Skip to content

Cisplatin, Bevacizumab, and Intensity-Modulated Radiation Therapy in Treating Patients With Stage III or Stage IV Head and Neck Cancer

A Phase II Study of Radiotherapy (IMRT) + Cisplatin + Bevacizumab for Patients With Stage III/IV Head and Neck Cancers

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT00423930
Enrollment
44
Registered
2007-01-18
Start date
2006-10-31
Completion date
2016-07-31
Last updated
2017-08-18

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Head and Neck Cancer

Keywords

stage II squamous cell carcinoma of the hypopharynx, stage III squamous cell carcinoma of the hypopharynx, stage IV squamous cell carcinoma of the hypopharynx, stage III squamous cell carcinoma of the larynx, stage IV squamous cell carcinoma of the larynx, stage III squamous cell carcinoma of the lip and oral cavity, stage IV squamous cell carcinoma of the lip and oral cavity, stage III squamous cell carcinoma of the oropharynx, stage IV squamous cell carcinoma of the oropharynx, stage III squamous cell carcinoma of the paranasal sinus and nasal cavity, stage IV squamous cell carcinoma of the paranasal sinus and nasal cavity, tongue cancer

Brief summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as cisplatin, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Monoclonal antibodies, such as bevacizumab, can block tumor growth in different ways. Some block the ability of tumor cells to grow and spread. Others find tumor cells and help kill them or carry tumor-killing substances to them. Bevacizumab may also stop the growth of head and neck cancer by blocking blood flow to the tumor. Specialized radiation therapy that delivers a high dose of radiation directly to the tumor may kill more tumor cells and cause less damage to normal tissue. Giving cisplatin and bevacizumab together with intensity-modulated radiation therapy may kill more tumor cells. PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying the side effects and how well giving cisplatin and bevacizumab together with intensity-modulated radiation therapy works in treating patients with stage III or stage IV head and neck cancer.

Detailed description

OBJECTIVES: Primary * Determine the 2-year progression-free survival of patients with stage III or IV squamous cell carcinoma of the head and neck treated with chemoradiotherapy comprising cisplatin, bevacizumab, and intensity-modulated radiotherapy. * Determine the safety and tolerability of this regimen in these patients. Secondary * Determine the median overall survival of patients treated with this regimen. OUTLINE: * Chemoradiotherapy: Patients receive cisplatin IV over 1 hour on days 1, 2, 22, 23, 43, and 44 and bevacizumab IV over 30-90 minutes on days 1, 22, and 43. Patients also undergo intensity-modulated radiotherapy on days 1-5, 8-12, 15-19, 22-26, 29-33, 36-40, and 43-47. Treatment continues in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Between 3-4 months after completion of chemoradiotherapy, patients undergo evaluation. Patients with clinical evidence of residual, progressive, or persistent disease may be eligible to undergo neck surgery at the discretion of their physician. After completion of study treatment, patients are followed every 3 months for 2 years, every 6 months for 3 years, and then annually thereafter. PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 42 patients will be accrued for this study.

Interventions

BIOLOGICALbevacizumab
DRUGcisplatin
PROCEDUREconventional surgery
RADIATIONintensity-modulated radiation therapy

Sponsors

National Cancer Institute (NCI)
CollaboratorNIH
Genentech, Inc.
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Stage III/IV HNSCC without distant metastasis, previously untreated. Patients with stage II squamous cell carcinoma of the hypopharynx will also be eligible. * Adequate renal function, with serum creatinine ≤ 1.5 mg/dL. Patients with serum creatinine \> 1.5 mg/dL may be eligible if calculated creatinine clearance ≥ 55 ml/min by Cockcroft and Gault equation (or 24-hour urine collection). * Age ≥ 18 years * Karnofsky performance status ≥70% * Adequate bone marrow function: absolute neutrophil count ≥ 1,500/μl, platelets ≥ 100,000/μl, hemoglobin ≥ 9 gm/dl * Adequate hepatic function: Total bilirubin ≤ 1.5 X UNL (patients with Gilbert's syndrome as the cause of hyperbilirubinemia may be eligible if total bilirubin ≤ 2.5 X UNL), aspartate aminotransferase (AST) ≤ 2.5 X UNL, alanine aminotransferase (ALT) ≤ 2.5 X UNL, alkaline phosphatase ≤ 2.5 X UNL. * Men and women of childbearing potential must be willing to consent to using effective contraception while on treatment and for at least 3 months thereafter. * Patients must have ability to understand and the willingness to sign a written informed consent document.

Exclusion criteria

* Prior chemotherapy or radiation therapy for HNSCC * Prior treatment with bevacizumab or other agents specifically targeting VEGF * Other active malignancy, other than indolent malignancies which the investigator determines are unlikely to interfere with treatment or efficacy analysis. For example, patients with non-melanoma skin cancer, in situ carcinoma of the cervix, or prostate cancer within the no current biochemical (PSA) or radiologic evidence of disease may enroll. * Patients with nasopharyngeal carcinoma * Patients who will receive amifostine as part of the radiation treatment plan * Patients with skin breakdown/ulceration (CTCAE version 3.0, grade 2 or higher). * Patients with hearing loss requiring hearing aid or intervention (i.e. interfering in a clinical significant way with activities of daily living). * Patients with multifocal peripheral sensory alterations or paresthesias (including tingling) interfering with function, per patient report (example: activities of daily living). * History of arterial thromboembolic events, including transient ischemic attack (TIA), cerebrovascular accident (CVA), unstable angina, or myocardial infarction (MI) within the last 3 years. * Urine protein: creatinine (UPC) ratio ≥ 1.0 at screening. A random urine sample is collected. Total protein (mg/dL) and spot creatinine (mg/dL) are ordered for this sample. The UPC ratio is calculated from the results of these tests. * International normalized ratio (INR) \> 1.5 or activated partial thromboplastin time (aPTT) \> 1.5 X upper limits of normal (UNL), * Current use of warfarin, current use of heparin or low-molecular weight heparin, chronic daily treatment with aspirin (\> 325 mg/day) or nonsteroidal antiinflammatory medications known to inhibit platelet function. Treatment with dipyramidole (Persantine), ticlopidine (Ticlid), clopidogrel (Plavix) and or cilostazol (Pletal) is not allowed. * Patients with gross hemoptysis or hematemesis (defined as bright red blood of 1 teaspoon of more) within 1 month prior to Day 1 protocol treatment will be excluded from this trial. Patients with incidental blood mixed with phlegm are not excluded. * Esophageal varices, non-healing ulcer, wound, or bone fracture are

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Progression-free Survival at 2 YearsPercentage of Participants Experiencing Progression-free Survival at 2 YearsProgression is defined using Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.0), as a 20% increase in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions, or a measurable increase in a non-target lesion, or the appearance of new lesions.

Secondary

MeasureTime frame
Overall Survival Rate: Percentage of Participants Who Survived2 years

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
IMRT + Cisplatin + Bevacizumab
This is a single-institution phase II study. The primary endpoint is to determine 2-year progression-free survival for patients with locally or regionally advanced HNSCC treated with concurrent intensity modulated radiation therapy (IMRT) + cisplatin + bevacizumab. bevacizumab cisplatin conventional surgery intensity-modulated radiation therapy
44
Total44

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject2

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicIMRT + Cisplatin + Bevacizumab
Age, Continuous54 years
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
3 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
41 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
41 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
44 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
8 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
36 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
11 / 42
other
Total, other adverse events
42 / 42
serious
Total, serious adverse events
28 / 42

Outcome results

Primary

Progression-free Survival at 2 Years

Progression is defined using Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.0), as a 20% increase in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions, or a measurable increase in a non-target lesion, or the appearance of new lesions.

Time frame: Percentage of Participants Experiencing Progression-free Survival at 2 Years

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
IMRT + Cisplatin + BevacizumabProgression-free Survival at 2 Years75.9 percentage of participants
Secondary

Overall Survival Rate: Percentage of Participants Who Survived

Time frame: 2 years

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
IMRT + Cisplatin + BevacizumabOverall Survival Rate: Percentage of Participants Who Survived88 percentage of participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026