Adult Alveolar Soft-part Sarcoma, Adult Angiosarcoma, Adult Epithelioid Sarcoma, Adult Extraskeletal Chondrosarcoma, Adult Extraskeletal Osteosarcoma, Adult Fibrosarcoma, Adult Leiomyosarcoma, Adult Liposarcoma, Adult Malignant Fibrous Histiocytoma, Adult Malignant Hemangiopericytoma, Adult Malignant Mesenchymoma, Adult Neurofibrosarcoma, Adult Synovial Sarcoma, Childhood Alveolar Soft-part Sarcoma, Childhood Angiosarcoma, Childhood Epithelioid Sarcoma, Childhood Fibrosarcoma, Childhood Leiomyosarcoma, Childhood Liposarcoma, Childhood Malignant Mesenchymoma, Childhood Neurofibrosarcoma, Childhood Synovial Sarcoma, Dermatofibrosarcoma Protuberans, Metastatic Childhood Soft Tissue Sarcoma, Nonmetastatic Childhood Soft Tissue Sarcoma, Stage I Adult Soft Tissue Sarcoma, Stage II Adult Soft Tissue Sarcoma, Stage III Adult Soft Tissue Sarcoma, Stage IV Adult Soft Tissue Sarcoma
Conditions
Brief summary
This phase III trial is studying observation to see how well a risk based treatment strategy works in patients with soft tissue sarcoma. In the study, patients are assigned to receive surgery +/- radiotherapy +/- chemotherapy depending on their risk of recurrence. Sometimes, after surgery, the tumor may not need additional treatment until it progresses. In this case, observation may be sufficient. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to kill tumor cells. Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as ifosfamide and doxorubicin, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Giving chemotherapy and radiation therapy before surgery may make the tumor smaller and reduce the amount of normal tissue that needs to be removed. Giving these treatments after surgery may kill any tumor cells that remain after surgery.
Detailed description
PRIMARY OBJECTIVES: I. Define a risk-based treatment strategy comprising observation only, adjuvant radiotherapy, or adjuvant chemoradiotherapy or neoadjuvant chemoradiotherapy, surgery, and adjuvant chemotherapy with or without radiotherapy in young patients with non-rhabdomyosarcoma soft tissue sarcoma (NRSTS). II. Assess event-free and overall survival of patients treated with these regimens. III. Assess the pattern of treatment failure in these patients. SECONDARY OBJECTIVES: I. Assess the feasibility of a neoadjuvant chemoradiotherapy approach in patients with intermediate- or high-risk NRSTS. II. Assess the imaging and pathologic responses to neoadjuvant chemoradiotherapy in patients with intermediate- or high-risk NRSTS. III. Correlate imaging and pathologic response with clinical outcomes in patients with intermediate- or high-risk disease who undergo neoadjuvant chemoradiotherapy. IV. Prospectively define clinical prognostic factors associated with event-free survival, overall survival, local recurrence, and distant recurrence in these patients. V. Correlate patient outcomes with findings of biologic studies performed on tissue specimens collected on protocol COG-D9902 from these patients. VI. Determine whether the diagnosis and histologic grade of NRSTS assigned by the enrolling institution correlates with the diagnosis and histologic grade established by central expert pathology reviewers. VII. Compare the Pediatric Oncology Group (POG) and Fédération Nationale des Centres de Lutte Contre le Cancer (French Federation of Cancer Centers \[FNCLCC\]) pathologic grading systems to determine which better correlates with clinical outcomes. OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study. Patients are divided into 3 risk groups according to presence of metastatic disease (yes vs no), status of prior surgery (resected vs unresected), grade of tumor (low vs high), and size of primary tumor (≤ 5 cm vs \> 5 cm). Patients are assigned to different treatment regimens based on disease extent (nonmetastatic vs metastatic), tumor size (≤ 5 cm vs \> 5 cm), extent of resection of primary tumor (resected vs unresected), extent of resection of metastases (complete or microscopic residual vs gross residual), microscopic tumor margins (negative vs positive), and tumor grade (low vs high). GROUP 1 (low risk \[nonmetastatic, grossly resected disease, except high-grade tumor \> 5 cm\]): Patients with low-grade tumor with either negative or positive microscopic margins or high-grade tumor ≤ 5 cm (in maximum diameter) with negative microscopic margins are assigned to regimen A. Patients with high-grade tumor ≤ 5 cm (in maximum diameter) with positive microscopic margins are assigned to regimen B. REGIMEN A (observation only): Patients undergo observation only. REGIMEN B (adjuvant radiotherapy): Beginning between 6-42 days after surgical resection, patients undergo a total of 31 fractions of adjuvant radiotherapy. GROUP 2 (intermediate risk \[nonmetastatic, resected or unresected disease\]): Patients with grossly resected, high-grade tumor \> 5 cm (in maximum diameter) are assigned to regimen C. Patients with unresected tumor are assigned to regimen D. REGIMEN C (adjuvant chemoradiotherapy): Patients receive ifosfamide IV over 3 hours on days 1-3 in weeks 1, 4, 7, 10, 13, and 16 and doxorubicin hydrochloride IV over 24 hours on days 1 and 2 in weeks 1, 4, 13, 16, and 19. Beginning in week 4, patients also undergo a total of 31 fractions of radiotherapy. \*NOTE: \*Patients who receive brachytherapy will initiate radiotherapy in Week 1. If brachytherapy is administered, chemotherapy should begin within 2 weeks of completion of brachytherapy and the Weeks 1 and 19 doxorubicin should be given instead at Weeks 7 and 10. REGIMEN D (neoadjuvant chemoradiotherapy, surgery, and adjuvant chemotherapy with or without radiotherapy): Neoadjuvant chemoradiotherapy and surgery: Patients receive ifosfamide IV over 3 hours on days 1-3 in weeks 1, 4, 7, and 10 and doxorubicin hydrochloride IV over 24 hours on days 1 and 2 in weeks 1 and 4. Beginning in week 4, patients also undergo a total of 31 fractions of radiotherapy\*\*. Patients undergo surgical resection in week 13. NOTE: \*\*Patients with primary hepatic tumors do not receive radiotherapy in week 4. Adjuvant chemotherapy with or without radiotherapy: Patients receive ifosfamide IV over 3 hours on days 1-3 in weeks 16 and 19 and doxorubicin hydrochloride IV over 24 hours on days 1 and 2 in weeks 16, 19\*\*\*, and 22. Beginning in week 16, patients achieving gross total resection with positive microscopic margins undergo a total of 6 fractions of adjuvant radiotherapy. Patients achieving less than total gross resection undergo a total of 11 fractions of adjuvant radiotherapy. Patients achieving total gross resection with negative microscopic margins do not receive adjuvant radiotherapy. NOTE: \*\*\*Patients who receive adjuvant radiotherapy in week 16 receive doxorubicin hydrochloride in week 25 instead of week 19. GROUP 3 (high risk \[metastatic, resected, incompletely resected, or unresected disease\]): Patients with low-grade, all-sites resected tumor with either negative or positive microscopic margins are assigned to receive treatment as in group 1 regimen A. Patients with high-grade, grossly resected primary tumor, and metastatic disease are assigned to receive treatment as in group 2 regimen C. Patients with unresected, high-grade metastatic tumor are assigned to receive treatment as in group 2 regimen D. In all groups, treatment continues in the absence of disease progression. After completing study treatment, patients are followed periodically for at least 5 years.
Interventions
Given IV
Patients undergo observation
Patients undergo surgery
Patients undergo radiotherapy
Given IV
Sponsors
Study design
Eligibility
Inclusion criteria
* Newly diagnosed non-rhabdomyosarcoma soft tissue sarcoma (STS), confirmed by central pathology review via concurrent enrollment on protocol COG-D9902 * Metastatic or non metastatic disease * Meets 1 of the following criteria: * Intermediate (i.e., rarely metastasizing) or malignant STS, including any of the following: * Adipocytic tumor, including liposarcoma of any of the following histology subtypes: * Dedifferentiated * Myxoid * Round cell * Pleomorphic type * Mixed-type * Not otherwise specified (NOS) * Fibroblastic/myofibroblastic tumors, including any of the following: * Solitary fibrous tumor * Hemangiopericytoma * Low-grade myofibroblastic sarcoma * Myxoinflammatory fibroblastic sarcoma * Adult fibrosarcoma\* * Myxofibrosarcoma * Low-grade fibromyxoid sarcoma or hyalinizing spindle-cell tumor * Sclerosing epithelioid fibrosarcoma * So-called fibrohistiocytic tumors, including any of the following: * Plexiform fibrohistiocytic tumor * Giant cell tumor of soft tissues * Pleomorphic malignant fibrous histiocytoma (MFH)/undifferentiated pleomorphic sarcoma * Giant cell MFH/undifferentiated pleomorphic sarcoma with giant cells * Inflammatory MFH/undifferentiated pleomorphic sarcoma with prominent inflammation * Smooth muscle tumor (leiomyosarcoma) * Pericytic \[perivascular\] tumor (malignant glomus tumor or glomangiosarcoma) * Vascular tumor, including angiosarcoma * Chondro-osseous tumors of any of the following types: * Mesenchymal chondrosarcoma * Extraskeletal osteosarcoma * Tumors of uncertain differentiation, including any of the following: * Angiomatoid fibrous histiocytoma * Ossifying fibromyxoid tumor * Myoepithelioma/parachordoma * Synovial sarcoma * Epithelioid sarcoma * Alveolar soft-part sarcoma * Clear cell sarcoma of soft tissue * Extraskeletal myxoid chondrosarcoma (chordoid type) * Malignant mesenchymoma * Neoplasms with perivascular epithelioid cell differentiation (PEComa) * Clear cell myomelanocytic tumor * Intimal sarcoma * Malignant peripheral nerve sheath tumor * Dermatofibrosarcoma protuberans meeting both of the following criteria: * Non metastatic disease * Tumor must be grossly resected prior to study enrollment * Embryonal sarcoma of the liver * Unclassified STS that is too undifferentiated to be placed in a specific pathologic category (undifferentiated STS or STS NOS) * Gross resection of the primary tumor ≤ 42 days prior to enrollment required except if any of the following circumstances apply: * Non metastatic high-grade tumor \> 5 cm in maximal diameter and gross or microscopic residual tumor is anticipated after resection * Tumor of either high- or- low-grade that cannot be grossly excised without unacceptable morbidity * High-grade tumor with metastases * Patients with metastatic low-grade tumor whose disease is amenable to gross resection at all sites must undergo gross resection of all sites prior to study entry * Patients with a tumor recurrence after a gross total resection are not eligible * Tumors arising in bone are not eligible * Patients with epithelioid sarcoma, clear cell sarcoma, or clinical or radiologic evidence of regional lymph node enlargement must undergo sentinel lymph node biopsies or lymph node sampling to confirm the status of regional lymph nodes\* NOTE: \*Except in cases where the study radiologist reviews the imaging and indicates that a biopsy is not needed to confirm that the patient has lymph node involvement. * If lymph node biopsies are positive for tumor (or the lymph nodes are classified as positive by the study radiologist), formal lymph node dissection must be done at the time of definitive surgery(prior to study entry for patients assigned to study regimen C) * Patients with metastatic disease must undergo a biopsy to confirm the presence of metastatic tumor if all metastases are \< 1 cm in maximal diameter (except in cases where the study radiologist reviews the imaging and indicated that a biopsy is not needed to confirm that the patient has metastatic disease) * Lansky performance status (PS) 50-100% (for patients ≤ 16 years of age) OR Karnofsky PS 50-100% (for patients \> 16 years of age) * Life expectancy ≥ 3 months * Absolute neutrophil count ≥ 1,000/mm³\* * Platelet count ≥ 100,000/mm³\* * Creatinine clearance or radioisotope glomerular filtration rate ≥ 70 mL/min (≥ 40 mL/min for infants \< 1 year of age)\* or serum creatinine based on age and/or gender as follows: * 0.4 mg/dL (1 month to \< 6 months of age) * 0.5 mg/dL (6 months to \< 1 year of age) * 0.6 mg/dL (1 year to \< 2 years of age) * 0.8 mg/dL (2 years to \< 6 years of age) * 1.0 mg/dL (6 years to \< 10 years of age) * 1.2 mg/dL (10 years to \< 13 years of age) * 1.5 mg/dL (male) or 1.4 mg/dL (female) (13 years to \< 16 years of age) * 1.7 mg/dL (male) or 1.4 mg/dL (female) (≥ 16 years of age) * Patients with urinary tract obstruction by tumor must meet the renal function criteria listed above AND must have unimpeded urinary flow established via decompression of the obstructed portion of the urinary tract * Bilirubin ≤ 1.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN)\* * Shortening fraction ≥ 27% by echocardiogram\* OR ejection fraction ≥ 50% by radionuclide angiogram\* * Not pregnant or nursing (patients undergoing radiotherapy and/or chemotherapy) * No nursing for ≥ 1 month after completion of study treatment in study regimens C or D * Fertile patients must use effective contraception during and for ≥ 1 month after completion of study treatment * Negative pregnancy test * No evidence of dyspnea at rest\* * No exercise intolerance\* * Resting pulse oximetry reading \> 94% on room air (for patients with respiratory symptoms)\* * Prior treatment for cancer allowed provided the patient meet the prior therapy requirements * No prior anthracycline (e.g., doxorubicin or daunorubicin) or ifosfamide chemotherapy for patients enrolled on arm C or arm D * No prior radiotherapy to tumor-involved sites
Design outcomes
Primary
| Measure | Time frame | Description |
|---|---|---|
| Probability for Event Free Survival. | 5 years | Probability of no relapse, secondary malignancy or death after 5 years since enrollment. |
Secondary
| Measure | Time frame | Description |
|---|---|---|
| Toxicity Rate | 13 weeks | Percentage of Arm D patients experiencing grade 4+ adverse events. |
| Complete or Partial Response Rate | 13 weeks | Tumor response by imaging. Complete Response (CR): Complete disappearance of the tumor. Partial Response (PR): At least 64% decrease in volume compared to the measurement obtained at study enrollment. Overall Response (OR)=CR+PR. |
| Event Free Survival Probability Disease Extent | 5 years | Probability of no relapse, secondary malignancy or death after 5 years since enrollment. |
| Event Free Survival Probability Histologic Grade | 5 years | Probability of no relapse, secondary malignancy or death after 5 years since enrollment |
| Overall Survival Probability Disease Extent | 5 years | Probability of survival after 5 years since enrollment. |
| Percent Tumor Necrosis | 13 weeks | Percent tumor necrosis by pathology review. |
| Incidence of Distant Metastasis | Up to 10 years | Percent of patients who had distant metastasis. |
| Genetic and Gene Expression Profiles | At diagnosis | The tumors from patients registered on D9902 will be analyzed for genetic and gene expression profiles. The study will prospectively evaluate each tumor and confirm newly defined sarcoma diagnostic criteria based on cancer signatures in NRSTS. |
| Degree of Agreement in Histologic Grade Determined by the Enrolling Institution Versus by Central Pathology Reviewers | At Diagnosis | Histologic grades were determined by the central pathology reviewers and institutional pathologists based on published standards. A higher grade is associated with a more severe disease. |
| Degree of Agreement in Histologic Grade Between Pediatric Oncology Group (POG) and Fédération Nationale Des Centres de Lutte Contre le Cancer (FNCLCC) Pathologic Grading Systems | At diagnosis | POG and FNCLCC grades were determined by pathologists based on published standards. A higher grade is associated with a more severe disease. |
| Overall Survival Probability Extent of Resection of the Primary Tumor | 5 years | Probability of survival after 5 years since enrollment. |
Countries
Australia, Canada, New Zealand, Puerto Rico, United States
Participant flow
Participants by arm
| Arm | Count |
|---|---|
| Arm A: No Adjuvant Treatment Patients with low-grade tumor with either negative or positive microscopic margins or high-grade tumor ≤ 5 cm (in maximum diameter) with negative microscopic margins are assigned to arm A: (observation only).
clinical observation: Patients undergo observation
therapeutic conventional surgery: Patients undergo surgery | 222 |
| Arm B: Low Risk; Adjuvant Radiotherapy Patients with high-grade tumor ≤ 5 cm (in maximum diameter) with positive microscopic margins are assigned to arm B: (adjuvant radiotherapy). Beginning between 6-42 days after surgical resection, patients undergo a total of 31 fractions of adjuvant radiotherapy.
clinical observation: Patients undergo observation
therapeutic conventional surgery: Patients undergo surgery
3-dimensional conformal radiation therapy: Patients undergo radiotherapy | 21 |
| Arm C: Intermediate & High Risk; Adjuvant Chemoradiotherapy High risk \[metastatic, resected, incompletely resected, or unresected disease\] patients with high-grade, grossly resected primary tumor, with metastases are assigned to receive arm C: (adjuvant chemoradiotherapy). Patients receive ifosfamide IV; doxorubicin hydrochloride IV; beginning in week 4, patients also undergo a total of 31 fractions of radiotherapy.
doxorubicin hydrochloride: Given IV
clinical observation: Patients undergo observation
3-dimensional conformal radiation therapy: Patients undergo radiotherapy
ifosfamide: Given IV | 122 |
| Arm D: Intermediate & High Risk; Neoadjuvant Chemoradiotherapy High risk \[metastatic, resected, incompletely resected, or unresected disease\] patients with unresected, high-grade metastatic tumor are assigned to receive treatment as in arm D: (neoadjuvant chemoradiotherapy, surgery, and adjuvant chemotherapy with or without radiotherapy): Patients receive ifosfamide IV; doxorubicin hydrochloride IV. Beginning in week 4, patients also undergo a total of 31 fractions of radiotherapy. Patients undergo surgical resection in week 13.
doxorubicin hydrochloride: Given IV
clinical observation: Patients undergo observation
therapeutic conventional surgery: Patients undergo surgery
3-dimensional conformal radiation therapy: Patients undergo radiotherapy
ifosfamide: Given IV | 223 |
| Total | 588 |
Withdrawals & dropouts
| Period | Reason | FG000 | FG001 | FG002 | FG003 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Overall Study | Adverse Event | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Overall Study | Inability to start week 16 tx on time | 0 | 0 | 0 | 11 |
| Overall Study | Ineligible | 11 | 2 | 2 | 23 |
| Overall Study | Lack of Efficacy | 0 | 1 | 7 | 25 |
| Overall Study | Physician Decision | 0 | 1 | 2 | 27 |
| Overall Study | Protocol Violation | 6 | 2 | 10 | 4 |
| Overall Study | Refusal of further protocol therapy | 0 | 1 | 3 | 15 |
| Overall Study | Withdrawal by Subject | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 |
Baseline characteristics
| Characteristic | Arm A: No Adjuvant Treatment | Arm B: Low Risk; Adjuvant Radiotherapy | Arm C: Intermediate & High Risk; Adjuvant Chemoradiotherapy | Arm D: Intermediate & High Risk; Neoadjuvant Chemoradiotherapy | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age, Continuous | 138.87 Months STANDARD_DEVIATION 60.88 | 142.58 Months STANDARD_DEVIATION 59.46 | 155.14 Months STANDARD_DEVIATION 69.2 | 171.31 Months STANDARD_DEVIATION 68.9 | 154.68 Months STANDARD_DEVIATION 67.1 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB) Hispanic or Latino | 29 Participants | 1 Participants | 22 Participants | 38 Participants | 90 Participants |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB) Not Hispanic or Latino | 185 Participants | 19 Participants | 95 Participants | 178 Participants | 477 Participants |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB) Unknown or Not Reported | 8 Participants | 1 Participants | 5 Participants | 7 Participants | 21 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) American Indian or Alaska Native | 1 Participants | 0 Participants | 2 Participants | 3 Participants | 6 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) Asian | 7 Participants | 1 Participants | 2 Participants | 8 Participants | 18 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) Black or African American | 23 Participants | 2 Participants | 21 Participants | 43 Participants | 89 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) More than one race | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 1 Participants | 1 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) Unknown or Not Reported | 22 Participants | 2 Participants | 7 Participants | 31 Participants | 62 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) White | 169 Participants | 16 Participants | 90 Participants | 137 Participants | 412 Participants |
| Sex: Female, Male Female | 124 Participants | 9 Participants | 60 Participants | 120 Participants | 313 Participants |
| Sex: Female, Male Male | 98 Participants | 12 Participants | 62 Participants | 103 Participants | 275 Participants |
Adverse events
| Event type | EG000 affected / at risk | EG001 affected / at risk | EG002 affected / at risk | EG003 affected / at risk |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| deaths Total, all-cause mortality | — / — | — / — | — / — | — / — |
| other Total, other adverse events | 0 / 205 | 0 / 17 | 2 / 110 | 7 / 196 |
| serious Total, serious adverse events | 0 / 205 | 1 / 17 | 1 / 110 | 3 / 196 |
Outcome results
Probability for Event Free Survival.
Probability of no relapse, secondary malignancy or death after 5 years since enrollment.
Time frame: 5 years
Population: Ineligible patients are excluded as well as patients who were treated on the incorrect arm.
| Arm | Measure | Value (NUMBER) |
|---|---|---|
| Arm A: No Adjuvant Treatment | Probability for Event Free Survival. | 0.8984 Probability of EFS at 5 years |
| Arm B: Low Risk; Adjuvant Radiotherapy | Probability for Event Free Survival. | 0.7647 Probability of EFS at 5 years |
| Arm C: Intermediate & High Risk; Adjuvant Chemoradiotherapy | Probability for Event Free Survival. | 0.6079 Probability of EFS at 5 years |
| Arm D: Intermediate & High Risk; Neoadjuvant Chemoradiotherapy | Probability for Event Free Survival. | 0.4873 Probability of EFS at 5 years |
Complete or Partial Response Rate
Tumor response by imaging. Complete Response (CR): Complete disappearance of the tumor. Partial Response (PR): At least 64% decrease in volume compared to the measurement obtained at study enrollment. Overall Response (OR)=CR+PR.
Time frame: 13 weeks
Population: Only Arm D patients were evaluated for imaging response at week 13 after surgery. Ineligible and inevaluable Arm D patients were excluded.
| Arm | Measure | Value (NUMBER) |
|---|---|---|
| Arm A: No Adjuvant Treatment | Complete or Partial Response Rate | 33.1 percentage of patients |
Degree of Agreement in Histologic Grade Between Pediatric Oncology Group (POG) and Fédération Nationale Des Centres de Lutte Contre le Cancer (FNCLCC) Pathologic Grading Systems
POG and FNCLCC grades were determined by pathologists based on published standards. A higher grade is associated with a more severe disease.
Time frame: At diagnosis
Population: Ineligible patients, as well as patients without histologic grade determined by POG or FNCLCC were excluded. The OM evaluates the degree of agreement of two pathology grading systems applied at diagnosis. The time frame At diagnosis reflects the OM.
| Arm | Measure | Group | Value (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Arm A: No Adjuvant Treatment | Degree of Agreement in Histologic Grade Between Pediatric Oncology Group (POG) and Fédération Nationale Des Centres de Lutte Contre le Cancer (FNCLCC) Pathologic Grading Systems | Histologic grade 2 by POG | 24 Participants |
| Arm A: No Adjuvant Treatment | Degree of Agreement in Histologic Grade Between Pediatric Oncology Group (POG) and Fédération Nationale Des Centres de Lutte Contre le Cancer (FNCLCC) Pathologic Grading Systems | Histologic grade 1 by POG | 46 Participants |
| Arm A: No Adjuvant Treatment | Degree of Agreement in Histologic Grade Between Pediatric Oncology Group (POG) and Fédération Nationale Des Centres de Lutte Contre le Cancer (FNCLCC) Pathologic Grading Systems | Histologic grade 3 by POG | 9 Participants |
| Arm B: Low Risk; Adjuvant Radiotherapy | Degree of Agreement in Histologic Grade Between Pediatric Oncology Group (POG) and Fédération Nationale Des Centres de Lutte Contre le Cancer (FNCLCC) Pathologic Grading Systems | Histologic grade 2 by POG | 69 Participants |
| Arm B: Low Risk; Adjuvant Radiotherapy | Degree of Agreement in Histologic Grade Between Pediatric Oncology Group (POG) and Fédération Nationale Des Centres de Lutte Contre le Cancer (FNCLCC) Pathologic Grading Systems | Histologic grade 1 by POG | 8 Participants |
| Arm B: Low Risk; Adjuvant Radiotherapy | Degree of Agreement in Histologic Grade Between Pediatric Oncology Group (POG) and Fédération Nationale Des Centres de Lutte Contre le Cancer (FNCLCC) Pathologic Grading Systems | Histologic grade 3 by POG | 145 Participants |
| Arm C: Intermediate & High Risk; Adjuvant Chemoradiotherapy | Degree of Agreement in Histologic Grade Between Pediatric Oncology Group (POG) and Fédération Nationale Des Centres de Lutte Contre le Cancer (FNCLCC) Pathologic Grading Systems | Histologic grade 1 by POG | 1 Participants |
| Arm C: Intermediate & High Risk; Adjuvant Chemoradiotherapy | Degree of Agreement in Histologic Grade Between Pediatric Oncology Group (POG) and Fédération Nationale Des Centres de Lutte Contre le Cancer (FNCLCC) Pathologic Grading Systems | Histologic grade 3 by POG | 240 Participants |
| Arm C: Intermediate & High Risk; Adjuvant Chemoradiotherapy | Degree of Agreement in Histologic Grade Between Pediatric Oncology Group (POG) and Fédération Nationale Des Centres de Lutte Contre le Cancer (FNCLCC) Pathologic Grading Systems | Histologic grade 2 by POG | 0 Participants |
Degree of Agreement in Histologic Grade Determined by the Enrolling Institution Versus by Central Pathology Reviewers
Histologic grades were determined by the central pathology reviewers and institutional pathologists based on published standards. A higher grade is associated with a more severe disease.
Time frame: At Diagnosis
Population: Ineligible patients, as well as patients without histologic grade determined by enrolling institution or central pathology reviewers were excluded. The OM evaluates the degree of agreement of two pathology grading reviews at diagnosis. The time frame At diagnosis reflects the OM.
| Arm | Measure | Group | Value (NUMBER) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Arm A: No Adjuvant Treatment | Degree of Agreement in Histologic Grade Determined by the Enrolling Institution Versus by Central Pathology Reviewers | Histologic grade 2 by central pathology reviewers | 4 Participants |
| Arm A: No Adjuvant Treatment | Degree of Agreement in Histologic Grade Determined by the Enrolling Institution Versus by Central Pathology Reviewers | Histologic grade 1 by central pathology reviewers | 38 Participants |
| Arm A: No Adjuvant Treatment | Degree of Agreement in Histologic Grade Determined by the Enrolling Institution Versus by Central Pathology Reviewers | Histologic grade 3 by central pathology reviewers | 3 Participants |
| Arm B: Low Risk; Adjuvant Radiotherapy | Degree of Agreement in Histologic Grade Determined by the Enrolling Institution Versus by Central Pathology Reviewers | Histologic grade 2 by central pathology reviewers | 56 Participants |
| Arm B: Low Risk; Adjuvant Radiotherapy | Degree of Agreement in Histologic Grade Determined by the Enrolling Institution Versus by Central Pathology Reviewers | Histologic grade 1 by central pathology reviewers | 5 Participants |
| Arm B: Low Risk; Adjuvant Radiotherapy | Degree of Agreement in Histologic Grade Determined by the Enrolling Institution Versus by Central Pathology Reviewers | Histologic grade 3 by central pathology reviewers | 10 Participants |
| Arm C: Intermediate & High Risk; Adjuvant Chemoradiotherapy | Degree of Agreement in Histologic Grade Determined by the Enrolling Institution Versus by Central Pathology Reviewers | Histologic grade 1 by central pathology reviewers | 1 Participants |
| Arm C: Intermediate & High Risk; Adjuvant Chemoradiotherapy | Degree of Agreement in Histologic Grade Determined by the Enrolling Institution Versus by Central Pathology Reviewers | Histologic grade 3 by central pathology reviewers | 268 Participants |
| Arm C: Intermediate & High Risk; Adjuvant Chemoradiotherapy | Degree of Agreement in Histologic Grade Determined by the Enrolling Institution Versus by Central Pathology Reviewers | Histologic grade 2 by central pathology reviewers | 9 Participants |
Event Free Survival Probability Disease Extent
Probability of no relapse, secondary malignancy or death after 5 years since enrollment.
Time frame: 5 years
Population: 94 participants were excluded because of ineligibility, incorrect treatment, or absence of evaluation for tumor invasiveness and histologic grade.
| Arm | Measure | Value (NUMBER) |
|---|---|---|
| Arm A: No Adjuvant Treatment | Event Free Survival Probability Disease Extent | 0.7758 Probability |
| Arm B: Low Risk; Adjuvant Radiotherapy | Event Free Survival Probability Disease Extent | 0.1960 Probability |
Event Free Survival Probability Histologic Grade
Probability of no relapse, secondary malignancy or death after 5 years since enrollment
Time frame: 5 years
Population: 94 participants were excluded because of ineligibility, incorrect treatment, or absence of evaluation for tumor invasiveness and histologic grade.
| Arm | Measure | Value (NUMBER) |
|---|---|---|
| Arm A: No Adjuvant Treatment | Event Free Survival Probability Histologic Grade | 0.9636 Probability |
| Arm B: Low Risk; Adjuvant Radiotherapy | Event Free Survival Probability Histologic Grade | 0.8505 Probability |
| Arm C: Intermediate & High Risk; Adjuvant Chemoradiotherapy | Event Free Survival Probability Histologic Grade | 0.6136 Probability |
Genetic and Gene Expression Profiles
The tumors from patients registered on D9902 will be analyzed for genetic and gene expression profiles. The study will prospectively evaluate each tumor and confirm newly defined sarcoma diagnostic criteria based on cancer signatures in NRSTS.
Time frame: At diagnosis
Population: None of the tumors were analyzed for genetic and gene expression profiles. The analysis will not be completed. The time frame At diagnosis is the time frame for the gene expression profiles.
Incidence of Distant Metastasis
Percent of patients who had distant metastasis.
Time frame: Up to 10 years
Population: 94 participants were excluded because of ineligibility, incorrect treatment, or absence of evaluation for tumor invasiveness and histologic grade.
| Arm | Measure | Value (NUMBER) |
|---|---|---|
| Arm A: No Adjuvant Treatment | Incidence of Distant Metastasis | 10.59 Percentage of participants |
| Arm B: Low Risk; Adjuvant Radiotherapy | Incidence of Distant Metastasis | 60.87 Percentage of participants |
Incidence of Distant Metastasis
Percent of patients who had distant metastasis.
Time frame: Up to 10 years
Population: 94 participants were excluded because of ineligibility, incorrect treatment, or absence of evaluation for tumor invasiveness and histologic grade.
| Arm | Measure | Value (NUMBER) |
|---|---|---|
| Arm A: No Adjuvant Treatment | Incidence of Distant Metastasis | 0.00 Percentage of participants |
| Arm B: Low Risk; Adjuvant Radiotherapy | Incidence of Distant Metastasis | 5.06 Percentage of participants |
| Arm C: Intermediate & High Risk; Adjuvant Chemoradiotherapy | Incidence of Distant Metastasis | 23.38 Percentage of participants |
Overall Survival Probability Disease Extent
Probability of survival after 5 years since enrollment.
Time frame: 5 years
Population: 94 participants were excluded because of ineligibility, incorrect treatment, or absence of evaluation for tumor invasiveness and histologic grade.
| Arm | Measure | Value (NUMBER) |
|---|---|---|
| Arm A: No Adjuvant Treatment | Overall Survival Probability Disease Extent | 0.8752 Probability |
| Arm B: Low Risk; Adjuvant Radiotherapy | Overall Survival Probability Disease Extent | 0.3153 Probability |
Overall Survival Probability Extent of Resection of the Primary Tumor
Probability of survival after 5 years since enrollment.
Time frame: 5 years
Population: 94 participants were excluded because of ineligibility, incorrect treatment, or absence of evaluation for tumor invasiveness and histologic grade.
| Arm | Measure | Value (NUMBER) |
|---|---|---|
| Arm A: No Adjuvant Treatment | Overall Survival Probability Extent of Resection of the Primary Tumor | 0.5975 Probability |
| Arm B: Low Risk; Adjuvant Radiotherapy | Overall Survival Probability Extent of Resection of the Primary Tumor | 0.9353 Probability |
| Arm C: Intermediate & High Risk; Adjuvant Chemoradiotherapy | Overall Survival Probability Extent of Resection of the Primary Tumor | 0.7764 Probability |
Percent Tumor Necrosis
Percent tumor necrosis by pathology review.
Time frame: 13 weeks
Population: Only Arm D patients were evaluated at week 13 for percent tumor necrosis. Ineligible and inevaluable Arm D patients were excluded.
| Arm | Measure | Value (MEAN) | Dispersion |
|---|---|---|---|
| Arm A: No Adjuvant Treatment | Percent Tumor Necrosis | 59.4 percentage of tumor necrosis | Standard Deviation 38.5 |
Toxicity Rate
Percentage of Arm D patients experiencing grade 4+ adverse events.
Time frame: 13 weeks
Population: Excluding ineligible patients and patients not treated based on the protocol.
| Arm | Measure | Value (NUMBER) |
|---|---|---|
| Arm A: No Adjuvant Treatment | Toxicity Rate | 3.06 percentage of participants |