Skip to content

Study of Intradermal Administration of PCEC Rabies Vaccine

A Single Center, Open-Label, Study of Intradermal Administration of an Inactivated PCEC Rabies Vaccine in Adult Subjects

Status
Completed
Phases
Unknown
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT01044199
Acronym
Rabies-ID
Enrollment
130
Registered
2010-01-07
Start date
2009-02-01
Completion date
2013-08-01
Last updated
2026-06-24

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Rabies Exposure, Rabies Prevention

Keywords

rabies, rabies vaccine, purified cultured embryo chicken rabies vaccine

Brief summary

The purpose of this study is to determine immunogenicity and safety of intradermal administration of the PCEC rabies vaccine in adults.

Detailed description

Approximately 16,000-39,000 persons come in contact with potentially rabid animals and receive rabies postexposure prophylaxis (PEP) each year in the US. To appropriately manage potential human exposures to rabies, the risk for infection must be accurately assessed. Administration of rabies PEP is a medical urgency, not a medical emergency, but decisions must not be delayed. Prophylaxis is occasionally complicated by adverse reactions, but these reactions are rarely severe. Current data on the safety and efficacy of active and passive rabies vaccination were derived from both human and animal studies. Timely and appropriate human pre-exposure prophylaxis (Pre-EP) and PEP will prevent human rabies. Currently in the US, the approved dosage and administration for PEP in previously unvaccinated persons consists of the administration of vaccine (HDCV or PCECV) and HRIG. Vaccine is administered IM on days 0, 3, 7, 21, and 28 (deltoid area). The approved dosage and administration for pre-exposure prophylaxis (Pre-EP) consists of three 1.0-mL injections of vaccine (HDCV or PCECV) administered IM (deltoid area), one injection per day on days 0, 7, and 21 or 28). Intradermal (ID) route of administration of rabies vaccination is used in certain countries both for PEP and Pre-EP, and approved by WHO for modern potent cell culture vaccines. Recent studies outside the USA found the use of PCEC rabies vaccine by ID administration immunogenic and safe. The primary goals of this study are to obtain additional safety and immunogenicity data on ID administration of 0.1 mL doses of the inactivated PCEC rabies virus vaccine in adults. Given the need to provide alternative routes of administration to the current approved intramuscular route in order to protect a larger number of people facing potential vaccine shortages. The data yielded by this clinical trial will provide evidence to support alternative route of administration and dose of PCECV in the US.

Interventions

BIOLOGICALPCEC rabies vaccine given intradermally

PCEC rabies vaccine will be given intradermally compared with intramuscular administration (standard), in 2 different schedules: Pre-Exposure schedule for participants never vaccinated against rabies before; and Booster schedule for participants vaccinated against rabies in the past.

BIOLOGICALPCEC rabies vaccine administered intramuscularly

PCEC rabies vaccine will be given intradermally compared with intramuscular administration (standard), in 2 different schedules: Pre-Exposure schedule for participants never vaccinated against rabies before; and Booster schedule for participants vaccinated against rabies in the past.

Sponsors

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Lead SponsorFED

Study design

Allocation
NON_RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
PREVENTION
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
Yes

Inclusion criteria

1. Laboratory personnel, epidemiologists, EISOs, veterinary students, interns, and other first responders at CDC; other CDC employees; and healthy volunteer adults. Persons who contact the study coordinator will be assessed for possible occupational exposure to rabies using the risk assessment form (appendix E). The volunteers reporting occupational exposure will be selected to enter the study. 2. Male or nonpregnant females (as indicated by a negative urine pregnancy test prior to first dose of vaccine), aged 18 years and older. 3. Women of childbearing potential who are at risk of becoming pregnant must agree to practice adequate contraception (i.e., barrier method, abstinence, or licensed hormonal methods) for the entire study period. 4. Be in good health, as determined by vital signs (pulse, blood pressure, oral temperature), medical history, and a targeted physical examination based on medical history. 5. Able to understand and comply with planned study procedures. 6. Provide informed consent prior to any study procedures and be available for all study visits. 7. Have health insurance.

Exclusion criteria

1. Have a known allergy to PCECV. 2. Have a known allergy or sensitivity to eggs or latex (in the stopper). 3. Have a positive urine pregnancy test prior to first vaccine dose (female of childbearing potential age). 4. Are immunosuppressed as a result of an underlying illness or treatment. 5. Have active neoplastic disease or a history of any hematologic malignancy. 6. Are using oral or parenteral steroids, high-dose inhaled steroids (\>800 μg/day of beclomethasone dipropionate or equivalent) or other immunosuppressive or cytotoxic drugs. 7. Have a history of receiving immunoglobulin or other blood product within the 3 months prior to enrollment in this study. 8. Have an acute illness that is accompanied by an oral temperature greater than 100.4°F, within 1 week of vaccination. 9. Received an experimental agent (vaccine, drug, biologic, device, blood product, or medication) within 1 month prior to enrollment in this study, or expects to receive an experimental agent during the 1st month of the study period. 10. Have any condition that would, in the opinion of the site investigator, place the subject at an unacceptable risk of injury or render the subject unable to meet the requirements of the protocol. 11. He/she is a CDC worker under direct supervision of any of the primary study investigators (Dr. Sergio Recuenco, and Dr. Eli Warnock).

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Participants With Adequate Rabies Virus Neutralizing Antibody TitersDay 14 after completion of the vaccination regimen (Day 35 for Pre-Exposure groups and Day 14 for Booster groups)Proportion of participants with rabies virus neutralizing antibody titers ≥1:5 (approximately 0.1 IU/mL) measured by rapid fluorescent focus inhibition test (RFFIT).

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Geometric Mean Titers of Rabies Virus Neutralizing AntibodiesDay 14 after vaccinationGeometric mean titers (GMTs) of rabies virus neutralizing antibodies measured by RFFIT at Day 14 after vaccination.

Countries

United States

Contacts

PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATORSergio Recuenco, MD,MPH,DrPH

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Baseline characteristics

Characteristic
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
0 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
130 Participants
Age, Continuous43 years
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
1 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
33 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
4 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
118 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
33 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
20 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
15 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
EG003
affected / at risk
other
Total, other adverse events
33 / 3330 / 3328 / 3126 / 33
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 330 / 330 / 310 / 33

Outcome results

None listed

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Jun 25, 2026