Skip to content

Vascular Endothelial Growth Factor (VEGF) Trap-Eye: Investigation of Efficacy and Safety in Central Retinal Vein Occlusion (CRVO)

A Randomized, Double Masked, Controlled Phase 3 Study of the Efficacy, Safety, and Tolerability of Repeated Intravitreal Administration of Vascular Endothelial Growth Factor Trap-Eye in Subjects With Macular Edema Secondary to Central Retinal Vein Occlusion

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT00943072
Enrollment
189
Registered
2009-07-21
Start date
2009-07-31
Completion date
2012-04-30
Last updated
2013-05-27

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Macular Edema Secondary to Central Retinal Vein Occlusion

Keywords

Macular edema, Retinal vein occlusion, CRVO, VEGF Trap-Eye, best-corrected visual acuity, Regeneron, COPERNICUS

Brief summary

This is a phase 3 study to determine the efficacy of VEGF Trap-Eye injected into the eye on vision function in subjects with macular edema as a consequence of central retinal vein occlusion.

Interventions

BIOLOGICALVEGF Trap-Eye 2.0mg

Monthly intravitreal injection out to the Week 24 Primary endpoint

DRUGSham

Monthly sham intravitreal injection out to Week 24 Primary Endpoint

Sponsors

Bayer
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
Regeneron Pharmaceuticals
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
QUADRUPLE (Subject, Caregiver, Investigator, Outcomes Assessor)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Subjects at least 18 years of age with center-involved macular edema secondary to CRVO with mean central retinal thickness ≥ 250 μm on OCT * ETDRS best corrected visual acuity of 20/40 to 20/320 (73 to 24 letters) in the study eye

Exclusion criteria

* Previous treatment with anti-angiogenic drugs in the study eye (Pegaptanib sodium,anecortave acetate, bevacizumab, ranibizumab, etc.) * Prior panretinal laser photocoagulation or macular laser photocoagulation in the study eye * CRVO disease duration \> 9 months from date of diagnosis * Previous use of intraocular corticosteroids in the study eye or use of periocular corticosteroids in the study eye within the 3 months prior to Day 1 * Iris neovascularization, vitreous hemorrhage, traction retinal detachment, or preretinal fibrosis involving the macula in either the study eye or fellow eye

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Percentage of Participants Who Gained at Least 15 Letters in BCVA at Week 24 as Measured by ETDRS Letter ScoreBaseline and at Week 24Percentage values indicate the number of subjects in each arm who were able to read an additional 15 letters or more at Week 24 compared to baseline. Defined study baseline range of ETDRS Best Corrected Visual Acuity letter score of 73 to 24 letters (= Acuity of 20/40 to 20/320) in the study eye; a higher score represents better functioning.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Change From Baseline in BCVA as Measured by ETDRS Letter Score at Week 24 - Last Observation Carried Forward (LOCF)Baseline and at Week 24Defined study baseline range of ETDRS Best Corrected Visual Acuity letter score of 73 to 24 (= Acuity of 20/40 to 20/320) in the study eye; a higher score represents better functioning.
Change From Baseline in Central Retinal Thickness (CRT) at Week 24 - LOCFBaseline and at Week 24
Percentage of Participants Progressing to Any of the Following: Anterior Segment Neovascularization, New Vessels of the Disc (NVD) or New Vessels Elsewhere (NVE) During the First 24 WeeksBaseline to Week 24
Change From Baseline in the NEI VFQ-25 in Total Score at Week 24 (LOCF)Baseline and at Week 24The NEI VFQ-25 assesses visual function and quality of life. Total score ranges from 0-100 with a score of 0 being the worst outcome and 100 being the best outcome. The NEI VFQ questionnaire is organized as a collection of subscales which are all scored from 0-100. To reach the overall composite score, each sub-scale score is averaged in order to give each sub-scale equal weight.

Countries

Canada, Colombia, India, Israel, United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

The study was conducted at 55 study centers in the United States, Canada, Columbia, India, and Israel. The recruitment period occurred between 08 Jul 2009 and 29 Apr 2010.

Pre-assignment details

273 participants were screened, 189 randomized, and 188 were included in the Safety Analysis Set (SAF). The Full Analysis Set (FAS) included 187 participants with at least one post-baseline assessment.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Intravitreal Aflibercept Injection (EYLEA, VEGF Trap-Eye)
Participants received a 2 mg Intravitreal Aflibercept Injection (IAI) every 4 weeks (2Q4) from Baseline (Day 1) to Week 24.
114
Sham Treatment
Participants received sham treatment every 4 weeks from Baseline (Day 1) to Week 24.
74
Total188

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001
Overall StudyAdverse Event03
Overall StudyDeath02
Overall StudyLack of Efficacy04
Overall StudyLost to Follow-up12
Overall StudyOther11
Overall StudyProtocol Violation01
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject31

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicSham TreatmentTotalIntravitreal Aflibercept Injection (EYLEA, VEGF Trap-Eye)
Age Continuous67.5 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 14.22
66.3 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 13.83
65.5 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 13.57
Baseline Best Corrected Visual Acuity (BCVA) Letter Score48.7 letters correctly read
STANDARD_DEVIATION 14.41
49.9 letters correctly read
STANDARD_DEVIATION 14.1
50.7 letters correctly read
STANDARD_DEVIATION 13.9
Baseline Intraocular Pressure15.0 millimeters of mercury (mmHg)
STANDARD_DEVIATION 2.83
15.1 millimeters of mercury (mmHg)
STANDARD_DEVIATION 3.09
15.1 millimeters of mercury (mmHg)
STANDARD_DEVIATION 3.26
Baseline National Eye Institute 25-item Visual Function Questionnaire (NEI VFQ-25) Total Score78.01 scores on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 16.26
77.81 scores on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 16.04
77.67 scores on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 15.96
Baseline Retinal Thickness by Optical Coherence Tomography (OCT)678.4 microns
STANDARD_DEVIATION 248.66
668.1 microns
STANDARD_DEVIATION 241.23
661.7 microns
STANDARD_DEVIATION 237.37
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
12 Participants30 Participants18 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
62 Participants158 Participants96 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Number of Participants with Retinal Perfusion at Baseline
Indeterminate
12 participants32 participants20 participants
Number of Participants with Retinal Perfusion at Baseline
Non-Perfused
12 participants29 participants17 participants
Number of Participants with Retinal Perfusion at Baseline
Perfused
50 participants127 participants77 participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants2 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
2 Participants9 Participants7 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
5 Participants10 Participants5 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
6 Participants18 Participants12 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
1 Participants1 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
60 Participants148 Participants88 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
35 Participants80 Participants45 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
39 Participants108 Participants69 Participants
Time Since Central Retinal Vein Occlusion (CRVO) Diagnosis
</= 2 Months
53 participants117 participants64 participants
Time Since Central Retinal Vein Occlusion (CRVO) Diagnosis
> 2 Months
21 participants70 participants49 participants
Time Since Central Retinal Vein Occlusion (CRVO) Diagnosis
Missing
0 participants1 participants1 participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
EG003
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
— / —— / —— / —— / —
other
Total, other adverse events
57 / 11434 / 7476 / 11050 / 60
serious
Total, serious adverse events
6 / 1146 / 7420 / 11014 / 60

Outcome results

Primary

Percentage of Participants Who Gained at Least 15 Letters in BCVA at Week 24 as Measured by ETDRS Letter Score

Percentage values indicate the number of subjects in each arm who were able to read an additional 15 letters or more at Week 24 compared to baseline. Defined study baseline range of ETDRS Best Corrected Visual Acuity letter score of 73 to 24 letters (= Acuity of 20/40 to 20/320) in the study eye; a higher score represents better functioning.

Time frame: Baseline and at Week 24

Population: Full Analysis Set

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Intravitreal Aflibercept Injection (EYLEA, VEGF Trap-Eye)Percentage of Participants Who Gained at Least 15 Letters in BCVA at Week 24 as Measured by ETDRS Letter Score64 percentage of participants
Sham TreatmentPercentage of Participants Who Gained at Least 15 Letters in BCVA at Week 24 as Measured by ETDRS Letter Score9 percentage of participants
p-value: <0.000195% CI: [33, 56.6]Cochran-Mantel-Haenszel
Secondary

Change From Baseline in BCVA as Measured by ETDRS Letter Score at Week 24 - Last Observation Carried Forward (LOCF)

Defined study baseline range of ETDRS Best Corrected Visual Acuity letter score of 73 to 24 (= Acuity of 20/40 to 20/320) in the study eye; a higher score represents better functioning.

Time frame: Baseline and at Week 24

Population: Full Analysis Set

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Intravitreal Aflibercept Injection (EYLEA, VEGF Trap-Eye)Change From Baseline in BCVA as Measured by ETDRS Letter Score at Week 24 - Last Observation Carried Forward (LOCF)17.3 letters correctly readStandard Deviation 12.78
Sham TreatmentChange From Baseline in BCVA as Measured by ETDRS Letter Score at Week 24 - Last Observation Carried Forward (LOCF)-4.0 letters correctly readStandard Deviation 17.96
p-value: <0.000195% CI: [17.36, 26.04]ANCOVA
ANCOVA
Secondary

Change From Baseline in Central Retinal Thickness (CRT) at Week 24 - LOCF

Time frame: Baseline and at Week 24

Population: Full Analysis Set

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Intravitreal Aflibercept Injection (EYLEA, VEGF Trap-Eye)Change From Baseline in Central Retinal Thickness (CRT) at Week 24 - LOCF-457.2 micronsStandard Deviation 238.21
Sham TreatmentChange From Baseline in Central Retinal Thickness (CRT) at Week 24 - LOCF-144.8 micronsStandard Deviation 291.07
p-value: <0.000195% CI: [-389.4, -234.4]ANCOVA
ANCOVA
Secondary

Change From Baseline in the NEI VFQ-25 in Total Score at Week 24 (LOCF)

The NEI VFQ-25 assesses visual function and quality of life. Total score ranges from 0-100 with a score of 0 being the worst outcome and 100 being the best outcome. The NEI VFQ questionnaire is organized as a collection of subscales which are all scored from 0-100. To reach the overall composite score, each sub-scale score is averaged in order to give each sub-scale equal weight.

Time frame: Baseline and at Week 24

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Intravitreal Aflibercept Injection (EYLEA, VEGF Trap-Eye)Change From Baseline in the NEI VFQ-25 in Total Score at Week 24 (LOCF)7.2 scores on a scaleStandard Deviation 12.11
Sham TreatmentChange From Baseline in the NEI VFQ-25 in Total Score at Week 24 (LOCF)0.8 scores on a scaleStandard Deviation 9.79
p-value: 0.000995% CI: [2.61, 9.91]ANCOVA
ANCOVA
Secondary

Percentage of Participants Progressing to Any of the Following: Anterior Segment Neovascularization, New Vessels of the Disc (NVD) or New Vessels Elsewhere (NVE) During the First 24 Weeks

Time frame: Baseline to Week 24

Population: Full Analysis Set

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
Intravitreal Aflibercept Injection (EYLEA, VEGF Trap-Eye)Percentage of Participants Progressing to Any of the Following: Anterior Segment Neovascularization, New Vessels of the Disc (NVD) or New Vessels Elsewhere (NVE) During the First 24 WeeksAny neovascularization0 percentage of participants
Intravitreal Aflibercept Injection (EYLEA, VEGF Trap-Eye)Percentage of Participants Progressing to Any of the Following: Anterior Segment Neovascularization, New Vessels of the Disc (NVD) or New Vessels Elsewhere (NVE) During the First 24 WeeksNeovascularization of the optic disc (NVD)0 percentage of participants
Intravitreal Aflibercept Injection (EYLEA, VEGF Trap-Eye)Percentage of Participants Progressing to Any of the Following: Anterior Segment Neovascularization, New Vessels of the Disc (NVD) or New Vessels Elsewhere (NVE) During the First 24 WeeksNeovascularization elsewhere in the fundus (NVE)0 percentage of participants
Intravitreal Aflibercept Injection (EYLEA, VEGF Trap-Eye)Percentage of Participants Progressing to Any of the Following: Anterior Segment Neovascularization, New Vessels of the Disc (NVD) or New Vessels Elsewhere (NVE) During the First 24 WeeksAnterior segment neovascularization0 percentage of participants
Sham TreatmentPercentage of Participants Progressing to Any of the Following: Anterior Segment Neovascularization, New Vessels of the Disc (NVD) or New Vessels Elsewhere (NVE) During the First 24 WeeksNeovascularization elsewhere in the fundus (NVE)0 percentage of participants
Sham TreatmentPercentage of Participants Progressing to Any of the Following: Anterior Segment Neovascularization, New Vessels of the Disc (NVD) or New Vessels Elsewhere (NVE) During the First 24 WeeksAny neovascularization6.8 percentage of participants
Sham TreatmentPercentage of Participants Progressing to Any of the Following: Anterior Segment Neovascularization, New Vessels of the Disc (NVD) or New Vessels Elsewhere (NVE) During the First 24 WeeksAnterior segment neovascularization6.8 percentage of participants
Sham TreatmentPercentage of Participants Progressing to Any of the Following: Anterior Segment Neovascularization, New Vessels of the Disc (NVD) or New Vessels Elsewhere (NVE) During the First 24 WeeksNeovascularization of the optic disc (NVD)0 percentage of participants
p-value: 0.005995% CI: [-12.2, -1.1]Cochran-Mantel-Haenszel

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026