Skip to content

Rehabilitation of the Upper Extremity With Enhanced Proprioceptive Feedback Following Incomplete Spinal Cord Injury

Rehabilitation of the Upper Extremity With Enhanced Proprioceptive Feedback Following Incomplete Spinal Cord Injury (SCI)

Status
Completed
Phases
NA
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT00833105
Enrollment
13
Registered
2009-01-30
Start date
2009-01-31
Completion date
2012-01-31
Last updated
2019-05-01

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Paresis, Plegia, Spinal Cord Injury, Tetraplegia

Keywords

Incomplete Spinal Cord Injury, Rehabilitation, Upper Extremity, AMES device, Incomplete SCI, Quadriplegia

Brief summary

The purpose of this study is to determine if tetraplegic individuals with incomplete spinal cord injury (SCI) who remain unable to move their arms normally 1 year after their SCIs are able to sense and move the affected arm(s) better after 10-13 weeks of treatment with a new robotic therapy device. The hypothesis is that using the AMES device on the arm(s) of chronic tetraplegic subjects with incomplete SCI will result in improved strength, sensation, and functional movement in treated limb(s).

Detailed description

Traumatic spinal cord injury (SCI) affects over 200,000 people in the USA, with several thousand new injuries each year. Most recovery, following SCI, occurs in the six months following surgery. Further recovery after 12 months is unusual. In this study 13 subjects, more than 1 year post injury, were enrolled to test the safety and efficacy of a new type of robotic therapy device known as the AMES device. The aim of this Phase I/II study is to investigate the use of assisted movement and enhanced sensation (AMES) technology in hand rehabilitation of incomplete SCI subjects.

Interventions

The AMES device rotates the fingers-thumb or the wrist in the flexion-extension directions over a range of 30 degrees while vibrators stimulate the tendons attached to muscles that are lengthened by the thumb-finger or hand movement. A treatment consists of 20 minutes of fingers-thumb movement, followed by 10 minutes of wrist movement. The subject's task is to assist the motion of the device.

Sponsors

Shepherd Center, Atlanta GA
CollaboratorOTHER
Oregon Health and Science University
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to 65 Years
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Traumatic SCI with tetraplegia. * Male or female. * 18-65 yrs old. * At least 1 yr post-SCI. * Tolerate sitting upright at for at least one hour. * Able to perceive direction of passive joint(s) motion of the upper extremity(ies) to be treated 70% or more of the times tested. * Motor grade \>1 in the wrist extensors, finger flexors and finger abductors (the 3 muscles related to hand movements in the ASIA scale) in the upper extremity tested. * Cognitively and behaviorally capable of complying with the regimen.

Exclusion criteria

* Fracture of the treated limb resulting in loss of range of motion * Concomitant TBI or stroke (Patients who sustained mild head injury during the trauma with no evidence of structural abnormalities on brain images will qualify for the study) * DVT of the treated extremity * Peripheral nerve injury of the treated extremity * Osteo- or rheumatoid-arthritis limiting range of motion * Contractures equal to or greater than 50% of the normal ROM * Skin condition not tolerant of device * Progressive neurodegenerative disorder * Botox treatment of the treated extremity in the prior 5 month * Chronic ITB therapy * Uncontrolled seizure disorder * Uncontrolled high blood pressure/angina * Pain in affected limb or exercise intolerance

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Grasp Release TestPrior to training (baseline), after 25 training sessions (about 8 weeks), 3 months post-trainingThe task involves picking up, transporting, and placing six objects (i.e., peg, paperweight, fork, block, can, and videotape). Movement of each of the 6 objects is scored based on the number of times the participant can move the object in 30 seconds, with a minimum score of zero if no objects are successfully moved. A cumulative score is based on the sum of all completed movements for all 6 objects.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
ASIA Motor Key MusclesPrior to training (baseline), after 25 training sessions (about 8 weeks), 3 months post-trainingISNCSCI Assessment of motor function (upper limb only). Scores on a scale ranging from 0 (i.e., total paralysis) - 5 (i.e., full range of motion) for each of 5 upper limb muscle groups. Total score represents the overall level of the upper limb impairment and represents the sum of the 5 scores from the 5 upper limb muscle groups. Accordingly, the total score has a range of 0-25, with 0 representing a completely paralyzed upper limb and 25 representing a normally functioning upper limb.
ASIA (ISNCSCI) Sensory/Key Sensory Points/ Light-TouchPrior to training (baseline), after 25 training sessions (about 8 weeks), 3 months post-trainingMeasures the subject's sensory perception, with eyes closed, of a light touch by the tester on 9 key sensory points of the hand, arm, shoulder and neck. Sensation at each key point is rated as a number on a scale from 0 (no feeling) to 2 (normal feeling), with a score of 1 representing partly diminished feeling. The overall sensation of the upper limb and nearby areas is represented as the sum of all 9 individual key point scores and, therefore, has an overall range of 0-18, with higher scores representing better sensation.
ASIA (ISNCSCI) Sensory/Key Sensory Points/Pin-PrickPrior to training (baseline), after 25 training sessions (about 8 weeks), 3 months post-trainingMeasures the subject's sensory perception, with eyes closed, of a light prick of a safety pin produced by the tester on 9 key sensory points of the hand, arm, shoulder and neck. Sensation at each key point is rated as a number on a scale from 0 (no feeling) to 2 (normal feeling), with a score of 1 representing partly diminished feeling. The overall sensation of the upper limb and nearby areas is represented as the sum of all 9 individual key point scores and, therefore, has an overall range of 0-18, with higher scores representing better sensation.
Van Lieshout Hand Function Test for Tetraplegia- Short VersionPrior to training (baseline), after 25 training sessions (about 8 weeks), 3 months post-trainingMeasures the functional movement in the upper limb of people with cervical spinal cord injury. The short version of this test includes a total of 10 different functional tasks to be performed by the subject with the upper limb. For example, one task is to reach and pick up a filled Coke bottle, set it down, and then replace it in its original position. Each task is scored on a scale of 0-5, 0 representing inability to perform the task and 5 representing normal movement. A single, total score is calculated as the sum of the scores on the 10 tasks, and therefore, has an overall range of 0-50, with higher scores representing better performance.
Modified Ashworth ScalePrior to training (baseline), after 25 training sessions (about 8 weeks), 3 months post-trainingMeasurement of joint stiffness (tone/spasticity). Score is based on sum of MAS value for 4 muscle groups: (1) Wrist/finger flexors, (2) Wrist/finger extensors, (3) elbow flexors, and (4) elbow extensors. Each muscle group and direction is score on a scale of 0 (no increase in muscle tone) to 5 (rigid), with a score of 2 used instead of 1+. A single overall score representing the sum of all 4 muscle groups and directions is used and has a range of 0-20 with higher scores representing more severe impairment.
Capabilities of Upper Extremity InstrumentPrior to training (baseline), after 25 training sessions (about 8 weeks), 3 months post-trainingSubjective questionnaire of participants' self-perceptions of upper limb function that contains 17 questions relating to the use of the right upper limb, the same 17 relating to the use of the lower upper limb, plus two additional questions relating to bimanual function. Responses to each item of the questionnaire has a range of 1 (i.e., totally limited) to 7 (i.e., not at all limited). A total cumulative score used for the study is based on the sum of the responses to all 34 questions (i.e., 16 right arm, 16 left arm, 2 both arms), and therefore has a cumulative score range of 32 - 224, with higher scores indicating more function.
Strength Test - Thumb/Finger ExtensionPrior to training (baseline), after each of 25 training sessions (about 3 times/week)Maximum strength of thumb-and-fingers in extension. Pre-training score is average of a total of 3 scores, including 1 score from each of the first 3 days of training. Post-training score is average of a total of 3 scores, including 1 score from each of the last 3 days of training.
Strength Test - Thumb/Fingers FlexionPrior to training (baseline), after each of 25 training sessions (about 3 times/week)Maximum strength of Thumb/fingers in Flexion Pre-training score is average of a total of 9 efforts, including 3 efforts from the first 3 days of training. Post-training score is average of a total of 9 efforts, including 3 efforts from the last 3 days of training.
Strength Test - Wrist ExtensionPrior to training (baseline), after each of 25 training sessions (about 3 times/week)Maximum wrist strength in extension Pre-training score is average of a total of 9 efforts, including 3 efforts from the first 3 days of training. Post-training score is average of a total of 9 efforts, including 3 efforts from the last 3 days of training.
Strength Test - Wrist FlexionPrior to training (baseline), after each of 25 training sessions (about 3 times/week)Maximum strength in flexion direction Pre-training score is average of a total of 9 efforts, including 3 efforts from the first 3 days of training. Post-training score is average of a total of 9 efforts, including 3 efforts from the last 3 days of training.
Active Motion Test - Fingers/ThumbPrior to training (baseline), after each of 25 training sessions (about 3 times/week)Tracking task for the thumb and finger, i.e., opening and closing the hand. The participant tracks a target box on a video screen by actively moving the thumb and fingers, first in the opening direction, then closing, and finally opeining again. The participant's thumb-and-finger position is represented on the video screen by a vertical line that he/she attempts to keep in the the target box. Performance on this task is scored as the amount of time, in seconds, that the participant keeps the line in the target box. The maximum total score in this test is 60 seconds. The Pre-training Score is the average score obtained during the first 3 days of training, and the Post-training Score is average score obtained during the last 3 days of training.
Active Motion Test - WristPrior to training (baseline), after each of 25 training sessions (about 3 times/week)Tracking task for the wrist, i.e., flexing (i.e., pull with the front of the hand) and extending (i.e., pushing with the back of the hand). The participant tracks a target box on a video screen by actively moving the hand at the wrist, first in the extension direction, then flexion, and finally extension again. The participant's wrist position is represented on the video screen by a vertical line that he/she attempts to keep in the the target box. Performance on this task is scored as the amount of time, in seconds, that the participant keeps the line in the target box. The maximum total score in this test is 60 seconds. The Pre-training Score is the average score obtained during the first 3 days of training, and the Post-training Score is average score obtained during the last 3 days of training.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
AMES Treatment
The subject will receive 25 treatment sessions, conducted 2-3 times per week on the AMES device. Each session will consist of testing followed by 30 minutes of wrist and finger rehabilitation using the AMES device. The AMES device rotates the fingers-thumb or the wrist in the flexion-extension directions over a range of 30 degrees while vibrators stimulate the tendons attached to muscles that are lengthened by the thumb-finger or hand movement. A treatment consists of 20 minutes of fingers-thumb movement, followed by 10 minutes of wrist movement. The subject's task is to assist the motion of the device.
13
Total13

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000
Overall StudyAdverse Event2
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject1

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicAMES Treatment
Age at time of injury41.5 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 14.1
Age, Continuous45.1 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 13.9
ASIA Motor Key Muscles15.6 units on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 3.6
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
13 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
12 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
13 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
3 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
10 Participants
Time since injury3.5 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 2

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
— / —
other
Total, other adverse events
5 / 13
serious
Total, serious adverse events
2 / 13

Outcome results

Primary

Grasp Release Test

The task involves picking up, transporting, and placing six objects (i.e., peg, paperweight, fork, block, can, and videotape). Movement of each of the 6 objects is scored based on the number of times the participant can move the object in 30 seconds, with a minimum score of zero if no objects are successfully moved. A cumulative score is based on the sum of all completed movements for all 6 objects.

Time frame: Prior to training (baseline), after 25 training sessions (about 8 weeks), 3 months post-training

Population: Analysis population is arms. Three subjects dropped out. Five of the remaining subjects were tested for both arms.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
AMES TreatmentGrasp Release TestPre-training58.5 Objects movedStandard Error 37.9
AMES TreatmentGrasp Release TestPost-training72.0 Objects movedStandard Error 40
AMES TreatmentGrasp Release Test3 Month Follow-up77.5 Objects movedStandard Error 44.9
p-value: <0.025Mixed Models Analysis
Secondary

Active Motion Test - Fingers/Thumb

Tracking task for the thumb and finger, i.e., opening and closing the hand. The participant tracks a target box on a video screen by actively moving the thumb and fingers, first in the opening direction, then closing, and finally opeining again. The participant's thumb-and-finger position is represented on the video screen by a vertical line that he/she attempts to keep in the the target box. Performance on this task is scored as the amount of time, in seconds, that the participant keeps the line in the target box. The maximum total score in this test is 60 seconds. The Pre-training Score is the average score obtained during the first 3 days of training, and the Post-training Score is average score obtained during the last 3 days of training.

Time frame: Prior to training (baseline), after each of 25 training sessions (about 3 times/week)

Population: Analysis population is arms. Three subjects dropped out. Five of the remaining subjects were tested for both arms.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
AMES TreatmentActive Motion Test - Fingers/ThumbPre-training6.95 SecondsStandard Deviation 5.98
AMES TreatmentActive Motion Test - Fingers/ThumbPost-training10.63 SecondsStandard Deviation 7.2
p-value: <0.001Wilcoxon Signed Rank Test
Secondary

Active Motion Test - Wrist

Tracking task for the wrist, i.e., flexing (i.e., pull with the front of the hand) and extending (i.e., pushing with the back of the hand). The participant tracks a target box on a video screen by actively moving the hand at the wrist, first in the extension direction, then flexion, and finally extension again. The participant's wrist position is represented on the video screen by a vertical line that he/she attempts to keep in the the target box. Performance on this task is scored as the amount of time, in seconds, that the participant keeps the line in the target box. The maximum total score in this test is 60 seconds. The Pre-training Score is the average score obtained during the first 3 days of training, and the Post-training Score is average score obtained during the last 3 days of training.

Time frame: Prior to training (baseline), after each of 25 training sessions (about 3 times/week)

Population: Analysis population is arms. Three subjects dropped out. Five of the remaining subjects were tested for both arms.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
AMES TreatmentActive Motion Test - WristPre-training18.50 SecondsStandard Deviation 11.27
AMES TreatmentActive Motion Test - WristPost-training26.62 SecondsStandard Deviation 11.77
p-value: <0.001Wilcoxon Signed Rank Test
Secondary

ASIA (ISNCSCI) Sensory/Key Sensory Points/ Light-Touch

Measures the subject's sensory perception, with eyes closed, of a light touch by the tester on 9 key sensory points of the hand, arm, shoulder and neck. Sensation at each key point is rated as a number on a scale from 0 (no feeling) to 2 (normal feeling), with a score of 1 representing partly diminished feeling. The overall sensation of the upper limb and nearby areas is represented as the sum of all 9 individual key point scores and, therefore, has an overall range of 0-18, with higher scores representing better sensation.

Time frame: Prior to training (baseline), after 25 training sessions (about 8 weeks), 3 months post-training

Population: Analysis population is arms. Three subjects dropped out. Five of the remaining subjects were tested for both arms.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
AMES TreatmentASIA (ISNCSCI) Sensory/Key Sensory Points/ Light-TouchPre-training14.1 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 3.3
AMES TreatmentASIA (ISNCSCI) Sensory/Key Sensory Points/ Light-TouchPost-training13.8 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 3.3
AMES TreatmentASIA (ISNCSCI) Sensory/Key Sensory Points/ Light-Touch3 Month Follow-up14.5 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 3.1
p-value: 0.459Mixed Models Analysis
Secondary

ASIA (ISNCSCI) Sensory/Key Sensory Points/Pin-Prick

Measures the subject's sensory perception, with eyes closed, of a light prick of a safety pin produced by the tester on 9 key sensory points of the hand, arm, shoulder and neck. Sensation at each key point is rated as a number on a scale from 0 (no feeling) to 2 (normal feeling), with a score of 1 representing partly diminished feeling. The overall sensation of the upper limb and nearby areas is represented as the sum of all 9 individual key point scores and, therefore, has an overall range of 0-18, with higher scores representing better sensation.

Time frame: Prior to training (baseline), after 25 training sessions (about 8 weeks), 3 months post-training

Population: Analysis population is arms. Three subjects dropped out. Five of the remaining subjects were tested for both arms.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
AMES TreatmentASIA (ISNCSCI) Sensory/Key Sensory Points/Pin-PrickPre-training10.5 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 5.4
AMES TreatmentASIA (ISNCSCI) Sensory/Key Sensory Points/Pin-PrickPost-training11.3 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 5.3
AMES TreatmentASIA (ISNCSCI) Sensory/Key Sensory Points/Pin-Prick3 Month Follow-up11.1 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 4.6
p-value: 0.343Mixed Models Analysis
Secondary

ASIA Motor Key Muscles

ISNCSCI Assessment of motor function (upper limb only). Scores on a scale ranging from 0 (i.e., total paralysis) - 5 (i.e., full range of motion) for each of 5 upper limb muscle groups. Total score represents the overall level of the upper limb impairment and represents the sum of the 5 scores from the 5 upper limb muscle groups. Accordingly, the total score has a range of 0-25, with 0 representing a completely paralyzed upper limb and 25 representing a normally functioning upper limb.

Time frame: Prior to training (baseline), after 25 training sessions (about 8 weeks), 3 months post-training

Population: Analysis population is arms. Three subjects dropped out. Five of the remaining subjects were tested for both arms.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
AMES TreatmentASIA Motor Key Muscles3 Month Follow-up16.1 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 4.7
AMES TreatmentASIA Motor Key MusclesPre-training15.3 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 3.9
AMES TreatmentASIA Motor Key MusclesPost-training14.6 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 4.4
p-value: 0.299Mixed Models Analysis
Secondary

Capabilities of Upper Extremity Instrument

Subjective questionnaire of participants' self-perceptions of upper limb function that contains 17 questions relating to the use of the right upper limb, the same 17 relating to the use of the lower upper limb, plus two additional questions relating to bimanual function. Responses to each item of the questionnaire has a range of 1 (i.e., totally limited) to 7 (i.e., not at all limited). A total cumulative score used for the study is based on the sum of the responses to all 34 questions (i.e., 16 right arm, 16 left arm, 2 both arms), and therefore has a cumulative score range of 32 - 224, with higher scores indicating more function.

Time frame: Prior to training (baseline), after 25 training sessions (about 8 weeks), 3 months post-training

Population: Analysis population is arms. Three subjects dropped out. Five of the remaining subjects were tested for both arms.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
AMES TreatmentCapabilities of Upper Extremity InstrumentPre-training58.2 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 23
AMES TreatmentCapabilities of Upper Extremity InstrumentPost-training64.1 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 24.6
AMES TreatmentCapabilities of Upper Extremity Instrument3 Month Follow-up63.8 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 25.8
p-value: 0.164Mixed Models Analysis
Secondary

Modified Ashworth Scale

Measurement of joint stiffness (tone/spasticity). Score is based on sum of MAS value for 4 muscle groups: (1) Wrist/finger flexors, (2) Wrist/finger extensors, (3) elbow flexors, and (4) elbow extensors. Each muscle group and direction is score on a scale of 0 (no increase in muscle tone) to 5 (rigid), with a score of 2 used instead of 1+. A single overall score representing the sum of all 4 muscle groups and directions is used and has a range of 0-20 with higher scores representing more severe impairment.

Time frame: Prior to training (baseline), after 25 training sessions (about 8 weeks), 3 months post-training

Population: Analysis population is arms. Three subjects dropped out. Five of the remaining subjects were tested for both arms.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
AMES TreatmentModified Ashworth ScalePre-training5.3 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 3.4
AMES TreatmentModified Ashworth ScalePost-training4.4 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 3.2
AMES TreatmentModified Ashworth Scale3 Month Follow-up4.2 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 3.3
p-value: 0.371Mixed Models Analysis
Secondary

Strength Test - Thumb/Finger Extension

Maximum strength of thumb-and-fingers in extension. Pre-training score is average of a total of 3 scores, including 1 score from each of the first 3 days of training. Post-training score is average of a total of 3 scores, including 1 score from each of the last 3 days of training.

Time frame: Prior to training (baseline), after each of 25 training sessions (about 3 times/week)

Population: Analysis population is arms. Three subjects dropped out. Five of the remaining subjects were tested for both arms.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
AMES TreatmentStrength Test - Thumb/Finger ExtensionPre-training0.43 Newton*metersStandard Deviation 0.43
AMES TreatmentStrength Test - Thumb/Finger ExtensionPost-training0.65 Newton*metersStandard Deviation 0.65
Comparison: Pre-training score is average of a total of 9 efforts, including 3 efforts from the first 3 days of training. Post-training score is average of a total of 9 efforts, including 3 efforts from the last 3 days of training.p-value: <0.01Wilcoxon Signed-Rank
Secondary

Strength Test - Thumb/Fingers Flexion

Maximum strength of Thumb/fingers in Flexion Pre-training score is average of a total of 9 efforts, including 3 efforts from the first 3 days of training. Post-training score is average of a total of 9 efforts, including 3 efforts from the last 3 days of training.

Time frame: Prior to training (baseline), after each of 25 training sessions (about 3 times/week)

Population: Analysis population is arms. Three subjects dropped out. Five of the remaining subjects were tested for both arms.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
AMES TreatmentStrength Test - Thumb/Fingers FlexionPre-training2.10 Newton*metersStandard Deviation 1.75
AMES TreatmentStrength Test - Thumb/Fingers FlexionPost-training2.87 Newton*metersStandard Deviation 2.94
p-value: <0.05Wilcoxon Signed Rank Test
Secondary

Strength Test - Wrist Extension

Maximum wrist strength in extension Pre-training score is average of a total of 9 efforts, including 3 efforts from the first 3 days of training. Post-training score is average of a total of 9 efforts, including 3 efforts from the last 3 days of training.

Time frame: Prior to training (baseline), after each of 25 training sessions (about 3 times/week)

Population: Analysis population is arms. Three subjects dropped out. Five of the remaining subjects were tested for both arms.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
AMES TreatmentStrength Test - Wrist ExtensionPre-training2.27 Newton*metersStandard Deviation 1.5
AMES TreatmentStrength Test - Wrist ExtensionPost-training3.51 Newton*metersStandard Deviation 2.02
p-value: <0.0001Wilcoxon Signed Rank Test
Secondary

Strength Test - Wrist Flexion

Maximum strength in flexion direction Pre-training score is average of a total of 9 efforts, including 3 efforts from the first 3 days of training. Post-training score is average of a total of 9 efforts, including 3 efforts from the last 3 days of training.

Time frame: Prior to training (baseline), after each of 25 training sessions (about 3 times/week)

Population: Analysis population is arms. Three subjects dropped out. Five of the remaining subjects were tested for both arms.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
AMES TreatmentStrength Test - Wrist FlexionPre-training5.41 Newton*metersStandard Deviation 3.31
AMES TreatmentStrength Test - Wrist FlexionPost-training7.95 Newton*metersStandard Deviation 4.98
p-value: <0.005Wilcoxon Signed Rank Test
Secondary

Van Lieshout Hand Function Test for Tetraplegia- Short Version

Measures the functional movement in the upper limb of people with cervical spinal cord injury. The short version of this test includes a total of 10 different functional tasks to be performed by the subject with the upper limb. For example, one task is to reach and pick up a filled Coke bottle, set it down, and then replace it in its original position. Each task is scored on a scale of 0-5, 0 representing inability to perform the task and 5 representing normal movement. A single, total score is calculated as the sum of the scores on the 10 tasks, and therefore, has an overall range of 0-50, with higher scores representing better performance.

Time frame: Prior to training (baseline), after 25 training sessions (about 8 weeks), 3 months post-training

Population: Analysis population is arms. Three subjects dropped out. Five of the remaining subjects were tested for both arms.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
AMES TreatmentVan Lieshout Hand Function Test for Tetraplegia- Short VersionPre-training27.2 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 11.8
AMES TreatmentVan Lieshout Hand Function Test for Tetraplegia- Short VersionPost-training27.3 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 11.1
AMES TreatmentVan Lieshout Hand Function Test for Tetraplegia- Short Version3 Month Follow-up27.4 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 12.6
p-value: 0.951Mixed Models Analysis

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026