Skip to content

Intensity-Modulated Radiation Therapy and Paclitaxel With or Without Pazopanib Hydrochloride in Treating Patients With Anaplastic Thyroid Cancer

A Randomized Phase II Study of Concurrent Intensity Modulated Radiation Therapy (IMRT), Paclitaxel and Pazopanib (NSC 737754)/Placebo, for the Treatment of Anaplastic Thyroid Cancer

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT01236547
Enrollment
123
Registered
2010-11-08
Start date
2010-10-28
Completion date
2022-05-20
Last updated
2022-07-19

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Thyroid Gland Anaplastic Carcinoma

Brief summary

This randomized phase II trial studies the side effects and how well intensity-modulated radiation therapy (IMRT) and paclitaxel with or without pazopanib hydrochloride works in treating patients with anaplastic thyroid cancer. Specialized radiation therapy that delivers a high dose of radiation directly to the tumor may kill more tumor cells and cause less damage to normal tissue. Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as paclitaxel, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells, by stopping them from dividing, or by stopping them from spreading. Pazopanib hydrochloride may stop the growth of tumor cells by blocking some of the enzymes needed for cell growth. It is not yet known whether radiation therapy and paclitaxel are more effective when given with pazopanib hydrochloride in treating thyroid cancer.

Detailed description

PRIMARY OBJECTIVES: I. To evaluate the safety of IMRT, paclitaxel, and pazopanib (pazopanib hydrochloride) suspension. (Run-in component) II. To evaluate and compare overall survival at 1 year from study registration. (Phase II component) SECONDARY OBJECTIVES: I. To evaluate local-regional control at 6 and 12 months. (Phase II component) II. To evaluate the rate of grade 4 (Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events version 4.0 \[CTCAE, v. 4.0\]) hemorrhage, grade 4 febrile neutropenia, or any grade 5 adverse event assessed to be definitely, probably, or possibly related to the induction or concurrent treatment components of the protocol regimen. (Phase II component) III. To evaluate the rates of other adverse events (CTCAE, v. 4.0) assessed to be definitely, probably, or possibly related to the induction or concurrent treatment components of the protocol regimen. (Phase II component) IV. To evaluate the rate of treatment discontinuation due to toxicity during the induction or concurrent treatment components of the protocol regimen. (Phase II component) V. To evaluate response (as per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors \[RECIST\]) of the primary site following the treatment component in subjects with measurable disease prior to chemoradiation. (Phase II component) OUTLINE: RUN-IN COMPONENT: Patients receive paclitaxel intravenously (IV) over 1 hour once weekly and pazopanib hydrochloride orally (PO) once daily (QD) for 2-3 weeks. Patients then receive concurrent paclitaxel IV over 1 hour once weekly and pazopanib hydrochloride PO QD for 6-7 weeks (or until radiation treatment is completed) and intensity-modulated radiotherapy (IMRT) 5 days per week for 6.5 weeks (total of 66 Gy in 33 fractions). Beginning 25-31 days after the completion of IMRT, patients receive paclitaxel IV over 1 hour once weekly and pazopanib hydrochloride PO QD. Treatment repeats every 3 weeks for 4 cycles (for patients with no measurable disease) or continues in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity (for patients with measurable disease). RANDOMIZED PHASE II COMPONENT: Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms. ARM I: Patients receive paclitaxel IV over 1 hour once weekly and pazopanib hydrochloride PO QD for 2-3 weeks. Patients then receive concurrent paclitaxel IV over 1 hour once weekly and pazopanib hydrochloride PO QD for 6-7 weeks (or until radiation treatment is completed) and IMRT 5 days per week for 6.5 weeks (total of 66 Gy in 33 fractions). Beginning 25-31 days after the completion of IMRT, patients receive paclitaxel IV over 1 hour once weekly and pazopanib hydrochloride PO QD. Treatment repeats every 3 weeks for 4 cycles (for patients with no measurable disease) or continues in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity (for patients with measurable disease). ARM II: Patients receive paclitaxel IV over 1 hour once weekly and placebo PO QD for 2-3 weeks. Patients then receive concurrent paclitaxel IV over 1 hour once weekly and placebo PO QD for 6-7 weeks (or until radiation treatment is completed) and IMRT 5 days per week for 6.5 weeks (total of 66 Gy in 33 fractions). Beginning 25-31 days after the completion of IMRT, patients receive paclitaxel IV over 1 hour once weekly and placebo PO QD. Treatment repeats every 3 weeks for 4 cycles (for patients with no measurable disease) or continues in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity (for patients with measurable disease). After completion of study treatment, patients are followed up every 3 months for 2 years, every 6 months for 1 year, and then annually thereafter.

Interventions

RADIATIONIntensity-Modulated Radiation Therapy

Undergo IMRT

DRUGPaclitaxel

Given IV

DRUGPazopanib Hydrochloride

Given PO

OTHERPlacebo Administration

Given PO

Sponsors

NRG Oncology
CollaboratorOTHER
National Cancer Institute (NCI)
Lead SponsorNIH

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
QUADRUPLE (Subject, Caregiver, Investigator, Outcomes Assessor)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Pathologically (histologically or cytologically) proven diagnosis of anaplastic thyroid cancer (a diagnosis that is noted to be consistent with anaplastic thyroid cancer with the presence of a thyroid mass is acceptable) * Note: Tissue collection for central review is mandatory, but central review is not required for eligibility; due to the aggressiveness of this disease, treatment will be started prior to central review * If there was a total or partial thyroidectomy completed within 3 months of enrollment, the surgical specimen must show the area of anaplastic thyroid cancer to be at least 1 cm in greatest dimension * The following minimum diagnostic workup is required: * History/physical examination within 2 weeks prior to registration * Imaging of neck and brain (computed tomography \[CT\] scan or magnetic resonance imaging \[MRI\]) and chest/abdominal imaging (chest x-ray or chest CT scan, or full body positron emission tomography \[PET\]/CT are acceptable) within 4 weeks prior to registration * Note: The CT scan of the neck must be done with contrast or if an MRI is done, with gadolinium; therefore, the CT portion of a full body PET/CT has to be a high resolution CT to be acceptable for eligibility * Abdominal imaging must cover the liver and adrenal glands; therefore, separate imaging is not required if these areas are covered by a chest CT scan * Electrocardiogram within 10 days prior to registration * Zubrod performance status 0-2 * Absolute neutrophil count (ANC) \>= 1,500 cells/mm\^3 (within 10 days prior to registration on study) * Platelets \>= 100,000 cells/mm\^3 (within 10 days prior to registration on study) * Hemoglobin (Hgb) \>= 9.0 g/dl (within 10 days prior to registration on study) (Note: the use of transfusion or other intervention to achieve Hgb \>= 9.0 g/dL is acceptable) * Total bilirubin \< 1.5 x institutional upper limit of normal (ULN) (except for patients with Gilbert's syndrome and elevations of indirect bilirubin) (within 10 days prior to registration) * Aspartate aminotransferase (AST) or alanine aminotransferase (ALT) \< 2.5 x institutional ULN (within 10 days prior to registration); Note: patients who have both bilirubin \> ULN and AST/ALT \> ULN are not eligible (unless they have Gilbert's syndrome and elevations of indirect bilirubin) * Spot urine protein to creatinine ratio (UPCR) \< 1 or a 24-hour urine protein collection \< 1 gm within 10 days prior to registration * Creatinine \< 1.5 mg/dL or within normal institutional limits within 10 days prior to registration; Note: if neither criteria is met, the creatinine clearance must be \> 50 mL/min/1.73 m\^2 per either the Cockcroft-Gault equation, Jeliffe method, or 12- or 24-hour urine collection * Serum electrolytes including sodium, potassium, blood urea nitrogen (BUN), creatinine, glucose, magnesium, phosphate, and calcium within 10 days prior to registration * Documentation of the patient's history of corrected QT interval (QTc) prolongation, family history of prolonged QTc, and relevant cardiac disease within 10 days prior to registration * Evaluation of the patient's medications within 10 days prior to registration with attempt to change any medication that affects cytochrome P450, family 3, subfamily A, polypeptide 4 (CYP3A4) * Blood pressure =\< 140/90 within 10 days of registration (must be taken and recorded by a health care professional); Note: if the systolic blood pressure is \> 140 and/or diastolic blood pressure is \> 90 at the time of registration, the patient's blood pressure must be controlled; systolic blood pressure must be \< 140 and diastolic blood pressure must be \< 90 on at least 2 separate measurements prior to the start of treatment, and the treating physician must believe that this is feasible in order to enroll the patient * Prothrombin time (PT)/international normalized ratio (INR)/partial thromboplastin time (PTT) within 1.2 x the upper limit of normal within 10 days prior to registration unless the patient is receiving coumadin and has a stable INR that is in range for the desired level of anticoagulation * Negative pregnancy test (serum or urine) within 10 days of registration in women of child-bearing potential * Women of childbearing potential and male participants who are sexually active must agree to practice adequate contraception during treatment and for 6 months post-treatment * The patient must provide study specific informed consent prior to study entry

Exclusion criteria

* Known active invasive malignancy (except for non-melanomatous skin cancer or anaplastic thyroid cancer; the presence of prostate cancer confined to the prostate with a prostate-specific antigen \[PSA\] =\< 1 ng/mL for more than 6 months also is allowed) * Prior systemic chemotherapy for anaplastic thyroid cancer * Patients who have had chemotherapy or radiotherapy within 4 weeks of registration (6 weeks for nitrosoureas or mitomycin C) prior to entering the study or those who have not recovered from adverse events due to agents administered \> 4 weeks previously * Patients receiving other investigational agents * Prior radiotherapy to the region of the study cancer that would result in overlap of radiation therapy fields * Patients with any of the following cardiovascular conditions within the past 6 months: * Cerebrovascular accident (CVA) or transient ischemic attack (TIA) * Admission for unstable angina * Myocardial Infarction * Cardiac angioplasty or stenting * Coronary artery bypass graft surgery * Pulmonary embolism, untreated deep venous thrombosis (DVT), or DVT which has been treated with therapeutic anticoagulation for less than 6 weeks * Arterial thrombosis * Symptomatic peripheral vascular disease * Class III or IV heart failure as defined by the New York Heart Association (NYHA) functional classification system; Note: a patient who has a history of class III heart failure and is asymptomatic on treatment may be considered eligible for the study * Certain medications that are associated with a risk for QTc prolongation and/or torsades de pointes, although not prohibited, should be avoided or replaced with medications that do not carry these risks, if possible * Patients who require heparin (other than low-molecular weight heparin) * Patients with any condition that may impair the ability to absorb oral medications/investigational product including: * Prior surgical procedures affecting absorption including, but not limited to, major resection of stomach or small bowel * Active peptic ulcer disease * Malabsorption syndrome * Patients with any condition that may increase the risk of gastrointestinal bleeding or gastrointestinal perforation, including: * Active peptic ulcer disease * Known intraluminal metastatic lesions * Inflammatory bowel disease (e.g., ulcerative colitis, Crohn's disease) or other gastrointestinal conditions which increase the risk of perforation * History of abdominal fistula, gastrointestinal perforation, or intra-abdominal abscess within 28 days prior to beginning study treatment * History of hemoptysis within 30 days of registration; Note: patients who have minimal bleeding from the mouth, which is clearly not related to a source in the lungs, i.e., surgery such as a non-lung biopsy, are eligible only after good hemostasis has been documented * Uncontrolled intercurrent illness including, but not limited to, ongoing or active infection or psychiatric illness/social situations that would limit compliance with study requirements * Pregnancy or women of childbearing potential and men who are sexually active and not willing/able to use medically acceptable forms of contraception; this exclusion is necessary because the treatment involved in this study may be significantly teratogenic * Prior allergic reaction to the study drug(s) involved in this protocol * QTc prolongation defined as a QTc interval \>= 480 msecs or other significant electrocardiogram (EKG) abnormalities are ineligible; Note: if unsure about EKG abnormality, the treating physician should discuss this with Drs. Sherman or Bible * Known brain metastasis * Human immunodeficiency virus (HIV)-positive patients on combination antiretroviral therapy because of the potential for pharmacokinetic interactions with pazopanib; in addition, these patients are at increased risk of lethal infections when treated with marrow-suppressive therapy; appropriate studies will be undertaken in patients receiving combination antiretroviral therapy when indicated * Certain medications that act through the cytochrome P450 (CYP450) system are specifically prohibited in patients receiving pazopanib and others should be avoided or administered with extreme caution * Strong inhibitors of CYP3A4 such as ketoconazole, itraconazole, clarithromycin, atazanavir, indinavir, nefazodone, nelfinavir, ritonavir, saquinavir, telithromycin, voriconazole may increase pazopanib concentrations and are prohibited; although, in exceptional circumstances, they may be administered in conjunction with lowering the dose of pazopanib by 50% of what would otherwise be administered; grapefruit juice is also an inhibitor of CYP450 and should not be taken with pazopanib * Strong inducers of CYP3A4, such as rifampin, may decrease pazopanib concentrations, are strictly prohibited * Medications that have narrow therapeutic windows and are substrates of CYP3A4, cytochrome P450, family 2, subfamily D, polypeptide 6 (CYP2D6), or cytochrome P450, family 2, subfamily C, polypeptide 8 (CYP2C8) should be avoided and, if necessary, administered with caution

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
(Phase II) Overall SurvivalFrom randomization to last follow-up.Maximum follow-up for phase II participants at time of analysis was 4.2 years.Overall survival time is defined as time from randomization to the date of death (failure) from any cause or last known follow-up (censored). Overall survival rates are estimated by the Kaplan-Meier method. The protocol specifies that the distributions of failure times be compared between the arms, which is reported in the statistical analysis results. One-year rates are provided. Analysis occurred after all eligible participants were potentially followed for 3 years.
(Phase I) Number of Participants With Treatment-related Grade 4 Hemorrhage, Grade 4 Febrile Neutropenia, or Grade 5 Adverse Event (AE), or Discontinuation of Treatment Due to Toxicity [Adverse Events of Concern (AEC)]From registration to last follow-up. Maximum follow-up for run-in and phase II participants at time of analysis was 7.4 years.Common Terminology Criteria for AEs (version 4.0) grades AE severity from 1=mild to 5=death. Discontinuation of treatment due to toxicity is defined as \< 75% of planned radiation therapy delivered. Treatment-related = definitely, probably, or possibly related to treatment. A single run-in arm was originally planned, but additional run-in arms were added due to amendments to the protocol regimen unrelated to toxicities. A two-stage design based on the binomial distribution was used in which the 1st stage analyzes the run-in arm and the 2nd stage analyzes run-in and phase II pazopanib arm participants combined. Because there were multiple run-in arms, only the last is used in the 2nd stage analysis. 1st stage: If ≤4 of 9 participants experience AEC, then conclude treatment is safe. 2nd stage: If ≤8 of 24 participants experience AEC, then conclude treatment safe. Otherwise conclude the treatment is too toxic. Summary data is provided here, see AE Module for specific AE data.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
(Phase II) Local-regional ControlFrom randomization to last follow-up.Maximum follow-up for phase II participants at time of analysis was 4.2 years. (Statistical analysis compares full distributions therefore all available follow-up was used.)Local-regional failure is defined as local-regional relapse/progression in the thyroid bed or regional lymph nodes. Time to local-regional failure is defined as time from randomization to the date of first local-regional recurrence, last known follow-up (censored), or death without local recurrence (competing risk). Failure rates are estimated using the cumulative incidence method. The protocol specifies 6- and 12-month estimates to be reported and for the full distributions of failure times to be compared between the arms. Analysis occurred after all eligible participants were potentially followed for 3 years.
(Phase II) Percentage of Participants With Treatment-related Grade 4 Hemorrhage, Grade 4 Febrile Neutropenia, or Grade 5 Adverse Event, or Discontinuation of Treatment Due to Toxicity [Adverse Events of Concern]From start of treatment to last follow-up.Maximum follow-up for phase II participants at time of analysis was 4.2 years.Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE, v. 4.0) grades adverse event severity from 1=mild to 5=death. Discontinuation of treatment due to toxicity is defined as \< 75% of planned radiation therapy delivered. Adverse events rated as definitely, probably, or possibly related to treatment were considered treatment-related. Summary data is provided in this outcome measure.; See Adverse Events Module for specific adverse event data.
(Phase II) Percentage of Participants With Treatment-related Grade 3 or 4 Adverse Events Other Than Grade 4 Hemorrhage or Grade 4 Febrile Neutropenia [Not Adverse Events of Concern]From start of treatment to last follow-up.Maximum follow-up for phase II participants at time of analysis was 4.2 years.Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE, v. 4.0) grades adverse event severity from 1=mild to 5=death. Adverse events rated as definitely, probably, or possibly related to treatment were considered treatment-related. Summary data is provided in this outcome measure.; See Adverse Events Module for specific adverse event data.
(Phase II) Percentage of Participants With Complete or Partial Response of the Primary Site After Chemoradiation Per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) Version 1.12-4 weeks after treatment (approximately week 10-14)Complete Response: Disappearance of all target lesions; Any pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) must have reduction in short axis to \<10 mm. Partial Response (PR): At least a 30% decrease in the sum of the diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum diameters.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
(Run-in 1) Pazopanib, Paclitaxel, IMRT
Pre-IMRT pazopanib 800 mg oral daily and paclitaxel 80 mg/m\^2 IV weekly for 2-3 weeks. Concurrent pazopanib 400 mg oral daily, paclitaxel 50 mg/m\^2 IV weekly during 6.5 weeks of IMRT. Post-concurrent pazopanib 800 mg oral daily and paclitaxel 60 mg/m\^2 IV weekly, starting 4 weeks after IMRT for 12 weeks if no evidence of disease or until progression or significant toxicity if evidence of disease. Intensity-Modulated Radiation Therapy: 33 fractions over 6.5 weeks, 5 fractions per week, 2 Gray per fraction to total dose of 66 Gy
11
(Run-in 2) Pazopanib, Paclitaxil, IMRT
Pre-IMRT pazopanib 600 mg suspension oral daily and paclitaxel 80 mg/m\^2 IV weekly for 2-3 weeks. Concurrent pazopanib 300 mg suspension oral daily, paclitaxel 50 mg/m\^2 IV weekly during 6.5 weeks of IMRT.
10
(Run-in 3) Pazopanib, Paclitaxel, IMRT
Pre-IMRT pazopanib 400 mg suspension oral daily and paclitaxel 80 mg/m\^2 IV weekly for 2-3 weeks. Concurrent pazopanib 300 mg suspension oral daily, paclitaxel 50 mg/m\^2 IV weekly during 6.5 weeks of IMRT.
11
(Phase II) Pazopanib, Paclitaxel, IMRT
Pre-IMRT pazopanib 400 mg suspension oral daily and paclitaxel 80 mg/m\^2 IV weekly for 2-3 weeks. Concurrent pazopanib 300 mg suspension oral daily, paclitaxel 50 mg/m\^2 IV weekly during 6.5 weeks of IMRT.
36
(Phase II) Placebo, Paclitaxel, IMRT
Pre-IMRT placebo 400 mg suspension oral daily and paclitaxel 80 mg/m\^2 IV weekly for 2-3 weeks. Concurrent placebo 300 mg suspension oral daily, paclitaxel 50 mg/m\^2 IV weekly during 6.5 weeks of IMRT.
35
Total103

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001FG002FG003FG004
Overall StudyProtocol Violation011612

Baseline characteristics

Characteristic(Run-in 1) Pazopanib, Paclitaxel, IMRT(Run-in 2) Pazopanib, Paclitaxil, IMRT(Run-in 3) Pazopanib, Paclitaxel, IMRT(Phase II) Pazopanib, Paclitaxel, IMRT(Phase II) Placebo, Paclitaxel, IMRTTotal
Age, Customized
≤ 49
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants5 Participants4 Participants9 Participants
Age, Customized
50-59
3 Participants1 Participants1 Participants5 Participants7 Participants17 Participants
Age, Customized
60-69
4 Participants5 Participants7 Participants19 Participants14 Participants49 Participants
Age, Customized
≥ 70
4 Participants4 Participants3 Participants7 Participants10 Participants28 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
2 Participants0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants3 Participants7 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
8 Participants10 Participants10 Participants29 Participants24 Participants81 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants0 Participants0 Participants6 Participants8 Participants15 Participants
M stage
M0
4 Participants7 Participants4 Participants19 Participants21 Participants55 Participants
M stage
M1
4 Participants3 Participants6 Participants13 Participants13 Participants39 Participants
M stage
Mx
3 Participants0 Participants1 Participants4 Participants1 Participants9 Participants
N stage
N0
5 Participants0 Participants1 Participants8 Participants6 Participants20 Participants
N stage
N1a
0 Participants4 Participants2 Participants10 Participants5 Participants21 Participants
N stage
N1b
6 Participants6 Participants8 Participants14 Participants23 Participants57 Participants
N stage
NX
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants4 Participants1 Participants5 Participants
Prior surgery for study cancer
None
3 Participants3 Participants4 Participants14 Participants16 Participants40 Participants
Prior surgery for study cancer
Partial thyroidectomy
2 Participants1 Participants2 Participants7 Participants8 Participants20 Participants
Prior surgery for study cancer
Total thyroidectomy
6 Participants6 Participants5 Participants15 Participants11 Participants43 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
2 Participants0 Participants1 Participants2 Participants1 Participants6 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants2 Participants2 Participants4 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants8 Participants6 Participants14 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
9 Participants10 Participants10 Participants23 Participants25 Participants77 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
4 Participants7 Participants4 Participants18 Participants19 Participants52 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
7 Participants3 Participants7 Participants18 Participants16 Participants51 Participants
T stage
T4a
4 Participants2 Participants1 Participants11 Participants12 Participants30 Participants
T stage
T4b
7 Participants8 Participants10 Participants25 Participants23 Participants73 Participants
Zubrod Performance Status
0
6 Participants7 Participants7 Participants17 Participants15 Participants52 Participants
Zubrod Performance Status
1
4 Participants3 Participants4 Participants17 Participants16 Participants44 Participants
Zubrod Performance Status
2
1 Participants0 Participants0 Participants2 Participants4 Participants7 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
EG003
affected / at risk
EG004
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
9 / 1110 / 1011 / 1131 / 3630 / 34
other
Total, other adverse events
10 / 1110 / 1011 / 1136 / 3633 / 34
serious
Total, serious adverse events
9 / 116 / 108 / 1128 / 3622 / 34

Outcome results

Primary

(Phase II) Overall Survival

Overall survival time is defined as time from randomization to the date of death (failure) from any cause or last known follow-up (censored). Overall survival rates are estimated by the Kaplan-Meier method. The protocol specifies that the distributions of failure times be compared between the arms, which is reported in the statistical analysis results. One-year rates are provided. Analysis occurred after all eligible participants were potentially followed for 3 years.

Time frame: From randomization to last follow-up.Maximum follow-up for phase II participants at time of analysis was 4.2 years.

Population: Eligible participants on phase II arms

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
(Phase II) Pazopanib, Paclitaxel, IMRT(Phase II) Overall Survival37.1 percentage of participants
(Phase II) Placebo, Paclitaxel, IMRT(Phase II) Overall Survival29.0 percentage of participants
Comparison: Assuming hazard ratio (pazopanib/placebo) of 0.625 (1-year 19% vs. 35.4%), 1-sided alpha 0.15, logrank test, 80% power, 1 interim analysis, required 71 deaths in 79 eligible patients (88 allowing 10% ineligible) in original design. The protocol was amended for phase II final analysis to be performed after all phase II eligible participants were potentially followed for 3 years with 1-sided alpha 0.1379, providing 77% power. See Limitations and Caveatsp-value: 0.283195% CI: [0.52, 1.43]Log Rank
Primary

(Phase I) Number of Participants With Treatment-related Grade 4 Hemorrhage, Grade 4 Febrile Neutropenia, or Grade 5 Adverse Event (AE), or Discontinuation of Treatment Due to Toxicity [Adverse Events of Concern (AEC)]

Common Terminology Criteria for AEs (version 4.0) grades AE severity from 1=mild to 5=death. Discontinuation of treatment due to toxicity is defined as \< 75% of planned radiation therapy delivered. Treatment-related = definitely, probably, or possibly related to treatment. A single run-in arm was originally planned, but additional run-in arms were added due to amendments to the protocol regimen unrelated to toxicities. A two-stage design based on the binomial distribution was used in which the 1st stage analyzes the run-in arm and the 2nd stage analyzes run-in and phase II pazopanib arm participants combined. Because there were multiple run-in arms, only the last is used in the 2nd stage analysis. 1st stage: If ≤4 of 9 participants experience AEC, then conclude treatment is safe. 2nd stage: If ≤8 of 24 participants experience AEC, then conclude treatment safe. Otherwise conclude the treatment is too toxic. Summary data is provided here, see AE Module for specific AE data.

Time frame: From registration to last follow-up. Maximum follow-up for run-in and phase II participants at time of analysis was 7.4 years.

Population: First nine eligible participants in run-in each arm and first 15 eligible participants in phase II pazopanib arm.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
(Phase II) Pazopanib, Paclitaxel, IMRT(Phase I) Number of Participants With Treatment-related Grade 4 Hemorrhage, Grade 4 Febrile Neutropenia, or Grade 5 Adverse Event (AE), or Discontinuation of Treatment Due to Toxicity [Adverse Events of Concern (AEC)]0 Participants
(Phase II) Placebo, Paclitaxel, IMRT(Phase I) Number of Participants With Treatment-related Grade 4 Hemorrhage, Grade 4 Febrile Neutropenia, or Grade 5 Adverse Event (AE), or Discontinuation of Treatment Due to Toxicity [Adverse Events of Concern (AEC)]0 Participants
(Run-in 3) Pazopanib, Paclitaxel, IMRT(Phase I) Number of Participants With Treatment-related Grade 4 Hemorrhage, Grade 4 Febrile Neutropenia, or Grade 5 Adverse Event (AE), or Discontinuation of Treatment Due to Toxicity [Adverse Events of Concern (AEC)]2 Participants
(Phase II) Pazopanib, Paclitaxel, IMRT(Phase I) Number of Participants With Treatment-related Grade 4 Hemorrhage, Grade 4 Febrile Neutropenia, or Grade 5 Adverse Event (AE), or Discontinuation of Treatment Due to Toxicity [Adverse Events of Concern (AEC)]0 Participants
Secondary

(Phase II) Local-regional Control

Local-regional failure is defined as local-regional relapse/progression in the thyroid bed or regional lymph nodes. Time to local-regional failure is defined as time from randomization to the date of first local-regional recurrence, last known follow-up (censored), or death without local recurrence (competing risk). Failure rates are estimated using the cumulative incidence method. The protocol specifies 6- and 12-month estimates to be reported and for the full distributions of failure times to be compared between the arms. Analysis occurred after all eligible participants were potentially followed for 3 years.

Time frame: From randomization to last follow-up.Maximum follow-up for phase II participants at time of analysis was 4.2 years. (Statistical analysis compares full distributions therefore all available follow-up was used.)

Population: Eligible participants on phase II arms

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
(Phase II) Pazopanib, Paclitaxel, IMRT(Phase II) Local-regional Control6 months20.0 percentage of participants
(Phase II) Pazopanib, Paclitaxel, IMRT(Phase II) Local-regional Control1 year28.6 percentage of participants
(Phase II) Placebo, Paclitaxel, IMRT(Phase II) Local-regional Control1 year33.6 percentage of participants
(Phase II) Placebo, Paclitaxel, IMRT(Phase II) Local-regional Control6 months27.3 percentage of participants
p-value: 0.68895% CI: [0.55, 2.67]Log Rank
Secondary

(Phase II) Percentage of Participants With Complete or Partial Response of the Primary Site After Chemoradiation Per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) Version 1.1

Complete Response: Disappearance of all target lesions; Any pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) must have reduction in short axis to \<10 mm. Partial Response (PR): At least a 30% decrease in the sum of the diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum diameters.

Time frame: 2-4 weeks after treatment (approximately week 10-14)

Population: Eligible participants on phase II arms that with response evaluated

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
(Phase II) Pazopanib, Paclitaxel, IMRT(Phase II) Percentage of Participants With Complete or Partial Response of the Primary Site After Chemoradiation Per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) Version 1.130.4 percentage of participants
(Phase II) Placebo, Paclitaxel, IMRT(Phase II) Percentage of Participants With Complete or Partial Response of the Primary Site After Chemoradiation Per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) Version 1.133.3 percentage of participants
p-value: 1Fisher Exact
Secondary

(Phase II) Percentage of Participants With Treatment-related Grade 3 or 4 Adverse Events Other Than Grade 4 Hemorrhage or Grade 4 Febrile Neutropenia [Not Adverse Events of Concern]

Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE, v. 4.0) grades adverse event severity from 1=mild to 5=death. Adverse events rated as definitely, probably, or possibly related to treatment were considered treatment-related. Summary data is provided in this outcome measure.; See Adverse Events Module for specific adverse event data.

Time frame: From start of treatment to last follow-up.Maximum follow-up for phase II participants at time of analysis was 4.2 years.

Population: Eligible phase II participants who started study treatment

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
(Phase II) Pazopanib, Paclitaxel, IMRT(Phase II) Percentage of Participants With Treatment-related Grade 3 or 4 Adverse Events Other Than Grade 4 Hemorrhage or Grade 4 Febrile Neutropenia [Not Adverse Events of Concern]86.1 percentage of participants
(Phase II) Placebo, Paclitaxel, IMRT(Phase II) Percentage of Participants With Treatment-related Grade 3 or 4 Adverse Events Other Than Grade 4 Hemorrhage or Grade 4 Febrile Neutropenia [Not Adverse Events of Concern]85.3 percentage of participants
p-value: 1Fisher Exact
Secondary

(Phase II) Percentage of Participants With Treatment-related Grade 4 Hemorrhage, Grade 4 Febrile Neutropenia, or Grade 5 Adverse Event, or Discontinuation of Treatment Due to Toxicity [Adverse Events of Concern]

Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE, v. 4.0) grades adverse event severity from 1=mild to 5=death. Discontinuation of treatment due to toxicity is defined as \< 75% of planned radiation therapy delivered. Adverse events rated as definitely, probably, or possibly related to treatment were considered treatment-related. Summary data is provided in this outcome measure.; See Adverse Events Module for specific adverse event data.

Time frame: From start of treatment to last follow-up.Maximum follow-up for phase II participants at time of analysis was 4.2 years.

Population: Eligible phase II participants who started study treatment

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
(Phase II) Pazopanib, Paclitaxel, IMRT(Phase II) Percentage of Participants With Treatment-related Grade 4 Hemorrhage, Grade 4 Febrile Neutropenia, or Grade 5 Adverse Event, or Discontinuation of Treatment Due to Toxicity [Adverse Events of Concern]2.8 percentage of participants
(Phase II) Placebo, Paclitaxel, IMRT(Phase II) Percentage of Participants With Treatment-related Grade 4 Hemorrhage, Grade 4 Febrile Neutropenia, or Grade 5 Adverse Event, or Discontinuation of Treatment Due to Toxicity [Adverse Events of Concern]11.8 percentage of participants
p-value: 0.1921Fisher Exact

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 12, 2026