Skip to content

Everolimus, Bortezomib and/or Rituximab in Patients With Relapsed/Refractory Waldenstrom's Macroglobulinemia

Phase I/II Study of Combination Everolimus (RAD001), and Rituximab (Rituxan), OR Everolimus, Bortezomib (Velcade, PS-341), and Rituximab in Patients With Relapsed and/or Relapsed/Refractory Waldenstrom's Macroglobulinemia

Status
Terminated
Phases
Phase 1Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT01125293
Enrollment
46
Registered
2010-05-18
Start date
2010-04-30
Completion date
2014-08-31
Last updated
2021-04-23

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Waldenstrom's Macroglobulinemia

Keywords

everolimus, rituximab, bortezomib, RAD001, Rituxan, Velcade

Brief summary

The purpose of this research study is to test the safety of the combination of everolimus, rituximab and bortezomib. Everolimus is a drug that works by preventing cells in your body from growing and dividing. Information from basic and other clinical research suggests that everolimus may also inhibit tumor growth in people with relapsed or refractory lymphoma. The FDA has approved everolimus for the treatment of multiple myeloma, a cancer that is closely related to Waldenstrom's Macroglobulinemia. Rituximab is approved by the FDA for the treatment of non-Hodgkin's lymphoma, which included Waldenstrom's Macroglobulinemia. Funding Source - FDA OOPD

Detailed description

Study Design This is a phase I/II study. The phase I portion of the study will determine the maximum tolerated dose of everolimus, rituximab, and bortezomib combination, while the phase II portion will evaluate the depth of responses to the everolimus, rituximab, and bortezomib combination. If patients show response, they will continue on therapy for a total of 6 cycles, and then go on maintenance therapy with everolimus alone until progression. Patients on maintenance will be monitored every 3 months for response. Because of the potential of an IgM flare after rituximab, patients who show an increase in IgM after rituximab in the first 3 months will not be deemed as having progressive disease unless they show evidence of clinical progression and not just an increase of IgM levels. If biochemical progression is confirmed by m-spike, but the participant is clinically benefitting from therapy, the participant may continue on treatment for a few additional points of assessment and re-discuss benefit of therapy. Additionally, if the participant progressed because the treatment was held, participant may remain on study at the discretion of the overall Principal Investigator. Relapse from CR is defined by the reappearance of monoclonal IgM protein and/or recurrence of bone marrow involvement, lymphadenopathy/splenomegaly or symptoms attributable to active disease (Owen et al., 2012). Progression from PR is defined by ≥ 25% increase in IgM level from lowest recorded value and confirmed by a repeat assessment. The development of new signs and symptoms of disease, including Bing Neel syndrome and histological transformation, is also considered as evidence of disease progression. An absolute increase of at least 5 g/l is required to define progression when the IgM level is the only applicable criterion (Owen et al., 2012).

Interventions

DRUGEverolimus
DRUGRituximab
DRUGBortezomib

Sponsors

Novartis
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
Millennium Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
NON_RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* 18 years of age or older * Patients must have received prior therapies for their WM and have relapsed or refractory WM requiring therapy. Any number of prior therapies is acceptable. Patients must not have been refractory to rituximab. The last rituximab must be at least 3 months prior to the start of treatment. Prior treatment with bortezomib and/or everolimus is permitted. * Measurable monoclonal IgM protein in the serum OR measurable quantitative immunoglobulin M (serum IgM). * Lymphoplasmacytic cells in the bone marrow during any previous bone marrow biopsy. * CD20 positive disease based on any previous bone marrow immuno-histochemistry or flow cytometric analysis performed prior to enrollment. * ECOG Performance Status 0, 1 or 2 * Laboratory values as outlined in the protocol * Capable of swallowing intact study medication tablets * Life expectancy of 12 weeks or greater

Exclusion criteria

* Uncontrolled infection * Other active malignancies * Cytotoxic chemotherapy 3 weeks or less, or biologic or targeted novel therapy 2 weeks or less, or corticosteroids 2 weeks or less, or radiation therapy 2 weeks or less, or any ancillary treatment considered investigation 2 weeks or less, prior to registration. Patients may be receiving chronic corticosteroids if they are being given for disorders other than WM. * Pregnant women, nursing women, men or women of childbearing potential who are unwilling to employ adequate contraception throughout the trial and for 8 weeks after the last dose of study treatment. * Known to be HIV positive, or Hepatitis B positive. If the status of HIV is not known and patients are not at risk, then patients will not be specifically tested for HIV. Patients will be tested for Hepatitis B at time of screening. If patients are not considered high risk and have been vaccinated at an earlier date, results of the test are not required at the time of registration. For patients that are high risk, results must be obtained prior to registration. * Patient has Grade 2 or higher peripheral neuropathy within 14 days of enrollment * Diagnosed or treated for another malignancy within 3 years of enrollment, with the exception of complete resection fo basal cell carcinoma or squamous cell carcinoma of the skin, an in situ malignancy, or low-risk prostate cancer after curative therapy. * Severely impaired lung function * Uncontrolled diabetes * Liver disease such as cirrhosis, chronic active hepatitis or chronic persistent hepatitis * Impairment of gastrointestinal function or gastrointestinal disease * Patients with active, bleeding diathesis * Myocardial infarction within 6 months prior to enrollment or had NYHA Class III or IV heart failure, uncontrolled angina, severe uncontrolled ventricular arrhythmias, or electrocardiographic evidence of acute ischemia or active conduction system abnormalities. * Hypersensitivity to everolimus or other rapamycins or to is excipients * Patients who may need or are receiving live vaccines for immunization * Serious medical or psychiatric illness likely to interfere with participation in this clinical study

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Everolimus Maximum Tolerated Dose (MTD) Stage A [Phase I]Assessed within the first cycle (28 days) of the study.The MTD of Everolimus/Rituximab combination is determined by the number of patients who have dose limiting toxicity (DLT). See DLT primary outcome measure for definition. MTD is defined as the highest dose where \<1/3 participants experience a DLT. If no DLT's are observed on Level 1, 3 subjects will be enrolled in the Level 2. If \>1/3 subjects in a cohort have DLT, that dose will not be considered safe, with no escalation (MTD exceeded). If 1/3 subjects experience DLT, the cohort will be expanded to 6 subjects. If \<2 subjects with a DLT among the expanded cohort of 6 evaluable subjects a cohort of 3 subjects will be enrolled in the next higher dose level. If 2 or more subjects with a DLT among the expanded cohort of 6 subjects, that dose level will not be considered safe, no escalation (MTD exceeded). If no DLT's are observed, then the MTD is not reached. The MTD was not reached with 0/3 participants experiencing a DLT in the highest dose level. Higher doses were not planned/tested.
Everolimus Maximum Tolerated Dose (MTD) Stage B [Phase I]Assessed within the first cycle (28 days) of the study.The MTD of Everolimus/Bortezomib/Rituximab combination is determined by the number of patients who have dose limiting toxicity (DLT). See DLT primary outcome measure for definition. MTD is defined as the highest dose where \<1/3 participants experience a DLT. If no DLT's are observed on Level 1, 3 subjects will be enrolled in the Level 2. If \>1/3 subjects in a cohort have DLT, that dose will not be considered safe, with no escalation (MTD exceeded). If 1/3 subjects experience DLT, the cohort will be expanded to 6 subjects. If \<2 subjects with a DLT among the expanded cohort of 6 evaluable subjects a cohort of 3 subjects will be enrolled in the next higher dose level. If 2 or more subjects with a DLT among the expanded cohort of 6 subjects, that dose level will not be considered safe, no escalation (MTD exceeded).If no DLT's observed, then the MTD is not reached. The MTD was not reached with 0/3 participants experiencing a DLT in the highest level. Higher doses were not planned/tested.
Everolimus Dose Limiting Toxicity (DLT) [Phase I]Assessed within the first cycle (28 days) of the study.The following qualify as dose limiting toxicities: * Grade 3 or greater non-hematologic toxicity, considered by the investigator to be related to study drugs. * Grade 4 hematologic toxicity defined as: thrombocytopenia with platelets \<10,000 µ/L on more than one occasion despite transfusion support; grade 4 neutropenia occurring for more than 7 days and/or resulting in neutropenic fever with elevated temperature (defined as \> 101 degrees F). Lymphopenia, a recognized side effect of bortezomib, is not considered a DLT. * Inability to receive Day 1 dose for Cycle 2 due to toxicity
Very-good-partial-response-or-better Rate [Phase II]Up to 6 cycles (Day 168)Very-good-partial-response-or-better rate is the percentage of participants with complete response (CR) or very good partial response (VGPR) on to the combination of everolimus/bortezomib/rituximab. The combination regimen was received for up to 6 cycles. CR: * Absence of serum monoclonal IgM protein by immunofixation * Normal serum IgM level * Complete resolution of extramedullary disease, i.e., lymphadenopathy and splenomegaly if present at baseline * Morphologically normal bone marrow aspirate and trephine biopsy VGPR: * Monoclonal IgM protein is detectable ≥90% reduction in serum IgM level from baseline\* * Complete resolution of extramedullary disease, i.e.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Treatment-Emergent Sensory Neuropathy Rate [Phase I]Adverse events were assessed each cycle (ever 28 days) for 6 cycles then every 3 months on maintenance. Duration of therapy for the Phase I study up to 41 months.Percentage of participants experiencing Grade 1 - Grade 3 treatment-emergent peripheral (sensory) neuropathy events based on CTCAEv3 as reported on case report forms for phase I participants.
Phase II Overall Response RateUp to 6 cycles (Day 168)Overall response rate is percentage of participants with complete (CR), very good partial (VGPR), partial (PR), or minimal response (MR) as best response during treatment. CR: * No serum monoclonal IgM protein by immunofixation * Normal IgM level * Complete resolution of extramedullary disease, i.e., lymphadenopathy and splenomegaly if present at baseline * Morphologically normal bone marrow aspirate and trephine biopsy VGPR: * Monoclonal IgM protein is detectable ≥90% reduction in IgM level from baseline * Complete resolution of extramedullary disease, i.e., lymphadenopathy/splenomegaly if present at baseline * No new signs/symptoms of active disease PR: * Monoclonal IgM protein is detectable ≥50% but \<90% reduction in IgM level from baseline * Reduction in extramedullary disease * No new signs/symptoms of active disease MR: * Monoclonal IgM protein is detectable ≥25% but \<50% reduction in IgM level from baseline * No new signs/symptoms of active disease
2-year Time-to-progression Probability (TTP) [Phase II]Patients were assessed for disease every cycle while on treatment (168 days) and every three months while on maintenance therapy. In long-term follow-up, disease was monitored every 3 months. Study cohort median (range) follow-up was 15 (1 - 23) months.2-year TTP probability is based on Kaplan-Meier methods. TTP is defined as time from enrollment to the date of progressive disease (PD). PD is defined as ≥25% increase in serum IgM level from lowest nadir and/or progression in clinical features attributable the disease. Patients without PD and not reporting use of non-protocol therapy prior to PD are censored at date of last objective progression-free disease assessment. Patients reporting use of non-protocol therapy prior to PD are censored at date of last objective progression-free disease assessment date prior to post-discontinuation therapy.
2 Year Progression-free-survival [Phase II]Patients were assessed for disease every cycle while on treatment (168 days) and every three months while on maintenance therapy. In long-term follow-up, disease was monitored every 3 months. Study cohort median (range) follow-up was 15 (1 - 23) months.2-year progression free survival (PFS) is the probability of participants alive and progression free at 2 years from study entry estimated using Kaplan-Meier methods. PFS is defined as the time from enrollment to progressive disease (PD) or death. PD is defined as ≥25% increase in serum IgM level from lowest nadir and/or progression in clinical features attributable the disease. Patients alive without PD and not reporting use of non-protocol therapy prior to PD are censored at date of last objective progression-free disease assessment. Patients reporting use of non-protocol therapy prior to PD are censored at date of last objective progression-free disease assessment date prior to post-discontinuation therapy.
Phase II Duration of Response (DoR)Patients were assessed for disease every cycle while on treatment (168 days) and every three months while on maintenance therapy. In long-term follow-up, disease was monitored every 3 months. Study cohort median (range) follow-up was 15 (1 - 23) months.The DoR is defined as the elapsed time from date when the measurement criteria are first met for a complete or partial response (whichever status is recorded first) until the date of first observation of objective disease progression. Analysis of DoR will be as follows: * For responding patients who die without objective PD (including death from study disease), DoR will be censored at the date of the last objective progression-free disease assessment. * For responding patients not known to have died as of the data cut-off date and who do not have objective PD, DoR will be censored at the date of the last objective progression-free disease assessment. * For responding patients who receive subsequent systemic anticancer therapy (after discontinuation from the study chemotherapy) prior to objectively determined disease progression, DoR will be censored at the date of the last objective progression-free disease assessment prior to post discontinuation therapy.
PTEN Mutation Rate [Phase II]Samples were collected pre-therapy before the beginning therapy (baseline) and post-therapy after finishing the 6th treatment cycle (168 days).The PTEN mutation rate is the percentage of patients with PTEN mutation identified in pre-therapy and post-therapy bone marrow samples per established methods.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

Participants were enrolled from April 2010 to July 2013.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Phase I Stage A Level 1
Combination of everolimus & rituximab for 6 cycles Everolimus 5 mg: Taken orally on a daily basis x 28 days (1 cycle) Rituximab 375 mg/Kg: Given intravenously on days 1, 8, 15 and 22 of Cycle 1 and Cycle 4 only (1 cycle = 28 days)
3
Phase I Stage A Level 2
Combination of everolimus & rituximab for 6 cycles Everolimus 10 mg: Taken orally on a daily basis x 28 days (1 cycle) Rituximab 375 mg/Kg: Given intravenously on days 1, 8, 15 and 22 of Cycle 1 and Cycle 4 only (1 cycle = 28 days)
3
Phase I Stage B Level 1
Combination of everolimus & rituximab with bortezomib for 6 cycles Everolimus 5 mg: Taken orally on a daily basis x 28 days (1 cycle) Rituximab 375 mg/Kg: Given intravenously on days 1, 8, 15 and 22 of Cycle 1 and Cycle 4 only (1 cycle = 28 days) Bortezomib 1.6 mg/m\^2: Given intravenously on days 1, 8 and 15 of every cycle (1 cycle = 28 days)
4
Phase I Stage B Level 2
Combination of everolimus & rituximab with bortezomib for 6 cycles Everolimus 10 mg: Taken orally on a daily basis x 28 days (1 cycle) Rituximab 375 mg/Kg: Given intravenously on days 1, 8, 15 and 22 of Cycle 1 and Cycle 4 only (1 cycle = 28 days) Bortezomib 1.6 mg/m\^2: Given intravenously on days 1, 8 and 15 of every cycle (1 cycle = 28 days)
3
Phase I Dose Expansion
Combination of everolimus & rituximab with bortezomib for 6 cycles Everolimus 10 mg: Taken orally on a daily basis x 28 days (1 cycle) Rituximab 375 mg/Kg: Given intravenously on days 1, 8, 15 and 22 of Cycle 1 and Cycle 4 only (1 cycle = 28 days) Bortezomib 1.6 mg/m\^2: Given intravenously on days 1, 8 and 15 of every cycle (1 cycle = 28 days)
10
Phase II
Combination of everolimus & rituximab with bortezomib for 6 cycles Everolimus 10 mg: Taken orally on a daily basis x 28 days (1 cycle) Rituximab 375 mg/Kg: Given intravenously on days 1, 8, 15 and 22 of Cycle 1 and Cycle 4 only (1 cycle = 28 days) Bortezomib 1.6 mg/m\^2: Given intravenously on days 1, 8 and 15 of every cycle (1 cycle = 28 days)
23
Total46

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001FG002FG003FG004FG005
Overall StudyAdverse Event100028
Overall StudyDeath000010
Overall StudyDisease Progression1343512
Overall StudyPhysician Decision000002
Overall StudySymptomatic Deterioration100000
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject000021

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicPhase I Stage A Level 1Phase I Stage A Level 2Phase I Stage B Level 1Phase I Stage B Level 2Phase I Dose ExpansionPhase IITotal
Age, Customized
>50 and <=60 years
1 Participants1 Participants2 Participants1 Participants4 Participants2 Participants11 Participants
Age, Customized
<=50 years
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants0 Participants3 Participants4 Participants
Age, Customized
>60 and <=70 years
2 Participants1 Participants2 Participants1 Participants5 Participants12 Participants23 Participants
Age, Customized
70+ years
0 Participants1 Participants0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants6 Participants8 Participants
Disease Status
Refractory
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants2 Participants2 Participants
Disease Status
Relapsed
0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants2 Participants6 Participants6 Participants15 Participants
Disease Status
Relapsed and Refractory
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants3 Participants3 Participants
ECOG Performance Status
00 - Fully Active
3 Participants3 Participants4 Participants3 Participants8 Participants13 Participants34 Participants
ECOG Performance Status
01 - Restricted
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants2 Participants7 Participants9 Participants
ECOG Performance Status
02 - Ambulatory and Capable of Self Care
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants3 Participants3 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
3 Participants3 Participants4 Participants3 Participants10 Participants22 Participants45 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
International Prognostic Scoring System for Waldenstrom Macroglobulinemia
High
1 Participants1 Participants1 Participants0 Participants0 Participants4 Participants7 Participants
International Prognostic Scoring System for Waldenstrom Macroglobulinemia
Intermediate
0 Participants1 Participants2 Participants1 Participants4 Participants13 Participants21 Participants
International Prognostic Scoring System for Waldenstrom Macroglobulinemia
Low
2 Participants1 Participants1 Participants2 Participants6 Participants6 Participants18 Participants
Number of Prior Therapies (Continuous)5 number of therapies3 number of therapies2 number of therapies1 number of therapies2 number of therapies2 number of therapies2 number of therapies
Prior Bortezomib Treatment
No
0 Participants2 Participants2 Participants1 Participants5 Participants10 Participants20 Participants
Prior Bortezomib Treatment
Yes
3 Participants1 Participants2 Participants2 Participants5 Participants13 Participants26 Participants
Prior Rituximab/Bortezomib Combination Treatment
No
0 Participants2 Participants2 Participants1 Participants5 Participants11 Participants21 Participants
Prior Rituximab/Bortezomib Combination Treatment
Yes
3 Participants1 Participants2 Participants2 Participants5 Participants12 Participants25 Participants
Prior Rituximab Treatment
No
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Prior Rituximab Treatment
Yes
3 Participants3 Participants4 Participants3 Participants10 Participants22 Participants45 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
1 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
2 Participants3 Participants4 Participants3 Participants10 Participants22 Participants44 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
0 Participants2 Participants2 Participants2 Participants3 Participants11 Participants20 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
3 Participants1 Participants2 Participants1 Participants7 Participants12 Participants26 Participants
Study Site
Colorado Blood Cancer Institute
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Study Site
Dana Farber Cancer Institute
3 Participants3 Participants4 Participants3 Participants10 Participants21 Participants44 Participants
Study Site
Morale, Welfare, and Recreation
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Time from Initial Diagnosis to Study Entry (Months)142.2 month83.9 month61.8 month38.2 month48.2 month64.5 month63.1 month

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
EG003
affected / at risk
EG004
affected / at risk
EG005
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 30 / 30 / 40 / 31 / 100 / 23
other
Total, other adverse events
3 / 33 / 34 / 43 / 310 / 1023 / 23
serious
Total, serious adverse events
1 / 33 / 33 / 43 / 38 / 1011 / 23

Outcome results

Primary

Everolimus Dose Limiting Toxicity (DLT) [Phase I]

The following qualify as dose limiting toxicities: * Grade 3 or greater non-hematologic toxicity, considered by the investigator to be related to study drugs. * Grade 4 hematologic toxicity defined as: thrombocytopenia with platelets \<10,000 µ/L on more than one occasion despite transfusion support; grade 4 neutropenia occurring for more than 7 days and/or resulting in neutropenic fever with elevated temperature (defined as \> 101 degrees F). Lymphopenia, a recognized side effect of bortezomib, is not considered a DLT. * Inability to receive Day 1 dose for Cycle 2 due to toxicity

Time frame: Assessed within the first cycle (28 days) of the study.

Population: In Phase I Stage B Level 1, one participant was replaced as an exception granted to the principal investigator having experienced a dose delay due to an adverse event not deemed a DLT.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Phase I Stage A Level 1 and 2Everolimus Dose Limiting Toxicity (DLT) [Phase I]0 participants
Phase I Stage A Level 2Everolimus Dose Limiting Toxicity (DLT) [Phase I]0 participants
Phase I Stage B Level 1Everolimus Dose Limiting Toxicity (DLT) [Phase I]0 participants
Phase I Stage B Level 2Everolimus Dose Limiting Toxicity (DLT) [Phase I]0 participants
Primary

Everolimus Maximum Tolerated Dose (MTD) Stage A [Phase I]

The MTD of Everolimus/Rituximab combination is determined by the number of patients who have dose limiting toxicity (DLT). See DLT primary outcome measure for definition. MTD is defined as the highest dose where \<1/3 participants experience a DLT. If no DLT's are observed on Level 1, 3 subjects will be enrolled in the Level 2. If \>1/3 subjects in a cohort have DLT, that dose will not be considered safe, with no escalation (MTD exceeded). If 1/3 subjects experience DLT, the cohort will be expanded to 6 subjects. If \<2 subjects with a DLT among the expanded cohort of 6 evaluable subjects a cohort of 3 subjects will be enrolled in the next higher dose level. If 2 or more subjects with a DLT among the expanded cohort of 6 subjects, that dose level will not be considered safe, no escalation (MTD exceeded). If no DLT's are observed, then the MTD is not reached. The MTD was not reached with 0/3 participants experiencing a DLT in the highest dose level. Higher doses were not planned/tested.

Time frame: Assessed within the first cycle (28 days) of the study.

Population: The analysis dataset includes all participants enrolled to Stage A.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Phase I Stage A Level 1 and 2Everolimus Maximum Tolerated Dose (MTD) Stage A [Phase I]10 mg
Primary

Everolimus Maximum Tolerated Dose (MTD) Stage B [Phase I]

The MTD of Everolimus/Bortezomib/Rituximab combination is determined by the number of patients who have dose limiting toxicity (DLT). See DLT primary outcome measure for definition. MTD is defined as the highest dose where \<1/3 participants experience a DLT. If no DLT's are observed on Level 1, 3 subjects will be enrolled in the Level 2. If \>1/3 subjects in a cohort have DLT, that dose will not be considered safe, with no escalation (MTD exceeded). If 1/3 subjects experience DLT, the cohort will be expanded to 6 subjects. If \<2 subjects with a DLT among the expanded cohort of 6 evaluable subjects a cohort of 3 subjects will be enrolled in the next higher dose level. If 2 or more subjects with a DLT among the expanded cohort of 6 subjects, that dose level will not be considered safe, no escalation (MTD exceeded).If no DLT's observed, then the MTD is not reached. The MTD was not reached with 0/3 participants experiencing a DLT in the highest level. Higher doses were not planned/tested.

Time frame: Assessed within the first cycle (28 days) of the study.

Population: In Phase I Stage B Level 1, one participant was replaced as an exception granted to the principal investigator having experienced a dose delay due to an adverse event not deemed a DLT.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Phase I Stage A Level 1 and 2Everolimus Maximum Tolerated Dose (MTD) Stage B [Phase I]10 mg
Primary

Very-good-partial-response-or-better Rate [Phase II]

Very-good-partial-response-or-better rate is the percentage of participants with complete response (CR) or very good partial response (VGPR) on to the combination of everolimus/bortezomib/rituximab. The combination regimen was received for up to 6 cycles. CR: * Absence of serum monoclonal IgM protein by immunofixation * Normal serum IgM level * Complete resolution of extramedullary disease, i.e., lymphadenopathy and splenomegaly if present at baseline * Morphologically normal bone marrow aspirate and trephine biopsy VGPR: * Monoclonal IgM protein is detectable ≥90% reduction in serum IgM level from baseline\* * Complete resolution of extramedullary disease, i.e.

Time frame: Up to 6 cycles (Day 168)

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Phase I Stage A Level 1 and 2Very-good-partial-response-or-better Rate [Phase II]4.3 percentage of participants
Comparison: In a two-stage Simon design, a VGPR or better rate of at least 18% is considered promising versus a 5% or less rate. In stage 1, if 1 or fewer of 23 evaluable participants achieve VGPR, the regimen is considered non-promising else continue with 24 more patients enrolled. If \</=4 of 47 evaluable patients have VGPR or better, the regimen is considered non-promising. If \>/=5, then the regimen is considered promising for further study. With this design, there is 90% power and 1-sided 10% alpha.p-value: 0.69Two stage design, exact method
Secondary

2 Year Progression-free-survival [Phase II]

2-year progression free survival (PFS) is the probability of participants alive and progression free at 2 years from study entry estimated using Kaplan-Meier methods. PFS is defined as the time from enrollment to progressive disease (PD) or death. PD is defined as ≥25% increase in serum IgM level from lowest nadir and/or progression in clinical features attributable the disease. Patients alive without PD and not reporting use of non-protocol therapy prior to PD are censored at date of last objective progression-free disease assessment. Patients reporting use of non-protocol therapy prior to PD are censored at date of last objective progression-free disease assessment date prior to post-discontinuation therapy.

Time frame: Patients were assessed for disease every cycle while on treatment (168 days) and every three months while on maintenance therapy. In long-term follow-up, disease was monitored every 3 months. Study cohort median (range) follow-up was 15 (1 - 23) months.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Phase I Stage A Level 1 and 22 Year Progression-free-survival [Phase II]28 percent probability of PFS
Secondary

2-year Time-to-progression Probability (TTP) [Phase II]

2-year TTP probability is based on Kaplan-Meier methods. TTP is defined as time from enrollment to the date of progressive disease (PD). PD is defined as ≥25% increase in serum IgM level from lowest nadir and/or progression in clinical features attributable the disease. Patients without PD and not reporting use of non-protocol therapy prior to PD are censored at date of last objective progression-free disease assessment. Patients reporting use of non-protocol therapy prior to PD are censored at date of last objective progression-free disease assessment date prior to post-discontinuation therapy.

Time frame: Patients were assessed for disease every cycle while on treatment (168 days) and every three months while on maintenance therapy. In long-term follow-up, disease was monitored every 3 months. Study cohort median (range) follow-up was 15 (1 - 23) months.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Phase I Stage A Level 1 and 22-year Time-to-progression Probability (TTP) [Phase II]28 percent probability of progression
Secondary

Phase II Duration of Response (DoR)

The DoR is defined as the elapsed time from date when the measurement criteria are first met for a complete or partial response (whichever status is recorded first) until the date of first observation of objective disease progression. Analysis of DoR will be as follows: * For responding patients who die without objective PD (including death from study disease), DoR will be censored at the date of the last objective progression-free disease assessment. * For responding patients not known to have died as of the data cut-off date and who do not have objective PD, DoR will be censored at the date of the last objective progression-free disease assessment. * For responding patients who receive subsequent systemic anticancer therapy (after discontinuation from the study chemotherapy) prior to objectively determined disease progression, DoR will be censored at the date of the last objective progression-free disease assessment prior to post discontinuation therapy.

Time frame: Patients were assessed for disease every cycle while on treatment (168 days) and every three months while on maintenance therapy. In long-term follow-up, disease was monitored every 3 months. Study cohort median (range) follow-up was 15 (1 - 23) months.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Phase I Stage A Level 1 and 2Phase II Duration of Response (DoR)14 months
Secondary

Phase II Overall Response Rate

Overall response rate is percentage of participants with complete (CR), very good partial (VGPR), partial (PR), or minimal response (MR) as best response during treatment. CR: * No serum monoclonal IgM protein by immunofixation * Normal IgM level * Complete resolution of extramedullary disease, i.e., lymphadenopathy and splenomegaly if present at baseline * Morphologically normal bone marrow aspirate and trephine biopsy VGPR: * Monoclonal IgM protein is detectable ≥90% reduction in IgM level from baseline * Complete resolution of extramedullary disease, i.e., lymphadenopathy/splenomegaly if present at baseline * No new signs/symptoms of active disease PR: * Monoclonal IgM protein is detectable ≥50% but \<90% reduction in IgM level from baseline * Reduction in extramedullary disease * No new signs/symptoms of active disease MR: * Monoclonal IgM protein is detectable ≥25% but \<50% reduction in IgM level from baseline * No new signs/symptoms of active disease

Time frame: Up to 6 cycles (Day 168)

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Phase I Stage A Level 1 and 2Phase II Overall Response Rate87 percentage of participants
Secondary

PTEN Mutation Rate [Phase II]

The PTEN mutation rate is the percentage of patients with PTEN mutation identified in pre-therapy and post-therapy bone marrow samples per established methods.

Time frame: Samples were collected pre-therapy before the beginning therapy (baseline) and post-therapy after finishing the 6th treatment cycle (168 days).

Population: The correlative objective for the study was to identify molecular regulators of response/resistance. Because the study terminated early with limited efficacy shown in the stage 1 cohort correlative objectives could not be met. Bone marrow and peripheral blood samples were collected pre- and post-therapy for phase II patients but only a few experiments conducted considering resources and the limited potential interpretation.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
Phase I Stage A Level 1 and 2PTEN Mutation Rate [Phase II]MYD88/L265P mutation80 percentage of participants
Phase I Stage A Level 1 and 2PTEN Mutation Rate [Phase II]CXCR4/C1013G mutation5 percentage of participants
Secondary

Treatment-Emergent Sensory Neuropathy Rate [Phase I]

Percentage of participants experiencing Grade 1 - Grade 3 treatment-emergent peripheral (sensory) neuropathy events based on CTCAEv3 as reported on case report forms for phase I participants.

Time frame: Adverse events were assessed each cycle (ever 28 days) for 6 cycles then every 3 months on maintenance. Duration of therapy for the Phase I study up to 41 months.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Phase I Stage A Level 1 and 2Treatment-Emergent Sensory Neuropathy Rate [Phase I]33 percentage of participants
Phase I Stage A Level 2Treatment-Emergent Sensory Neuropathy Rate [Phase I]33 percentage of participants
Phase I Stage B Level 1Treatment-Emergent Sensory Neuropathy Rate [Phase I]100 percentage of participants
Phase I Stage B Level 2Treatment-Emergent Sensory Neuropathy Rate [Phase I]67 percentage of participants
Phase I Dose ExpansionTreatment-Emergent Sensory Neuropathy Rate [Phase I]50 percentage of participants
Phase IITreatment-Emergent Sensory Neuropathy Rate [Phase I]48 percentage of participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026