Skip to content

Pemetrexed and/or Sunitinib as Second-Line Therapy in Treating Patients With Stage IIIB or Stage IV Non-small Cell Lung Cancer

A Randomized Phase II Study to Assess the Efficacy of Pemetrexed or Sunitinib (NSC # 736511) or Pemetrexed Plus Sunitinib in the Second-Line Treatment of Advanced Non-small Cell Lung Cancer

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT00698815
Enrollment
130
Registered
2008-06-17
Start date
2008-04-15
Completion date
Unknown
Last updated
2022-02-08

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Recurrent Non-Small Cell Lung Carcinoma, Stage IIIB Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer AJCC v7, Stage IV Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer AJCC v7

Brief summary

This randomized phase II trial studies pemetrexed disodium and sunitinib malate to compare how well they work when given alone or together as second-line therapy in treating patients with stage IIIB or stage IV non-small cell lung cancer. Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as pemetrexed disodium, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Sunitinib malate may stop the growth of tumor cells by blocking some of the enzymes needed for cell growth and by blocking blood flow to the tumor. It is not yet known whether pemetrexed disodium and sunitinib malate are more effective when given alone or together in treating non-small cell lung cancer.

Detailed description

PRIMARY OBJECTIVES: I. To estimate the 18 week progression-free survival rate of pemetrexed (pemetrexed disodium) alone (Arm I), sunitinib (sunitinib malate) alone (Arm II) and pemetrexed plus sunitinib (Arm III) in the second-line setting of advanced non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC). SECONDARY OBJECTIVES: I. To compare the progression-free survival of the three arms. II. To estimate the response rate, duration of response, rate of stable disease, overall survival and to characterize the toxicity profiles of the three arms. III. To estimate the response rate, duration of response, rate of stable disease, overall survival and toxicity of sunitinib in those patients on Arm I that receive this regimen in the third line setting. IV. To assess vascular endothelial growth factor (VEGF) haplotypes in advanced non-small cell lung cancer. V. To test change in tumor size at 6 weeks (after 2 cycles of therapy, typically the first evaluation point in this type of study) as an early predictor of therapeutic activity in second-line treatment of non-small cell lung cancer. OUTLINE: Patients are randomized to 1 of 3 treatment arms. ARM I: Patients receive pemetrexed disodium intravenously (IV) over 10 minutes on day 1. Courses repeat every 21 days in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients with documented disease progression may then receive sunitinib malate as in Arm II as third-line therapy. ARM II: Patients receive sunitinib malate orally (PO) once daily (QD) on days 1-21. Courses repeat every 21 days in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients with documented disease progression may then receive pemetrexed disodium as in Arm I as third-line therapy. ARM III: Patients receive pemetrexed disodium IV over 10 minutes on day 1 and sunitinib malate PO QD on days 1-21. Courses repeat every 21 days in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients with documented disease progression may then receive third-line therapy at the discretion of the treating physician. After completion of study treatment, patients are followed up every 6 weeks until disease progression and then every 6 months for 2 years.

Interventions

OTHERLaboratory Biomarker Analysis

Correlative studies

DRUGPemetrexed Disodium

Given IV

DRUGSunitinib Malate

Given PO

Sponsors

National Cancer Institute (NCI)
Lead SponsorNIH

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Histologic documentation: histologic or cytologic documentation of NSCLC * Stage: IIIB/IV with evidence of disease progression following first-line therapy * Tumor site: lung (non-small cell) * No cavitary lesions * Only one prior chemotherapy regimen in the first-line stage IIIB/IV setting is allowed; this could have been either a platinum- or non-platinum-based regimen * First-line therapy must be completed \>= 28 days before registration * Prior adjuvant therapy is allowed provided the patient had one previous regimen in the advanced stage IIIB/IV setting * At least 28 days from prior major surgery and at least 14 days from any prior radiotherapy before registration * No prior inhibitors of VEGF receptor (VEGFR) (e.g., SU5416, SU6668, AZ6474, SU11248, PTK787, AZD2171, AEE-788, sorafenib); prior treatment with epidermal growth factor receptor (EGFR) inhibitors and bevacizumab is allowed, provided at least 4 weeks has elapsed * No prior pemetrexed * Patients must have measurable or non-measurable disease * Measurable disease * Lesions that can be accurately measured in at least one dimension (longest diameter to be recorded) as \>= 2 cm with conventional techniques or as \>= 1 cm with spiral computed tomography (CT) scan * Non-measurable disease * All other lesions, including small lesions (longest diameter \< 20 mm with conventional techniques or \< 10 mm with spiral CT scan) and truly nonmeasurable lesions * Lesions that are considered non-measurable include the following: * Bone lesions * Leptomeningeal disease * Ascites * Pleural/pericardial effusion * Lymphangitis cutis/pulmonis * Abdominal masses that are not confirmed and followed by imaging techniques * Cystic lesions * Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status 0-1 * Pregnant or nursing mothers are not eligible for this study; patients in their child bearing years must have a baseline negative pregnancy test (in the case of females); males and females must practice appropriate contraceptive measures during the period of protocol therapy and for 6 months after completion of protocol therapy; appropriate methods of birth control include abstinence, oral contraceptives, implantable hormonal contraceptives (Norplant), or double barrier method (diaphragm plus condom) * No ongoing cardiac dysrhythmias, atrial fibrillation, or history of corrected QT interval (QTc interval) \> 500 msec (within 2 years prior to registration); the use of agents with proarrhythmic potential (e.g., quinidine, procainamide, disopyramide, sotalol, probucol, bepridil, haloperidol, risperidone, indapamide, flecainide) is not recommended while on protocol therapy * Patients with class I New York Heart Association (NYHA) heart failure are eligible; patients with a history of class II NYHA heart failure are eligible, provided they meet at least one of the following criteria: * Patients with a history of class II heart failure who are asymptomatic on treatment * Patients with prior anthracycline exposure * Patients who have received central thoracic radiation that included the heart in the radiotherapy port * Patients with a history of symptomatic congestive heart failure within 12 months prior to entry are not eligible * No myocardial infarction, severe/unstable angina, coronary/peripheral artery bypass graft or stenting, cerebrovascular accident or transient ischemic attack within the last year * Patients with hypertension that cannot be controlled by medications (\> 150/100 mmHg despite optimal medical therapy) are not eligible * Patients who require use of therapeutic anticoagulation for thromboembolic disease are not eligible; Note: low doses of Coumadin (up to 2 mg daily) are permitted for prophylaxis of thrombosis * No history of venous thrombosis, pulmonary embolism, or hypercoagulopathy syndrome * No history of pulmonary hemorrhage, bleeding diathesis, or evidence of hemoptysis; patients with blood-tinged or blood-streaked sputum will be permitted on study if the hemoptysis amounts to less than 5 mL of blood per episode and less than 10 mL of blood per 24-hour period in the best estimate of the investigator * Patients with a history of hypothyroidism or hyperthyroidism are eligible, provided they are currently euthyroid * None of the following within 28 days of beginning treatment: abdominal fistula, gastrointestinal perforation, intra-abdominal abscess, serious or non-healing wound, ulcer, or bone fracture * The use of the following specific inhibitors and inducers of cytochrome P450, family 3, subfamily A, polypeptide 4 (CYP3A4) is not permitted; the following inhibitors of CYP3A4 are prohibited within 7 days before and during treatment with sunitinib: azole antifungals (ketoconazole, itraconazole), diltiazem, clarithromycin, erythromycin, verapamil, delavirdine, and human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) protease inhibitors (indinavir, saquinavir, ritonavir, atazanavir, nelfinavir); the following inducers of CYP3A4 are prohibited within 12 days before beginning and during treatment with sunitinib: rifampin, rifabutin, carbamazepine, phenobarbital, phenytoin, St. John's Wort, efavirenz, tipranavir * Other inhibitors and inducers of CYP3A4 may be used if necessary, but their use is discouraged * No symptomatic or untreated central nervous system (CNS) metastases; patients with CNS metastases must be asymptomatic, must have received definitive therapy (\>= 6 weeks since resection or \>= 2 weeks since radiotherapy) for brain metastases, and be off steroids or on a stable dose for 2 weeks prior to registration * No chronic daily treatment with aspirin (\> 325 mg/day) or non-steroidal antiinflammatory agents known to inhibit platelet function; treatment with dipyridamole (Persantine), ticlopidine (Ticlid), clopidogrel (Plavix) and/or cilostazol (Pletal) is not allowed * No pleural effusions or ascites that are detectable on physical exam

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
18 Week Progression-free Survival (PFS) RateAt 18 weeksThe 18 week progression-free survival rate was defined as the proportion of patients that were alive and progression-free 18 weeks after registration into the study. Disease progression was assessed per modified RECIST criteria, and defined as at least a 20% increase in the sum of the longest diameters of target lesions, in either primary or nodal lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum longest diameter recorded since the baseline measurements, or the appearance of new lesions. Kaplan-Meier estimate of 18-week progression-free survival was calculated.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
PFSTime from randomization to disease progression and death of any cause, whichever comes first (up to 3 years)PFS was defined as the time from randomization until disease progression or death, whichever occurs first. The median PFS with 95% CI was estimated using the Kaplan-Meier method. Progression is defined as in the primary outcome measure.
Overall Response RateDuration of treatment (up to 3 years)The proportion of patients who respond (completely or partially) to each combination regimen will be estimated. An exact binomial confidence interval will be computed for these estimates. Response was defined using Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors (RECIST) criteria: Complete Response (CR): disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR) 30% decrease in sum of longest diameter of target lesions.
Overall Survival (OS)Time from randomization to death (up to 3 years)OS is defined as the time from patient randomization to death from any cause. The median OS with 95% CI was estimated using the Kaplan-Meier method.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

Between April 2008 and September 2011, 130 participants were recruited.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Arm I (Pemetrexed)
Patients receive pemetrexed disodium 500 mg/m\^2 IV over 10 minutes on day 1. Courses repeat every 21 days in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients with documented disease progression may then receive sunitinib malate as in Arm II as third-line therapy.
42
Arm II (Sunitinib)
Patients receive sunitinib malate at 37.5 mg PO QD on days 1-21. Courses repeat every 21 days in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients with documented disease progression may then receive pemetrexed disodium as in Arm I as third-line therapy.
47
Arm III (Pemetrexed and Sunitinib)
Patients receive pemetrexed disodium 500 mg/m\^2 IV over 10 minutes on day 1 and sunitinib malate at 37.5 mg PO QD on days 1-21. Courses repeat every 21 days in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients with documented disease progression may then receive third-line therapy at the discretion of the treating physician.
41
Total130

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001FG002
Overall StudyDeath124
Overall StudyDid not receive protocol treatment122
Overall StudyMD discretion272
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject632

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicTotalArm I (Pemetrexed)Arm II (Sunitinib)Arm III (Pemetrexed and Sunitinib)
Age, Customized
60-69 years
52 participants15 participants24 participants13 participants
Age, Customized
<60 years
46 participants16 participants15 participants15 participants
Age, Customized
>=70 years
32 participants11 participants8 participants13 participants
ECOG Performance Status
0
44 participants13 participants17 participants14 participants
ECOG Performance Status
1
86 participants29 participants30 participants27 participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
3 Participants2 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
122 Participants39 Participants47 Participants36 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
5 Participants1 Participants0 Participants4 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
2 Participants0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
16 Participants5 Participants3 Participants8 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
1 Participants1 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
111 Participants36 Participants43 Participants32 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
130 participants42 participants47 participants41 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
61 Participants20 Participants22 Participants19 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
69 Participants22 Participants25 Participants22 Participants
Stage (TMN)
IIIB
16 participants5 participants8 participants3 participants
Stage (TMN)
IV
114 participants37 participants39 participants38 participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
— / —— / —— / —
other
Total, other adverse events
39 / 4143 / 4434 / 39
serious
Total, serious adverse events
13 / 4119 / 4421 / 39

Outcome results

Primary

18 Week Progression-free Survival (PFS) Rate

The 18 week progression-free survival rate was defined as the proportion of patients that were alive and progression-free 18 weeks after registration into the study. Disease progression was assessed per modified RECIST criteria, and defined as at least a 20% increase in the sum of the longest diameters of target lesions, in either primary or nodal lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum longest diameter recorded since the baseline measurements, or the appearance of new lesions. Kaplan-Meier estimate of 18-week progression-free survival was calculated.

Time frame: At 18 weeks

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Arm I (Pemetrexed)18 Week Progression-free Survival (PFS) Rate54 percentage of participants
Arm II (Sunitinib)18 Week Progression-free Survival (PFS) Rate37 percentage of participants
Arm III (Pemetrexed and Sunitinib)18 Week Progression-free Survival (PFS) Rate48 percentage of participants
Secondary

Overall Response Rate

The proportion of patients who respond (completely or partially) to each combination regimen will be estimated. An exact binomial confidence interval will be computed for these estimates. Response was defined using Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors (RECIST) criteria: Complete Response (CR): disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR) 30% decrease in sum of longest diameter of target lesions.

Time frame: Duration of treatment (up to 3 years)

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Arm I (Pemetrexed)Overall Response Rate14 percentage of participants
Arm II (Sunitinib)Overall Response Rate17 percentage of participants
Arm III (Pemetrexed and Sunitinib)Overall Response Rate22 percentage of participants
Secondary

Overall Survival (OS)

OS is defined as the time from patient randomization to death from any cause. The median OS with 95% CI was estimated using the Kaplan-Meier method.

Time frame: Time from randomization to death (up to 3 years)

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Arm I (Pemetrexed)Overall Survival (OS)10.5 months
Arm II (Sunitinib)Overall Survival (OS)8.0 months
Arm III (Pemetrexed and Sunitinib)Overall Survival (OS)6.7 months
Secondary

PFS

PFS was defined as the time from randomization until disease progression or death, whichever occurs first. The median PFS with 95% CI was estimated using the Kaplan-Meier method. Progression is defined as in the primary outcome measure.

Time frame: Time from randomization to disease progression and death of any cause, whichever comes first (up to 3 years)

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Arm I (Pemetrexed)PFS4.9 months
Arm II (Sunitinib)PFS3.3 months
Arm III (Pemetrexed and Sunitinib)PFS3.7 months

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026