Skip to content

Combination Chemotherapy and Dasatinib in Treating Patients With Newly Diagnosed Acute Myeloid Leukemia

A Phase II Study of Induction (Daunorubicin/Cytarabine) and Consolidation (High-Dose Cytarabine) Chemotherapy Plus Dasatinib (NSC #732517) and Continuation Therapy With Dasatinib Alone in Newly Diagnosed Patients With Core Binding Factor Acute Myeloid Leukemia (AML)

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT01238211
Enrollment
61
Registered
2010-11-10
Start date
2010-12-14
Completion date
2021-03-15
Last updated
2023-03-01

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Acute Myeloid Leukemia, Acute Myeloid Leukemia Arising From Previous Myelodysplastic Syndrome, Adult Acute Myeloid Leukemia With Inv(16)(p13.1q22); CBFB-MYH11, Adult Acute Myeloid Leukemia With t(16;16)(p13.1;q22); CBFB-MYH11, Adult Acute Myeloid Leukemia With t(8;21); (q22; q22.1); RUNX1-RUNX1T1, Core Binding Factor Acute Myeloid Leukemia, Secondary Acute Myeloid Leukemia, Therapy-Related Acute Myeloid Leukemia

Brief summary

This phase II trial studies the side effects and how well giving combination chemotherapy together with dasatinib works in treating patients with newly diagnosed acute myeloid leukemia. Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as daunorubicin hydrochloride and cytarabine, work in different ways to stop the growth of cancer cells, either by killing the cells, by stopping them from dividing, or by stopping them from spreading. Dasatinib may stop the growth of cancer cells by blocking some of the enzymes needed for cell growth. Giving combination chemotherapy together with dasatinib may kill more cancer cells.

Detailed description

PRIMARY OBJECTIVES: I. To assess the safety and tolerability of dasatinib 100 mg/day given after intensive induction (daunorubicin hydrochloride \[daunorubicin\]/cytarabine), and consolidation chemotherapy (high-dose cytarabine) and as single agent in maintenance therapy to newly diagnosed patients with core binding factor acute myeloid leukemia (AML). II. 30-day survival rate during induction (the lack of early/hypoplastic death). III. The absence of pleural or pericardial effusion, and absence of liver toxicity that exceeds grade 2. SECONDARY OBJECTIVES: I. To assess clinical outcomes such as event-free survival (EFS), complete response (CR) rate, cumulative incidence of relapse (CIR), cumulative incidence of death (CID), disease-free survival (DFS), and overall survival (OS). II. To describe the frequency and severity of adverse events of patients treated on this study during induction, consolidation, and continuation therapy. III. To describe the interaction of pretreatment disease and patient characteristics including morphology, cytogenetics, immunophenotype, molecular genetic features, white blood cell (WBC) count and hemogram, and performance status on clinical outcomes. OUTLINE: INDUCTION THERAPY (course 1): Patients receive daunorubicin hydrochloride intravenously (IV) on days 1-3, cytarabine IV continuously over 168 hours on days 1-7, and dasatinib orally (PO) once daily (QD) on days 8-21. Patients with responsive disease on day 21 undergo consolidation therapy, and patients with non-responsive disease on day 21 (bone marrow cellularity \>= 20 % and leukemia blasts \>= 5%) receive a second course of induction therapy. INDUCTION THERAPY (course 2): Patients receive daunorubicin hydrochloride IV on days 1-3, cytarabine IV continuously over 120 hours on days 1-5, and dasatinib PO once a day on days 6-19. Patients achieving complete response receive consolidation therapy. CONSOLIDATION THERAPY: Patients receive high-dose cytarabine IV over 3 hours on days 1, 3, and 5, and dasatinib PO QD on days 6-26 or 7-27. Treatment repeats every 28 days for up to 4 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients in complete remission receive continuation therapy. CONTINUATION THERAPY: Patients receive dasatinib PO on days 1-28. Treatment repeats every 28 days for 12 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. After completion of study therapy, patients are followed up every 2 months for 2 years, every 3 months for 2 years, and then every year for up to 10 years from study entry.

Interventions

DRUGCytarabine

Given IV

DRUGDasatinib

Given PO

DRUGDaunorubicin Hydrochloride

Given IV

OTHERLaboratory Biomarker Analysis

Correlative studies

Sponsors

National Cancer Institute (NCI)
Lead SponsorNIH

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Documentation of disease as assessed by the Alliance reference laboratory at the Ohio State University per Cancer and Leukemia Group B (CALGB) 20202, molecular diagnosis of core-binding factor (CBF) acute myeloid leukemia (AML) by reverse transcriptase polymerase chain reaction (RT-PCR) positive for RUNX1-RUNX1T1 fusion transcript resulting from t(8;21)(q22;q22) (or a variant form) or CBFB-MYH11 fusion transcript resulting from inv(16)(p13.1q22) or t(16;16)(p13.1;q22) (any % bone marrow or blood blasts render the diagnosis of CBF AML based on the World Health Organization \[WHO\] classification) * No prior chemotherapy for leukemia or myelodysplasia with the following exceptions: * Emergency leukapheresis * Emergency treatment for hyperleukocytosis with hydroxyurea, * Cranial radiotherapy (RT) for central nervous system (CNS) leukostasis (one dose only), * Growth factor/cytokine support/non-cytotoxic molecular-targeted agents * AML patients with a history of antecedent myelodysplasia (MDS) remain eligible for treatment on this trial * Patients who have developed therapy related myeloid neoplasm (t-MN) after prior radiation therapy or chemotherapy for another cancer or disorder are eligible * Left ventricular ejection fraction \>= lower limit of institutional normal by multigated acquisition (MUGA) or echocardiogram (ECHO) scan * Patients must not have had myocardial infarction within 6 months of registration * Patients must not have had ventricular tachyarrhythmia within 6 months of registration * Patients must have no major conduction abnormality (unless a cardiac pacemaker is present) * Bilirubin must not be \< 2.5 times upper limit of normal * Patients must be non-pregnant and non-nursing; pregnant or nursing patients may not be enrolled; women of childbearing potential (WOCBP) must have a negative serum or urine pregnancy test within a sensitivity of at least 25 mIU/mL within 72 hours prior to registration; women of child-bearing potential must either commit to continued abstinence from heterosexual intercourse or begin TWO acceptable methods of birth control - one highly effective method (e.g., intrauterine device \[IUD\], hormonal, tubal ligation, or partner's vasectomy), and one additional effective method (e.g., latex condom, diaphragm, or cervical cap) - AT THE SAME TIME, before she begins dasatinib therapy, during treatment and at least 12 weeks after treatment is complete; Women of childbearing potential is defined as a sexually active mature woman who has not undergone a hysterectomy or who has had menses at any time in the preceding 24 consecutive months * Patients with congenital long QT syndrome or non-congenital corrected QT (QTc) prolongation (defined as a QTc interval consistently equal to or greater than 480 msecs) that cannot be corrected by infusion of electrolytes and/or discontinuation of other medications prior to start of treatment are excluded

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
30 Day Survival Rate30 daysPercentage of participants who were alive 30 days after starting induction treatment.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Complete Response Rate60 monthsPercentage of participants who achieve a CR. Complete remission (CR) is defined as: disappearance of all clinical and/or radiologic evidence of disease. Neutrophil count \> 1.0 x 10\^9/L and platelet count \> 100 x 10\^9/L, and normal bone marrow differential (\< 5% blasts).
Cumulative Incidence of Relapse60 months
Event-free Survival1 yearEvent free survival (EFS) is defined as the time from registration to failure to achieve complete remission (CR), relapse after CR is attained or death, whichever comes first. The 1 year EFS rate with 95% CI was estimated using the Kaplan-Meier method, Complete remission (CR) is defined as: disappearance of all clinical and/or radiologic evidence of disease. Neutrophil count \> 1.0 x 10\^9/L and platelet count \> 100 x 10\^9/L, and normal bone marrow differential (\< 5% blasts).
Disease-free Survival3 yearsDisease free survival (DFS) is defined as the time from achievement of CR to relapse or death, whichever comes first. The 3 year DFS rate with 95% CI was estimated using the Kaplan-Meier method.
Overall Survival3 yearsOverall survival (OS) is defined as time from registration to death. The 3 year OS rate with 95% CI was estimated using the Kaplan-Meier method.
Cumulative Incidence of Death36 months

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

Between April 2011 and January 2013, 61 participants were recruited.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Treatment (Daunorubicin Hydrochloride, Cytarabine, Dasatinib)
INDUCTION THERAPY: daunorubicin hydrochloride IV (60 mg/m\^2)on days 1-3, cytarabine IV (200 mg/m\^2) continuously over 168 hours on days 1-7, and dasatinib PO (100 mg) once daily on days 8-21. Patients achieving a response go to consolidation therapy, and patients not achieving a receive a second course of induction therapy. CONSOLIDATION THERAPY: high-dose cytarabine IV (patients \< Age 60: 3000 mg/m\^2, Age \>= 1000 mg/m\^2)over 3 hours on days 1, 3, and 5, and dasatinib PO (100 mg) once daily on days 6-26. Treatment repeats every 28 days for 4 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients in complete remission receive continuation therapy. CONTINUATION THERAPY: dasatinib PO (100 mg) once daily for 12 months or relapse.
61
Total61

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000
Overall StudyAdverse Event7
Overall StudyContinues active treatment31
Overall StudyDeath4
Overall StudyInvestigator/Patient Decision3
Overall StudyNon-protocol treatment4
Overall StudyRelapse/Progression2
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject7

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicTreatment (Daunorubicin Hydrochloride, Cytarabine, Dasatinib)
Age, Continuous51 years
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
54 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
7 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
5 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
8 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
46 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
61 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
30 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
31 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
15 / 61
other
Total, other adverse events
61 / 61
serious
Total, serious adverse events
27 / 61

Outcome results

Primary

30 Day Survival Rate

Percentage of participants who were alive 30 days after starting induction treatment.

Time frame: 30 days

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Treatment (Daunorubicin Hydrochloride, Cytarabine, Dasatinib)30 Day Survival Rate97 percentage of participants
Secondary

Complete Response Rate

Percentage of participants who achieve a CR. Complete remission (CR) is defined as: disappearance of all clinical and/or radiologic evidence of disease. Neutrophil count \> 1.0 x 10\^9/L and platelet count \> 100 x 10\^9/L, and normal bone marrow differential (\< 5% blasts).

Time frame: 60 months

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Treatment (Daunorubicin Hydrochloride, Cytarabine, Dasatinib)Complete Response Rate90 percentage of patients
Secondary

Cumulative Incidence of Death

Time frame: 36 months

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Treatment (Daunorubicin Hydrochloride, Cytarabine, Dasatinib)Cumulative Incidence of Death15 Participants
Secondary

Cumulative Incidence of Relapse

Time frame: 60 months

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Treatment (Daunorubicin Hydrochloride, Cytarabine, Dasatinib)Cumulative Incidence of Relapse10 Participants
Secondary

Disease-free Survival

Disease free survival (DFS) is defined as the time from achievement of CR to relapse or death, whichever comes first. The 3 year DFS rate with 95% CI was estimated using the Kaplan-Meier method.

Time frame: 3 years

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Treatment (Daunorubicin Hydrochloride, Cytarabine, Dasatinib)Disease-free Survival75 percentage of patients
Secondary

Event-free Survival

Event free survival (EFS) is defined as the time from registration to failure to achieve complete remission (CR), relapse after CR is attained or death, whichever comes first. The 1 year EFS rate with 95% CI was estimated using the Kaplan-Meier method, Complete remission (CR) is defined as: disappearance of all clinical and/or radiologic evidence of disease. Neutrophil count \> 1.0 x 10\^9/L and platelet count \> 100 x 10\^9/L, and normal bone marrow differential (\< 5% blasts).

Time frame: 1 year

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Treatment (Daunorubicin Hydrochloride, Cytarabine, Dasatinib)Event-free Survival83 percentage of patients
Secondary

Overall Survival

Overall survival (OS) is defined as time from registration to death. The 3 year OS rate with 95% CI was estimated using the Kaplan-Meier method.

Time frame: 3 years

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Treatment (Daunorubicin Hydrochloride, Cytarabine, Dasatinib)Overall Survival77 percentage of patients

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 21, 2026