Skip to content

Clinical Trial Ceftriaxone in Subjects With ALS

Clinical Trial Ceftriaxone in Subjects With Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT00349622
Enrollment
513
Registered
2006-07-07
Start date
2006-07-31
Completion date
2012-11-30
Last updated
2014-04-21

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

ALS, Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis

Keywords

amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, ALS, ceftriaxone, cephalosporin antibiotic, motor neurons

Brief summary

The purpose of the study is to evaluate the safety and efficacy of ceftriaxone treatment in amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS).

Detailed description

It is known that nerve cells called motor neurons die in the brains and spinal cords of people with amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS). However, the cause of this cell death is unknown. Researchers think that increased levels of a chemical called glutamate may be related to the cell death. For this reason researchers want to study drugs that decrease glutamate levels near nerves. Ceftriaxone-a semi-synthetic, third generation cephalosporin antibiotic-may increase the level of a protein that decreases glutamate levels near nerves. Studies of ceftriaxone in the laboratory suggest that it may protect motor neurons from injury. Ceftriaxone is approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for treating bacterial infections but not for treating ALS. Also, ceftriaxone has not been given to people over a long period of time, such as months or years. The goals of this study are to evaluate the safety and effectiveness of ceftriaxone as a treatment for ALS, and to determine the safety and effectiveness of long-term use of the drug in people with ALS. A total of 600 eligible people with ALS will be enrolled in this multi-center research study. Participants will be randomly assigned to receive treatment with ceftriaxone (2/3 of participants) or placebo (1/3 of participants) for at least 12 months. The study consists of three stages. The first stage, which has completed enrollment, will look at whether ceftriaxone enters the cerebrospinal fluid (the fluid that surrounds the spinal cord, also called CSF) in amounts that are high enough to be of possible benefit. The second stage, which has also completed enrollment, will look at the safety and side effects of the study drug when taken daily for at least 20 weeks. The study is currently enrolling subjects for the third stage, which began in Spring 2009, and will determine whether the study drug prolongs survival and slows decline in function due to ALS.

Interventions

DRUGceftriaxone

Participants will be randomly assigned to receive treatment with ceftriaxone or placebo for at least 12 months. Two thirds of participants will receive ceftriaxone and one third will receive placebo. This is a blinded study, so neither participants nor study staff will know which treatment a participant is receiving. Ceftriaxone is approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for treating bacterial infections but not for treating ALS. Also, ceftriaxone has not been given to people over a long period of time, such as months or years.

OTHERplacebo

an inactive substance

Sponsors

National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS)
CollaboratorNIH
Massachusetts General Hospital
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
DOUBLE (Subject, Investigator)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Participants will be people with ALS, at least 18 years of age. * Participants must be medically able to undergo the study procedures and have a caregiver or other individual who will be available to help with daily study medication administration. * Participants should live within a reasonable distance of the study site, due to frequent study visits.

Exclusion criteria

* Participants cannot be taking any other experimental medications for ALS, or have a history of sensitivity to cephalosporin antibiotics (such as Ancef, Keflex, Ceclor, Ceftin, Lorabid, Suprax, or Fortaz).

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
SurvivalFrom date of randomization until date of death, tracheostomy, or the initiation of permanent assisted ventilation (PAV). This was assessed at time of each participant's drug discontinuation and every 2 months thereafter for the life of the study (6 yrs)Survival is presented as median day of survival for each group. Survival is defined as time to death, tracheostomy or the initiation of permanent assisted ventilation (PAV).
Change From Baseline in ALS Functional Rating Scale, Revised (ALSFRS-R) at One YearEvery 8 weeks for one yearAmyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis Functional Rating Scale, Revised (ALSFRS-R) is a quickly administered (five minute) ordinal rating scale used to determine patients' assessment of their capability and independence in 12 functional activities/questions. The 12 functional activities/questions are rated on a scale of 0 to 4 for a total scoring range of 0-48, with 48 representing optimal function. All 12 activities are relevant in ALS. This outcome measure calculation is based on measurements every 8 weeks from the Baseline Visit up until one year.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Change in % Vital Capacity From Screening to One YearEvery 12 weeks for one YearVital Capacity is measured as the percent predicted per subject based on age, gender, and height, and is performed as a Slow Vital Capacity. This outcome measure calculation is based on measurements every 12 weeks from the Baseline Visit up until one year.
Change From Baseline in Evaluation of Multiple Upper Extremity Muscles Using Hand Held Dynamometry at One YearEvery 12 weeks for one YearHand-held Dynamometry (HHD) is used to evaluate muscle strength. Six proximal muscle groups were examined bilaterally in both upper and lower extremities (shoulder flexion, elbow flexion, elbow extension, hip flexion, knee flexion, and knee extension). In addition, wrist extension, first dorsal interosseous contraction and ankle dorsiflexion were measured bilaterally. HHD analysis was performed using Percent Change from Baseline. Each subject's baseline strength value for each muscle group is considered 100%. During successive visits strength for each muscle group was measured using HHD and was calculated as a percentage of the initial baseline value recorded. Upper extremity and lower extremity values were calculated as the sum of all tests for that extremity to create one megascore for upper and one megascore for lower extremity muscles. This outcome measure calculation is based on measurements every 12 weeks from the Baseline Visit up until one year.
Change From Baseline in the ALS-Specific Quality of Life Scale (ALSQOL) at One YearEvery 12 weeks for one YearThe ALS-Specific Quality of Life Scale (ALSQOL). was developed, tested, and validated in subjects with ALS, and is not a health-related quality of life scale. The scale consists of 59 questions that ask about severity of the symptoms of ALS, mood and affect, intimacy, and social issues. Each question for the ALSQOL is scored from 0-10. With 59 questions, total score ranges from 0-590 with scores simply added, with 590 representing highest quality of life. However since 10 is maximally weighted towards negative values on some questions and positive values on others, the following questions must have results transposed (Simply reverse the scale, for instance 10=0 and 0=10) prior to analysis: 1-10, 11, 16, 19, 24, 26, 28, 32, 35, 36, 38, and 41. Optional items are 50, 53, 56, and 59. These questions are not included on any scale or in any quantitative analyses. This outcome measure calculation is based on measurements every 12 weeks from the Baseline Visit up until one year.
Change From Baseline in Evaluation of Multiple Lower Extremity Muscles Using Hand Held Dynamometry at One YearEvery 12 weeks for one YearHand-held Dynamometry (HHD) is used to evaluate muscle strength. Six proximal muscle groups were examined bilaterally in both upper and lower extremities (shoulder flexion, elbow flexion, elbow extension, hip flexion, knee flexion, and knee extension). In addition, wrist extension, first dorsal interosseous contraction and ankle dorsiflexion were measured bilaterally. HHD analysis was performed using Percent Change from Baseline. Each subject's baseline strength value for each muscle group is considered 100%. During successive visits strength for each muscle group was measured using HHD and was calculated as a percentage of the initial baseline value recorded. Upper extremity and lower extremity values were calculated as the sum of all tests for that extremity to create one megascore for upper and one megascore for lower extremity muscles. This outcome measure calculation is based on measurements every 12 weeks from the Baseline Visit up until one year.

Countries

Canada, United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

Ceftriaxone is approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for treating bacterial infections but not for treating ALS. Subjects with ALS were enrolled in 58 institutions across in the US and Canada.

Pre-assignment details

Participants were randomly assigned to receive treatment with ceftriaxone or placebo for at least 12 months. Two thirds of participants received ceftriaxone and one third received placebo. This is a blinded study, so neither participants nor study staff knew which treatment a participant is receiving.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Ceftriaxone
Two thirds of participants were assigned to 4 grams of ceftriaxone per day. This is a blinded study, so neither participants nor study staff will know which treatment a participant is receiving. Ceftriaxone is a cephalosporin antibiotic and was administered intravenously via a central venous catheter twice a day.
340
Placebo
One third of participants were assigned to placebo, or an inactive substance. This is a blinded study, so neither participants nor study staff will know which treatment a participant is receiving. Pediatric multivitamin solution was used as the placebo in this study and was administered intravenously via a central venous catheter twice a day.
173
Total513

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001
Overall StudyDeath16886
Overall StudyLost to Follow-up51
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject59

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicTotalPlaceboCeftriaxone
Age, Continuous
Age at Screening
55.4 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 10.4
54.8 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 10.3
55.6 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 10.4
ALS Family History
Familial History of ALS
34 participants8 participants26 participants
ALS Family History
No Known Familial History of ALS
468 participants161 participants307 participants
ALS Family History
Unknown
11 participants4 participants7 participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
23 Participants6 Participants17 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
485 Participants165 Participants320 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
5 Participants2 Participants3 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
2 Participants0 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
11 Participants5 Participants6 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
11 Participants3 Participants8 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
2 Participants0 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
3 Participants2 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
483 Participants163 Participants320 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Canada
69 participants22 participants47 participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
444 participants151 participants293 participants
Riluzole Use
Not on Riluzole
136 participants45 participants91 participants
Riluzole Use
On Riluzole
377 participants128 participants249 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
203 Participants72 Participants131 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
310 Participants101 Participants209 Participants
Site of Onset
Both
9 participants1 participants8 participants
Site of Onset
Bulbar
110 participants35 participants75 participants
Site of Onset
Limb
394 participants137 participants257 participants
Time to Screening
Years from Diagnosis to Screening
0.57 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 0.49
0.58 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 0.49
0.56 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 0.49
Time to Screening
Years from Symptom Onset to Diagnosis
0.92 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 0.56
0.92 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 0.58
0.93 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 0.55
Time to Screening
Years from Symptom Onset to Screening
1.49 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 0.68
1.50 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 0.67
1.49 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 0.68
Vital Capacity Percent Predicted89.0 percent predicted based on age and heigh
STANDARD_DEVIATION 17.3
91.1 percent predicted based on age and heigh
STANDARD_DEVIATION 18.4
87.9 percent predicted based on age and heigh
STANDARD_DEVIATION 16.6

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
— / —— / —
other
Total, other adverse events
331 / 340153 / 173
serious
Total, serious adverse events
276 / 340125 / 173

Outcome results

Primary

Change From Baseline in ALS Functional Rating Scale, Revised (ALSFRS-R) at One Year

Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis Functional Rating Scale, Revised (ALSFRS-R) is a quickly administered (five minute) ordinal rating scale used to determine patients' assessment of their capability and independence in 12 functional activities/questions. The 12 functional activities/questions are rated on a scale of 0 to 4 for a total scoring range of 0-48, with 48 representing optimal function. All 12 activities are relevant in ALS. This outcome measure calculation is based on measurements every 8 weeks from the Baseline Visit up until one year.

Time frame: Every 8 weeks for one year

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
CeftriaxoneChange From Baseline in ALS Functional Rating Scale, Revised (ALSFRS-R) at One Year-1.1311 units on a scale per 8 weeksStandard Error 0.04395
PlaceboChange From Baseline in ALS Functional Rating Scale, Revised (ALSFRS-R) at One Year-1.2208 units on a scale per 8 weeksStandard Error 0.06177
Primary

Survival

Survival is presented as median day of survival for each group. Survival is defined as time to death, tracheostomy or the initiation of permanent assisted ventilation (PAV).

Time frame: From date of randomization until date of death, tracheostomy, or the initiation of permanent assisted ventilation (PAV). This was assessed at time of each participant's drug discontinuation and every 2 months thereafter for the life of the study (6 yrs)

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
CeftriaxoneSurvival664 days
PlaceboSurvival581 days
Secondary

Change From Baseline in Evaluation of Multiple Lower Extremity Muscles Using Hand Held Dynamometry at One Year

Hand-held Dynamometry (HHD) is used to evaluate muscle strength. Six proximal muscle groups were examined bilaterally in both upper and lower extremities (shoulder flexion, elbow flexion, elbow extension, hip flexion, knee flexion, and knee extension). In addition, wrist extension, first dorsal interosseous contraction and ankle dorsiflexion were measured bilaterally. HHD analysis was performed using Percent Change from Baseline. Each subject's baseline strength value for each muscle group is considered 100%. During successive visits strength for each muscle group was measured using HHD and was calculated as a percentage of the initial baseline value recorded. Upper extremity and lower extremity values were calculated as the sum of all tests for that extremity to create one megascore for upper and one megascore for lower extremity muscles. This outcome measure calculation is based on measurements every 12 weeks from the Baseline Visit up until one year.

Time frame: Every 12 weeks for one Year

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
CeftriaxoneChange From Baseline in Evaluation of Multiple Lower Extremity Muscles Using Hand Held Dynamometry at One Year-4.1530 Percent change per 12 weeksStandard Error 0.2591
PlaceboChange From Baseline in Evaluation of Multiple Lower Extremity Muscles Using Hand Held Dynamometry at One Year-4.4807 Percent change per 12 weeksStandard Error 0.3625
Secondary

Change From Baseline in Evaluation of Multiple Upper Extremity Muscles Using Hand Held Dynamometry at One Year

Hand-held Dynamometry (HHD) is used to evaluate muscle strength. Six proximal muscle groups were examined bilaterally in both upper and lower extremities (shoulder flexion, elbow flexion, elbow extension, hip flexion, knee flexion, and knee extension). In addition, wrist extension, first dorsal interosseous contraction and ankle dorsiflexion were measured bilaterally. HHD analysis was performed using Percent Change from Baseline. Each subject's baseline strength value for each muscle group is considered 100%. During successive visits strength for each muscle group was measured using HHD and was calculated as a percentage of the initial baseline value recorded. Upper extremity and lower extremity values were calculated as the sum of all tests for that extremity to create one megascore for upper and one megascore for lower extremity muscles. This outcome measure calculation is based on measurements every 12 weeks from the Baseline Visit up until one year.

Time frame: Every 12 weeks for one Year

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
CeftriaxoneChange From Baseline in Evaluation of Multiple Upper Extremity Muscles Using Hand Held Dynamometry at One Year-5.2735 Percent change per 12 weeksStandard Error 0.2178
PlaceboChange From Baseline in Evaluation of Multiple Upper Extremity Muscles Using Hand Held Dynamometry at One Year-5.5526 Percent change per 12 weeksStandard Error 0.304
Secondary

Change From Baseline in the ALS-Specific Quality of Life Scale (ALSQOL) at One Year

The ALS-Specific Quality of Life Scale (ALSQOL). was developed, tested, and validated in subjects with ALS, and is not a health-related quality of life scale. The scale consists of 59 questions that ask about severity of the symptoms of ALS, mood and affect, intimacy, and social issues. Each question for the ALSQOL is scored from 0-10. With 59 questions, total score ranges from 0-590 with scores simply added, with 590 representing highest quality of life. However since 10 is maximally weighted towards negative values on some questions and positive values on others, the following questions must have results transposed (Simply reverse the scale, for instance 10=0 and 0=10) prior to analysis: 1-10, 11, 16, 19, 24, 26, 28, 32, 35, 36, 38, and 41. Optional items are 50, 53, 56, and 59. These questions are not included on any scale or in any quantitative analyses. This outcome measure calculation is based on measurements every 12 weeks from the Baseline Visit up until one year.

Time frame: Every 12 weeks for one Year

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
CeftriaxoneChange From Baseline in the ALS-Specific Quality of Life Scale (ALSQOL) at One Year-3.5084 units on a scale per 12 weeksStandard Error 0.3297
PlaceboChange From Baseline in the ALS-Specific Quality of Life Scale (ALSQOL) at One Year-3.4401 units on a scale per 12 weeksStandard Error 0.4629
Secondary

Change in % Vital Capacity From Screening to One Year

Vital Capacity is measured as the percent predicted per subject based on age, gender, and height, and is performed as a Slow Vital Capacity. This outcome measure calculation is based on measurements every 12 weeks from the Baseline Visit up until one year.

Time frame: Every 12 weeks for one Year

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
CeftriaxoneChange in % Vital Capacity From Screening to One Year-2.772 percent change in VC per 12 weeksStandard Error 0.1417
PlaceboChange in % Vital Capacity From Screening to One Year-3.0826 percent change in VC per 12 weeksStandard Error 0.197

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Mar 23, 2026