Skip to content

Ipilimumab or High-Dose Interferon Alfa-2b in Treating Patients With High-Risk Stage III-IV Melanoma That Has Been Removed by Surgery

A Phase III Randomized Study of Adjuvant Ipilimumab Anti-CTLA4 Therapy Versus High Dose Interferon a-2b for Resected High Risk Melanoma

Status
Active, not recruiting
Phases
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT01274338
Enrollment
1673
Registered
2011-01-11
Start date
2011-06-17
Completion date
2027-02-02
Last updated
2026-09-08

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Melanoma of Unknown Primary, Recurrent Melanoma, Stage IIIB Cutaneous Melanoma AJCC v7, Stage IIIC Cutaneous Melanoma AJCC v7, Stage IV Cutaneous Melanoma AJCC v6 and v7

Brief summary

This randomized phase III trial studies ipilimumab to see how well it works compared to high-dose interferon alfa-2b in treating patients with high-risk stage III-IV melanoma that has been removed by surgery. Immunotherapy with monoclonal antibodies, such as ipilimumab, may help the body's immune system attack the cancer, and may interfere with the ability of tumor cells to grow and spread. Interferon alfa-2b may interfere with the growth of tumor cells and slow the growth of melanoma and other cancers. It is not yet known whether ipilimumab is more effective than interferon alfa-2b in treating patients with melanoma.

Detailed description

PRIMARY OBJECTIVES: I. To evaluate recurrence-free survival (RFS) between patients randomized to receive post-operative adjuvant ipilimumab given at either 10 mg/kg (high dose ipilimumab; HIP) or 3 mg/kg (low dose ipilimumab: LIP) versus those randomized to receive high-dose interferon alfa-2b (HDI) utilizing a hierarchical design assessing HIP versus HDI first and LIP versus HDI second (if the first comparison is significant). II. To evaluate overall survival (OS) between patients randomized to receive post-operative adjuvant ipilimumab given at either 10 mg/kg (HIP) or 3 mg/kg (LIP) versus those randomized to receive HDI utilizing a hierarchical design assessing HIP versus HDI first and LIP versus HDI second (if the first comparison is significant). SECONDARY OBJECTIVES: I. To evaluate safety and tolerability of post-operative adjuvant ipilimumab therapy given at either 10 mg/kg (HIP) or 3 mg/kg (LIP). II. Among patients enrolled by Clinical Community Oncology programs (CCOPs), to compare the global quality of life (QOL) between the ipilimumab arms versus HDI using Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy (FACT)-General (G) form and to evaluate the effect of treatment-related side effects that may have an impact on the health-related domains of QOL using Functional Assessment of Chronic Illness Therapy (FACIT)-diarrhea (D) and FACT-biological response modifiers (BRM). OUTLINE: Patients age \>= 18 are randomized to Arms A, B, or C and patients ages 12-17 are randomized to Arms D, E, or F. ARM A: Patients receive induction high-dose ipilimumab intravenously (IV) over 90 minutes on day 1. Treatment repeats every 21 days for a total of 4 cycles in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Beginning on week 24, patients receive maintenance high-dose ipilimumab IV over 90 minutes on day 1. Treatment repeats every 90 days for a maximum of 4 cycles in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. (closed accrual as of 4/4/14) (adult accrual has completed to Arms A, B, and C as of 8/15/2014) ARM B: Patients receive induction high-dose recombinant interferon alfa-2b IV over 20 minutes on days 1-5, 8-12, 15-19, and 22-26 in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients then receive maintenance high-dose recombinant interferon alfa-2b subcutaneously (SC) on days 1, 3, and 5. Treatment repeats every week for 48 weeks in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. (adult accrual has completed to Arms A, B, and C as of 8/15/2014) ARM C: Patients receive induction low-dose ipilimumab IV over 90 minutes on day 1. Treatment repeats every 21 days for a total of 4 cycles in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Beginning on week 24, patients receive maintenance low-dose ipilimumab IV over 90 minutes on day 1. Treatment repeats every 90 days for a maximum of 4 cycles in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. (adult accrual has completed to Arms A, B, and C as of 8/15/2014) ARM D: Patients receive induction high-dose ipilimumab IV over 90 minutes on day 1. Treatment repeats every 21 days for a total of 4 cycles in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Beginning on week 24, patients receive maintenance high-dose ipilimumab IV over 90 minutes on day 1. Treatment repeats every 90 days for a maximum of 4 cycles in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. ARM E: Patients receive induction high-dose recombinant interferon alfa-2b IV over 20 minutes on days 1-5, 8-12, 15-19, and 22-26 in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients then receive maintenance high-dose recombinant interferon alfa-2b SC on days 1, 3, and 5. Treatment repeats every week for 48 weeks in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity ARM F: Patients receive induction low-dose ipilimumab IV over 90 minutes on day 1. Treatment repeats every 21 days for a total of 4 cycles in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Beginning on week 24, patients receive maintenance low-dose ipilimumab IV over 90 minutes on day 1. Treatment repeats every 90 days for a maximum of 4 cycles in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. After completion of study therapy, patients are followed up every 3 months for 2 years, every 6 months for 3 years, and then yearly for up to January 2026.

Interventions

BIOLOGICALIpilimumab

Given IV

OTHERQuality-of-Life Assessment

Ancillary studies

BIOLOGICALRecombinant Interferon Alfa-2b

Given IV and SC

Sponsors

National Cancer Institute (NCI)
Lead SponsorNIH

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
12 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* All patients must have disease-free status documented by a complete physical examination and imaging studies within 4 weeks prior to randomization; imaging studies must include a total body positron emission tomography (PET)-computed tomography (CT) scan (with or without brain) and brain magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) or CT (if MRI is contraindicated); if PET-CT cannot be done, CT of neck, chest, abdomen, and pelvis should be done * If for some reason a CT cannot be done, an MRI may be done instead; any other imaging studies if performed (eg, bone scan) must show no evidence of disease * Patients must have primary cutaneous melanoma that belong to one of the following American Joint Commission on Cancer (AJCC) stages (2009 AJCC Melanoma Staging System): * Stage IIIB * T1-4b N1a M0 * T1-4b N2a M0 * T1-4b N1b M0 * T1-4b N2b M0 * T1-4b N2c M0 * Stage IIIC * T1-4b N1b M0 * T1-4b N2b M0 * T1-4b N2c M0 * Any T N3 M0 * Stage IV * M1a * M1b * NOTE: patients with stage IV melanoma must have normal lactate dehydrogenase (LDH) and either distant skin, subcutaneous, lymph node, or lung metastases, but no other visceral metastases in order to be eligible; for patients with resected stage IV melanoma, LDH within the institutional upper limit of normal (ULN) must be documented within 4 weeks prior to randomization * Patients with disease recurrence after adequate surgical excision of the original primary cutaneous/unknown primary melanoma are allowed even if they don't fit the strict staging criteria, but only as follows: * Recurrence in a regional lymph node basin after a prior complete lymph node dissection; relapsed disease must be completely surgically resected with free margins * Recurrence in the form of in-transit or satellite metastases or distant skin/subcutaneous, nodal, or lung metastases that are completely surgically resected with free margins * Recurrence in a regional lymph node basin; relapsed disease must be completely surgically resected with free margins * Patients with unknown primary melanoma (Tx) who present with cutaneous, subcutaneous, nodal and/or lung metastases that are completely surgically resected with free margins are allowed; these patients are allowed even if they don't fit the strict staging criteria; for stage IV patients LDH within the institutional ULN must be documented within 4 weeks prior to randomization (M1c is not eligible) * NOTE: all subjects should be classified as IIIB, IIIC, M1a or M1b including subjects with disease recurrence after adequate surgical excision of the original primary melanoma; that is the treating team/physician investigator should review an overall TNM status (that includes primary tumor presentation and disease recurrence status) and provide a designation of IIIB, IIIC, M1a or M1b * Patients must be randomized within 84 days (12 weeks) of surgical resection; if more than one surgical procedure is required to render the patient disease-free, the patient must be randomized within 12 weeks of the last surgery * NOTE: patients with clinically positive lymph nodes for melanoma involvement or those with positive lymph nodes identified through lymphoscintigraphic and/or dye lymphographic techniques in the groin, axilla, or neck should have additional lymphadenectomy in those sites; the complete lymph node dissection procedure would be considered as the last surgery in counting the 84 days unless a subsequent surgical procedure(s) was clinically required to ensure the disease free status * Patients must have Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status of 0-1 * Given that serious adverse events may occur with ipilimumab and IFN-alpha and that these may impact a patient's wellbeing, it is possible that the occurrence of other serious adverse events (SAEs) may seriously impact an underlying state of mental depression and lead to suicidal ideation; therefore, patients should be carefully screened for depression at baseline and if there are indications or a history of depression it is strongly recommended that these patients be closely followed together with behavioral health or psychiatric medical support; patients with an established diagnosis of depression that, in the assessment of the investigator may make the administration of IFN-alpha or ipilimumab hazardous, should not be enrolled on this protocol; the risks and benefits of being treated with standard adjuvant IFN-alpha should be weighed very carefully in consultation with behavioral health or psychiatry * Due to the possible effect of treatment with ipilimumab on the immunologic response to infectious disease vaccines, patients must not have had any infectious disease vaccination (e.g., standard influenza, H1N1 influenza, pneumococcal, meningococcal, tetanus toxoid) within 4 weeks prior to randomization * WOCBP must be using an adequate method of contraception to avoid pregnancy throughout the study and for up to 26 weeks after the last dose of ipilimumab or HDI, in such a manner that the risk of pregnancy is minimized; women who are using oral contraceptives, other hormonal contraceptives (vaginal products, skin patches, or implanted or injectable products), or mechanical products such as an intrauterine device or barrier methods (diaphragm, condoms, spermicides) to prevent pregnancy, or are practicing abstinence or where their partner is sterile (e.g., vasectomy) should be considered to be of childbearing potential * Men of fathering potential and WOCBP must be using an adequate method of contraception to avoid conception/pregnancy throughout the study and for up to 26 weeks after the last dose of ipilimumab or HDI in such a manner that the risk of pregnancy is minimized; men or WOCBP who are unwilling or unable to strictly follow this requirement are not eligible * WOCBP are not eligible if they satisfy any of the following: * A positive pregnancy test at baseline * Pregnant or breastfeeding * White blood cell (WBC) \>= 3,000/uL (obtained within 4 weeks prior to randomization) * Absolute neutrophil count (ANC) \>= 1,500/uL (obtained within 4 weeks prior to randomization) * Platelets \>= 100 x 10\^3/uL (obtained within 4 weeks prior to randomization) * Hemoglobin \>= 10 g/dL (obtained within 4 weeks prior to randomization) * Serum creatinine =\< 1.5 mg/dL (obtained within 4 weeks prior to randomization) * Aspartate aminotransferase (AST)/alanine aminotransferase (ALT) =\< 2.5 x ULN (obtained within 4 weeks prior to randomization) * Serum bilirubin =\< 1.5 x ULN, (except patients with Gilbert's syndrome, who must have a total bilirubin less than 3.0 mg/dL) (obtained within 4 weeks prior to randomization) * No active or chronic infection with human immunodeficiency virus (HIV), hepatitis B, or hepatitis C due to the unknown effects of ipilimumab; patients must have negative testing for HIV, hepatitis B virus (HBV), hepatitis C virus (HCV) within 4 weeks prior to randomization

Exclusion criteria

* Patients must not have received any adjuvant treatment (chemotherapy, biotherapy, or limb perfusion) after the resection(s) that make(s) them eligible for this trial * NOTE: previous radiation therapy, including after the surgical resection, is allowed as long as 21 days have elapsed between the radiation and initiation of this adjuvant systemic therapy * Prior treatment with anti-cytotoxic T-lymphocyte antigen 4 (CTLA4) monoclonal antibodies or prior CTLA-4 inhibitor or agonist or prior clusters of differentiation (CD)137 agonist or prior interferon-alfa is not allowed; other forms of prior treatment for melanoma (e.g., aldesleukin \[IL-2\], anti-tumor vaccine, chemotherapy) are allowed if given before the resection(s) that make(s) the patient eligible for this trial, but these must have been completed at least 4 weeks prior to randomization * Patients must not have an active infection requiring current treatment with parenteral antibiotics * Patients must not have other significant medical, surgical, or psychiatric conditions or require any medication or treatment that in the opinion of the investigator may interfere with compliance, make the administration of ipilimumab or HDI hazardous or obscure the interpretation of adverse events (AEs), such as a condition associated with frequent diarrhea; patients with a baseline of frequent diarrhea (e.g. irritable bowel syndrome) are not eligible because of the difficulty in interpreting later expected GI toxicities that may lead to suboptimal management and complications * Patients must not have a documented history of inflammatory bowel disease (including ulcerative colitis and Crohn's disease) or diverticulitis (history of diverticulosis is allowed) * Patients must not have autoimmune disorders or conditions of immunosuppression that require current ongoing treatment with systemic corticosteroids (or other systemic immunosuppressants), including oral steroids (i.e., prednisone, dexamethasone) or continuous use of topical steroid creams or ointments or ophthalmologic steroids; a history of occasional (but not continuous) use of steroid inhalers is allowed; replacement doses of steroids for patients with adrenal insufficiency are allowed; patients who discontinue use of these classes of medication for at least 2 weeks prior to randomization are eligible if, in the judgment of the treating physician investigator, the patient is not likely to require resumption of treatment with these classes of drugs during the study * Exclusion from this study also includes patients with a history of symptomatic autoimmune disease (e.g., rheumatoid arthritis, systemic progressive sclerosis \[scleroderma\], systemic lupus erythematosus, Sjogren's syndrome, autoimmune vasculitis \[e.g., Wegener's granulomatosis\]); motor neuropathy considered of autoimmune origin (e.g., Guillain-Barre syndrome and Myasthenia Gravis); other central nervous system (CNS) autoimmune disease (e.g., poliomyelitis, multiple sclerosis) * Patients with autoimmune hypothyroid disease or type I diabetes on replacement treatment are eligible * Patients must not be prisoners or subjects who are compulsorily detained (involuntarily incarcerated) for treatment of either a psychiatric or physical (e.g., infectious) illness; this is due to concerns about subject safety and compliance with study procedures * Patients who have other current malignancies are not eligible; patients with other malignancies are eligible if they have been continuously disease free for \> 5 years prior to the time of randomization; patients with prior history at any time of any in situ cancer, lobular carcinoma of the breast in situ, cervical cancer in situ, atypical melanocytic hyperplasia or melanoma in situ are eligible; patients with prior history of basal or squamous skin cancer are eligible; patients who have had multiple primary melanomas are eligible * Women must not be pregnant or breast-feeding due to the unknown effects of ipilimumab and HDI on conception and the fetus; all females of childbearing potential must have a blood test or urine study during screening to rule out pregnancy * NOTE: a woman of childbearing potential (WOCBP) is any woman, regardless of whether they have undergone tubal ligation, who meets the following criteria: 1) has not undergone a hysterectomy or bilateral oophorectomy; or 2) has not been naturally postmenopausal for at least 24 consecutive months (i.e., has had menses at any time in the preceding 24 consecutive months); post-menopause is defined as: * Amenorrhea \>= 12 consecutive months without another cause, or * For women with irregular menstrual periods and taking hormone replacement therapy (HRT), a documented serum follicle stimulating hormone (FSH) level \>= 35 mIU/mL

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Recurrence-free Survival (RFS; Arm B [HDI] vs. Arm C [LIP])Assessed every 3 months for 2 years, then every 6 months for years 3-5 and then annually up to 8 yearsRecurrence-free survival is defined as the time from randomization to recurrence or death, whichever occurs first. The following criteria constitute the only acceptable evidence of disease recurrence. Lung and liver: Positive cytology or biopsy in the presence of a single new lesion or the appearance of multiple lesions consistent with metastatic disease. Central Nervous System: A positive brain CT or MRI scan or CSF cytology. Cutaneous, Subcutaneous and Lymph Node Recurrence: Positive cytology or biopsy in the presence of a single new lesion or the appearance of multiple lesions consistent with metastatic disease. Bone and Other Organs: Positive cytology or biopsy in the presence of a single new lesion or the appearance of multiple lesions consistent with metastatic disease identified on two different radiologic studies: i.e., positive nuclear bone scan or PET scan and contrast GI series or ultrasound, X-ray or CT of abdomen for abdominal disease.
5-year Overall Survival (OS) Rate (Arm B [HDI] vs. Arm C [LIP])Assessed every 3 months for 2 years, then every 6 months for years 3-5Overall survival is defined as the time from randomization to death or date last known alive.
Recurrence-free Survival (RFS; Arm A [HIP] vs. Arm B [HDI])Assessed every 3 months for 2 years, then every 6 months for years 3-5 and then annually up to 8 yearsRecurrence-free survival is defined as the time from randomization to recurrence or death, whichever occurs first. The following criteria constitute the only acceptable evidence of disease recurrence. Lung and liver: Positive cytology or biopsy in the presence of a single new lesion or the appearance of multiple lesions consistent with metastatic disease. Central Nervous System: A positive brain CT or MRI scan or CSF cytology. Cutaneous, Subcutaneous and Lymph Node Recurrence: Positive cytology or biopsy in the presence of a single new lesion or the appearance of multiple lesions consistent with metastatic disease. Bone and Other Organs: Positive cytology or biopsy in the presence of a single new lesion or the appearance of multiple lesions consistent with metastatic disease identified on two different radiologic studies: i.e., positive nuclear bone scan or PET scan and contrast GI series or ultrasound, X-ray or CT of abdomen for abdominal disease.
5-year Overall Survival (OS) Rate (Arm A [HIP] vs. Arm B [HDI])Assessed every 3 months for 2 years, then every 6 months for years 3-5Overall survival is defined as the time from randomization to death or date last known alive.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Change in FACT-G (Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy - General) Total Score From Baseline to 3 MonthsAssessed at baseline and 3 monthsThe Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy - General (FACT-G) is a 27-item questionnaire that has four areas of measurements (physical well-being, social/family well-being, emotional well-being and functional well-being) with a scale of 0-4. The FACT-G total score ranges between 0 and 108. The higher the score, the better the quality of life. Change in FACT-G total score from baseline to 3 months was calculated as month 3 score - baseline score.
Change in FACIT-D (Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy - Diarrhea) Diarrhea Subscale Score From Baseline to 3 MonthsAssessed at baseline and 3 monthsThe diarrhea subscale of The Functional Assessment of Chronic Illness Therapy - Diarrhea (FACIT-D) is an 11-item questionnaire with a scale of 0-4. The FACIT-D diarrhea subscale score ranges between 0 and 44. The higher the score, the better the quality of life. Change in FACIT-D diarrhea subscale score from baseline to 3 months was calculated as month 3 score - baseline score.
Change in FACT-BRM (Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy - Biologic Response Modifiers) Total Score From Baseline to 3 MonthsAssessed at baseline and 3 monthsThe Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy - Biologic Response Modifiers (FACT-BRM) is a questionnaire including FACT-G (The Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy - General) and additional sections addressing physical and mental quality of life aspects. It is a 40-item questionnaire with a scale of 0-4. The FACT-BRM total score ranges between 0 and 160. The higher the score, the better the quality of life. Change in FACT-BRM total score from baseline to 3 months is calculated as month 3 score - baseline score.

Countries

Canada, United States

Contacts

PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATORAhmad Tarhini

ECOG-ACRIN Cancer Research Group

Participant flow

Recruitment details

A total of 1673 patients, including 1670 adult patients and 3 pediatric patients, were accrued between June 17, 2011 and July 26, 2016. Accrual of adult patients were completed on August 15, 2014. The study was reactivated to accrue pediatric patients on September 23, 2014.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Arm A (HIP)
Patients receive induction high-dose ipilimumab IV over 90 minutes on day 1. Treatment repeats every 21 days for a total of 4 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Beginning on week 24, patients receive maintenance high-dose ipilimumab IV over 90 minutes on day 1. Treatment repeats every 12 weeks for a maximum of 4 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
511
Arm B (HDI)
Patients receive high-dose recombinant interferon alpha-2b IV on days 1-5, 8-12, 15-19, and 22-26 in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients then receive maintenance high-dose recombinant interferon alpha-2b SC on days 1, 3, and 5. Treatment repeats every week for 48 weeks in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
636
Arm C (LIP)
Patients receive induction low-dose ipilimumab IV over 90 minutes on day 1. Treatment repeats every 21 days for a total of 4 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Beginning on week 24, patients receive maintenance low-dose ipilimumab IV over 90 minutes on day 1. Treatment repeats every 12 weeks for a maximum of 4 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
523
Arm D (HIP; Pediatric)
Patients receive induction high-dose ipilimumab IV over 90 minutes on day 1. Treatment repeats every 21 days for a total of 4 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Beginning on week 24, patients receive maintenance high-dose ipilimumab IV over 90 minutes on day 1. Treatment repeats every 12 weeks for a maximum of 4 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. (ages 12-17)
1
Arm E (HDI; Pediatric)
Patients receive high-dose recombinant interferon alpha-2b IV on days 1-5, 8-12, 15-19, and 22-26 in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients then receive maintenance high-dose recombinant interferon alpha-2b SC on days 1, 3, and 5. Treatment repeats every week for 48 weeks in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. (ages 12-17)
1
Arm F (LIP; Pediatric)
Patients receive induction low-dose ipilimumab IV over 90 minutes on day 1. Treatment repeats every 21 days for a total of 4 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Beginning on week 24, patients receive maintenance low-dose ipilimumab IV over 90 minutes on day 1. Treatment repeats every 12 weeks for a maximum of 4 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. (ages 12-17)
1
Total1,673

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicArm A (HIP)Arm B (HDI)Arm C (LIP)Arm D (HIP; Pediatric)Arm E (HDI; Pediatric)Arm F (LIP; Pediatric)Total
Age, Continuous54 years54 years54 years15 years17 years17 years54 years
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
8 Participants20 Participants16 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants44 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
484 Participants591 Participants488 Participants1 Participants1 Participants1 Participants1566 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
19 Participants25 Participants19 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants63 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
6 Participants2 Participants3 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants11 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
1 Participants4 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants5 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants1 Participants2 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants3 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
7 Participants9 Participants8 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants24 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
497 Participants620 Participants510 Participants1 Participants1 Participants1 Participants1630 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
169 Participants241 Participants195 Participants1 Participants1 Participants0 Participants607 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
342 Participants395 Participants328 Participants0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants1066 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
EG003
affected / at risk
EG004
affected / at risk
EG005
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
153 / 511168 / 636135 / 5230 / 10 / 10 / 1
other
Total, other adverse events
495 / 503510 / 520488 / 5160 / 10 / 10 / 1
serious
Total, serious adverse events
292 / 503410 / 520197 / 5160 / 10 / 10 / 1

Outcome results

Primary

5-year Overall Survival (OS) Rate (Arm A [HIP] vs. Arm B [HDI])

Overall survival is defined as the time from randomization to death or date last known alive.

Time frame: Assessed every 3 months for 2 years, then every 6 months for years 3-5

Population: Concurrently randomized patients on Arms A and B

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Arm B (HDI)5-year Overall Survival (OS) Rate (Arm A [HIP] vs. Arm B [HDI])0.70 proportion of participants
Arm C (LIP)5-year Overall Survival (OS) Rate (Arm A [HIP] vs. Arm B [HDI])0.65 proportion of participants
Comparison: This study has a two-step hierarchical approach. In the first step, the low-dose Ipi (LIP) will be compared with HDI. If the low-dose Ipi is significantly better than HDI, then the high-dose Ipi will be compared with HDI as a second step. When comparing the two investigational treatment groups, the primary comparison will be an intent to treat analysis of recurrence free survival (RFS; First Co-primary Endpoint) and overall survival (OS; Second Co-primary Endpoint).p-value: 0.289Log Rank
Primary

5-year Overall Survival (OS) Rate (Arm B [HDI] vs. Arm C [LIP])

Overall survival is defined as the time from randomization to death or date last known alive.

Time frame: Assessed every 3 months for 2 years, then every 6 months for years 3-5

Population: Concurrently randomized patients on Arms B and C

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Arm B (HDI)5-year Overall Survival (OS) Rate (Arm B [HDI] vs. Arm C [LIP])0.67 proportion of participants
Arm C (LIP)5-year Overall Survival (OS) Rate (Arm B [HDI] vs. Arm C [LIP])0.72 proportion of participants
Comparison: This study has a two-step hierarchical approach. In the first step, the low-dose Ipi (LIP) will be compared with HDI. If the low-dose Ipi is significantly better than HDI, then the high-dose Ipi will be compared with HDI as a second step. When comparing the two investigational treatment groups, the primary comparison will be an intent to treat analysis of recurrence free survival (RFS; First Co-primary Endpoint) and overall survival (OS; Second Co-primary Endpoint).p-value: 0.044Log Rank
Primary

Recurrence-free Survival (RFS; Arm A [HIP] vs. Arm B [HDI])

Recurrence-free survival is defined as the time from randomization to recurrence or death, whichever occurs first. The following criteria constitute the only acceptable evidence of disease recurrence. Lung and liver: Positive cytology or biopsy in the presence of a single new lesion or the appearance of multiple lesions consistent with metastatic disease. Central Nervous System: A positive brain CT or MRI scan or CSF cytology. Cutaneous, Subcutaneous and Lymph Node Recurrence: Positive cytology or biopsy in the presence of a single new lesion or the appearance of multiple lesions consistent with metastatic disease. Bone and Other Organs: Positive cytology or biopsy in the presence of a single new lesion or the appearance of multiple lesions consistent with metastatic disease identified on two different radiologic studies: i.e., positive nuclear bone scan or PET scan and contrast GI series or ultrasound, X-ray or CT of abdomen for abdominal disease.

Time frame: Assessed every 3 months for 2 years, then every 6 months for years 3-5 and then annually up to 8 years

Population: Concurrently randomized patients on Arms A and B

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Arm B (HDI)Recurrence-free Survival (RFS; Arm A [HIP] vs. Arm B [HDI])3.9 years
Arm C (LIP)Recurrence-free Survival (RFS; Arm A [HIP] vs. Arm B [HDI])2.4 years
Primary

Recurrence-free Survival (RFS; Arm B [HDI] vs. Arm C [LIP])

Recurrence-free survival is defined as the time from randomization to recurrence or death, whichever occurs first. The following criteria constitute the only acceptable evidence of disease recurrence. Lung and liver: Positive cytology or biopsy in the presence of a single new lesion or the appearance of multiple lesions consistent with metastatic disease. Central Nervous System: A positive brain CT or MRI scan or CSF cytology. Cutaneous, Subcutaneous and Lymph Node Recurrence: Positive cytology or biopsy in the presence of a single new lesion or the appearance of multiple lesions consistent with metastatic disease. Bone and Other Organs: Positive cytology or biopsy in the presence of a single new lesion or the appearance of multiple lesions consistent with metastatic disease identified on two different radiologic studies: i.e., positive nuclear bone scan or PET scan and contrast GI series or ultrasound, X-ray or CT of abdomen for abdominal disease.

Time frame: Assessed every 3 months for 2 years, then every 6 months for years 3-5 and then annually up to 8 years

Population: Concurrently randomized patients on Arms B and C

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Arm B (HDI)Recurrence-free Survival (RFS; Arm B [HDI] vs. Arm C [LIP])2.5 years
Arm C (LIP)Recurrence-free Survival (RFS; Arm B [HDI] vs. Arm C [LIP])4.5 years
Comparison: This study has a two-step hierarchical approach. In the first step, the low-dose Ipi (LIP) will be compared with HDI. If the low-dose Ipi is significantly better than HDI, then the high-dose Ipi will be compared with HDI as a second step. When comparing the two investigational treatment groups, the primary comparison will be an intent to treat analysis of recurrence free survival (RFS; First Co-primary Endpoint) and overall survival (OS; Second Co-primary Endpoint).p-value: 0.065Log Rank
Secondary

Change in FACIT-D (Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy - Diarrhea) Diarrhea Subscale Score From Baseline to 3 Months

The diarrhea subscale of The Functional Assessment of Chronic Illness Therapy - Diarrhea (FACIT-D) is an 11-item questionnaire with a scale of 0-4. The FACIT-D diarrhea subscale score ranges between 0 and 44. The higher the score, the better the quality of life. Change in FACIT-D diarrhea subscale score from baseline to 3 months was calculated as month 3 score - baseline score.

Time frame: Assessed at baseline and 3 months

Population: Patients with baseline and 3-month FACIT-D diarrhea subscale assessments were included in this analysis. Pediatric patients did not participate in the quality of life part of the study.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Arm B (HDI)Change in FACIT-D (Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy - Diarrhea) Diarrhea Subscale Score From Baseline to 3 Months-3.7 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 6.9
Arm C (LIP)Change in FACIT-D (Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy - Diarrhea) Diarrhea Subscale Score From Baseline to 3 Months-0.7 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 2.7
Arm C (LIP)Change in FACIT-D (Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy - Diarrhea) Diarrhea Subscale Score From Baseline to 3 Months-2.2 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 5.1
Secondary

Change in FACT-BRM (Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy - Biologic Response Modifiers) Total Score From Baseline to 3 Months

The Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy - Biologic Response Modifiers (FACT-BRM) is a questionnaire including FACT-G (The Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy - General) and additional sections addressing physical and mental quality of life aspects. It is a 40-item questionnaire with a scale of 0-4. The FACT-BRM total score ranges between 0 and 160. The higher the score, the better the quality of life. Change in FACT-BRM total score from baseline to 3 months is calculated as month 3 score - baseline score.

Time frame: Assessed at baseline and 3 months

Population: Patients with baseline and 3-month FACT-BRM assessments were included in this analysis. Pediatric patients did not participate in the quality of life part of the study.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Arm B (HDI)Change in FACT-BRM (Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy - Biologic Response Modifiers) Total Score From Baseline to 3 Months-8.3 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 19.7
Arm C (LIP)Change in FACT-BRM (Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy - Biologic Response Modifiers) Total Score From Baseline to 3 Months-22.7 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 20.4
Arm C (LIP)Change in FACT-BRM (Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy - Biologic Response Modifiers) Total Score From Baseline to 3 Months-6.2 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 18.9
Secondary

Change in FACT-G (Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy - General) Total Score From Baseline to 3 Months

The Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy - General (FACT-G) is a 27-item questionnaire that has four areas of measurements (physical well-being, social/family well-being, emotional well-being and functional well-being) with a scale of 0-4. The FACT-G total score ranges between 0 and 108. The higher the score, the better the quality of life. Change in FACT-G total score from baseline to 3 months was calculated as month 3 score - baseline score.

Time frame: Assessed at baseline and 3 months

Population: Patients with baseline and 3-month FACT-G assessments were included in this analysis. Pediatric patients did not participate in the quality of life part of the study.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Arm B (HDI)Change in FACT-G (Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy - General) Total Score From Baseline to 3 Months-4.9 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 14.1
Arm C (LIP)Change in FACT-G (Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy - General) Total Score From Baseline to 3 Months-12.9 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 14.1
Arm C (LIP)Change in FACT-G (Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy - General) Total Score From Baseline to 3 Months-3.4 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 13.2

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Sep 9, 2026