Skip to content

An Open Label Extension Study of the Efficacy of MORAb-003

An Open Label Extension Study of the Efficacy of MORAb-003 in Subjects With Platinum-Sensitive Epithelial Ovarian Cancer in First Relapse

Status
Terminated
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT01018563
Enrollment
3
Registered
2009-11-23
Start date
2010-01-13
Completion date
2013-03-05
Last updated
2021-12-08

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Epithelial Ovarian Cancer

Keywords

Extension study, Epithelial ovarian cancer

Brief summary

An open label extension of the MORAb-003-002 study in order to continue the active patients in the MORAb-003-002 study on maintenance MORAb-003 infusions after the main study is closed.

Interventions

Dose group to be determined by dose assigned in main study and patient's weight. Intravenous infusions are given every 3 weeks.

Sponsors

Morphotek
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
FEMALE
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Provision of Informed consent. * Subjects must have been enrolled in and have met the inclusion/

Exclusion criteria

of the MORAb-003-002 study. * Subjects must have achieved a normalization of CA 125 levels and/or CR or PR (or stable disease and an investigator's assessment of a clinical benefit) after MORAb-003 in combination with standard chemotherapy and have not yet met the criteria for disease progression during participation in the MORAb-003-002 study. * Subjects must be currently receiving single-agent MORAb-003 maintenance therapy.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Duration of Ovarian Tumor Marker (Cancer Antigen 125 [CA125]) ResponseFrom screening of parent study (NCT00318370) until the current study was terminated (up to a maximum of 78.2 months including the parent study, or 37.7 months in this study only)The duration of CA125 response, was defined the time from the date of the initial CA125 response (i.e., prior to enrollment in the parent study, was the starting point for assessment) to the first documentation of progressive disease (PD) by either Gynecologic Cancer Inter Group (GCIG) criteria for CA125 level or by the date of death due to any cause, whichever occurred first. Disease progression per CA125 was defined as the first of 2 consecutive CA125 values greater than (\>) twice the upper limit of normal (ULN) (i.e. 35 kilo unit per liter \[kU/L\]) on two occasions. C= data censored at earlier non-PD assessment if PD did not occur.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Progression-Free Survival (PFS) by GCIGFrom the first dose of study medication in the parent study (NCT00318370) until the current study was terminated (up to a maximum of 78.2 months including the parent study, or 37.7 months in this study only)PFS was defined as the time from the date of first dose of study medication during the parent study MORAb-003-002 (NCT00318370) to the date of disease progression (either by GCIG for CA125 criteria or standard RECIST v.1.0 criteria) or to the date of death due to any cause in this study. PD per CA125 was defined as the first of 2 consecutive CA125 values \>2\*ULN (35 kU/L) on two occasions. Participants who were alive with no disease progression were censored at either the date of last CA125 assessment or date of last objective tumor evaluation, whichever was later. PFS was also censored if a participant received a non-study anticancer therapy or procedure, with censoring occurring at the date of the last RECIST or CA125 assessment prior to the start of a non-study anticancer therapy or procedure (whichever was earlier). C= data censored at earlier non-PD assessment if PD did not occur.
Overall Survival (OS)From Baseline (Day 1) in the parent study (NCT00318370) until date of death from any cause in this study, or until the current study was terminated (up to a maximum of 78.2 months including the parent study, or 37.7 months in this study only)OS was defined from the date of first dose of farletuzumab during the parent study MORAb-003-002 (NCT00318370) to date of death due to any cause. Participants who were alive had their OS time censored at the date they were last known to be alive. C= data censored at date participant was last known to be alive.
Duration of Second RemissionFrom Baseline (Day 1) in the parent study (NCT00318370) until date of death from any cause in this study, or until the current study was terminated (up to a maximum of 78.2 months including the parent study, or 37.7 months in this study only)The prolongation of second and subsequent responses to chemotherapy plus farletuzumab relative to initial remission was assessed. Length of first remission was determined in the parent study MORAb-003-002 (NCT00318370). The length of second remission (i.e., the first remission in this study) was calculated using the following formula: '(carboplatin/taxane start date in this study - carboplatin/taxane start date in NCT00318370 +1/30.4'. The length of second remission was censored at the date of study discontinuation if the participant did not receive any carboplatin/taxane therapy during this study. C = censored data.
Duration of Third RemissionFrom Baseline (Day 1) of this study until date of death from any cause, or until the study was terminated (up to a maximum of 37.7 months)The length of third remission (i.e., second remission in this study) was calculated using the following formula: '(subsequent carboplatin/taxane start date in this study - carboplatin/taxane start date in NCT00318370 +1)/30.4'. The length of third remission was censored at the date of study discontinuation if the participant did not receive subsequent chemotherapy (carboplatin/taxane) during this study. Censored data is reported for all participants.

Other

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Participants With Best Overall Response as Evaluated by Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) V.1.0 CriteriaFrom the start of the treatment until disease progression/recurrence (up to approximately 37.7 months)Best overall response was the best response recorded from the start of treatment until disease progression/recurrence. Participants were assigned to one of the following categories of change in disease status: complete response (CR), partial response (PR), stable disease (SD), or progressive disease (PD). CR was defined as CR in both target and non-target lesions with no new lesions. PR was defined as CR in target lesions and incomplete response or SD in non-target lesions with no new lesions, or PR in target lesions and non-PD in non-target lesions with no new lesions. SD was defined as SD in target lesions and non-PD in non-target lesions with no new lesions. PD was defined as PD in target lesions, any non-target lesions with either absence or presence of new lesions, or any target lesions, PD in non-target lesions with either absence or presence of new lesions, or any target or non-target lesions with new lesions.

Countries

Germany, United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

Participants participated and received single-agent farletuzumab maintenance therapy in MORAb-003-002 study (NCT00318370), achieved normalization of cancer antigen 125 levels and/or tumor assessment of complete/partial response(or stable disease and an investigator's assessment of a clinical benefit) after receiving farletuzumab plus chemotherapy to enter study.

Pre-assignment details

Study enrolled 3 participants who participated in the MORAb-003-002 study (NCT00318370), achieved a normalization of CA 125 levels and/or complete response or partial response after MORAb-003 in combination with standard chemotherapy, and received single-agent MORAb-003 maintenance therapy.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Farletuzumab- All Participants
Participants received farletuzumab 62.5 or 100 mg/m\^2, intravenous infusion once weekly at the same dose level which participants received in the MORAb-003-002 (NCT00318370) parent study for up to 37.7 months in this study.
3
Total3

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001
Overall StudyTermination of the study by Sponsor21

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicFarletuzumab- All Participants
Age, Continuous58.0 years
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
2 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
1 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
3 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
0 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 20 / 1
other
Total, other adverse events
2 / 21 / 1
serious
Total, serious adverse events
1 / 21 / 1

Outcome results

Primary

Duration of Ovarian Tumor Marker (Cancer Antigen 125 [CA125]) Response

The duration of CA125 response, was defined the time from the date of the initial CA125 response (i.e., prior to enrollment in the parent study, was the starting point for assessment) to the first documentation of progressive disease (PD) by either Gynecologic Cancer Inter Group (GCIG) criteria for CA125 level or by the date of death due to any cause, whichever occurred first. Disease progression per CA125 was defined as the first of 2 consecutive CA125 values greater than (\>) twice the upper limit of normal (ULN) (i.e. 35 kilo unit per liter \[kU/L\]) on two occasions. C= data censored at earlier non-PD assessment if PD did not occur.

Time frame: From screening of parent study (NCT00318370) until the current study was terminated (up to a maximum of 78.2 months including the parent study, or 37.7 months in this study only)

Population: Intent-to-treat population included all 3 participants who were enrolled. Data reported includes combined data from the parent study MORAb-003-002 (NCT00318370) and the current study MORAb-003-002A.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
Farletuzumab 62.5 mg/m^2Duration of Ovarian Tumor Marker (Cancer Antigen 125 [CA125]) ResponseParticipant 1 (dose group: 62.5 mg/m^2)-C77.2 months
Farletuzumab 62.5 mg/m^2Duration of Ovarian Tumor Marker (Cancer Antigen 125 [CA125]) ResponseParticipant 2 (dose group: 62.5 mg/m^2)-C73.3 months
Farletuzumab 100 mg/m^2Duration of Ovarian Tumor Marker (Cancer Antigen 125 [CA125]) ResponseParticipant 3 (dose group: 100 mg/m^2)18.0 months
Secondary

Duration of Second Remission

The prolongation of second and subsequent responses to chemotherapy plus farletuzumab relative to initial remission was assessed. Length of first remission was determined in the parent study MORAb-003-002 (NCT00318370). The length of second remission (i.e., the first remission in this study) was calculated using the following formula: '(carboplatin/taxane start date in this study - carboplatin/taxane start date in NCT00318370 +1/30.4'. The length of second remission was censored at the date of study discontinuation if the participant did not receive any carboplatin/taxane therapy during this study. C = censored data.

Time frame: From Baseline (Day 1) in the parent study (NCT00318370) until date of death from any cause in this study, or until the current study was terminated (up to a maximum of 78.2 months including the parent study, or 37.7 months in this study only)

Population: Intent-to-treat population included all 3 participants who were enrolled. Data reported includes combined data from the parent study MORAb-003-002 (NCT00318370) and the current study MORAb-003-002A.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
Farletuzumab 62.5 mg/m^2Duration of Second RemissionParticipant 1 (dose group: 62.5 mg/m^2)41.0 months
Farletuzumab 62.5 mg/m^2Duration of Second RemissionParticipant 2 (dose group: 62.5 mg/m^2)-C74.2 months
Farletuzumab 100 mg/m^2Duration of Second RemissionParticipant 3 (dose group: 100 mg/m^2)29.5 months
Secondary

Duration of Third Remission

The length of third remission (i.e., second remission in this study) was calculated using the following formula: '(subsequent carboplatin/taxane start date in this study - carboplatin/taxane start date in NCT00318370 +1)/30.4'. The length of third remission was censored at the date of study discontinuation if the participant did not receive subsequent chemotherapy (carboplatin/taxane) during this study. Censored data is reported for all participants.

Time frame: From Baseline (Day 1) of this study until date of death from any cause, or until the study was terminated (up to a maximum of 37.7 months)

Population: Intent-to-treat population included all 3 participants who were enrolled. Here overall number of participants analyzed are participants who were available for this outcome measure.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Farletuzumab 62.5 mg/m^2Duration of Third Remission37.3 months
Farletuzumab 100 mg/m^2Duration of Third Remission25.0 months
Secondary

Overall Survival (OS)

OS was defined from the date of first dose of farletuzumab during the parent study MORAb-003-002 (NCT00318370) to date of death due to any cause. Participants who were alive had their OS time censored at the date they were last known to be alive. C= data censored at date participant was last known to be alive.

Time frame: From Baseline (Day 1) in the parent study (NCT00318370) until date of death from any cause in this study, or until the current study was terminated (up to a maximum of 78.2 months including the parent study, or 37.7 months in this study only)

Population: Intent-to-treat population included all 3 participants who were enrolled. Data reported includes combined data from the parent study MORAb-003-002 (NCT00318370) and the current study MORAb-003-002A.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
Farletuzumab 62.5 mg/m^2Overall Survival (OS)Participant 1 (dose group: 62.5 mg/m^2)-C78.3 months
Farletuzumab 62.5 mg/m^2Overall Survival (OS)Participant 2 (dose group: 62.5 mg/m^2)-C76.7 months
Farletuzumab 100 mg/m^2Overall Survival (OS)Participant 3 (dose group: 100 mg/m^2)59.5 months
Secondary

Progression-Free Survival (PFS) by GCIG

PFS was defined as the time from the date of first dose of study medication during the parent study MORAb-003-002 (NCT00318370) to the date of disease progression (either by GCIG for CA125 criteria or standard RECIST v.1.0 criteria) or to the date of death due to any cause in this study. PD per CA125 was defined as the first of 2 consecutive CA125 values \>2\*ULN (35 kU/L) on two occasions. Participants who were alive with no disease progression were censored at either the date of last CA125 assessment or date of last objective tumor evaluation, whichever was later. PFS was also censored if a participant received a non-study anticancer therapy or procedure, with censoring occurring at the date of the last RECIST or CA125 assessment prior to the start of a non-study anticancer therapy or procedure (whichever was earlier). C= data censored at earlier non-PD assessment if PD did not occur.

Time frame: From the first dose of study medication in the parent study (NCT00318370) until the current study was terminated (up to a maximum of 78.2 months including the parent study, or 37.7 months in this study only)

Population: Intent-to-treat population included all 3 participants who were enrolled. Data reported includes combined data from the parent study MORAb-003-002 (NCT00318370) and the current study MORAb-003-002A.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
Farletuzumab 62.5 mg/m^2Progression-Free Survival (PFS) by GCIGParticipant 1 (dose group: 62.5 mg/m^2)-C: GCIG77.8 months
Farletuzumab 62.5 mg/m^2Progression-Free Survival (PFS) by GCIGParticipant 2 (dose group: 62.5 mg/m^2)-C: GCIG75.8 months
Farletuzumab 100 mg/m^2Progression-Free Survival (PFS) by GCIGParticipant 3 (dose group: 100 mg/m^2): GCIG25.1 months
Other Pre-specified

Number of Participants With Best Overall Response as Evaluated by Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) V.1.0 Criteria

Best overall response was the best response recorded from the start of treatment until disease progression/recurrence. Participants were assigned to one of the following categories of change in disease status: complete response (CR), partial response (PR), stable disease (SD), or progressive disease (PD). CR was defined as CR in both target and non-target lesions with no new lesions. PR was defined as CR in target lesions and incomplete response or SD in non-target lesions with no new lesions, or PR in target lesions and non-PD in non-target lesions with no new lesions. SD was defined as SD in target lesions and non-PD in non-target lesions with no new lesions. PD was defined as PD in target lesions, any non-target lesions with either absence or presence of new lesions, or any target lesions, PD in non-target lesions with either absence or presence of new lesions, or any target or non-target lesions with new lesions.

Time frame: From the start of the treatment until disease progression/recurrence (up to approximately 37.7 months)

Population: Intent-to-treat population included all 3 participants who were enrolled.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Farletuzumab 62.5 mg/m^2Number of Participants With Best Overall Response as Evaluated by Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) V.1.0 CriteriaCR1 Participants
Farletuzumab 62.5 mg/m^2Number of Participants With Best Overall Response as Evaluated by Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) V.1.0 CriteriaSD1 Participants
Farletuzumab 100 mg/m^2Number of Participants With Best Overall Response as Evaluated by Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) V.1.0 CriteriaCR1 Participants
Farletuzumab 100 mg/m^2Number of Participants With Best Overall Response as Evaluated by Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) V.1.0 CriteriaSD0 Participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026