Skip to content

A Phase II/III Trial of Lopinavir/Ritonavir Dosed According to the WHO Pediatric Weight Band Dosing Guidelines

A Phase II/III Trial of Lopinavir/Ritonavir Dosed According to the WHO Pediatric Weight Band Dosing Guidelines

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT01172535
Enrollment
97
Registered
2010-07-29
Start date
2010-11-30
Completion date
2013-12-31
Last updated
2021-11-05

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

HIV

Keywords

Lopinavir/ritonavir, Pediatric dosing, World Health Organization

Brief summary

Treatment of children and infants with HIV requires modification of medication dosing according to a child's specific weight. For lopinavir/ritonavir (LPV/r), a second line treatment option that is increasingly necessary due to infant drug resistance, this dosing is often complicated and impractical in busy clinical settings. To address this, the World Health Organization (WHO) has released a simplified dosing table based on infant weight bands. This study will evaluate the absorption, safety, and tolerance of LPV/r in infants when dosed according to the new WHO guidelines.

Detailed description

Because of previous exposure to nevirapine or other non-nucleoside reverse transcriptase inhibitors (NNRTIs), either by direct treatment or through their mothers in pregnancy, infants must often receive an alternate antiretroviral regimen that includes LPV/r. Dosing of LPV/r is currently based on a child's specific weight, and calculations of proper dosages are often too complicated to be practical in busy clinics, particularly those in limited resource settings. In order to simplify medication delivery and reduce prescribing errors, the WHO has released a dosing schedule for LPV/r based on groupings of infants and children by weight. This study will evaluate the pharmacokinetics, safety, and tolerance of LPV/r dosed according to these guidelines. The following strata were used to guide accrual: Number of Participants to be Enrolled by Weight Band: 3-4.9 kg: 11 liquid 5-6.9 kg: 11 liquid 7-9.9 kg: 17 liquid 10-16.9 kg: 11 liquid, 22 tablet 17-19.9 kg: 11 tablet 20-24.9 kg: 11 tablet Participation in this study will last 6 months. Infant participants and their caretakers will need to attend study visits at entry and Weeks 2, 4, 12, and 24. At entry, participants will be given LPV/r either in liquid or tablet form, depending on whether they can swallow pills. Dosing will be calculated using the WHO schedule. At all study visits, participants will undergo a physical exam and caretakers will be asked about how well the child is taking the study medications. In addition, at Weeks 4, 12, and 24, blood samples will be taken from the participant to determine health and levels of the medication in the body. The visit on Week 4 will also require pharmacokinetic testing, which means the child will need to be monitored at the hospital for 12 hours and complete six additional blood drawls. All other study visits will last 1 to 2 hours.

Interventions

DRUGLopinavir/ritonavir

Heat-stable tablets of 100 mg lopinavir, 25 mg ritonavir, or liquid formulation of 80 mg lopinavir, 20 mg ritonavir, dosed according to World Health Organization (WHO) pediatric weight band dosing guidelines

Sponsors

National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID)
Lead SponsorNIH

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
4 Weeks to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Weight equal to or greater than 3 kg, but less than 25 kg, at the time of enrollment * Confirmed diagnosis of HIV-1 infection * Lopinavir/ritonavir (LPV/r)-treatment naïve and LPV/r-treatment eligible as defined by country-specific guidelines or the WHO pediatric treatment guidelines and confirmed by investigator * Willingness to take two nucleoside reverse transcriptase inhibitos (NRTIs), in accordance with appropriate national or international treatment guidelines * Demonstrated ability and willingness to swallow tablets for children larger than 10 kg. This can be assessed before inclusion (for example, a test trial with similar size solid tablet such as tic-tac). * Participants in the weight band between 10 and 16.9 kg that are unable to swallow tablets will receive liquid formulation * Parent or legal guardian able and willing to provide written informed consent

Exclusion criteria

* Planned concurrent use of non-nucleoside reverse transcriptase inhibitors (NNRTIs), integrase inhibitors, or an entry inhibitor * Planned concurrent protease inhibitor (PI) use, other than LPV/r * Prior treatment with LPV/r. Prior treatment with other PIs is allowed. * Results of certain laboratory tests indicating adverse events of Grade 3 or greater * Results of a lipase test indicating adverse event of Grade 2 or greater or clinical evidence of pancreatitis within 30 days prior to study entry * Tuberculosis co-treatment with rifampicin-containing regimen * Treatment with any enzyme-inducing antiepileptic drugs, such as henobarbital, phenytoin or carbamazepine * Clinical condition requiring the use of a prohibited medication (see protocol for more details) * Clinically unstable child requiring acute treatment for a serious opportunistic infection * Chemotherapy for active malignancy * Any clinically significant diseases (other than HIV-1 infection) or clinically significant findings during the screening medical history or physical examination that, in the investigator's opinion, would compromise participation in this study * Treatment with experimental drugs for any indication within 30 days prior to study entry * Known history of cardiac conduction abnormality and/or underlying structural heart disease, including congenital long QT

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Proportion of Participants Tolerating LPV/rMeasured at study completion (week 24)Participants were considered to have tolerated medication if they did not stop treatment before the 24 week PK visit for any reason other than completing treatment or death not related to treatment.
Clearance of Lopinavir/Ritonavir (CL/F)Measured at 4 weeks of treatment prior to the observed dose and at 2, 4, 6, 8, and 12 hours post-doseClearance of lopinavir/ritonavir, as determined by analysis of 12-hour pharmacokinetic sampling
Proportion of Participants With an AUC of Less Than 10% of AdultsMeasured at 4 weeks of treatment prior to the observed dose and at 2, 4, 6, 8, and 12 hours post-doseProportion of participants with an AUC less that 10% of adults (AUC0-24 \<104 mcg\*hr/mL)
Number of Participants Experiencing Adverse Events of Grade 3 or 4Measured at study visits through end of study (weeks 2, 4, 12, 24)Adverse events were graded by the Division of AIDS Table for Grading the Severity of Adult and Pediatric Adverse Events, Version 1.0, dated December, 2004, Clarification August 2009, which is available on the RSC web site (http://rsc.tech-res.com/safetyandpharmacovigilance/). Grade 1 = mild, Grade 2 = moderate, Grade 3 = severe, Grade 4 = potentially life-threatening, Grade 5 = death
Lopinovir/Ritonavir Area Under the Concentration-time Curve (AUC0-24)Measured at 4 weeks of treatment prior to the observed dose and at 2, 4, 6, 8, and 12 hours post-doseArea under the curve over 24 hours (AUC0-24), as determined by a non-compartmental analysis of 12-hour pharmacokinetic sampling for lopinavir/ritonavir
Maximum Concentration of Lopinavir/Ritonavir (Cmax)Measured at 4 weeks of treatment prior to the observed dose and at 2, 4, 6, 8, and 12 hours post-doseMaximum concentration of lopinavir/ritonavir, as determined by analysis of 12-hour pharmacokinetic sampling
Minimum Concentration of Lopinavir/Ritonavir (Cmin)Measured at 4 weeks of treatment prior to the observed dose and at 2, 4, 6, 8, and 12 hours post-doseMinimum concentration of lopinavir/ritonavir, as determined by analysis of 12-hour pharmacokinetic sampling

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Treatment Efficacy (HIV Viral Load)Measured at entry and study completion (week 24)Having HIV viral load \<400 copies/mL at the week 24 visit
Treatment Efficacy (CD4%)Measured at entry and study completion (week 24)Having CD4%≥25 at the week 24 visit.
AdherenceMeasured at week 4, week 12, and study completion (week 24)Adherence, defined as proportion of doses taken (note: proportion could be greater than 1.0 for reasons such as tablets having to be taken twice due to first one being spit out or imprecise measurement of liquid doses)

Countries

Brazil, South Africa, Thailand, United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

There were 97 participants enrolled from 19 clinical sites in four countries. There were 57 participants on the liquid formulation and 40 on tablet. Accrual took place from May 20, 2011 through June 19, 2013.

Pre-assignment details

HIV-infected infants and children ≥3 to \<25 kg had to be LPV/r-treatment naïve. Children ≥10 kg had to demonstrate ability and willingness to swallow tablets. Participants were stratified by weight and drug formulation (liquid vs. tablet).

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Lopinavir/Ritonavir
Participants receiving lopinavir/ritonavirr, dosed according to World Health Organization (WHO) pediatric weight band dosing guidelines, in addition to two nucleoside reverse transcriptase inhibitors (NRTIs) chosen by their doctors.
97
Total97

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000
Overall StudyDeath3
Overall StudyIneligible at study entry1
Overall StudyLost to Follow-up1
Overall StudyUnwilling to adhere to study requirement1
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject2

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicLopinavir/Ritonavir
Age, Continuous2.5 years
CD4% at study entry24.2 percentage of total lymphocytes
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
31 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
42 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
24 Participants
HIV RNA (copies/mL) at study entry5.2 log copies/mL
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
37 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
39 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
14 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
7 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Brazil
32 participants
Region of Enrollment
South Africa
23 participants
Region of Enrollment
Thailand
37 participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
5 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
54 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
43 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
— / —
other
Total, other adverse events
96 / 97
serious
Total, serious adverse events
20 / 97

Outcome results

Primary

Clearance of Lopinavir/Ritonavir (CL/F)

Clearance of lopinavir/ritonavir, as determined by analysis of 12-hour pharmacokinetic sampling

Time frame: Measured at 4 weeks of treatment prior to the observed dose and at 2, 4, 6, 8, and 12 hours post-dose

Population: Participants having complete pharmacokinetics data at week 4

ArmMeasureValue (GEOMETRIC_MEAN)
Lopinavir/RitonavirClearance of Lopinavir/Ritonavir (CL/F)0.15 L/h/kg
Primary

Lopinovir/Ritonavir Area Under the Concentration-time Curve (AUC0-24)

Area under the curve over 24 hours (AUC0-24), as determined by a non-compartmental analysis of 12-hour pharmacokinetic sampling for lopinavir/ritonavir

Time frame: Measured at 4 weeks of treatment prior to the observed dose and at 2, 4, 6, 8, and 12 hours post-dose

Population: Participants having complete pharmacokinetics data at week 4

ArmMeasureValue (GEOMETRIC_MEAN)
Lopinavir/RitonavirLopinovir/Ritonavir Area Under the Concentration-time Curve (AUC0-24)196 mcg*hr/mL
Primary

Maximum Concentration of Lopinavir/Ritonavir (Cmax)

Maximum concentration of lopinavir/ritonavir, as determined by analysis of 12-hour pharmacokinetic sampling

Time frame: Measured at 4 weeks of treatment prior to the observed dose and at 2, 4, 6, 8, and 12 hours post-dose

Population: Participants having complete pharmacokinetics data at week 4

ArmMeasureValue (GEOMETRIC_MEAN)
Lopinavir/RitonavirMaximum Concentration of Lopinavir/Ritonavir (Cmax)11.25 mcg/mL
Primary

Minimum Concentration of Lopinavir/Ritonavir (Cmin)

Minimum concentration of lopinavir/ritonavir, as determined by analysis of 12-hour pharmacokinetic sampling

Time frame: Measured at 4 weeks of treatment prior to the observed dose and at 2, 4, 6, 8, and 12 hours post-dose

Population: Participants having complete pharmacokinetics data at week 4

ArmMeasureValue (GEOMETRIC_MEAN)
Lopinavir/RitonavirMinimum Concentration of Lopinavir/Ritonavir (Cmin)2.47 mcg/mL
Primary

Number of Participants Experiencing Adverse Events of Grade 3 or 4

Adverse events were graded by the Division of AIDS Table for Grading the Severity of Adult and Pediatric Adverse Events, Version 1.0, dated December, 2004, Clarification August 2009, which is available on the RSC web site (http://rsc.tech-res.com/safetyandpharmacovigilance/). Grade 1 = mild, Grade 2 = moderate, Grade 3 = severe, Grade 4 = potentially life-threatening, Grade 5 = death

Time frame: Measured at study visits through end of study (weeks 2, 4, 12, 24)

Population: All participants

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Lopinavir/RitonavirNumber of Participants Experiencing Adverse Events of Grade 3 or 432 participants
Primary

Proportion of Participants Tolerating LPV/r

Participants were considered to have tolerated medication if they did not stop treatment before the 24 week PK visit for any reason other than completing treatment or death not related to treatment.

Time frame: Measured at study completion (week 24)

Population: All participants

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Lopinavir/RitonavirProportion of Participants Tolerating LPV/r0.93 proportion of participants
Primary

Proportion of Participants With an AUC of Less Than 10% of Adults

Proportion of participants with an AUC less that 10% of adults (AUC0-24 \<104 mcg\*hr/mL)

Time frame: Measured at 4 weeks of treatment prior to the observed dose and at 2, 4, 6, 8, and 12 hours post-dose

Population: Participants with complete pharmacokinetics data at week 4

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Lopinavir/RitonavirProportion of Participants With an AUC of Less Than 10% of Adults0.15 proportion of participants
Secondary

Adherence

Adherence, defined as proportion of doses taken (note: proportion could be greater than 1.0 for reasons such as tablets having to be taken twice due to first one being spit out or imprecise measurement of liquid doses)

Time frame: Measured at week 4, week 12, and study completion (week 24)

Population: Participants bringing medication to be measured at the study visit

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Lopinavir/RitonavirAdherence1.00 Proportion of expected doses taken
Week 12Adherence0.99 Proportion of expected doses taken
Week 24Adherence1.00 Proportion of expected doses taken
Secondary

Treatment Efficacy (CD4%)

Having CD4%≥25 at the week 24 visit.

Time frame: Measured at entry and study completion (week 24)

Population: Participants with data from both study entry and the week 24 study visit

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Lopinavir/RitonavirTreatment Efficacy (CD4%)0.71 proportion of participants
Secondary

Treatment Efficacy (HIV Viral Load)

Having HIV viral load \<400 copies/mL at the week 24 visit

Time frame: Measured at entry and study completion (week 24)

Population: Participants with data from both study entry and the week 24 study visit

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Lopinavir/RitonavirTreatment Efficacy (HIV Viral Load)0.72 proportion of participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026