Skip to content

Study of Participants With Advanced Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer

A Study of Pemetrexed Plus Carboplatin Followed by Maintenance Pemetrexed vs Paclitaxel Plus Carboplatin and Bevacizumab Followed by Maintenance Bevacizumab in Patients With Advanced NCSLC of Nonsquamous Histology

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT00948675
Enrollment
361
Registered
2009-07-29
Start date
2009-09-01
Completion date
2020-11-06
Last updated
2021-10-29

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Advanced Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer

Keywords

Advanced Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer of Nonsquamous Histology, Advanced Lung Cancer, Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer, Lung Cancer

Brief summary

The purpose of this study is to compare the regimens of pemetrexed, carboplatin with pemetrexed maintenance and paclitaxel, carboplatin, bevacizumab with bevacizumab maintenance in participants with Stage IV nonsquamous non-small cell lung cancer.

Detailed description

This is a multicenter, randomized, open-label, Phase III trial. Eligible participants will be randomized in a 1:1 ratio to receive pemetrexed and carboplatin followed by pemetrexed or paclitaxel, carboplatin, and bevacizumab followed by bevacizumab as their study treatment. Participants randomized to Pemetrexed + Carboplatin + Pemetrexed will receive folic acid, vitamin B12, and dexamethasone as stated in the pemetrexed label. Before administration of paclitaxel, participants randomized to Paclitaxel + Carboplatin + Bevacizumab will receive premedication (dexamethasone, diphenhydramine, and cimetidine or ranitidine) as recommended in the paclitaxel label.

Interventions

DRUGPemetrexed

Induction therapy: 500 milligrams/square meter (mg/m²) given intravenously every 21 days for 4 cycles. Maintenance therapy: 500 mg/m² given intravenously every 21 days until disease progression or treatment discontinuation.

DRUGCarboplatin

Induction Therapy (every 21 days for 4 cycles): Area Under the Curve (AUC) 6 \[maximum possible dose of 900 milligrams (mg)\] intravenously infused over 30 minutes.

DRUGPaclitaxel

Induction Therapy (every 21 days for 4 cycles): 200 mg/m² intravenously infused over 3 hours

BIOLOGICALBevacizumab

Induction therapy: 15 milligrams/kilogram (mg/kg) given intravenously every 21 days for 4 cycles. Maintenance therapy: 15 mg/kg given intravenously every 21 days until disease progression or treatment discontinuation.

Sponsors

Eli Lilly and Company
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* a histologic or cytologic diagnosis of advanced non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) \[Stage IV from the American Joint Committee on Cancer Staging Criteria (AJCC) staging system, version 7.0, including both M1a and M1b\], other than predominantly squamous cell histology, that is not amenable to curative therapy. Participants may not have received any prior systemic chemotherapy, immunotherapy, targeted therapy, or biological therapy, including adjuvant therapy, for any stage of NSCLC. * prior radiation therapy is allowed to \< 25% of the bone marrow; however, prior radiation to the whole pelvis not allowed. * good performance status. * adequate organ function. * estimated life expectancy of at least 12 weeks.

Exclusion criteria

* known central nervous system (CNS) disease, other than treated brain metastasis. * major surgical procedure, open biopsy, open pleurodesis, or significant traumatic injury within 28 days prior to study or have an anticipated need for major surgery during the study. * core biopsy or other minor surgical procedure, excluding placement of vascular access device, closed pleurodesis, thoracentesis, and mediastinoscopy, within 7 days prior to study. * history of gastrointestinal fistula, perforation, or abscess, inflammatory bowel disease, or diverticulitis. * currently receiving ongoing treatment with full-dose warfarin or equivalent * significant vascular disease within 6 months prior to Day 1 of Cycle 1. * evidence of bleeding diathesis or coagulopathy. * serious concomitant systemic disorder that, in the opinion of the investigator, would compromise the participant's ability to adhere to the protocol. * serious cardiac condition, such as myocardial infarction, angina, or heart disease. * inadequately controlled hypertension. * any prior history of hypertensive crisis or hypertensive encephalopathy. * serious, nonhealing wound, active ulcer, or untreated bone fracture. * another active malignancy, other than superficial basal cell and superficial squamous (skin) cell, or carcinoma in situ of the cervix within the last 5 years. * previously received treatment with paclitaxel, carboplatin, pemetrexed, or bevacizumab (prior intravitreal administration of bevacizumab does not preclude study participation). * pregnant or breast-feeding. * history of stroke or transient ischemic attack within 6 months prior to study. * known sensitivity to any component of paclitaxel, carboplatin, pemetrexed, or bevacizumab. * history of hemoptysis within 3 months prior to randomization. * unable to interrupt aspirin or other nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs). * unwilling to take folic acid or vitamin B12 supplementation. * clinically significant third-space fluid collections, for example, ascites or pleural effusions that cannot be controlled by drainage. Participants with M1a disease with pleural effusions are eligible if the effusions can be adequately controlled.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Progression Free Survival Without Grade 4 Toxicity (G4PFS) as Measured by the Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 3.0Randomization to measured progressive disease or treatment discontinuation up to 39.49 monthsG4PFS was defined as the duration from the date of randomization to the earliest occurrence date of one of the following three events: Common Terminology Criteria (CTC) grade 4 adverse events (G4AEs), or progressive disease (PD) or death from any cause, whichever occurred earlier. PD was determined using Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors (RECIST) criteria version 1.0. PD is ≥20% increase in sum of longest diameter of target lesions or the appearance of new lesions. For participants who had no G4AEs, or PD, or death at the time of the data inclusion cutoff, PFS was censored at their last objective progression-free disease assessment prior to the cutoff date or the date of initiation of subsequent systemic anticancer therapy.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Progression Free Survival (PFS)Randomization to measured progressive disease up to 39.49 monthsPFS was defined as the duration from the date of randomization to the date of progressive disease (PD) or death from any cause. PD was determined using Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors (RECIST) criteria version 1.0. PD was ≥20% increase in sum of longest diameter of target lesions or the appearance of new lesions. For participants who had no PD or death at the time of the data inclusion cutoff, PFS was censored at their last objective progression-free disease assessment prior to the cutoff date or the date of initiation of subsequent systemic anticancer therapy.
Overall Survival (OS)Randomization to date of death from any cause up to 39.49 monthsOS was defined as the duration from the date of randomization to the date of death from any cause. For participants who were alive at the time of the data inclusion cutoff, OS was censored at the last date the participant was known to be alive.
Percentage of Participants With Complete Response or Partial Response (Overall Tumor Response Rate)Baseline to date of objective progressive disease up to 39.49 monthsOverall Response rate (ORR) was the percentage of participants with a confirmed complete response (CR) or partial response (PR), as classified by the investigators according to the Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors (RECIST) criteria version 1.0. CR was the disappearance of all target and non-target lesions; PR was a ≥30% decrease in sum of longest diameter of target lesions without new lesion and progression of non-target lesions. ORR was calculated as a total number of participants with CR or PR from the start of study treatment until disease progression or recurrence divided by the total number of participants treated, then multiplied by 100.
Disease Control Rates Defined as Complete Response (CR), Partial Response (PR), and Stable Disease (SD)Baseline to date of objective progressive disease up to 39.49 monthsDisease control rate was the percentage of participants with a confirmed CR, PR or SD, as classified by the investigators according to the Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors (RECIST) criteria version 1.0. CR was the disappearance of all target and non-target lesions; PR was a ≥30% decrease in sum of longest diameter of target lesions without new lesion and progression of non-target lesion; SD was neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase to qualify for progressive disease. Disease control rate was calculated as a total number of participants with CR or PR or SD divided by the total number of participants treated, then multiplied by 100.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Pre-assignment details

Completers included participants who died, participants with progressive disease and those who got randomized but didn't receive any treatment.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Pemetrexed + Carboplatin
Induction therapy: pemetrexed 500 milligrams/square meter (mg/m²) given intravenously plus carboplatin area under the curve (AUC) 6 \[maximum possible dose of 900 milligrams (mg)\] intravenously infused over 30 minutes for four 21-day cycles. Maintenance therapy: pemetrexed 500 mg/m² given intravenously every 21 days until disease progression or treatment discontinuation.
182
Paclitaxel + Carboplatin + Bevacizumab
Induction therapy: paclitaxel 200 mg/m² intravenously infused over 3 hours plus carboplatin AUC 6 (maximum possible dose of 900 mg) intravenously infused over 30 minutes plus bevacizumab 15 milligrams/kilogram (mg/kg) given intravenously for four 21-day cycles. Maintenance therapy: bevacizumab 15 mg/kg given intravenously every 21 days until disease progression or treatment discontinuation.
179
Total361

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001
Overall StudyLost to Follow-up10

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicPemetrexed + CarboplatinTotalPaclitaxel + Carboplatin + Bevacizumab
Age, Continuous64.8 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 9.62
64.7 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 9.22
64.6 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.82
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
4 Participants9 Participants5 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
178 Participants352 Participants174 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants2 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
4 Participants4 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
11 Participants31 Participants20 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
2 Participants2 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
165 Participants322 Participants157 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
182 Participants361 Participants179 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
77 Participants152 Participants75 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
105 Participants209 Participants104 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
— / —— / —
other
Total, other adverse events
167 / 171160 / 166
serious
Total, serious adverse events
76 / 17164 / 166

Outcome results

Primary

Progression Free Survival Without Grade 4 Toxicity (G4PFS) as Measured by the Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 3.0

G4PFS was defined as the duration from the date of randomization to the earliest occurrence date of one of the following three events: Common Terminology Criteria (CTC) grade 4 adverse events (G4AEs), or progressive disease (PD) or death from any cause, whichever occurred earlier. PD was determined using Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors (RECIST) criteria version 1.0. PD is ≥20% increase in sum of longest diameter of target lesions or the appearance of new lesions. For participants who had no G4AEs, or PD, or death at the time of the data inclusion cutoff, PFS was censored at their last objective progression-free disease assessment prior to the cutoff date or the date of initiation of subsequent systemic anticancer therapy.

Time frame: Randomization to measured progressive disease or treatment discontinuation up to 39.49 months

Population: All randomized participants. The number of participants censored was 30 for pemetrexed + carboplatin group and 35 for paclitaxel + carboplatin + bevacizumab group.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Pemetrexed + CarboplatinProgression Free Survival Without Grade 4 Toxicity (G4PFS) as Measured by the Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 3.03.91 months
Paclitaxel + Carboplatin + BevacizumabProgression Free Survival Without Grade 4 Toxicity (G4PFS) as Measured by the Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 3.02.86 months
p-value: 0.176Log Rank
Secondary

Disease Control Rates Defined as Complete Response (CR), Partial Response (PR), and Stable Disease (SD)

Disease control rate was the percentage of participants with a confirmed CR, PR or SD, as classified by the investigators according to the Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors (RECIST) criteria version 1.0. CR was the disappearance of all target and non-target lesions; PR was a ≥30% decrease in sum of longest diameter of target lesions without new lesion and progression of non-target lesion; SD was neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase to qualify for progressive disease. Disease control rate was calculated as a total number of participants with CR or PR or SD divided by the total number of participants treated, then multiplied by 100.

Time frame: Baseline to date of objective progressive disease up to 39.49 months

Population: All randomized participants.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Pemetrexed + CarboplatinDisease Control Rates Defined as Complete Response (CR), Partial Response (PR), and Stable Disease (SD)59.9 percentage of participants
Paclitaxel + Carboplatin + BevacizumabDisease Control Rates Defined as Complete Response (CR), Partial Response (PR), and Stable Disease (SD)57.0 percentage of participants
p-value: 0.575Pearson Chi-square Test
Secondary

Overall Survival (OS)

OS was defined as the duration from the date of randomization to the date of death from any cause. For participants who were alive at the time of the data inclusion cutoff, OS was censored at the last date the participant was known to be alive.

Time frame: Randomization to date of death from any cause up to 39.49 months

Population: All randomized participants. The number of participants censored was 52 for pemetrexed + carboplatin group and 56 for paclitaxel + carboplatin + bevacizumab group.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Pemetrexed + CarboplatinOverall Survival (OS)10.51 months
Paclitaxel + Carboplatin + BevacizumabOverall Survival (OS)11.66 months
p-value: 0.615Log Rank
Secondary

Percentage of Participants With Complete Response or Partial Response (Overall Tumor Response Rate)

Overall Response rate (ORR) was the percentage of participants with a confirmed complete response (CR) or partial response (PR), as classified by the investigators according to the Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors (RECIST) criteria version 1.0. CR was the disappearance of all target and non-target lesions; PR was a ≥30% decrease in sum of longest diameter of target lesions without new lesion and progression of non-target lesions. ORR was calculated as a total number of participants with CR or PR from the start of study treatment until disease progression or recurrence divided by the total number of participants treated, then multiplied by 100.

Time frame: Baseline to date of objective progressive disease up to 39.49 months

Population: All randomized participants.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Pemetrexed + CarboplatinPercentage of Participants With Complete Response or Partial Response (Overall Tumor Response Rate)23.6 percentage of participants
Paclitaxel + Carboplatin + BevacizumabPercentage of Participants With Complete Response or Partial Response (Overall Tumor Response Rate)27.4 percentage of participants
p-value: 0.414Pearson Chi-square Test
Secondary

Progression Free Survival (PFS)

PFS was defined as the duration from the date of randomization to the date of progressive disease (PD) or death from any cause. PD was determined using Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors (RECIST) criteria version 1.0. PD was ≥20% increase in sum of longest diameter of target lesions or the appearance of new lesions. For participants who had no PD or death at the time of the data inclusion cutoff, PFS was censored at their last objective progression-free disease assessment prior to the cutoff date or the date of initiation of subsequent systemic anticancer therapy.

Time frame: Randomization to measured progressive disease up to 39.49 months

Population: All randomized participants. The number of participants censored was 35 for pemetrexed + carboplatin group and 49 for paclitaxel + carboplatin + bevacizumab group.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Pemetrexed + CarboplatinProgression Free Survival (PFS)4.44 months
Paclitaxel + Carboplatin + BevacizumabProgression Free Survival (PFS)5.45 months
p-value: 0.61Log Rank

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Mar 10, 2026