Skip to content

A Study of Irinotecan Plus Cetuximab With or Without Enzastaurin in Participants With Colorectal Cancer

A Randomized Phase 2 Study of Irinotecan Plus Cetuximab With or Without Enzastaurin in Patients With Recurrent Colorectal Cancer

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT00437268
Enrollment
26
Registered
2007-02-19
Start date
2007-03-31
Completion date
2009-05-31
Last updated
2020-07-21

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Colorectal Cancer, Colorectal Carcinoma, Colorectal Tumor

Brief summary

To see how well enzastaurin in combination with irinotecan and cetuximab works versus irinotecan and cetuximab in participants who have progressed within 3 months.

Interventions

DRUGenzastaurin

1125 milligrams (mg) loading dose, then 500 mg orally, daily, of each 21-day cycle until progressive disease

DRUGirinotecan

300 milligrams per square meter (mg/m\^2) intravenously on Day 1 of each 21-day cycle until progressive disease

DRUGcetuximab

400 mg/m\^2, intravenously on Day 1, 250 mg/m\^2 on Day 8, Day 15 Cycle 1 then 250 mg/m\^2, on Day 1, 8 and 15 of each cycle, intravenously 21-day cycles until progressive disease

Sponsors

Eli Lilly and Company
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

Participants are eligible to be included in the study only if they meet all of the following criteria: 1. Histologic diagnosis of colorectal cancer. 2. Performance status of 0, 1, or 2 on the Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status schedule. 3. Have had documented disease progression according to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST v1.0; Therasse et al. 2000) within 3 months after receiving 5-fluorouracil, leucovorin, and oxaliplatin (FOLFOX) plus bevacizumab as first-line therapy for locally advanced or metastatic disease, or within 6 months after receiving FOLFOX with or without bevacizumab in the adjuvant setting. 4. Standard radiation therapy for rectal cancer is allowed. Participants must have recovered from the toxic effects (except for alopecia) of the treatment prior to study enrollment. Prior radiotherapy must be completed 4 weeks before study entry. Lesions that have been radiated in the advanced setting cannot be included as sites of measurable disease unless clear tumor progression has been documented in these lesions since the end of radiation therapy. 5. At least one uni-dimensionally measurable lesion meeting RECIST v1.0 guidelines (at least 10 millimeters \[mm\] in longest diameter by spiral computerized tomography (CT) scan, or at least 20 mm by standard techniques). Positron emission tomography (PET) scans and ultrasounds may not be used.

Exclusion criteria

Participants will be excluded from the study if they meet any of the following criteria: 1. Have received treatment within the last 4 weeks with a drug that has not received regulatory approval for any indication at the time of study entry. 2. Have previously completed or withdrawn from this study or any other study investigating enzastaurin, irinotecan, or cetuximab. 3. Have a serious concomitant systemic disorder \[such as active infection including human immunodeficiency virus (HIV), or cardiac disease\] that, in the opinion of the investigator, would compromise the participant's ability to adhere to the protocol. 4. Have a serious cardiac condition, such as myocardial infarction within 6 months, angina, or heart disease, as defined by the New York Heart Association Class III or IV. 5. Have a prior malignancy (other than colorectal cancer, or adequately treated carcinoma in-situ of the cervix or nonmelanoma skin cancer), unless that prior malignancy was diagnosed and definitively treated at least 5 years previously with no subsequent evidence of recurrence. Participants with a history of low grade (Gleason score less than or equal to 6) localized prostate cancer will be eligible even if diagnosed less than 5 years previously.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Percentage of Participants With Progression-Free Survival (PFS) at 6 Months (PFS Rate)At 6 months from randomizationPFS was defined as the time from the date of study enrollment to the first date of progressive disease or death from any cause. For participants not known to have died as of the data cut-off date and who did not have progressive disease, PFS was censored at the date of last visit with adequate assessment. For participants who received subsequent anticancer therapy (after discontinuation from the study treatment) prior to disease progression or death, PFS was censored at the date of last visit with adequate assessment prior to the initiation of post-discontinuation anticancer therapy. The PFS probability values were multiplied by 100 to obtain the percentage values.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Percentage of Participants With Complete Response (CR) or Partial Response (PR) (Tumor Response Rate)Baseline to measured progressive disease up to 13.2 monthsTumor response rate was defined as number of participants with overall best response of complete response (CR) or partial response (PR) over number of protocol qualified participants using the Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST v1.0) Guidelines. CR was defined as the disappearance of all tumor lesions. PR was defined as at least a 30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter (LD) of target lesions taking as reference the baseline sum of LDs or complete disappearance of target lesions, with persistence (but not worsening) of 1 or more non-target lesions, with no new lesions appearing. Percentage of participants = (Number of participants with overall best response of CR or PR/Number of protocol qualified participants) x 100.
Duration of ResponseTime of response to progressive disease up to 13.2 monthsThe duration of a complete response (CR) or partial response (PR) was defined as the time from first objective status assessment of CR or PR to the first time of disease progression or death from any cause. According to the Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST v1.0) criteria, CR was defined as the disappearance of all tumor lesions and PR was defined as at least a 30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter (LD) of target lesions taking as reference the baseline sum of LDs or complete disappearance of target lesions, with persistence (but not worsening) of 1 or more non-target lesions, with no new lesions appearing. For participants who died, the duration of response was censored at death. For participants still alive, duration of response was censored at the last visit with adequate assessment.
Overall Survival (OS)Randomization to date of death from any cause up to 21.9 monthsOS was defined as the time in months from the date of study enrollment to the date of death from any cause. For participants not known to have died as of the cut-off date, OS was censored at the last contact date.
Percentage of Participants With a Complete Response (CR), Partial Response (PR) or Stable Disease (SD) (Disease Control Rate)Baseline to disease progression (up to 13.2 months)The overall disease control rate for each treatment arm was calculated as percent of participants with overall response of complete response (CR), partial response (PR) or stable disease (SD) over number of protocol qualified population. According to the Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST v1.0) criteria, CR was defined as the disappearance of all tumor lesions, PR was defined as at least a 30% decrease in sum of longest diameter (LD) of target lesions, progressive disease (PD) was defined as at least 20% increase in sum of LD of target lesions, and SD was defined as small changes that did not meet above criteria. Percentage of participants = (Number of participants with overall best response of CR, PR, or SD/Number of protocol qualified participants) x 100.
Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) or Who DiedBaseline to study completion (Cycle 31.5 [21 days/cycle] and 30-day safety follow-up)Clinically significant events were defined as serious and other non-serious AEs. Participants who died due to progressive disease (PD) or and adverse events (AEs) while on treatment and or died during the 30 day post-treatment are included. A summary of serious and other non-serious adverse events regardless of causality is located in the Reported Adverse Events module.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Pre-assignment details

Participant flow reports those participants who discontinued from study drug.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Enzastaurin+Irinotecan+Cetuximab
Enzastaurin: 1125 milligrams (mg) loading dose on Day 1 of Cycle 1, then 500 mg orally, daily, of each 21-day cycle until progressive disease Irinotecan: 300 mg/m\^2 intravenously on Day 1 of each 21-day cycle until progressive disease Cetuximab: 400 mg/m\^2 intravenously on Day 1, then 250 mg/m\^2 on Days 8 and 15 in Cycle 1, then 250 mg/m\^2 intravenously on Days 1, 8 and 15 of each 21-day cycle until progressive disease
13
Irinotecan+Cetuximab
Irinotecan: 300 mg/m\^2 intravenously on Day 1 of each 21-day cycle until progressive disease Cetuximab: 400 mg/m\^2 intravenously on Day 1, then 250 mg/m\^2 on Days 8 and 15 in Cycle 1, then 250 mg/m\^2 intravenously on Days 1, 8 and 15 of each 21-day cycle until progressive disease
13
Total26

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001
Overall StudyAdverse Event11
Overall StudyDeath01
Overall StudyPhysician Decision10
Overall StudyProgressive disease99
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject22

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicEnzastaurin+Irinotecan+CetuximabIrinotecan+CetuximabTotal
Adjuvant Therapy Status
No
6 Participants8 Participants14 Participants
Adjuvant Therapy Status
Yes
7 Participants5 Participants12 Participants
Age, Continuous52.5 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 12.45
59.5 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 10.28
56.0 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 11.75
Basis for Initial Diagnosis
Cytologic
3 Participants0 Participants3 Participants
Basis for Initial Diagnosis
Histopathologic
10 Participants13 Participants23 Participants
Disease Type at Initial Diagnosis
Adenocarcinoma
12 Participants10 Participants22 Participants
Disease Type at Initial Diagnosis
Mucinous Adenocarcinoma
1 Participants2 Participants3 Participants
Disease Type at Initial Diagnosis
Other
0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) Performance Status
0 - Fully Active
4 Participants6 Participants10 Participants
Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) Performance Status
1 - Ambulatory, Restricted Strenuous Activity
9 Participants7 Participants16 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
4 Participants3 Participants7 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
9 Participants10 Participants19 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
Asian
2 Participants0 Participants2 Participants
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
Black or African American
2 Participants0 Participants2 Participants
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
Unknown or Not Reported
4 Participants3 Participants7 Participants
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
White
5 Participants10 Participants15 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
13 Participants13 Participants26 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
9 Participants9 Participants18 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
4 Participants4 Participants8 Participants
Stage of Disease at Initial Diagnosis
Stage IIB
1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Stage of Disease at Initial Diagnosis
Stage IIIB
1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Stage of Disease at Initial Diagnosis
Stage IIIC
0 Participants2 Participants2 Participants
Stage of Disease at Initial Diagnosis
Stage IV
11 Participants11 Participants22 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
— / —— / —
other
Total, other adverse events
13 / 1313 / 13
serious
Total, serious adverse events
8 / 136 / 13

Outcome results

Primary

Percentage of Participants With Progression-Free Survival (PFS) at 6 Months (PFS Rate)

PFS was defined as the time from the date of study enrollment to the first date of progressive disease or death from any cause. For participants not known to have died as of the data cut-off date and who did not have progressive disease, PFS was censored at the date of last visit with adequate assessment. For participants who received subsequent anticancer therapy (after discontinuation from the study treatment) prior to disease progression or death, PFS was censored at the date of last visit with adequate assessment prior to the initiation of post-discontinuation anticancer therapy. The PFS probability values were multiplied by 100 to obtain the percentage values.

Time frame: At 6 months from randomization

Population: Protocol qualified population: All randomized participants who received at least 1 dose of study drug and did not develop a severe infusion reaction to cetuximab after the first dose. Participants censored: Irinotecan +Cetuximab+Enzastaurin = 1; Irinotecan +Cetuximab =2.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Enzastaurin+Irinotecan+CetuximabPercentage of Participants With Progression-Free Survival (PFS) at 6 Months (PFS Rate)26 percentage of participants
Irinotecan+CetuximabPercentage of Participants With Progression-Free Survival (PFS) at 6 Months (PFS Rate)23 percentage of participants
p-value: 0.431Log Rank
Secondary

Duration of Response

The duration of a complete response (CR) or partial response (PR) was defined as the time from first objective status assessment of CR or PR to the first time of disease progression or death from any cause. According to the Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST v1.0) criteria, CR was defined as the disappearance of all tumor lesions and PR was defined as at least a 30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter (LD) of target lesions taking as reference the baseline sum of LDs or complete disappearance of target lesions, with persistence (but not worsening) of 1 or more non-target lesions, with no new lesions appearing. For participants who died, the duration of response was censored at death. For participants still alive, duration of response was censored at the last visit with adequate assessment.

Time frame: Time of response to progressive disease up to 13.2 months

Population: Participants with a CR or PR. No participants were censored.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Enzastaurin+Irinotecan+CetuximabDuration of Response6.9 months
Irinotecan+CetuximabDuration of Response12.6 months
p-value: 0.157Log Rank
Secondary

Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) or Who Died

Clinically significant events were defined as serious and other non-serious AEs. Participants who died due to progressive disease (PD) or and adverse events (AEs) while on treatment and or died during the 30 day post-treatment are included. A summary of serious and other non-serious adverse events regardless of causality is located in the Reported Adverse Events module.

Time frame: Baseline to study completion (Cycle 31.5 [21 days/cycle] and 30-day safety follow-up)

Population: The safety population included all randomized and treated participants.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Enzastaurin+Irinotecan+CetuximabNumber of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) or Who DiedSerious AEs8 Participants
Enzastaurin+Irinotecan+CetuximabNumber of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) or Who DiedDeaths Due to AEs0 Participants
Enzastaurin+Irinotecan+CetuximabNumber of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) or Who DiedDeaths Due to PD0 Participants
Enzastaurin+Irinotecan+CetuximabNumber of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) or Who DiedDeaths in 30-day follow-up0 Participants
Enzastaurin+Irinotecan+CetuximabNumber of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) or Who DiedNon-serious AEs13 Participants
Irinotecan+CetuximabNumber of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) or Who DiedDeaths in 30-day follow-up1 Participants
Irinotecan+CetuximabNumber of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) or Who DiedNon-serious AEs13 Participants
Irinotecan+CetuximabNumber of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) or Who DiedSerious AEs6 Participants
Irinotecan+CetuximabNumber of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) or Who DiedDeaths Due to PD0 Participants
Irinotecan+CetuximabNumber of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) or Who DiedDeaths Due to AEs1 Participants
Secondary

Overall Survival (OS)

OS was defined as the time in months from the date of study enrollment to the date of death from any cause. For participants not known to have died as of the cut-off date, OS was censored at the last contact date.

Time frame: Randomization to date of death from any cause up to 21.9 months

Population: Protocol qualified population: All randomized participants who received at least 1 dose of study drug and did not develop a severe infusion reaction to cetuximab after the first dose. Censored participants: Enzastaurin+Irinotecan+Cetuximab = 4; Irinotecan+Cetuximab = 4.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Enzastaurin+Irinotecan+CetuximabOverall Survival (OS)8.5 months
Irinotecan+CetuximabOverall Survival (OS)8.0 months
p-value: 0.539Log Rank
Secondary

Percentage of Participants With a Complete Response (CR), Partial Response (PR) or Stable Disease (SD) (Disease Control Rate)

The overall disease control rate for each treatment arm was calculated as percent of participants with overall response of complete response (CR), partial response (PR) or stable disease (SD) over number of protocol qualified population. According to the Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST v1.0) criteria, CR was defined as the disappearance of all tumor lesions, PR was defined as at least a 30% decrease in sum of longest diameter (LD) of target lesions, progressive disease (PD) was defined as at least 20% increase in sum of LD of target lesions, and SD was defined as small changes that did not meet above criteria. Percentage of participants = (Number of participants with overall best response of CR, PR, or SD/Number of protocol qualified participants) x 100.

Time frame: Baseline to disease progression (up to 13.2 months)

Population: Protocol qualified population: All randomized participants who received at least 1 dose of study drug and did not develop a severe infusion reaction to cetuximab after the first dose.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Enzastaurin+Irinotecan+CetuximabPercentage of Participants With a Complete Response (CR), Partial Response (PR) or Stable Disease (SD) (Disease Control Rate)38.5 percentage of participants
Irinotecan+CetuximabPercentage of Participants With a Complete Response (CR), Partial Response (PR) or Stable Disease (SD) (Disease Control Rate)50.0 percentage of participants
p-value: 0.695Fisher Exact
Secondary

Percentage of Participants With Complete Response (CR) or Partial Response (PR) (Tumor Response Rate)

Tumor response rate was defined as number of participants with overall best response of complete response (CR) or partial response (PR) over number of protocol qualified participants using the Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST v1.0) Guidelines. CR was defined as the disappearance of all tumor lesions. PR was defined as at least a 30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter (LD) of target lesions taking as reference the baseline sum of LDs or complete disappearance of target lesions, with persistence (but not worsening) of 1 or more non-target lesions, with no new lesions appearing. Percentage of participants = (Number of participants with overall best response of CR or PR/Number of protocol qualified participants) x 100.

Time frame: Baseline to measured progressive disease up to 13.2 months

Population: Protocol qualified population: All randomized participants who received at least 1 dose of study drug and did not develop a severe infusion reaction to cetuximab after the first dose.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Enzastaurin+Irinotecan+CetuximabPercentage of Participants With Complete Response (CR) or Partial Response (PR) (Tumor Response Rate)7.7 percentage of participants
Irinotecan+CetuximabPercentage of Participants With Complete Response (CR) or Partial Response (PR) (Tumor Response Rate)16.7 percentage of participants
p-value: 0.593Fisher Exact

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026