Skip to content

Pasireotide & Everolimus in Adult Patients With Radioiodine-Refractory Differentiated & Medullary Thyroid Cancer

A 3-Arm Randomized Phase II Trial Evaluating Single Agent and Combined Efficacy of Pasireotide and Everolimus in Adult Patients With Radioiodine-Refractory Differentiated and Medullary Thyroid Cancer

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT01270321
Enrollment
42
Registered
2011-01-05
Start date
2010-11-30
Completion date
2019-02-28
Last updated
2021-02-17

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Thyroid Cancer

Keywords

Thyroid Cancer

Brief summary

The purpose of this study is to determine the effectiveness of two anticancer drugs, everolimus and pasireotide, in patients with thyroid cancer when the cancer is no longer responding to treatment with radioiodine or where it is deemed unsafe for the patient to receive additional radioiodine treatment. The investigators also want to establish the best manner of taking the two medications when used together to treat thyroid cancer. In particular, the investigators want to know if it is better to give both at the same time or add a second medication after the first one has stopped working. This study will also look at specific substances called biomarkers in your blood, and in the tumor tissue which are involved in the growth of tumor cells, and determine if the levels of these biomarkers are related to your response to treatment or development of side effects. Everolimus, also known by the brand name, Afinitor, is a biologic drug approved by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for the treatment of kidney cancer. It works by preventing cancer cells from multiplying and it also makes them more likely to die from the treatment. Pasireotide also known by the name, SOM230 is a new medication that is not yet approved by the FDA for the treatment of cancer. It is a newer form of a drug called octreotide, which is approved for the treatment of cancer arising from endocrine organs. Pasireotide works by binding to a protein called somatostatin receptor, which is expressed in many tissues throughout the body including thyroid cancer cells. Pasireotide prevents the action of somatostatin by binding to these receptors.

Interventions

DRUGEverolimus

Everolimus 10 mg daily continuously (switch to 2-drug combination at progression if no intolerable toxicity)

DRUGPasireotide

Pasireotide 1200 mcg bid for 4 weeks followed by Pasireotide long acting release (LAR) 60 mg i.m. once every 4 weeks

DRUGEverolimus and Pasireotide

Everolimus 10 mg daily continuously together with Pasireotide 1200 mcg bid for 4 weeks followed by Pasireotide long acting release (LAR) 60 mg i.m. once every 4 weeks

Sponsors

Novartis
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
Emory University
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

1. Histologic or cytologic confirmation of thyroid cancer (papillary, follicular, medullary); histologic variants such as Hurthle and tall cell variants are allowed. 2. Biochemical or radiologic documentation of disease progression within the last 12 months prior to enrollment. 3. Presence of at least one site of measurable disease according to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) criteria version 1.1. 4. Patient must have radioiodine refractory disease as defined by one or more of the following conditions: * All cases of medullary thyroid carcinoma. * No iodine-uptake on a post- radioactive iodine treatment scan (in presence of low iodine diet and thyroid stimulating hormone (TSH) suppression) in an anatomically defined lesion that qualifies as target lesion by RECIST criteria. OR • If there is demonstrable iodine-uptake: the last radioiodine therapy of (≥ 100 mCi) was given within the last 16 months OR if given more than 16 months before enrollment, there is evidence of disease progression after each of the last two radioiodine treatment performed within 16 months of each other (each dose should be ≥ 100mCi). OR * If the patient has received the maximum cumulative life time dose of radioactive iodine treatments of at least 600 mCi. * If the patient declines or is intolerant of radioiodine therapy or if with progressive disease that is, in the opinion of the treating physician, likely to benefit from biologic therapy rather than further iodine therapy e.g. patient with heavy burden of disease 5. Age ≥ 18 years. 6. Minimum of four weeks since any major surgery or since completion of radiation (patients should have adequately recovered from the acute toxicities of any prior therapy). 7. Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status less than or equal to 2. 8. Life expectancy of at least 6 months. 9. Adequate bone marrow function as shown by: absolute neutrophil count (ANC) ≥ 1.5 x 10⁹/L, platelets ≥ 100 x 10⁹/L, Hgb \> 9 g/dL. 10. Adequate liver function as shown by: serum bilirubin ≤ 1.5 x upper limit of normal (ULN), and serum transaminases activity ≤ 3 x ULN, with the exception of serum transaminases (\< 5 x ULN) if the patient has liver metastases. 11. Adequate renal function as shown by serum creatinine ≤ 1.5 x ULN or glomerular filtration rate (GFR) of 60cc/ml using the formula of Cockroft and Gault. 12. Fasting serum cholesterol ≤ 300 mg/dL OR ≤ 7.75 mmol/L AND fasting triglycerides ≤ 2.5 x ULN. NOTE: In case one or both of these thresholds are exceeded, the patient can only be included after initiation of appropriate lipid lowering medication. 13. Women of childbearing potential must have a negative serum pregnancy test within 14 days of the administration of the first study treatment. Women must not be lactating. Both men and women of childbearing potential must be advised of the importance of using effective birth control measures during the course of the study. 14. Signed informed consent to participate in the study must be obtained from patients after they have been fully informed of the nature and potential risks by the investigator (or his/her designee) with the aid of written information. 15. International normalized ratio (INR) and prothrombin time (PTT) ≤ 1.5 x ULN. (Anticoagulation is allowed if target INR ≤ 1.5 on a stable dose of warfarin or on a stable dose of low molecular weight \[LMW\] heparin for \> 2 weeks at time of randomization.)

Exclusion criteria

1. Prior treatment with not more than 1 systemic agent. 2. Patients who have undergone major surgery within 4 weeks prior to study enrollment (tracheotomy, feeding tube or vascular access catheter placement and interventional procedures such as bronchoscopy, upper GI endoscopy or colonoscopy are not considered major surgery). 3. Chronic treatment with systemic steroids or another immunosuppressive agent. 4. Patients should not receive immunization with attenuated live vaccines during study period or within 1 week of study entry. 5. Uncontrolled brain or leptomeningeal metastases, including patients who continue to require glucocorticoids for brain or leptomeningeal metastases. 6. Patients with prior or concurrent malignancy except for the following: adequately treated basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer, or other adequately treated in situ cancer, or any other cancer from which the patient has been disease free for five years. 7. Patients with uncontrolled diabetes mellitus or a fasting plasma glucose \> 1.5 ULN. Note: At the principal investigator's discretion, non-eligible patients can be re-screened after adequate medical therapy has been instituted. 8. Patients with symptomatic cholelithiasis (asymptomatic gall stone discovered on screening US should be reviewed by the PI but will not lead to automatic exclusion). 9. Liver disease such as cirrhosis or severe hepatic impairment (Child-Pugh class C): * History of liver disease, such as cirrhosis or chronic active hepatitis B and C. * Presence of Hepatitis B surface antigen (HbsAg). * Presence of Hepatitis C antibody test (anti-HCV). 10. Patients who have congestive heart failure (NYHA Class III or IV), unstable angina, sustained ventricular tachycardia, ventricular fibrillation, clinically significant bradycardia, advanced heart block or a history of acute myocardial infarction within the six months preceding enrollment. 11. QT related

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Participants With Response Per Responsive Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.0)Through study completion, an average of 1 yearNumber of participants with response per Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.0) for target lesions and assessed by MRI: Complete Response (CR), Disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR), \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions; Overall Response (OR) = CR + PR.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Participants With Progression-free SurvivalThrough study completion, an average of 1 yearTime from starting treatment until disease progression as defined using Response Evaluation CriteriaIn Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.0), as a 20% increase in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions, or a measurable increase in a non-target lesion, or the appearance of new lesions, or death.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

Patients were enrolled between 11/17/2010 and 1/2/2019 at Winship Cancer Institute of Emory University

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Arm A (Everolimus Alone)
CURRENTLY CLOSED TO ACCRUAL--Everolimus alone followed by Everolimus + Pasireotide at the time of progression Everolimus: Everolimus 10 mg daily continuously (switch to 2-drug combination at progression if no intolerable toxicity)
19
Arm B (Pasireotide Alone)
CURRENTLY CLOSED TO ACCRUAL--Pasireotide alone followed by Everolimus + Pasireotide at the time of progression Pasireotide: Pasireotide 1200 mcg bid for 4 weeks followed by Pasireotide long acting release (LAR) 60 mg i.m. once every 4 weeks
11
Arm C (Everolimus + Pasireotide)
CURRENTLY CLOSED TO ACCRUAL Everolimus and Pasireotide: Everolimus 10 mg daily continuously together with Pasireotide 1200 mcg bid for 4 weeks followed by Pasireotide long acting release (LAR) 60 mg i.m. once every 4 weeks
12
Total42

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001FG002
Overall StudyAdverse Event795
Overall StudyDeath314

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicArm A (Everolimus Alone)Arm B (Pasireotide Alone)Arm C (Everolimus + Pasireotide)Total
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
17 Participants10 Participants8 Participants35 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
2 Participants1 Participants4 Participants7 Participants
Age, Continuous66.95 Years64.73 Years58.83 Years60.75 Years
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants1 Participants2 Participants3 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
18 Participants9 Participants9 Participants36 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants1 Participants1 Participants3 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
2 Participants4 Participants0 Participants6 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
2 Participants2 Participants1 Participants5 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
15 Participants5 Participants11 Participants31 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
19 Participants11 Participants12 Participants42 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
7 Participants3 Participants5 Participants15 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
12 Participants8 Participants7 Participants27 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
3 / 191 / 114 / 12
other
Total, other adverse events
0 / 190 / 110 / 12
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 190 / 110 / 12

Outcome results

Primary

Number of Participants With Response Per Responsive Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.0)

Number of participants with response per Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.0) for target lesions and assessed by MRI: Complete Response (CR), Disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR), \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions; Overall Response (OR) = CR + PR.

Time frame: Through study completion, an average of 1 year

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Arm A (Everolimus Alone)Number of Participants With Response Per Responsive Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.0)17 Participants
Arm B (Pasireotide Alone)Number of Participants With Response Per Responsive Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.0)9 Participants
Arm C (Everolimus + Pasireotide)Number of Participants With Response Per Responsive Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.0)11 Participants
Secondary

Number of Participants With Progression-free Survival

Time from starting treatment until disease progression as defined using Response Evaluation CriteriaIn Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.0), as a 20% increase in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions, or a measurable increase in a non-target lesion, or the appearance of new lesions, or death.

Time frame: Through study completion, an average of 1 year

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Arm A (Everolimus Alone)Number of Participants With Progression-free Survival17 Participants
Arm B (Pasireotide Alone)Number of Participants With Progression-free Survival9 Participants
Arm C (Everolimus + Pasireotide)Number of Participants With Progression-free Survival11 Participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026