Skip to content

Lipoic Acid and Omega-3 Fatty Acids for Alzheimer's Disease

Lipoic Acid and Omega-3 Fatty Acids in Alzheimer's Disease

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 1Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT01058941
Enrollment
67
Registered
2010-01-29
Start date
2010-09-30
Completion date
2014-12-31
Last updated
2017-04-13

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Alzheimer's Disease

Keywords

Alzheimer's disease, fish oil, lipoic acid

Brief summary

The purpose of this study was to see if taking lipoic acid plus omega-3 fatty acids (omega-3s) can slow the Alzheimer's disease (AD) process. To see if the treatment can slow the AD process, the investigators looked at changes in memory and changes in a person's daily activities over 18 months.

Detailed description

Current pharmacological agents for AD have had no impact on disease prevalence and have had limited effects on improving the clinical course of AD. The exponential rise in the prevalence, incidence, and cost of care for AD make finding therapeutic agents that can either prevent AD or delay disease progression an urgent health care need. Since inflammation, lipid dysregulation, and insulin resistance have each been associated with AD pathology, the combination of lipoic acid plus fish oil has the potential to maximize therapeutic benefit by acting on all three mechanisms associated with disease pathology.

Interventions

DRUGLipoic acid and fish oil concentrate

Lipoic acid (600 milligrams per day) and fish oil concentrate (3 grams per day) for 18 months

DRUGPlacebo

Placebo LA and placebo oil capsules for 18 months

Sponsors

Oregon Health and Science University
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
QUADRUPLE (Subject, Caregiver, Investigator, Outcomes Assessor)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
55 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

1. 55 years or older 2. Probable AD by National Institute of Neurological and Communicative Disorders and Stroke/Alzheimer's Disease and Related Disorders Association - NINCDS/ADRDA criteria 3. MMSE between 15-26 4. Caregiver/study partner that can accompany participant to all study visits 5. Stable use of cholinesterase inhibitors and memantine permitted - doses must be stable for 4 months prior to study enrollment 6. Stable doses of over-the-counter antioxidants (e.g. vitamin E, ginkgo biloba) are permitted - dose must be stable for 4 months prior to study enrollment 7. Stable dose of lipid lowering medication - dose must be stable for 4 months prior to study enrollment 8. Geriatric Depression Scale (GDS) - Score of \< 5 9. General health status that will not interfere with the participant's ability to complete the study. 10. Screening laboratory values within normal limits or, if abnormal, deemed clinically insignificant by the investigator 11. Sufficient English language skills to complete all testing

Exclusion criteria

1. Non-AD dementia 2. Residence in nursing home facility at screening visit (residence in community assisted living and long-term care facilities in which the participant still performs majority of basic activities of daily living will not be an exclusion) 3. History of clinically significant stroke (stroke with neurologic deficits \> 6 months after diagnosis) 4. Health conditions such as cancer diagnosed \< 5 years prior to enrollment (prostate cancer gleason grade \< 3 and non metastatic skin cancers are acceptable), liver disease, history of ventricular fibrillation or ventricular tachycardia, major psychiatric disorder, central nervous system diseases (e.g. brain tumor, seizure disorder) 5. Insulin dependent diabetes or uncontrolled diabetes (diabetes controlled on medications other than insulin are acceptable) 6. Hyperlipidemic (triglycerides \>500 mg/dl, LDL \> 160 mg/dl, total cholesterol \>240 mg/dl). LDL levels between 160 mg/dl and 165 mg/dl will be reviewed by the PI and included if judged to be safe. Patients who have a history or hyperlipidemia, but are not taking lipid-lowering medications due to potential memory impairment side effects will be reviewed on a case-by-case basis by the PI and enrolled in the study if deemed safe by PI and the patient's primary care provider. 7. Fish intake of one 6 ounce serving \> once a week less than 4 months prior to enrollment 8. Omega-3 fatty acid supplement intake (e.g. fish oil capsules, cod liver oil, or flaxseed oil) less than 4 months prior to enrollment 9. Lipoic Acid supplementation less than 1 month prior to enrollment 10. Taking systemic corticosteroids, neuroleptics, antiparkinsonian agents, and narcotic analgesics. Certain low dose antipsychotic use will be reviewed by the principle investigator on a case-by-case basis and may be allowed if determined that dose is not strong enough to affect performance on cognitive evaluations. Low dose sinemet and dopamine agonist taken once a day for restless leg syndrome is not an exclusion. 11. Contraindications to MRI (for subjects enrolled at Bend, Medford, and Klamath sites that decide not to undergo MRI, this will not be an exclusion). 12. Enrollment in another study

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Change From Baseline in Activities of Daily Living (ADL) at 18 MonthsBaseline and 18 monthsThe Alzheimer's Disease Cooperative Study Activities of Daily Living Scale (ADCS-ADL) is used to assess activities of daily living in people with AD using a structured interview to ask the AD participant's caregiver/study partner to assess functional ability over a wide range of performance measures. A higher ADL score indicates greater impairment in functional ability; scores range from 0 to 27.
Change From Baseline in Alzheimer's Disease Assessment Scale - Cognitive Subscale (ADAS-cog) at 18 MonthsBaseline and 18 monthsThe ADAS-cog assesses general cognitive function over multiple domains and evaluates memory, attention, reasoning, language, orientation, and praxis. A higher score indicates greater impairment on a range of scores from 0 to 70. A total score of 70 indicates maximum severity.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Lipoic Acid and Omega-3 Fatty Acids
lipoic acid and fish oil concentrate lipoic acid and fish oil concentrate: lipic acid (600 milligrams per day) and fish oil concentrate (3 grams per day) for 18 months
34
Placebo
placebo lipoic acid plus placebo oil lipoic acid and fish oil concentrate: lipic acid (600 milligrams per day) and fish oil concentrate (3 grams per day) for 18 months
33
Total67

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicLipoic Acid and Omega-3 Fatty AcidsPlaceboTotal
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
29 Participants29 Participants58 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
5 Participants4 Participants9 Participants
Age, Continuous73.3 years76.2 years74.7 years
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
34 Participants32 Participants66 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
1 Participants1 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
33 Participants30 Participants63 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
34 participants33 participants67 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
18 Participants17 Participants35 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
16 Participants16 Participants32 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
1 / 342 / 33
other
Total, other adverse events
29 / 3427 / 33
serious
Total, serious adverse events
10 / 347 / 33

Outcome results

Primary

Change From Baseline in Activities of Daily Living (ADL) at 18 Months

The Alzheimer's Disease Cooperative Study Activities of Daily Living Scale (ADCS-ADL) is used to assess activities of daily living in people with AD using a structured interview to ask the AD participant's caregiver/study partner to assess functional ability over a wide range of performance measures. A higher ADL score indicates greater impairment in functional ability; scores range from 0 to 27.

Time frame: Baseline and 18 months

Population: Twenty participants discontinued from the study prior to completing all study visits. One treatment participant did not complete the final ADL assessment.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Lipoic Acid and Omega-3 Fatty AcidsChange From Baseline in Activities of Daily Living (ADL) at 18 Months-11.58 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 12.68
PlaceboChange From Baseline in Activities of Daily Living (ADL) at 18 Months-13.45 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 12.89
Comparison: The target enrollment was 60 subjects, allowing for up to a 20% drop-out. It was calculated that with 48 subjects (24 per group) we would have 80% power to see differences in ADL scores over 18 months between the treatment and placebo groups with a significance level of 0.025 based on a simple Bonferroni adjustment, since we had two primary outcomes.p-value: 0.8295% CI: [-3.97, 3.13]Mixed Models Analysis
Primary

Change From Baseline in Alzheimer's Disease Assessment Scale - Cognitive Subscale (ADAS-cog) at 18 Months

The ADAS-cog assesses general cognitive function over multiple domains and evaluates memory, attention, reasoning, language, orientation, and praxis. A higher score indicates greater impairment on a range of scores from 0 to 70. A total score of 70 indicates maximum severity.

Time frame: Baseline and 18 months

Population: Twenty participants discontinued from the study prior to completing all study visits. One placebo and one treatment participant did not complete the final ADAS-cog assessment.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Lipoic Acid and Omega-3 Fatty AcidsChange From Baseline in Alzheimer's Disease Assessment Scale - Cognitive Subscale (ADAS-cog) at 18 Months6.61 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 6.67
PlaceboChange From Baseline in Alzheimer's Disease Assessment Scale - Cognitive Subscale (ADAS-cog) at 18 Months3.40 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 4.5
Comparison: The target enrollment was 60 subjects, allowing for up to a 20% drop-out. It was calculated that with 48 subjects (24 per group) we would have 80% power to see differences in ADL scores over 18 months between the treatment and placebo groups with a significance level of 0.025 based on a simple Bonferroni adjustment, since we had two primary outcomes.p-value: 0.00195% CI: [-5.9, -1.46]Mixed Models Analysis

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026