Osteoporosis
Conditions
Keywords
osteoporosis, postmenopausal, denosumab, teriparatide, Forteo®, DXA, Bone Mineral Density, pQCT
Brief summary
The aim of this study is to determine whether denosumab (an FDA-approved osteoporosis therapy), in combination with teriparatide (an FDA-approved osteoporosis therapy), will increase bone mineral density more than either one alone in postmenopausal osteoporotic women.
Interventions
denosumab: 60 mg SC every 6 months
teriparatide: 20 mcg SC QD
Sponsors
Study design
Eligibility
Inclusion criteria
Must satisfy A and B and C and D below: * (A) Women aged \> 55 * (B) Postmenopausal * (C) Osteoporotic with high risk of fracture
Exclusion criteria
* Confirmed serum alkaline phosphatase above upper normal limit with no explanation * Liver disease (AST or ALT \> 2 x upper normal limit). * Renal disease (serum creatinine \> 2.0 mg/dl). * Hypercalcemia (Ca \>10.5 mg/dL) * Elevated blood PTH (intact PTH \> 65 pg/ml) * Serum 25-OH vitamin D \< 20 ng/ml * HCT \< 32%. * History of malignancy (except basal cell carcinoma) or radiation therapy. * Significant cardiopulmonary disease including unstable coronary artery disease, stage D ACC/AHA heart failure or any other condition that the investigator deems may preclude the subject from participating safely or completing the protocol procedures. * Major psychiatric disease that in the opinion of the investigator would preclude the subject from providing adequate informed consent or completing the protocol procedures. * Excessive alcohol use or substance abuse that in the opinion of the investigator would preclude the subject from providing adequate informed consent or completing the protocol procedures. * Known congenital or acquired bone disease other than osteoporosis (including osteomalacia, hyperparathyroidism, Paget's disease) * Current use or use in the past 6 months of oral bisphosphonate * Current use or use within the past 3 months of estrogens, selective estrogen receptor modulators, or calcitonin. * Use of oral or parenteral glucocorticoids for more than 14 days within the past 6 months. * Any current or previous use of strontium or any parenteral bisphosphonate. * Known sensitivity to mammalian cell-derived drug products. * Known sensitivity to teriparatide or any of its excipients.
Design outcomes
Primary
| Measure | Time frame |
|---|---|
| Change in Spine Bone Density From Baseline to 2 Years | Baseline and 2 years |
Countries
United States
Participant flow
Participants by arm
| Arm | Count |
|---|---|
| Denosumab ONLY denosumab: denosumab: 60 mg SC every 6 months | 33 |
| Teriparatide (Forteo®) ONLY teriparatide: teriparatide: 20 mcg SC QD | 31 |
| Denosumab and Teriparatide (Forteo®) denosumab: denosumab: 60 mg SC every 6 months
teriparatide: teriparatide: 20 mcg SC QD | 30 |
| Total | 94 |
Baseline characteristics
| Characteristic | Denosumab ONLY | Teriparatide (Forteo®) ONLY | Denosumab and Teriparatide (Forteo®) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 25-Hydroxyvitamin D (ng/mL) | 35.3 ng/mL STANDARD_DEVIATION 10.5 | 31.2 ng/mL STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.5 | 33.9 ng/mL STANDARD_DEVIATION 11.8 | 33.5 ng/mL STANDARD_DEVIATION 10.5 |
| Age, Continuous | 66.3 years STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.3 | 65.5 years STANDARD_DEVIATION 7.9 | 65.9 years STANDARD_DEVIATION 9 | 65.9 years STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.3 |
| Alkaline phosphatase concentration in serum (U/L) | 78.8 U/L STANDARD_DEVIATION 16.8 | 75.8 U/L STANDARD_DEVIATION 16.8 | 84.2 U/L STANDARD_DEVIATION 20.8 | 79.6 U/L STANDARD_DEVIATION 18.4 |
| Body-mass index | 24.1 kg/m^2 STANDARD_DEVIATION 3.9 | 25.5 kg/m^2 STANDARD_DEVIATION 3.8 | 25.4 kg/m^2 STANDARD_DEVIATION 4.9 | 25.0 kg/m^2 STANDARD_DEVIATION 4.2 |
| DXA Bone Density (g/cm^2) (Distal 1/3 of the radius shaft) | 0.602 g/cm^2 STANDARD_DEVIATION 0.082 | 0.612 g/cm^2 STANDARD_DEVIATION 0.069 | 0.613 g/cm^2 STANDARD_DEVIATION 0.07 | 0.609 g/cm^2 STANDARD_DEVIATION 0.073 |
| DXA Bone Density (g/cm^2) (Femoral neck) | 0.641 g/cm^2 STANDARD_DEVIATION 0.086 | 0.643 g/cm^2 STANDARD_DEVIATION 0.061 | 0.642 g/cm^2 STANDARD_DEVIATION 0.067 | 0.642 g/cm^2 STANDARD_DEVIATION 0.071 |
| DXA Bone Density (g/cm^2) (Posterior-anterior lumbar spine) | 0.866 g/cm^2 STANDARD_DEVIATION 0.088 | 0.823 g/cm^2 STANDARD_DEVIATION 0.111 | 0.856 g/cm^2 STANDARD_DEVIATION 0.131 | 0.848 g/cm^2 STANDARD_DEVIATION 0.112 |
| DXA Bone Density (g/cm^2) (Total hip) | 0.766 g/cm^2 STANDARD_DEVIATION 0.1 | 0.757 g/cm^2 STANDARD_DEVIATION 0.068 | 0.759 g/cm^2 STANDARD_DEVIATION 0.073 | 0.761 g/cm^2 STANDARD_DEVIATION 0.081 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB) Hispanic or Latino | 1 Participants | 0 Participants | 1 Participants | 2 Participants |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB) Not Hispanic or Latino | 32 Participants | 31 Participants | 29 Participants | 92 Participants |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB) Unknown or Not Reported | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants |
| History of fragility fracture | 12 Participants | 16 Participants | 10 Participants | 38 Participants |
| Osteocalcin (ng/mL) | 42.9 ng/mL STANDARD_DEVIATION 19.4 | 49.0 ng/mL STANDARD_DEVIATION 28.8 | 52.2 ng/mL STANDARD_DEVIATION 29.9 | 47.8 ng/mL STANDARD_DEVIATION 26.2 |
| Previous oral bisphosphonate use | 12 Participants | 13 Participants | 10 Participants | 35 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) Asian | 1 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 1 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) Black or African American | 1 Participants | 0 Participants | 2 Participants | 3 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) More than one race | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) Unknown or Not Reported | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) White | 31 Participants | 31 Participants | 28 Participants | 90 Participants |
| Region of Enrollment United States | 33 Participants | 31 Participants | 30 Participants | 94 Participants |
| Serum amino-terminal propeptide of type 1 procollagen (P1NP) (µg/L) | 45.7 µg/L STANDARD_DEVIATION 16.7 | 46.0 µg/L STANDARD_DEVIATION 19.5 | 49.3 µg/L STANDARD_DEVIATION 20.9 | 47.1 µg/L STANDARD_DEVIATION 19 |
| Serum β-C-terminal telopeptide of type 1 collagen (CTX) (ng/mL) | 0.39 ng/mL STANDARD_DEVIATION 0.21 | 0.36 ng/mL STANDARD_DEVIATION 0.15 | 0.43 ng/mL STANDARD_DEVIATION 0.17 | 0.39 ng/mL STANDARD_DEVIATION 0.18 |
| Sex: Female, Male Female | 33 Participants | 31 Participants | 30 Participants | 94 Participants |
| Sex: Female, Male Male | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants |
Adverse events
| Event type | EG000 affected / at risk | EG001 affected / at risk | EG002 affected / at risk |
|---|---|---|---|
| deaths Total, all-cause mortality | — / — | — / — | — / — |
| other Total, other adverse events | 4 / 33 | 5 / 31 | 4 / 30 |
| serious Total, serious adverse events | 1 / 33 | 2 / 31 | 1 / 30 |
Outcome results
Change in Spine Bone Density From Baseline to 2 Years
Time frame: Baseline and 2 years
| Arm | Measure | Value (MEAN) | Dispersion |
|---|---|---|---|
| Denosumab ONLY | Change in Spine Bone Density From Baseline to 2 Years | 8.3 percent change | Standard Error 3.4 |
| Teriparatide (Forteo®) ONLY | Change in Spine Bone Density From Baseline to 2 Years | 9.5 percent change | Standard Error 5.9 |
| Denosumab and Teriparatide (Forteo®) | Change in Spine Bone Density From Baseline to 2 Years | 12.9 percent change | Standard Error 5 |