Skip to content

Valproic Acid and Carnitine in Patients With Spinal Muscular Atrophy

Multi-center Phase II Trial of Valproic Acid and Carnitine in Patients With Spinal Muscular Atrophy (SMA CARNI-VAL Trial)

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT00227266
Enrollment
94
Registered
2005-09-27
Start date
2005-09-30
Completion date
2007-11-30
Last updated
2025-03-19

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Spinal Muscular Atrophy

Keywords

Spinal Muscular Atrophy (SMA), SMA Type 2, SMA Type 3

Brief summary

This is a multi-center trial to assess safety and efficacy of a combined regimen of oral valproic acid (VPA) and carnitine in patients with Spinal Muscular Atrophy (SMA) 2 to 17 years of age. Cohort 1 is a double-blind placebo-controlled randomized intention to treat protocol for SMA sitters 2 - 8 years of age. Cohort 2 is an open label protocol for SMA standers and walkers 3 - 17 years of age to explore responsiveness of efficacy outcomes. Outcome measures will include blood chemistries, functional testing, pulmonary function testing, electrophysiological evaluations, PedsQL quality of life assessment, quantitative assessments of survival motor neuron (SMN) mRNA from blood samples, growth and vital sign parameters. Six centers will enroll a total of 90 patients.

Detailed description

This is a multi-center phase II trial of a combined regimen of oral valproic acid (VPA) and carnitine in patients with Spinal Muscular Atrophy (SMA) 2 to 17 years of age. Cohort 1 is a double-blind placebo-controlled randomized intention to treat protocol for SMA sitters 2 - 8 years of age. Subjects will undergo two baseline assessments over 4 to 6 week period, then will be randomized to treatment or placebo for the next six months. All subjects will then be placed on active treatment for the subsequent six month period. Cohort 2 is an open label protocol for SMA standers and walkers 3 - 17 years of age to explore responsiveness of efficacy outcomes. Subjects will undergo two baseline assessments over a four to six week period, followed by one year active treatment with VPA and carnitine. Outcome measures are performed every 3 to 6 months, and include blood chemistries, functional testing, pulmonary function testing, electrophysiological evaluations, PedsQL quality of life assessment, quantitative assessments of survival motor neuron (SMN) mRNA from blood samples, growth and vital sign parameters. Six centers will enroll a total of 90 patients.

Interventions

VPA,sprinkle cap; Levocarnitine, syrup; dosage is by weight

DRUGPlacebo

Sponsors

Families of Spinal Muscular Atrophy
CollaboratorOTHER
Leadiant Biosciences, Inc.
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
Abbott
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
University of Utah
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
CROSSOVER
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
QUADRUPLE (Subject, Caregiver, Investigator, Outcomes Assessor)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
2 Years to 17 Years
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

Cohort 1 * Confirmed genetic diagnosis of 5q SMA * SMA 2 or non-ambulatory SMA 3: all subjects must be able to sit independently for at least 3 seconds without support * Age 2 to 8 years at time of enrollment Cohort 2 * Confirmed genetic diagnosis of 5q SMA * SMA subjects (SMA types 2 or 3) who can stand independently without braces or other support for up to 2 seconds, or walk independently * Age 3 to 17 years at time of study enrollment

Exclusion criteria

Cohort 1 * Need for BiPAP support \> 12 hours per day * Spinal rod or fixation for scoliosis or anticipated need within six months of enrollment * Inability to meet study visit requirements or cooperate reliably with functional testing * Coexisting medical conditions that contraindicate travel, testing or study medications * Use of medications or supplements which interfere with valproic acid or carnitine metabolism within 3 months of study enrollment. * Current use of either VPA or carnitine. If study subject is taking VPA or carnitine then patient must go through a washout period of 12 weeks before enrollment into the study * Body Mass Index \> 90th % for age Cohort 2 * Spinal rod or fixation for scoliosis or anticipated need within six months of enrollment * Inability to meet study visit requirements or cooperate with functional testing * Transaminases, amylase or lipase \> 3.0 x normal values, WBC \< 3.0 or neutropenia \< 1.0, platelets \< 100 K, or hematocrit \< 30 persisting over a 30 day period. * Coexisting medical conditions that contraindicate travel, testing or study medications * Use of medications or supplements which interfere with valproic acid or carnitine metabolism within 3 months of study enrollment. * Current use of either VPA or carnitine. If study subject is taking VPA or carnitine then patient must be go through a washout period of 12 weeks before enrollment in the study. * Body Mass Index \> 90th % for age * Pregnant women/girls, or those intending to try to become pregnant during the course of the study.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Modified Hammersmith Change From Baseline to 6 Months0 months, 6 monthsComparison of Modified Hammersmith Change from baseline to 6 months. Scores range from 0 to 40. A higher score indicates a better outcome. This scale is used to assess gross motor abilities of non-ambulant children with SMA in multiple research trials as well as in clinical settings.
Safety Labs-4 wks, 0, 2 wks, 3 mo, 6 mo, 9 mo, 12 mo for safety labs; throughout for AEsParticipants will have labs drawn regularly to maintain appropriate dosing and monitor liver function
Efficacy, Measured Through Motor Function Assessments-4wks, 0, 3 mo, 6 mo, 12 mo

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Max CMAP Amplitude Median1 month prior to official enrollment, beginning of study (0 months), 6 months, 12 months (data point not available)The maximum Compound Motor Action Potential (CMAP) is a measurement obtained through EMG testing that is associated with disease progression. In this study, we measure the maximum CMAP by stimulating one nerve in the hand and measuring the response of the muscle. This is done multiple times, the outcome used is the highest peak, or response observed.
Ulnar MUNE-4 wks, 0, 3 mo, 6 mo, 12 mo
Growth and Vital Sign Parameters-4 wks, 0, 3mo, 6mo, 12mo
Quantitative Assessment of SMN mRNA From Blood Samples-4wks or 0, 3 mo, 6 mo, 12 mo
DEXA0, 6mo, 12mo
Max CMAP Area (Mean)1 month prior to official enrollment, beginning of study (0 months), 6 months, 12 months (data point not available)The maximum Compound Motor Action Potential (CMAP) area is a measurement obtained through EMG testing that is associated with disease progression. In this study, we measure the maximum CMAP by stimulating one nerve in the hand and measuring the response of the muscle. This procedure is repeated multiple times. The maximum area is the response that results in the largest area under the response curve.
Max CMAP Area (Median)1 month prior to official enrollment, beginning of study (0 months), 6 months, 12 months (data point not available)The maximum Compound Motor Action Potential (CMAP) area is a measurement obtained through EMG testing that is associated with disease progression. In this study, we measure the maximum CMAP by stimulating one nerve in the hand and measuring the response of the muscle. This procedure is repeated multiple times. The maximum area is the response that results in the largest area under the response curve.
Nutritional Status-4 wks, 0, 3mo, 6mo, 12mo
Peds QL™ Assessment: Parental Version (All), Child Versions (> 5yrs)-4wks, 0, 3mo, 6mo, 12mo
Max CMAP Amplitude (Mean)1 month prior to official enrollment, beginning of study (0 months), 6 months, 12 months (data point not available)The maximum Compound Motor Action Potential (CMAP) is a measurement obtained through EMG testing that is associated with disease progression. In this study, we measure the maximum CMAP by stimulating one nerve in the hand and measuring the response of the muscle. This is done multiple times, the outcome used is the highest peak, or response observed.

Countries

Canada, United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

Subject's were recruited during the periods of September 2005 to September 2006 across the United States.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Cohort 1a Sitters Placebo Then Treatment
Dosage of the VPA will start at 10-20 mg/kg/day divided into two or tree doses. The dose will be adjusted to achieve a therapeutic trough level of 50-120 micrograms/ml. VPA will be given in the form of 125 mg sprinkle capsules. Dosage for Carnitor will be 50 mg/kg/day with a maximum dose of 10000 mg/day divided into two doses. Carnitor elixir comes as 500 mg/5 ml. All subjects will be given Carnitor or equivalent placebo in the liquid form.
31
Cohort 1b Sitters Treatment
Dosage of the VPA will start at 10-20 mg/kg/day divided into two or tree doses. The dose will be adjusted to achieve a therapeutic trough level of 50-120 micrograms/ml. VPA will be given in the form of 125 mg sprinkle capsules. Dosage for Carnitor will be 50 mg/kg/day with a maximum dose of 10000 mg/day divided into two doses. Carnitor elixir comes as 500 mg/5 ml. All subjects will be given Carnitor in the liquid form.
30
Cohort 2 Standers and Walkers - Treatment
Dosage of the VPA will start at 10-20 mg/kg/day divided into two or tree doses. The dose will be adjusted to achieve a therapeutic trough level of 50-120 micrograms/ml. VPA will be given in the form of 125 mg sprinkle capsules. Dosage for Carnitor will be 50 mg/kg/day with a maximum dose of 10000 mg/day divided into two doses. Carnitor elixir comes as 500 mg/5 ml. All subjects will be given Carnitor in the liquid form.
33
Total94

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001FG002
Overall StudyExcessive weight gain002
Overall StudyProtocol Violation101
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject001

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicCohort 1a Sitters Placebo Then TreatmentCohort 1b Sitters TreatmentCohort 2 Standers and Walkers - TreatmentTotal
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
31 Participants30 Participants33 Participants94 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Age, Continuous4.4 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 1.9
4.3 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 2.1
7.3 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 3.7
5.4 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 3
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
2 Participants1 Participants0 Participants3 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
29 Participants27 Participants30 Participants86 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants2 Participants3 Participants5 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
1 Participants2 Participants1 Participants4 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
1 Participants0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
3 Participants3 Participants3 Participants9 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
26 Participants25 Participants29 Participants80 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Canada
6 participants4 participants4 participants14 participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
25 participants26 participants29 participants80 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
11 Participants17 Participants11 Participants39 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
20 Participants13 Participants22 Participants55 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
— / —— / —— / —
other
Total, other adverse events
18 / 3123 / 3028 / 33
serious
Total, serious adverse events
1 / 314 / 304 / 33

Outcome results

Primary

Efficacy, Measured Through Motor Function Assessments

Time frame: -4wks, 0, 3 mo, 6 mo, 12 mo

Primary

Modified Hammersmith Change From Baseline to 6 Months

Comparison of Modified Hammersmith Change from baseline to 6 months. Scores range from 0 to 40. A higher score indicates a better outcome. This scale is used to assess gross motor abilities of non-ambulant children with SMA in multiple research trials as well as in clinical settings.

Time frame: 0 months, 6 months

Population: Analysis only pertains to cohort 1a and 1b.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Cohort 1a Sitters Placebo Then TreatmentModified Hammersmith Change From Baseline to 6 MonthsBaseline visit (0 weeks)20.0 ScoreStandard Deviation 9.3
Cohort 1a Sitters Placebo Then TreatmentModified Hammersmith Change From Baseline to 6 Months6 Month visit (V2)20.6 ScoreStandard Deviation 8.1
Cohort 1a Sitters Placebo Then TreatmentModified Hammersmith Change From Baseline to 6 MonthsChange from Baseline0.6 ScoreStandard Deviation 3.98
Cohort 1b Sitters TreatmentModified Hammersmith Change From Baseline to 6 MonthsBaseline visit (0 weeks)16.6 ScoreStandard Deviation 8.7
Cohort 1b Sitters TreatmentModified Hammersmith Change From Baseline to 6 Months6 Month visit (V2)16.8 ScoreStandard Deviation 7.9
Cohort 1b Sitters TreatmentModified Hammersmith Change From Baseline to 6 MonthsChange from Baseline0.2 ScoreStandard Deviation 2.88
Primary

Safety Labs

Participants will have labs drawn regularly to maintain appropriate dosing and monitor liver function

Time frame: -4 wks, 0, 2 wks, 3 mo, 6 mo, 9 mo, 12 mo for safety labs; throughout for AEs

Secondary

DEXA

Time frame: 0, 6mo, 12mo

Secondary

Growth and Vital Sign Parameters

Time frame: -4 wks, 0, 3mo, 6mo, 12mo

Secondary

Max CMAP Amplitude (Mean)

The maximum Compound Motor Action Potential (CMAP) is a measurement obtained through EMG testing that is associated with disease progression. In this study, we measure the maximum CMAP by stimulating one nerve in the hand and measuring the response of the muscle. This is done multiple times, the outcome used is the highest peak, or response observed.

Time frame: 1 month prior to official enrollment, beginning of study (0 months), 6 months, 12 months (data point not available)

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Cohort 1a Sitters Placebo Then TreatmentMax CMAP Amplitude (Mean)Baseline2.28 mVStandard Deviation 1.55
Cohort 1a Sitters Placebo Then TreatmentMax CMAP Amplitude (Mean)6 months2.32 mVStandard Deviation 1.75
Cohort 1b Sitters TreatmentMax CMAP Amplitude (Mean)Baseline2.93 mVStandard Deviation 1.56
Cohort 1b Sitters TreatmentMax CMAP Amplitude (Mean)6 months2.37 mVStandard Deviation 1.82
Cohort 2 Standers and Walkers - TreatmentMax CMAP Amplitude (Mean)Baseline5.52 mVStandard Deviation 2.56
Cohort 2 Standers and Walkers - TreatmentMax CMAP Amplitude (Mean)6 months6.56 mVStandard Deviation 2.99
Secondary

Max CMAP Amplitude Median

The maximum Compound Motor Action Potential (CMAP) is a measurement obtained through EMG testing that is associated with disease progression. In this study, we measure the maximum CMAP by stimulating one nerve in the hand and measuring the response of the muscle. This is done multiple times, the outcome used is the highest peak, or response observed.

Time frame: 1 month prior to official enrollment, beginning of study (0 months), 6 months, 12 months (data point not available)

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEDIAN)
Cohort 1a Sitters Placebo Then TreatmentMax CMAP Amplitude MedianBaseline1.91 mV
Cohort 1a Sitters Placebo Then TreatmentMax CMAP Amplitude Median6 months1.44 mV
Cohort 1b Sitters TreatmentMax CMAP Amplitude MedianBaseline2.2 mV
Cohort 1b Sitters TreatmentMax CMAP Amplitude Median6 months1.8 mV
Cohort 2 Standers and Walkers - TreatmentMax CMAP Amplitude MedianBaseline5.3 mV
Cohort 2 Standers and Walkers - TreatmentMax CMAP Amplitude Median6 months5.85 mV
Secondary

Max CMAP Area (Mean)

The maximum Compound Motor Action Potential (CMAP) area is a measurement obtained through EMG testing that is associated with disease progression. In this study, we measure the maximum CMAP by stimulating one nerve in the hand and measuring the response of the muscle. This procedure is repeated multiple times. The maximum area is the response that results in the largest area under the response curve.

Time frame: 1 month prior to official enrollment, beginning of study (0 months), 6 months, 12 months (data point not available)

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Cohort 1a Sitters Placebo Then TreatmentMax CMAP Area (Mean)Baseline5.46 mVmsStandard Deviation 5.03
Cohort 1a Sitters Placebo Then TreatmentMax CMAP Area (Mean)6 months5.28 mVmsStandard Deviation 4.49
Cohort 1b Sitters TreatmentMax CMAP Area (Mean)Baseline5.45 mVmsStandard Deviation 4.23
Cohort 1b Sitters TreatmentMax CMAP Area (Mean)6 months5.26 mVmsStandard Deviation 4.65
Cohort 2 Standers and Walkers - TreatmentMax CMAP Area (Mean)Baseline14.85 mVmsStandard Deviation 7.68
Cohort 2 Standers and Walkers - TreatmentMax CMAP Area (Mean)6 months16.26 mVmsStandard Deviation 7.13
Secondary

Max CMAP Area (Median)

The maximum Compound Motor Action Potential (CMAP) area is a measurement obtained through EMG testing that is associated with disease progression. In this study, we measure the maximum CMAP by stimulating one nerve in the hand and measuring the response of the muscle. This procedure is repeated multiple times. The maximum area is the response that results in the largest area under the response curve.

Time frame: 1 month prior to official enrollment, beginning of study (0 months), 6 months, 12 months (data point not available)

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEDIAN)
Cohort 1a Sitters Placebo Then TreatmentMax CMAP Area (Median)Baseline3.6 mVms
Cohort 1a Sitters Placebo Then TreatmentMax CMAP Area (Median)6 months3.74 mVms
Cohort 1b Sitters TreatmentMax CMAP Area (Median)Baseline4.6 mVms
Cohort 1b Sitters TreatmentMax CMAP Area (Median)6 months3.4 mVms
Cohort 2 Standers and Walkers - TreatmentMax CMAP Area (Median)Baseline13.65 mVms
Cohort 2 Standers and Walkers - TreatmentMax CMAP Area (Median)6 months16.85 mVms
Secondary

Nutritional Status

Time frame: -4 wks, 0, 3mo, 6mo, 12mo

Secondary

Peds QL™ Assessment: Parental Version (All), Child Versions (> 5yrs)

Time frame: -4wks, 0, 3mo, 6mo, 12mo

Secondary

Quantitative Assessment of SMN mRNA From Blood Samples

Time frame: -4wks or 0, 3 mo, 6 mo, 12 mo

Secondary

Ulnar MUNE

Time frame: -4 wks, 0, 3 mo, 6 mo, 12 mo

Post Hoc

Modified Hammersmith Extend Baseline

Baseline Modified Hammersmith Extend testing. The baseline test is the score they receive during their screening visits. This scale ranges from 0 to 56. A higher score indicates a better outcome. This scale is used to assess gross motor abilities of children with SMA in multiple research trials as well as in clinical settings.

Time frame: 1 month prior to enrollment, at enrollment (0 months)

Population: Analysis was determined per protocol

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)
Cohort 1a Sitters Placebo Then TreatmentModified Hammersmith Extend BaselineModified Hammersmith Extend at S1 (-4 weeks)47.0 Score
Cohort 1a Sitters Placebo Then TreatmentModified Hammersmith Extend BaselineModified Hammersmith Extend at S2 (0 weeks)48.3 Score
Comparison: MHFMS-Extend was not normally distributed at p=0.048. Test-retest reliability of MHFMS-Extend measurements from the first (S1) to the second (S2) screening visit was analyzed using Spearman's correlation.p-value: <0.001Spearman's correlation

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Mar 31, 2026