Malignant Melanoma
Conditions
Brief summary
This randomized, open-label study evaluated the efficacy, safety and tolerability of vemurafenib (RO5185426) as compared to dacarbazine in previously untreated patients with metastatic melanoma. Patients were randomized to receive either vemurafenib 960 mg orally twice daily or dacarbazine 1000 mg/m2 intravenously every 3 weeks. Study treatment was continued until disease progression or unacceptable toxicity occurred. The data and safety monitoring board recommended that patients in the dacarbazine group be allowed to cross over to receive vemurafenib, and the protocol was amended accordingly on January 14, 2011, as both overall survival and progression-free survival endpoints had met the prespecified criteria for statistical significance in favor of vemurafenib.
Interventions
960 mg (as 240 mg tables) orally twice daily
1000 mg/m2 intravenously every 3 weeks
Sponsors
Study design
Eligibility
Inclusion criteria
* adults, \>/=18 years of age * metastatic melanoma, stage IIIC or IV (AJCC) * treatment-naïve (no prior systemic anticancer therapy) * positive for BRAF V600E mutation * measurable disease by RECIST criteria * negative pregnancy test and, for fertile men and women, effective contraception during treatment and for 6 months after completion
Exclusion criteria
* active central nervous system metastases * history of carcinomatous meningitis * severe cardiovascular disease within 6 months prior to study drug administration * previous malignancy within 5 years prior to study, except for basal or squamous cell carcinoma of the skin, melanoma in-situ, or carcinoma in-situ of the cervix
Design outcomes
Primary
| Measure | Time frame | Description |
|---|---|---|
| Overall Survival | From randomization (initiated January 2010) to December 30 2010. Median follow-up time in the vemurafenib group was 3.75 months (range 0.3 to 10.8) and in the dacarbazine group was 2.33 months (range <0.1 to 10.3). | An Overall survival event was defined as death due to any cause. The number of participants with overall survival events is reported. |
| Progression-free Survival | From randomization (initiated January 2010) to December 30 2010. | A progression-free survival (PFS) event was defined as disease progression or death due to any cause. Tumor response (progression) was assessed according to the Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors (RECIST) version 1.1 criteria using computed tomography (CT) scans or magnetic resonance imaging (MRI). |
Secondary
| Measure | Time frame | Description |
|---|---|---|
| Participants With a Best Overall Response (BOR) of Complete Response or Partial Response | From randomization (initiated January 2010) until December 30, 2010 | BOR was defined as a complete response (CR) or partial response (PR) confirmed per Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors (RECIST) version 1.1. Participants who never received study treatment and treated participants without any post-baseline tumor assessments were considered as non-responders. CR: Disappearance of all target lesions, all non-target lesions and no new lesion. Any pathological lymph nodes must have had reduction in the short axis to \<10 mm. PR: At least a 30% decrease in the sum of diameters of target lesions, no progression in non-target lesion and no new lesion. |
| Duration of Response | From randomization (initiated in January 2010) until December 30, 2010. | Duration of response was defined as the time between the date of the earliest qualifying response and the date of disease progression or death due to any cause. Duration of response was calculated only for participants who had a best overall response of Complete Response or Partial Response and was estimated using the Kaplan-Meier method. |
| Time to Confirmed Response | From randomization (initiated January 2010) until December 30, 2010. | Time to response was defined as the time from randomization to confirmed response (complete response or partial response). |
| Time to Treatment Failure | approximately 3 years | Treatment failure was defined as a secondary endpoint in the protocol, defined as death, disease progression or premature withdrawal of study treatment. This endpoint was not included in the Statistical analysis plan; therefore no analyses of time to treatment failure were performed. |
| Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) | From randomization (initiated January 2010) until December 30, 2010. | The intensity of AEs was graded according to the NCI Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events v 4.0 (CTCAE) on a five-point scale (Grade 1 to 5: Mild, Moderate, Severe, Life-threatening and Death). A serious adverse event is any experience that suggests a significant hazard, contraindication, side effect or precaution, for example is life-threatening, requires hospitalization, results in persistent or significant disability/incapacity, is a congenital anomaly/birth defect or requires intervention to prevent one or other of the outcomes listed above. |
| Pre and Post-dose Plasma Vemurafenib Concentration by Study Day | Plasma samples were collected before the morning dose (troughs) and 2-4 hours after the morning dose at the beginning of each cycle (Days 1, 22, 43, 64, 106, 148 and 190). | The pharmacokinetics of vemurafenib were assessed at the beginning of each 21-day cycle using pre-dose and 2-4 hours post-dose sampling. |
Countries
Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Israel, Italy, Netherlands, New Zealand, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States
Participant flow
Pre-assignment details
675 participants were randomized, 337 to vemurafenib and 338 to dacarbazine. One participant randomized to dacarbazine was treated in error with vemurafenib throughout the study and is included in the Vemurafenib arm in the table below and for exposure and safety analyses and is included in the dacarbazine arm for efficacy analyses.
Participants by arm
| Arm | Count |
|---|---|
| Vemurafenib Participants received continuous oral doses of vemurafenib (RO5185426) 960 mg twice a day. Participants took four 240 mg tablets in the morning and four 240 mg tablets in the evening (960 mg twice a day for a total daily dose of 1920 mg). | 337 |
| Dacarbazine Dacarbazine was administered intravenously 1000 mg/m˄2 up to 60 minutes on Day 1 of every 3 weeks (3 weeks was one cycle length). | 338 |
| Total | 675 |
Withdrawals & dropouts
| Period | Reason | FG000 | FG001 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Crossover: Dacarbazine to Vemurafenib | Adverse Event | 0 | 4 |
| Crossover: Dacarbazine to Vemurafenib | Death | 0 | 4 |
| Crossover: Dacarbazine to Vemurafenib | Progression | 0 | 65 |
| Crossover: Dacarbazine to Vemurafenib | Reason Not Specified | 0 | 10 |
| Crossover: Dacarbazine to Vemurafenib | Withdrawal of Consent | 0 | 1 |
| Vemurafenib and Dacarbazine | Adverse Event | 25 | 5 |
| Vemurafenib and Dacarbazine | Death | 13 | 12 |
| Vemurafenib and Dacarbazine | Progression | 257 | 218 |
| Vemurafenib and Dacarbazine | Protocol Violation | 2 | 3 |
| Vemurafenib and Dacarbazine | Randomized but Not Treated | 1 | 45 |
| Vemurafenib and Dacarbazine | Reason Not Specified | 26 | 43 |
| Vemurafenib and Dacarbazine | Refuse Treatment | 9 | 6 |
| Vemurafenib and Dacarbazine | Withdrawal of Consent | 4 | 6 |
Baseline characteristics
| Characteristic | Vemurafenib | Dacarbazine | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Age, Customized < 65 years | 244 participants | 270 participants | 514 participants |
| Age, Customized >=65 years | 93 participants | 68 participants | 161 participants |
| Sex: Female, Male Female | 137 Participants | 157 Participants | 294 Participants |
| Sex: Female, Male Male | 200 Participants | 181 Participants | 381 Participants |
Adverse events
| Event type | EG000 affected / at risk | EG001 affected / at risk | EG002 affected / at risk |
|---|---|---|---|
| deaths Total, all-cause mortality | — / — | — / — | — / — |
| other Total, other adverse events | 333 / 336 | 247 / 293 | 83 / 84 |
| serious Total, serious adverse events | 165 / 336 | 52 / 293 | 44 / 84 |
Outcome results
Overall Survival
An Overall survival event was defined as death due to any cause. The number of participants with overall survival events is reported.
Time frame: From randomization (initiated January 2010) to December 30 2010. Median follow-up time in the vemurafenib group was 3.75 months (range 0.3 to 10.8) and in the dacarbazine group was 2.33 months (range <0.1 to 10.3).
Population: The intent-to-treat (ITT) population was defined as all randomized participants, whether or not study treatment was received. The ITT population was analyzed according to the treatment assigned at randomization. Overall survival was assessed on participants randomized at least 15 days prior to the clinical cutoff date of December 30, 2010.
| Arm | Measure | Group | Value (NUMBER) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vemurafenib | Overall Survival | Participants with events | 43 participants |
| Vemurafenib | Overall Survival | Participants without events | 293 participants |
| Dacarbazine | Overall Survival | Participants with events | 75 participants |
| Dacarbazine | Overall Survival | Participants without events | 261 participants |
Progression-free Survival
A progression-free survival (PFS) event was defined as disease progression or death due to any cause. Tumor response (progression) was assessed according to the Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors (RECIST) version 1.1 criteria using computed tomography (CT) scans or magnetic resonance imaging (MRI).
Time frame: From randomization (initiated January 2010) to December 30 2010.
Population: The analysis population for PFS consisted of all ITT participants randomized by October 27, 2010 (at least 9 weeks prior to the clinical cutoff date of December 30, 2010). The 9-week interval was chosen to allow time for participants to have had their first scheduled post baseline tumor assessment CT scan.
| Arm | Measure | Group | Value (NUMBER) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vemurafenib | Progression-free Survival | Participants with events | 104 participants |
| Vemurafenib | Progression-free Survival | Participants without events | 171 participants |
| Dacarbazine | Progression-free Survival | Participants with events | 182 participants |
| Dacarbazine | Progression-free Survival | Participants without events | 92 participants |
Duration of Response
Duration of response was defined as the time between the date of the earliest qualifying response and the date of disease progression or death due to any cause. Duration of response was calculated only for participants who had a best overall response of Complete Response or Partial Response and was estimated using the Kaplan-Meier method.
Time frame: From randomization (initiated in January 2010) until December 30, 2010.
Population: The analysis population included all participants randomized by September 22, 2010 and with a best overall confirmed response of complete response or partial response.
| Arm | Measure | Value (MEDIAN) |
|---|---|---|
| Vemurafenib | Duration of Response | 5.49 months |
| Dacarbazine | Duration of Response | NA months |
Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs)
The intensity of AEs was graded according to the NCI Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events v 4.0 (CTCAE) on a five-point scale (Grade 1 to 5: Mild, Moderate, Severe, Life-threatening and Death). A serious adverse event is any experience that suggests a significant hazard, contraindication, side effect or precaution, for example is life-threatening, requires hospitalization, results in persistent or significant disability/incapacity, is a congenital anomaly/birth defect or requires intervention to prevent one or other of the outcomes listed above.
Time frame: From randomization (initiated January 2010) until December 30, 2010.
Population: The safety population was defined as all treated participants who had at least one on-study assessment. The safety population was analyzed according to the treatment received.
| Arm | Measure | Group | Value (NUMBER) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vemurafenib | Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) | Any adverse event | 326 participants |
| Vemurafenib | Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) | Serious adverse event | 110 participants |
| Dacarbazine | Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) | Any adverse event | 253 participants |
| Dacarbazine | Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) | Serious adverse event | 45 participants |
Participants With a Best Overall Response (BOR) of Complete Response or Partial Response
BOR was defined as a complete response (CR) or partial response (PR) confirmed per Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors (RECIST) version 1.1. Participants who never received study treatment and treated participants without any post-baseline tumor assessments were considered as non-responders. CR: Disappearance of all target lesions, all non-target lesions and no new lesion. Any pathological lymph nodes must have had reduction in the short axis to \<10 mm. PR: At least a 30% decrease in the sum of diameters of target lesions, no progression in non-target lesion and no new lesion.
Time frame: From randomization (initiated January 2010) until December 30, 2010
Population: The analysis population consisted of all ITT participants randomized by September 22, 2010 (at least 14 weeks prior to the clinical cutoff date of December 30, 2010). The 14-week interval was chosen as it was the minimum time needed to observe a confirmed overall response according to protocol-specified schedule for the first two tumor assessments.
| Arm | Measure | Group | Value (NUMBER) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vemurafenib | Participants With a Best Overall Response (BOR) of Complete Response or Partial Response | Responders | 106 participants |
| Vemurafenib | Participants With a Best Overall Response (BOR) of Complete Response or Partial Response | Non-responders | 113 participants |
| Dacarbazine | Participants With a Best Overall Response (BOR) of Complete Response or Partial Response | Responders | 12 participants |
| Dacarbazine | Participants With a Best Overall Response (BOR) of Complete Response or Partial Response | Non-responders | 208 participants |
Pre and Post-dose Plasma Vemurafenib Concentration by Study Day
The pharmacokinetics of vemurafenib were assessed at the beginning of each 21-day cycle using pre-dose and 2-4 hours post-dose sampling.
Time frame: Plasma samples were collected before the morning dose (troughs) and 2-4 hours after the morning dose at the beginning of each cycle (Days 1, 22, 43, 64, 106, 148 and 190).
Population: The pharmacokinetic (PK) analysis population included all participants who received vemurafenib and provided valid PK assessments. The PK population at specific time points varied depending on the availability of confirmed dosing and PK assessment times. n indicates the number of participants with available PK data at each time point.
| Arm | Measure | Group | Value (MEAN) | Dispersion |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vemurafenib | Pre and Post-dose Plasma Vemurafenib Concentration by Study Day | Pre-Dose Day 1 (n = 260) | 0 μg/mL | Standard Deviation 0 |
| Vemurafenib | Pre and Post-dose Plasma Vemurafenib Concentration by Study Day | Post-Dose Day 1 (n = 255) | 4.3 μg/mL | Standard Deviation 4.35 |
| Vemurafenib | Pre and Post-dose Plasma Vemurafenib Concentration by Study Day | Pre-Dose Day 22 (n = 204) | 53.0 μg/mL | Standard Deviation 26.66 |
| Vemurafenib | Pre and Post-dose Plasma Vemurafenib Concentration by Study Day | Post-Dose Day 22 (n = 221) | 54.0 μg/mL | Standard Deviation 25.67 |
| Vemurafenib | Pre and Post-dose Plasma Vemurafenib Concentration by Study Day | Pre-Dose Day 43 (n = 166) | 54.4 μg/mL | Standard Deviation 24.13 |
| Vemurafenib | Pre and Post-dose Plasma Vemurafenib Concentration by Study Day | Post-Dose Day 43 (n = 170) | 54.4 μg/mL | Standard Deviation 23.28 |
| Vemurafenib | Pre and Post-dose Plasma Vemurafenib Concentration by Study Day | Pre-Dose Day 64 (n = 141) | 57.4 μg/mL | Standard Deviation 23.79 |
| Vemurafenib | Pre and Post-dose Plasma Vemurafenib Concentration by Study Day | Post-Dose Day 64 (n = 138) | 57.7 μg/mL | Standard Deviation 22.29 |
| Vemurafenib | Pre and Post-dose Plasma Vemurafenib Concentration by Study Day | Pre-Dose Day 106 (n = 77) | 55.0 μg/mL | Standard Deviation 17.62 |
| Vemurafenib | Pre and Post-dose Plasma Vemurafenib Concentration by Study Day | Post-Dose Day 106 (n = 75) | 56.3 μg/mL | Standard Deviation 20.36 |
| Vemurafenib | Pre and Post-dose Plasma Vemurafenib Concentration by Study Day | Pre-Dose Day 148 (n = 38) | 51.8 μg/mL | Standard Deviation 24.13 |
| Vemurafenib | Pre and Post-dose Plasma Vemurafenib Concentration by Study Day | Post-Dose Day 148 (n = 39) | 53.3 μg/mL | Standard Deviation 21.55 |
| Vemurafenib | Pre and Post-dose Plasma Vemurafenib Concentration by Study Day | Pre-Dose Day 190 (n = 9) | 53.6 μg/mL | Standard Deviation 12.6 |
| Vemurafenib | Pre and Post-dose Plasma Vemurafenib Concentration by Study Day | Post-Dose Day 190 (n = 9) | 50.5 μg/mL | Standard Deviation 20.16 |
Time to Confirmed Response
Time to response was defined as the time from randomization to confirmed response (complete response or partial response).
Time frame: From randomization (initiated January 2010) until December 30, 2010.
Population: The analysis population included all participants randomized by September 22, 2010 and with a best overall confirmed response of complete response or partial response.
| Arm | Measure | Value (MEDIAN) |
|---|---|---|
| Vemurafenib | Time to Confirmed Response | 1.45 months |
| Dacarbazine | Time to Confirmed Response | 2.72 months |
Time to Treatment Failure
Treatment failure was defined as a secondary endpoint in the protocol, defined as death, disease progression or premature withdrawal of study treatment. This endpoint was not included in the Statistical analysis plan; therefore no analyses of time to treatment failure were performed.
Time frame: approximately 3 years