Skip to content

Activ-L™ Artificial Disc Treatment of Degenerative Disc Disease in the Treatment of Degenerative Disc Disease

Clinical Study to Evaluate the Safety and Effectiveness of the Aesculap Activ-L™ Artificial Disc in the Treatment of Degenerative Disc Disease

Status
Completed
Phases
NA
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT00589797
Enrollment
376
Registered
2008-01-10
Start date
2007-01-31
Completion date
2017-01-31
Last updated
2018-12-07

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Degenerative Disc Disease

Keywords

Degenerative, Disc

Brief summary

The purpose of this study is to learn whether an investigational device called the Activ-L Artificial Disc is safe and effective in the treatment of degenerative disc disease of the lower (lumbar) spine.

Detailed description

The objective of this clinical study is to evaluate the safety and effectiveness of the Activ-L Artificial Disc for treatment of single-level degenerative disc disease of the lumbar spine in patients who have been unresponsive to at least six months of prior conservative care. The hypothesis of the study is that the Activ-L Disc is non-inferior to the control (the Charité® Artificial Disc \[DePuy Spine\] or ProDisc-L® Total Disc Replacement \[Synthes Spine\]) with respect to the rate of individual subject success at 24 months. Individual subject success is a composite of effectiveness and safety.

Interventions

DEVICEActiv-L Artificial Disc

Implantation at one level of the lumbar spine, either L4/L5 or L5/S1.

DEVICEProDisc-L Total Disc Replacement or Charité Artificial Disc

Implantation at one level of the lumbar spine, either L4/L5 or L5/S1.

Sponsors

Aesculap Implant Systems
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
SINGLE (Subject)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to 60 Years
Healthy volunteers
Yes

Inclusion criteria

* Age 18 - 60, skeletally mature * Symptomatic DDD with objective evidence of lumbar DDD, with any of the following characteristics by MRI scan: * instability as defined by ≥ 3mm translation or ≥ 5° angulation. * osteophyte formation of facet joints or vertebral endplates. * decreased disc height of \>2mm as compared to the adjacent level. * scarring/thickening of the ligamentum flavum, annulus fibrosis, or facet joint capsule. * herniated nucleus pulposus. * facet joint degeneration/changes. * vacuum phenomenon. * Single level symptomatic disease at L4/L5 or L5/S1. * six months of unsuccessful conservative treatment * ODI score ≥ 40/100. * Surgical candidate for an anterior approach to the lumbar spine. * Back pain at the operative level only, with or without leg pain. * Back pain VAS score greater than the higher of the two VAS leg pain scores. * VAS back pain score ≥ 40/100 mm. * Willing to return for follow-up visits and sign an Informed Consent and HIPAA Authorization.

Exclusion criteria

* Previous surgery at any lumbar level, except IDET (Intradiscal Electrothermal Annuloplasty), percutaneous nucleoplasty, or microdiscectomy. * Chronic radiculopathy, i.e., subject complaint of unremitting pain with a predominance of leg pain symptoms greater than back pain symptoms extending over a period of at least 1 year. * endplate dimensions smaller than 34.5 mm in medial-lateral and/or 27 mm in the anterior-posterior direction * Evidence of significant, symptomatic disc degeneration at another lumbar level. * Preoperative remaining disc height \< 3mm * Myelopathy. * Previous compression or burst fracture at the affected level. * Sequestered herniated nucleus pulposus with migration. * Mid-sagittal stenosis of \<8mm (by MRI). * Degenerative or lytic spondylolisthesis \> 3mm. * Spondylolysis. * Isthmic spondylolisthesis. * Lumbar scoliosis (\> 11 degrees of sagittal plane deformity). * Spinal tumor. * Active systemic infection or infection at the site of surgery. * Facet ankylosis or severe facet degeneration. * Continuing steroid use or prior use for more than 2 months. * History of allergies to any of the device components. * Pregnancy or planning to become pregnant within the next 2 years. * Morbid obesity (BMI \>35). * Investigational drug or device use within 30 days. * Osteoporosis or osteopenia * Metabolic bone disease. * Leg pain with migrated sequestrum fragment. * History of rheumatoid arthritis, lupus, or other autoimmune disorder. * Ankylosing spondylitis. * History of HIV/AIDS or hepatitis that precludes surgery. * History of deep vein thrombosis, symptoms of arterial insufficiency, or thromboembolytic disease. * Current or recent history of illicit drug or alcohol abuse, or dependence as defined as the continued use of alcohol despite the development of social, legal, or health problems. * Life expectancy \<5 years. * Chemotherapy within past 5 years or any cancer other than non-melanoma skin cancer treated with curative intent within the past 5 years. * Prior nephrectomy. * Abdominal adhesions, endometriosis, inflammatory bowel disease, Crohn's disease, diverticulitis, ulcerative colitis or other abdominal pathology that would preclude abdominal surgical approach. * Insulin-dependent diabetes. * Any degenerative muscular or neurological condition that would interfere with evaluation of outcomes, including but not limited to Parkinson's disease, ALS (amyotrophic lateral sclerosis), or multiple sclerosis. * History of Pelvic Inflammatory Disease. * Peritonitis. * Currently in active spinal litigation as a result of medical negligence. * Prisoner. * Psychiatric or cognitive impairment that would interfere with the subject's ability to comply with the study requirements, e.g., Alzheimer's disease.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Absence of Serious Device Related Adverse Events24 monthsPercent of subjects demonstrating no device related SAE's at 24 months as per the Clinical Events Committee (CEC)
Neurological Success24 monthsPercent of patients demonstrating maintenance or improvement in combined motor and sensory evaluations at 24 months compared to baseline
Overall Success at 24 Months Relative to Baseline24 monthsMeasured by absence of treatment failure; absence or serious device related AE; maintenance or improvement of ROM at index level; maintenance or improvement of neurological status; improvement in ODI score.
Device Success24 monthsPercent of subjects demonstrating no Subsequent Surgical Interventions (SSI's) at the index level (L4-L5 or L5-S1) at 24 months.
ODI Success24 monthsPercent of subjects demonstrating an improvement of greater than or equal to 15 points at 24 months compared to baseline
Range of Motion (ROM) Success24 monthsPercent of subjects demonstrating maintenance or improvement in ROM at 24 months compared to baseline

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
ODI Success Using Two Measures of Success24 monthsNumber of subjects demonstrating improvement in two measures of ODI success at 24 months compared to baseline
Improvement in SF-36 Scores24 monthsNumber of subjects demonstrating a greater than or equal to 15% improvement in mental (MCS) and physical (PCS) component summary scores at 24 months compared to baseline
VAS Success for Back and Leg Pain at Rest24 monthsNumber of patients demonstrating improvement in back and leg pain at 24 months compared to baseline

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

Subjects were screened and enrolled at 19 US health care center sites

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Investigational
Implantation of the Activ-L Artificial Disc at one level of the lumbar spine, either L4/L5 or L5/S1
264
Control
Implantation of either the ProDisc Total Disc Replacement or the Charité Artificial Disc at one level of the lumbar spine, either L4/L5 or L5/S1.
112
Total376

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001
Overall StudyDeath10
Overall StudyLost to Follow-up129
Overall StudyNon-Randomized Training Subjects466
Overall StudyPhysician Decision83
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject65

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicInvestigationalControlTotal
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
264 Participants112 Participants376 Participants
Age, Continuous39.1 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.6
40.0 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.6
39.6 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.6
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
29 Participants12 Participants41 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
235 Participants100 Participants335 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Normal Neurological Status
Motor
97 participants40 participants137 participants
Normal Neurological Status
Reflexes
91 participants42 participants133 participants
Normal Neurological Status
Sensory
78 participants33 participants111 participants
Oswestry Disability Index (ODI) Scores for Low Back Pain57.1 units on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 13.9
58.6 units on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 14.1
57.9 units on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 13.9
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
3 Participants0 Participants3 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
3 Participants0 Participants3 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
18 Participants5 Participants23 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
7 Participants1 Participants8 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
233 Participants106 Participants339 Participants
Rotational Range of Motion
Flexion/Extension
6.6 degrees
STANDARD_DEVIATION 5.1
6.6 degrees
STANDARD_DEVIATION 4.6
6.6 degrees
STANDARD_DEVIATION 4.8
Rotational Range of Motion
Lateral Bending AP
1.0 degrees
STANDARD_DEVIATION 2
1.0 degrees
STANDARD_DEVIATION 1.8
1.0 degrees
STANDARD_DEVIATION 1.9
Sex: Female, Male
Female
124 Participants56 Participants180 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
140 Participants56 Participants196 Participants
Short-Form (36) Health Questionnaire (SF-36) Scores
SF-36 MCS
39.1 units on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 13.9
39.6 units on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 14.9
39.4 units on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 14.4
Short-Form (36) Health Questionnaire (SF-36) Scores
SF-36 PCS
29.9 units on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 6.2
28.4 units on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 6.2
29.2 units on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 6.2
Translational Range of Motion0.5 millimeters
STANDARD_DEVIATION 0.7
0.6 millimeters
STANDARD_DEVIATION 0.6
0.6 millimeters
STANDARD_DEVIATION 0.6
Visual Analog Scale (VAS) Ratings for Back and Leg Pain
VAS Back Pain
79.0 units on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 14.9
79.1 units on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 14.8
79.1 units on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 14.8
Visual Analog Scale (VAS) Ratings for Back and Leg Pain
VAS Left Leg Pain
29.6 units on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 29.4
30.7 units on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 29.5
30.4 units on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 29.6
Visual Analog Scale (VAS) Ratings for Back and Leg Pain
VAS Right Leg Pain
28.7 units on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 29.8
32.9 units on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 29.6
30.6 units on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 30

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
— / —— / —
other
Total, other adverse events
197 / 218100 / 106
serious
Total, serious adverse events
86 / 21857 / 106

Outcome results

Primary

Absence of Serious Device Related Adverse Events

Percent of subjects demonstrating no device related SAE's at 24 months as per the Clinical Events Committee (CEC)

Time frame: 24 months

Population: Intent to treat population; missing data imputed as failures

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
InvestigationalAbsence of Serious Device Related Adverse Events76.6 percentage of participants
ControlAbsence of Serious Device Related Adverse Events70.8 percentage of participants
Primary

Device Success

Percent of subjects demonstrating no Subsequent Surgical Interventions (SSI's) at the index level (L4-L5 or L5-S1) at 24 months.

Time frame: 24 months

Population: Intent to treat population; missing data imputed as failures

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
InvestigationalDevice Success84.4 percentage of participants
ControlDevice Success84.9 percentage of participants
Primary

Neurological Success

Percent of patients demonstrating maintenance or improvement in combined motor and sensory evaluations at 24 months compared to baseline

Time frame: 24 months

Population: Intent to treat population; missing data imputed as failures

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
InvestigationalNeurological Success80.3 percentage of participants
ControlNeurological Success76.4 percentage of participants
Primary

ODI Success

Percent of subjects demonstrating an improvement of greater than or equal to 15 points at 24 months compared to baseline

Time frame: 24 months

Population: Intent to treat population; missing data imputed as failures

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
InvestigationalODI Success75.2 percentage of participants
ControlODI Success66.0 percentage of participants
Primary

Overall Success at 24 Months Relative to Baseline

Measured by absence of treatment failure; absence or serious device related AE; maintenance or improvement of ROM at index level; maintenance or improvement of neurological status; improvement in ODI score.

Time frame: 24 months

Population: Intent to treat population; missing data imputed as failures

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
InvestigationalOverall Success at 24 Months Relative to BaselineIncluding ROM success component42.2 percentage of participants
InvestigationalOverall Success at 24 Months Relative to BaselineWithout ROM success component61.9 percentage of participants
ControlOverall Success at 24 Months Relative to BaselineIncluding ROM success component28.3 percentage of participants
ControlOverall Success at 24 Months Relative to BaselineWithout ROM success component52.8 percentage of participants
p-value: <0.05t-test, 1 sided
Primary

Range of Motion (ROM) Success

Percent of subjects demonstrating maintenance or improvement in ROM at 24 months compared to baseline

Time frame: 24 months

Population: Intent to treat population; missing data imputed as failures

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
InvestigationalRange of Motion (ROM) Success58.7 percentage of participants
ControlRange of Motion (ROM) Success42.5 percentage of participants
Secondary

Improvement in SF-36 Scores

Number of subjects demonstrating a greater than or equal to 15% improvement in mental (MCS) and physical (PCS) component summary scores at 24 months compared to baseline

Time frame: 24 months

Population: Intent to treat population; observational data (i.e. missing data not imputed as failures)

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
InvestigationalImprovement in SF-36 ScoresSF-36 MCS101 participants
InvestigationalImprovement in SF-36 ScoresSF-36 PCS156 participants
ControlImprovement in SF-36 ScoresSF-36 MCS48 participants
ControlImprovement in SF-36 ScoresSF-36 PCS69 participants
Secondary

ODI Success Using Two Measures of Success

Number of subjects demonstrating improvement in two measures of ODI success at 24 months compared to baseline

Time frame: 24 months

Population: Intent to treat population; observational data (i.e. missing data not imputed as failures)

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
InvestigationalODI Success Using Two Measures of SuccessGreater than or equal to 15 points of improvement164 participants
InvestigationalODI Success Using Two Measures of SuccessGreater than or equal to 15% improvement170 participants
ControlODI Success Using Two Measures of SuccessGreater than or equal to 15 points of improvement70 participants
ControlODI Success Using Two Measures of SuccessGreater than or equal to 15% improvement77 participants
Secondary

VAS Success for Back and Leg Pain at Rest

Number of patients demonstrating improvement in back and leg pain at 24 months compared to baseline

Time frame: 24 months

Population: Intent to treat population; observed data (i.e. missing data not imputed as failures)

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
InvestigationalVAS Success for Back and Leg Pain at RestVAS Rating for Left Leg Pain72 participants
InvestigationalVAS Success for Back and Leg Pain at RestVAS Rating for Right Leg Pain73 participants
InvestigationalVAS Success for Back and Leg Pain at RestVAS Rating for Back Pain162 participants
ControlVAS Success for Back and Leg Pain at RestVAS Rating for Back Pain72 participants
ControlVAS Success for Back and Leg Pain at RestVAS Rating for Left Leg Pain35 participants
ControlVAS Success for Back and Leg Pain at RestVAS Rating for Right Leg Pain36 participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Mar 31, 2026