Skip to content

Donepezil in Treating Patients Who Have Undergone Radiation Therapy for Brain Tumors

Phase III Double Blind, Placebo Controlled Study of Donepezil in the Irradiated Brain

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT00369785
Enrollment
198
Registered
2006-08-29
Start date
2008-02-29
Completion date
2012-07-01
Last updated
2021-10-20

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Brain Tumors, Metastatic Disease

Keywords

cognitive/functional effects, fatigue, psychosocial effects of cancer and its treatment, radiation toxicity, tumors metastatic to brain, adult brain stem glioma, adult central nervous system germ cell tumor, adult choroid plexus tumor, adult craniopharyngioma, adult mixed glioma, adult anaplastic meningioma, meningeal melanocytoma, adult meningeal hemangiopericytoma, adult grade I meningioma, adult grade II meningioma, adult grade III meningioma, adult papillary meningioma, adult anaplastic oligodendroglioma, adult oligodendroglioma, adult pineoblastoma, adult pineocytoma, adult anaplastic astrocytoma, adult diffuse astrocytoma, adult glioblastoma, adult giant cell glioblastoma, adult gliosarcoma, adult pilocytic astrocytoma, adult ependymoblastoma, adult medulloblastoma, adult supratentorial primitive neuroectodermal tumor (PNET), adult anaplastic ependymoma, adult ependymoma, adult myxopapillary ependymoma, adult subependymoma

Brief summary

RATIONALE: Donepezil may help lessen confusion and fatigue and improve mood and quality of life in patients who have undergone radiation therapy for brain tumors. It is not yet known whether donepezil is more effective than a placebo in lessening side effects of radiation therapy in patients with brain tumors. PURPOSE: This randomized phase III trial is studying donepezil to see how well it works in lessening side effects of radiation therapy compared with a placebo in patients who have undergone radiation therapy for brain tumors.

Detailed description

OBJECTIVES: Primary * Compare the effect of donepezil hydrochloride vs placebo, in terms of improving neurocognitive symptom cluster (i.e., cognitive impairment, subjective confusion, and fatigue), in patients who have undergone partial- or whole-brain irradiation for brain tumors. Secondary * Compare the effect of these regimens on mood and quality of life in these patients. OUTLINE: This is a prospective, double-blind, placebo-controlled, randomized, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to prior brain irradiation type (whole-brain vs partial-brain) and study site. Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms. * Arm I: Patients receive oral donepezil hydrochloride once or twice daily for up to 24 weeks in the absence of unacceptable toxicity. * Arm II: Patients receive oral placebo once or twice daily for up to 24 weeks in the absence of unacceptable toxicity. Patients complete self-reported questionnaires (quality of life, fatigue, subjective confusion, neurocognitive battery, and mood) at baseline and 12 and 24 weeks. PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 200 patients will be accrued for this study.

Interventions

DRUGdonepezil hydrochloride

Weeks 1-6: One tablet Donepezil 5 mg given daily Weeks 7-24: Two Donepezil 5 mg tablets given daily

DRUGPlacebo

Weeks 1-6: One tablet per day Weeks 7-24: Two tablets per day

Sponsors

National Cancer Institute (NCI)
CollaboratorNIH
Wake Forest University Health Sciences
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
SUPPORTIVE_CARE
Masking
QUADRUPLE (Subject, Caregiver, Investigator, Outcomes Assessor)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Adults \>18 years old. * Life expectancy of at least \> 30 weeks. * Must have received a prior course of at least 30 Gy fractionated whole or partial brain irradiation for treatment of a primary brain tumor or metastatic disease to the brain. * Must have completed radiation \> 6 months prior to enrollment and have no radiographic evidence of brain disease, or stable brain disease defined as no evidence of tumor progression in the 3 months prior to enrollment. * Patients who have undergone one or more treatments with single fraction stereotactic radiosurgery (SRS) in addition to whole or partial brain irradiation are eligible, as long as the SRS was completed \> 6 months prior to registration if NED or stable disease. * Radiation treatment records must be available for all prior radiation treatments (external beam and/or SRS). * Patients who have received PCI (prophylactic cranial irradiation) are eligible. * Karnofsky Performance Status must be \> 60 or ECOG 0-2. * Treatment with steroids, anti-cholinergics, anti-epileptics, anti-depressants, and /or sedatives/benzodiazepines is acceptable, but the patient must be on a stable or decreasing dose at the time of study entry. * Patients using narcotic analgesics on a stable dose and/or prn basis are eligible. * Patients currently on a stable dose of Methylphenidate or Dextramphetamine are eligible. * For patients with brain metastases, if extracranial primary or metastatic disease is present, it must have responded to local and/or systemic treatment. Must be stable in the 3 months prior to enrollment. * Must not be receiving chemotherapy at the time of enrollment. * Patient must not have any planned therapy, including surgery, brain radiation of any type, chemotherapy, or immunotherapy during the next 30 weeks for brain or extracranial primary metastatic disease. * Hormonal therapy for patients with breast or prostate cancer is acceptable. * Breast patients receiving therapy with Herceptin are allowed. * Patients must be able to give informed consent to participate in the study, including signing the consent form. * Patients must have a telephone.

Exclusion criteria

* Patients cannot be currently taking dementia drugs, cognitive enhancers, neuroleptics, and/or anti-parkinsonian agents. For patients who have used these drugs in the past, they must not have used them in the 2 weeks prior to enrolling on the study. * Hypersensitivity to donepezil. * Patients may not currently be taking Ketoconazole or Quindine * Arrythmias including bradycardia or heartblock * Patients who have received, GliaSite or other type of brain brachytherapy, (Gliadel Wafers permitted) convection enhanced delivery of immunotoxins, and/or any other investigational modalities for treatment of their brain tumor. The effects of donepezil on the developing human fetus at the recommended therapeutic dose are unknown. For this reason, women of child-bearing potential and men must agree to use adequate contraception (hormonal or barrier method of birth control; abstinence) prior to study entry and for the duration of study participation. Should a woman become pregnant or suspect she is pregnant while participating in this study, she should inform her treating physician immediately. * It is unknown whether donepezil is excreted in breast milk, for this reason women who are currently breast-feeding are not eligible for this study.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Memory as Quantified by HVLT-immediate Recall24 weeksMemory is quantified using the Hopkins Verbal Learning Test (HVLT) - immediate recall. Participants are asked to recall 12 words. Each recalled word is given one point. They are given three trials. The total score is the sum of the recalled words. The range for HVLT-Immediate recall is 0 to 36. Higher scores represent better memory.
Memory as Quantified by the HVLT-discrimination24 weeksIn the Hopkins Verbal Learning Test - discrimination, participants are given lists of 12 correct words and 12 incorrect words. HVLT-discrimination is the number of correctly recognized words minus the number incorrectly recognized. The range for this outcome measure is -12 to 12. Higher scores represent better memory.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

Patients were accrued between 2/2008 and 12/2011 at NCI CCOP sites across the nation.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Arm I - Donepezil
Weeks 1-6: One 5 mg tablet orally donepezil hydrochloride Weeks 7-24: Two 5mg tablets per day donepezil hydrochloride: Weeks 1-6: One tablet Donepezil 5 mg given daily Weeks 7-24: Two Donepezil 5 mg tablets given daily
99
Arm II - Control
Weeks 1-6: One placebo tablet per day Weeks 7-24: Two placebo tablets per day Placebo: Weeks 1-6: One tablet per day Weeks 7-24: Two tablets per day
99
Total198

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001
Overall StudyDeath12
Overall StudyMultiple reasons65
Overall StudyNever started02
Overall StudyPhysician Decision32
Overall StudyProgression44
Overall StudyToxicity64
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject76

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicArm I - DonepezilArm II - ControlTotal
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
27 Participants16 Participants43 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
72 Participants83 Participants155 Participants
Age, Continuous56.1 years54.9 years55.1 years
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
96 Participants97 Participants193 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
2 Participants2 Participants4 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
7 Participants9 Participants16 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
91 Participants90 Participants181 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
99 participants99 participants198 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
56 Participants50 Participants106 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
43 Participants49 Participants92 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
— / —— / —
other
Total, other adverse events
88 / 9680 / 92
serious
Total, serious adverse events
12 / 9610 / 92

Outcome results

Primary

Memory as Quantified by HVLT-immediate Recall

Memory is quantified using the Hopkins Verbal Learning Test (HVLT) - immediate recall. Participants are asked to recall 12 words. Each recalled word is given one point. They are given three trials. The total score is the sum of the recalled words. The range for HVLT-Immediate recall is 0 to 36. Higher scores represent better memory.

Time frame: 24 weeks

Population: Participants with 24 week HVLT data.

ArmMeasureValue (LEAST_SQUARES_MEAN)Dispersion
Arm I - DonepezilMemory as Quantified by HVLT-immediate Recall22.5 units on a scaleStandard Error 0.45
Arm II - ControlMemory as Quantified by HVLT-immediate Recall22.2 units on a scaleStandard Error 0.45
Comparison: Null Hypothesis: No difference in immediate recall memory at 24 weeksp-value: 0.62Mixed Models Analysis
Primary

Memory as Quantified by the HVLT-discrimination

In the Hopkins Verbal Learning Test - discrimination, participants are given lists of 12 correct words and 12 incorrect words. HVLT-discrimination is the number of correctly recognized words minus the number incorrectly recognized. The range for this outcome measure is -12 to 12. Higher scores represent better memory.

Time frame: 24 weeks

Population: Number of participants with 24 week memory data

ArmMeasureValue (LEAST_SQUARES_MEAN)Dispersion
Arm I - DonepezilMemory as Quantified by the HVLT-discrimination10.1 units on a scaleStandard Error 0.24
Arm II - ControlMemory as Quantified by the HVLT-discrimination9.2 units on a scaleStandard Error 0.24
Comparison: Null Hypothesis: No difference in discrimination memory between the two groupsp-value: 0.007Mixed Models Analysis

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026