Skip to content

Randomized, Single-Masked, Long-Term, Safety and Tolerability Study of VEGF Trap-Eye in AMD

A Randomized, Single-Masked , Long-Term, Safety and Tolerability Study of Intravitreal VEGF Trap-Eye in Subjects With Neovascular Age-related Macular Degeneration

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT00527423
Enrollment
157
Registered
2007-09-10
Start date
2007-08-31
Completion date
2011-10-31
Last updated
2013-06-12

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Macular Degeneration

Keywords

VEGF Trap-Eye, Macular Degeneration, AMD, Neovascular Age-Related Macular Degeneration

Brief summary

Rollover study for subjects in prior VEGF Trap-Eye Phase I and II studies. Primary objective is to assess long-term safety and tolerability of continuing intravitreal treatment in subjects with wet age-related macular degeneration.

Detailed description

Randomized, Single-Masked Phase II study for subjects previously enrolled in Phase I and II studies for wet age-related macular degeneration with VEGF Trap-Eye intravitreal injection as treatment.Long term (3 years) treatment is intended to measure safety and tolerability, as well as frequency of re-treatment and the effect of VEGF Trap-Eye on best corrected visual acuity (BCVA).

Interventions

DRUGVEGF Trap Eye

Intravitreal injection

Sponsors

Bayer
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
Regeneron Pharmaceuticals
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
SINGLE (Subject)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
50 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Prior participation in VEGF Trap-Eye Phase I and II studies

Exclusion criteria

* Any ocular or systemic adverse events that would preclude participation * Presence of any condition that would jeopardize subject's participation

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AE)Baseline of this study to Wk 152Number of participants with AEs summarized by category

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Frequency (Number of Injections)Baseline of this study to Wk 152Frequency (number of injections) of PRN treatment from baseline of this study to week 152 (end of treatment).
Mean Change From Baseline of Original Study in Best Corrected Visual Acuity (BCVA) as Measured by Early Treatment Diabetic Retinopathy Study (ETDRS) Letter Score of Study Eye - Observed ValuesBaseline of original study to Wk 156Defined study baseline range of ETDRS Best Corrected Visual Acuity of: letter score of 73 to 25 (20/40 to 20/320) in the study eye; a higher score represents better functioning.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

This study was conducted at 35 sites in the United States that participated in the Phase 1 and Phase 2 studies VGFT OD-0502 (NCT00320775), -0508 (NCT00320788), or -0603 (NCT00383370). The recruitment period occurred between 19 Oct 2007 and 29 Oct 2008.

Pre-assignment details

One hundred fifty seven participants were eligible if they had neovascular Age-related Macular Degeneration (AMD) and completed dosing in the Phase 1 and Phase 2 studies VGFT-OD-0502 (NCT00320775), -0508 (NCT00320788), or -0603 (NCT00383370). For each subject, only one eye was designated as the study eye.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Intravitreal Aflibercept Injection (EYLEA, VEGF Trap-Eye) 2mg
The study consisted of a treatment period from day 1 to week 152, and a 4-week follow-up visit at week 156. Participants were scheduled to return to the clinical site every 8 weeks. At each visit, the investigator determined the need for an Intravitreal Aflibercept Injection (EYLEA, VEGF Trap-Eye) based on his/her assessment of the participant (PRN or as needed dosing). If, at any point during the study, in the investigator's opinion, a participant required dosing or evaluation more frequently than every 8 weeks, monthly visits and dosing were permitted. The maximum frequency of injection into the study eye was every 4 weeks.
157
Total157

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000
Overall StudyAdverse Event5
Overall StudyDeath9
Overall StudyLost to Follow-up4
Overall StudyOTHER4
Overall StudyPhysician Decision4
Overall StudyProtocol Violation1
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject10

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicIntravitreal Aflibercept Injection (EYLEA, VEGF Trap-Eye) 2mg
Age Continuous77.9 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.16
Baseline Best Corrected Visual Acuity (BCVA)61.3 scores on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 15.35
Baseline Intraocular Pressure14.5 mmHg
STANDARD_DEVIATION 3.12
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
4 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
153 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
156 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
96 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
61 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
— / —
other
Total, other adverse events
149 / 157
serious
Total, serious adverse events
72 / 157

Outcome results

Primary

Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AE)

Number of participants with AEs summarized by category

Time frame: Baseline of this study to Wk 152

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
Intravitreal Aflibercept Injection (EYLEA, VEGF Trap-Eye) 2mgNumber of Participants With Adverse Events (AE)Number of participants with any AE154 participants
Intravitreal Aflibercept Injection (EYLEA, VEGF Trap-Eye) 2mgNumber of Participants With Adverse Events (AE)Any ocular AE (Study eye and Fellow eye)138 participants
Intravitreal Aflibercept Injection (EYLEA, VEGF Trap-Eye) 2mgNumber of Participants With Adverse Events (AE)Any non ocular AE151 participants
Intravitreal Aflibercept Injection (EYLEA, VEGF Trap-Eye) 2mgNumber of Participants With Adverse Events (AE)Any treatment related AE (Ocular and non ocular)5 participants
Intravitreal Aflibercept Injection (EYLEA, VEGF Trap-Eye) 2mgNumber of Participants With Adverse Events (AE)Any SAE72 participants
Intravitreal Aflibercept Injection (EYLEA, VEGF Trap-Eye) 2mgNumber of Participants With Adverse Events (AE)Any AEs leading to withdrawal from study5 participants
Intravitreal Aflibercept Injection (EYLEA, VEGF Trap-Eye) 2mgNumber of Participants With Adverse Events (AE)Any Death due to AE11 participants
Secondary

Frequency (Number of Injections)

Frequency (number of injections) of PRN treatment from baseline of this study to week 152 (end of treatment).

Time frame: Baseline of this study to Wk 152

Population: A total of 1116 PRN injections were administered into the study eyes of 135 participants between baseline of this study to Week 152 (end of treatment). Of the 157 enrolled participants, 22 received no injections, and 15 received 1 injection.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Intravitreal Aflibercept Injection (EYLEA, VEGF Trap-Eye) 2mgFrequency (Number of Injections)6.0 Injections
Secondary

Mean Change From Baseline of Original Study in Best Corrected Visual Acuity (BCVA) as Measured by Early Treatment Diabetic Retinopathy Study (ETDRS) Letter Score of Study Eye - Observed Values

Defined study baseline range of ETDRS Best Corrected Visual Acuity of: letter score of 73 to 25 (20/40 to 20/320) in the study eye; a higher score represents better functioning.

Time frame: Baseline of original study to Wk 156

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Intravitreal Aflibercept Injection (EYLEA, VEGF Trap-Eye) 2mgMean Change From Baseline of Original Study in Best Corrected Visual Acuity (BCVA) as Measured by Early Treatment Diabetic Retinopathy Study (ETDRS) Letter Score of Study Eye - Observed Values4.1 letters readStandard Deviation 17.71

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026