kgStandard Deviation 0.42
Secondary

Half-life (t1/2) of BAY81-8973 in Plasma

Half-life (t1/2) of BAY81-8973 in plasma was measured. Geometric mean and percentage geometric coefficient of variation (%CV) were reported.

Time frame: Pre-infusion and until 24 hours post infusion

Population: Participants in PK analysis set (PKS) - A with evaluable data for this endpoint (PKS - A: all participants who entered main study - Part A and received at least one infusion of study medication with evaluable pharmacokinetic data)

ArmMeasureValue (GEOMETRIC_MEAN)Dispersion
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 0-<6 YearsHalf-life (t1/2) of BAY81-8973 in Plasma13.2 HoursGeometric Coefficient of Variation 39.7
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 6-12 YearsHalf-life (t1/2) of BAY81-8973 in Plasma12.1 HoursGeometric Coefficient of Variation 16.3
Secondary

Hemostatic Control During Major and Minor Surgeries

For participants who underwent major or minor surgeries during the study, hemostasis during the surgeries was assessed as excellent, good, moderate or poor. Number of surgeries per assessment was summarized and reported.

Time frame: Part A: 6 months and at least 50 exposure days (EDs) (median 73 EDs; median 6 months); Part B: at least 50 EDs or until inhibitor development (median 46 EDs; median 8 months)

Population: Participants in SAF in main study who underwent major or minor surgeries during the study

ArmMeasureGroupCategoryValue (COUNT_OF_UNITS)
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 0-<6 YearsHemostatic Control During Major and Minor SurgeriesMajor surgeryGood0 Surgeries
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 0-<6 YearsHemostatic Control During Major and Minor SurgeriesMinor surgeryExcellent0 Surgeries
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 0-<6 YearsHemostatic Control During Major and Minor SurgeriesMajor surgeryModerate0 Surgeries
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 0-<6 YearsHemostatic Control During Major and Minor SurgeriesMinor surgeryModerate0 Surgeries
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 0-<6 YearsHemostatic Control During Major and Minor SurgeriesMajor surgeryPoor0 Surgeries
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 0-<6 YearsHemostatic Control During Major and Minor SurgeriesMajor surgeryNot available0 Surgeries
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 0-<6 YearsHemostatic Control During Major and Minor SurgeriesMinor surgeryPoor0 Surgeries
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 0-<6 YearsHemostatic Control During Major and Minor SurgeriesMinor surgeryNot available0 Surgeries
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 0-<6 YearsHemostatic Control During Major and Minor SurgeriesMinor surgeryGood0 Surgeries
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 0-<6 YearsHemostatic Control During Major and Minor SurgeriesMajor surgeryExcellent0 Surgeries
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 6-12 YearsHemostatic Control During Major and Minor SurgeriesMajor surgeryGood1 Surgeries
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 6-12 YearsHemostatic Control During Major and Minor SurgeriesMinor surgeryPoor0 Surgeries
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 6-12 YearsHemostatic Control During Major and Minor SurgeriesMinor surgeryModerate0 Surgeries
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 6-12 YearsHemostatic Control During Major and Minor SurgeriesMajor surgeryModerate0 Surgeries
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 6-12 YearsHemostatic Control During Major and Minor SurgeriesMajor surgeryExcellent0 Surgeries
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 6-12 YearsHemostatic Control During Major and Minor SurgeriesMinor surgeryNot available0 Surgeries
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 6-12 YearsHemostatic Control During Major and Minor SurgeriesMajor surgeryPoor0 Surgeries
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 6-12 YearsHemostatic Control During Major and Minor SurgeriesMinor surgeryExcellent0 Surgeries
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 6-12 YearsHemostatic Control During Major and Minor SurgeriesMajor surgeryNot available0 Surgeries
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 6-12 YearsHemostatic Control During Major and Minor SurgeriesMinor surgeryGood0 Surgeries
Main Study - Part B: PUPs/MTPs 0-<6 YearsHemostatic Control During Major and Minor SurgeriesMajor surgeryNot available0 Surgeries
Main Study - Part B: PUPs/MTPs 0-<6 YearsHemostatic Control During Major and Minor SurgeriesMinor surgeryExcellent3 Surgeries
Main Study - Part B: PUPs/MTPs 0-<6 YearsHemostatic Control During Major and Minor SurgeriesMinor surgeryGood1 Surgeries
Main Study - Part B: PUPs/MTPs 0-<6 YearsHemostatic Control During Major and Minor SurgeriesMinor surgeryModerate0 Surgeries
Main Study - Part B: PUPs/MTPs 0-<6 YearsHemostatic Control During Major and Minor SurgeriesMinor surgeryPoor0 Surgeries
Main Study - Part B: PUPs/MTPs 0-<6 YearsHemostatic Control During Major and Minor SurgeriesMinor surgeryNot available1 Surgeries
Main Study - Part B: PUPs/MTPs 0-<6 YearsHemostatic Control During Major and Minor SurgeriesMajor surgeryExcellent0 Surgeries
Main Study - Part B: PUPs/MTPs 0-<6 YearsHemostatic Control During Major and Minor SurgeriesMajor surgeryGood1 Surgeries
Main Study - Part B: PUPs/MTPs 0-<6 YearsHemostatic Control During Major and Minor SurgeriesMajor surgeryModerate0 Surgeries
Main Study - Part B: PUPs/MTPs 0-<6 YearsHemostatic Control During Major and Minor SurgeriesMajor surgeryPoor0 Surgeries
Secondary

Number of Infusions Per Bleed

The number of infusions used to treat a bleed was defined as the first infusion to treat the bleed plus all follow-up infusions to treat the same bleed, if any. The mean value of number of infusions for each bleed was calculated and reported.

Time frame: Part A: 6 months and at least 50 exposure days (EDs) (median 73 EDs; median 6 months); Part B: at least 50 EDs or until inhibitor development (median 46 EDs; median 8 months)

Population: Participants in intent-to-treat (ITT) analysis set in main study with at least one bleed

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 0-<6 YearsNumber of Infusions Per Bleed1.3 InfusionsStandard Deviation 1.8
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 6-12 YearsNumber of Infusions Per Bleed1.4 InfusionsStandard Deviation 1.7
Main Study - Part B: PUPs/MTPs 0-<6 YearsNumber of Infusions Per Bleed1.7 InfusionsStandard Deviation 8.7
Secondary

Number of Participants With Inhibitor Development in Main Study

Number of participants with confirmed positive FVIII inhibitor titer (≥ 0.6 Bethesda unit \[BU/mL\]) during the main study was summarized and classified as participants developing low titer inhibitor (i.e. ≥ 0.6 to ≤ 5.0 BU/mL) and participants developing high titer inhibitor (i.e. \> 5.0 BU/mL).

Time frame: Part A: 6 months and at least 50 exposure days (EDs) (median 73 EDs; median 6 months); Part B: at least 50 EDs or until inhibitor development (median 46 EDs; median 8 months)

Population: Participants in main study - safety analysis set (SAF, all participants who entered Study Part A or Part B and received at least one infusion of study medication) with inhibitor measurements done

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 0-<6 YearsNumber of Participants With Inhibitor Development in Main StudyLow titer inhibitor0 Participants
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 0-<6 YearsNumber of Participants With Inhibitor Development in Main StudyHigh titer inhibitor0 Participants
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 6-12 YearsNumber of Participants With Inhibitor Development in Main StudyLow titer inhibitor0 Participants
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 6-12 YearsNumber of Participants With Inhibitor Development in Main StudyHigh titer inhibitor0 Participants
Main Study - Part B: PUPs/MTPs 0-<6 YearsNumber of Participants With Inhibitor Development in Main StudyLow titer inhibitor6 Participants
Main Study - Part B: PUPs/MTPs 0-<6 YearsNumber of Participants With Inhibitor Development in Main StudyHigh titer inhibitor17 Participants
Secondary

Number of Participants With New Inhibitor Development in Extension Study

Number of participants who had not developed an inhibitor during the main study but developed an inhibitor (confirmed positive FVIII inhibitor titer \[≥ 0.6 BU/mL\]) during the extension study was summarized and classified as participants developing low titer inhibitor (i.e. ≥ 0.6 to ≤ 5.0 BU/mL) and participants developing high titer inhibitor (i.e. \> 5.0 BU/mL).

Time frame: From start of extension study to at least 100 cumulative exposure days (EDs) (median 421 EDs; median 3.8 years)

Population: All participants who entered the extension study and had not developed inhibitors during the main study Part A or Part B

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 0-<6 YearsNumber of Participants With New Inhibitor Development in Extension StudyLow titer inhibitor (incl. false-positive)1 Participants
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 0-<6 YearsNumber of Participants With New Inhibitor Development in Extension StudyHigh titer inhibitor0 Participants
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 6-12 YearsNumber of Participants With New Inhibitor Development in Extension StudyLow titer inhibitor (incl. false-positive)0 Participants
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 6-12 YearsNumber of Participants With New Inhibitor Development in Extension StudyHigh titer inhibitor0 Participants
Secondary

Response to Treatment of Bleeds

Participants or caregivers were asked to assess the response to treatment of bleeds as excellent, good, moderate or poor. Percentage of bleeds per assessment was summarized and reported.

Time frame: Part A: 6 months and at least 50 exposure days (EDs) (median 73 EDs; median 6 months); Part B: at least 50 EDs or until inhibitor development (median 46 EDs; median 8 months)

Population: Participants in intent-to-treat (ITT) analysis set in main study with at least one bleed

ArmMeasureCategoryValue (COUNT_OF_UNITS)
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 0-<6 YearsResponse to Treatment of BleedsExcellent20 Bleeds assessed for the response
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 0-<6 YearsResponse to Treatment of BleedsGood23 Bleeds assessed for the response
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 0-<6 YearsResponse to Treatment of BleedsModerate0 Bleeds assessed for the response
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 0-<6 YearsResponse to Treatment of BleedsPoor1 Bleeds assessed for the response
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 6-12 YearsResponse to Treatment of BleedsPoor0 Bleeds assessed for the response
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 6-12 YearsResponse to Treatment of BleedsExcellent12 Bleeds assessed for the response
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 6-12 YearsResponse to Treatment of BleedsModerate7 Bleeds assessed for the response
Main Study - Part A: PTPs 6-12 YearsResponse to Treatment of BleedsGood18 Bleeds assessed for the response
Main Study - Part B: PUPs/MTPs 0-<6 YearsResponse to Treatment of BleedsPoor6 Bleeds assessed for the response
Main Study - Part B: PUPs/MTPs 0-<6 YearsResponse to Treatment of BleedsGood56 Bleeds assessed for the response
Main Study - Part B: PUPs/MTPs 0-<6 YearsResponse to Treatment of BleedsModerate16 Bleeds assessed for the response
Main Study - Part B: PUPs/MTPs 0-<6 YearsResponse to Treatment of BleedsExcellent27 Bleeds assessed for the response

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 17, 2026