Skip to content

Proton Beam Radiation With Concurrent Chemotherapy and Nelfinavir for Inoperable Stage III Non Small Cell Lung Cancer (NSCLC)

Phase I Dose Escalation Trial of Proton Beam Radiotherapy With Concurrent Chemotherapy and Nelfinavir for Inoperable Stage III NSCLC

Status
Terminated
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT01108666
Enrollment
7
Registered
2010-04-22
Start date
2010-03-31
Completion date
2018-12-31
Last updated
2021-07-07

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Non Small Cell Lung Cancer

Keywords

Stage IIIA or IIIB NSCLC

Brief summary

Seventy two patients are being asked to take part in this research study because they have been diagnosed with Stage IIIA or IIIB non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC). This study is being done to determine the highest safe dose of proton beam radiotherapy and/or study drug (called Nelfinavir) that can be given with concurrent chemoradiotherapy to patients with cancer without causing bad side effects; and to develop biomarker for clinical outcome. This study will be done in two phases. In the first phase, feasibility will be established. We will follow patients treatment courses and record side effects at the standard proton radiation dose that can be given together with Cisplatinum + Etoposide or Carboplatin + Paclitaxel. In the second phase, we will see if it is possible to increase the total proton radiation dose or study drug without increasing the number of bad side effects while treated together with chemotherapy drugs.

Detailed description

Overall objectives: 1. Determine MTD of proton beam radiotherapy with concurrent cisplatin and etoposide for stage III NSCLC. 2. Determine MTD of proton beam radiotherapy with concurrent carboplatin and paclitaxel for stage III NSCLC in non-cisplatin candidates. 3. Determine MTD of Nelfinavir with concurrent chemoradiotherapy for stage III NSCLC at RPTD of proton beam radiotherapy. 4. Develop biomarker for clinical outcome with concurrent chemoradiotherapy in stage III NSCLC. 5. To determine clinical efficacy, as defined by metabolic response, sites of recurrence (e.g., local, regional, distant) and progression-free and overall survival.

Interventions

DRUGNelfinavir

Two dose levels of Nelfinavir will be evaluated in each concurrent chemotherapy group (carboplatin/paclitaxel and cisplatin/etoposide) at the RPTD does of proton beam radiotherapy: 625 and 1250 mg PO bid.

Sponsors

Abramson Cancer Center at Penn Medicine
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

1. Histologically confirmed diagnosis of NSCLC. 2. Stage IIIA or IIIB NSCLC. 3. Patients must have no evidence of metastatic disease based on routine imaging. 4. Patients must have a Karnofsky Performance Status of 60. 5. Age 18 and older. 6. Patients must be able to provide informed consent. 7. Adequate bone marrow function (i.e. WBC larger than or equal to 4000/mm3, platelets larger than or equal to 100,000 mm3). 8. Adequate renal function for cisplatin or carboplatin as determined by the medical oncologist: Usually Calculated creatinine clearance (CrCl) larger than or equal to 45 mL/min or serum creatinine level smaller than or equal to1.5 x institutional ULN. 9. Patients must have bilirubin 1.5 mg/dl. 10. Women of child-bearing potential as long as she agrees to use a recognized method of birth control (e.g. oral contraceptive, IUD, condoms or other barrier methods etc). 11. Hysterectomy or menopause must be clinically documented.

Exclusion criteria

1. Prior or simultaneous malignancies within the past two years (other than cutaneous squamous or basal cell carcinoma or melanoma in situ). 2. Pregnant women, women planning to become pregnant and women that are nursing. 3. Actively being treated on any other research study. 4. For the Nelfinavir phase of the trial only: Patients who are taking Antiarrhythmics (amiodarone, quinidine), Antimycobacterial (rifampin), Ergot Derivatives (dihydroergotamine, ergonovine, ergotamine, ethylergonovine), Herbal Products (St. John's wort/ hypericum perforatum), HMG-CoA Reductase Inhibitors (lovastatin, simvastatin), Neuroleptic (pimozide), Proton Pump Inhibitors, or Sedative/ Hypnotics (midazolam, triazolam). Note: Patients with the following conditions are deemed unsuitable for cisplatin-based chemotherapy (and will be treated with carboplatin): (a) Hearing impairment/ peripheral neuropathy Grade 1 or less at baseline (b) Symptomatic/uncontrolled congestive heart failure (unable to tolerate volume load with pre- and post-cisplatin hydration)

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Feasibility of Proton Radiation10 daysAbility to successfully plan proton plans
Acute Toxicity (or Dose Limiting Toxicity)14 daysDose limiting toxicities of grade 3 or higher per CTCAE 4.0
Late Toxicity5 yearsLate toxicities graded according to the RTOG/EORTC late morbidity scale

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Clinical EfficacyOne yearDefined as metabolic response (complete, partial or less than partial) based on PET/CT imaging. Patients are followed for disease recurrence and site (local, regional, distant). Progression-free and overall survival are defined as from start of treatment to first documented recurrence (for PFS), date of death or last patient contact alive.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Proton RT and Nelfinavir
Nelfinavir: Two dose levels of Nelfinavir will be evaluated in each concurrent chemotherapy group (carboplatin/paclitaxel and cisplatin/etoposide) at the RPTD does of proton beam radiotherapy: 625 and 1250 mg PO bid.
7
Total7

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicProton RT and Nelfinavir
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
5 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
2 Participants
Age, Continuous67.11 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 9.75
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
7 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
6 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
7 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
3 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
4 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 7
other
Total, other adverse events
6 / 7
serious
Total, serious adverse events
4 / 7

Outcome results

Primary

Acute Toxicity (or Dose Limiting Toxicity)

Dose limiting toxicities of grade 3 or higher per CTCAE 4.0

Time frame: 14 days

Population: The PI has left the institution and cannot be contacted despite all possible efforts, data are not available to be reported.

Primary

Feasibility of Proton Radiation

Ability to successfully plan proton plans

Time frame: 10 days

Population: The PI has left the institution and despite all possible efforts is not able to be contacted, data are not available to be reported.

Primary

Late Toxicity

Late toxicities graded according to the RTOG/EORTC late morbidity scale

Time frame: 5 years

Population: Despite all possible efforts to contact the PI/study team members, no data are available to be reported

Secondary

Clinical Efficacy

Defined as metabolic response (complete, partial or less than partial) based on PET/CT imaging. Patients are followed for disease recurrence and site (local, regional, distant). Progression-free and overall survival are defined as from start of treatment to first documented recurrence (for PFS), date of death or last patient contact alive.

Time frame: One year

Population: The PI has left the institution and cannot be contacted despite all possible efforts, data are not available to be reported.

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026