Skip to content

A Pilot Clinical Trial to Evaluate the Biological Activity of Fulvestrant in Breast Ductal Carcinoma in Situ (DCIS)

A Pilot Clinical Trial to Evaluate the Biological Activity of Fulvestrant in Breast Ductal Carcinoma in Situ (DCIS)

Status
Terminated
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT00183963
Enrollment
4
Registered
2005-09-16
Start date
2006-08-31
Completion date
2008-06-30
Last updated
2014-05-22

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Breast Carcinoma

Brief summary

The subjects in this trial have been diagnosed as having a pre-cancerous disease of the breast called ductal carcinoma in situ (DCIS). This condition is associated with the development of breast cancer in up to 50% of cases. The subjects are being asked to participate in this research study. They are being offered voluntary admission to this study to test the effects of a new investigational drug called Fulvestrant (Faslodex). This drug is approved by the United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for the treatment of advanced breast cancer but has not been approved for the treatment of DCIS. However, the FDA has given permission for the drug to be tested in this study. The purpose of this study is to find out if Fulvestrant has any effect on the subject's precancerous changes by comparing samples taken before and after receiving Fulvestrant.

Interventions

DRUGTamoxifen

20mg

DRUGFulvestrant

250mg

Sponsors

AstraZeneca
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
University of Southern California
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
FEMALE
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Postmenopausal women with newly diagnosed DCIS. Women will be considered to be in menopause if they fall into one of the following groups: * Age \> 60 * Age \> 45 with amenorrhea \> 1 year with intact uterus * Status post bilateral oophorectomies * FSH/estradiol levels in postmenopausal range for the institution * DCIS must have been diagnosed with a minimally invasive biopsy technique, such as a vacuum-assisted large core tool (Mammotome) or an equivalent method. * There must be available tissue from the diagnostic biopsy to perform molecular markers. * Baseline mammogram within 8 weeks of study entry. * Serum creatinine less than or equal to 2.0 mg/dl. * Total bilirubin less than or equal to 2.0 upper limit of normal (ULN), transaminases (SGOT and/or SGPT) and alkaline phosphatase may be up to 2.5 x institutional upper limit of normal (ULN), AGC greater than or equal to 1500, platelets greater than or equal to 100,000, Hemoglobin greater than or equal to 8.0 g/dl * Peripheral neuropathy grade 0-1. * No prior therapy for DCIS. * SWOG performance status of less than or equal to 1 * All patients must provide informed written consent

Exclusion criteria

* Prior hormonal therapy (antiestrogens, estrogen, SERM's, progestins, or aromatase inhibitors) within 6 months of study entry. * Underlying medical, psychiatric or social conditions that would preclude patient from receiving treatment. * History of DVT or Pulmonary Embolism

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Participants With Molecular Changes in Markers of Cell Proliferation and Apoptosis Associated With Treatment6 months after treatment of last patient enrolledMolecular measures of effect will be measured in tissue obtained at baseline biopsy (paraffin specimen) and on surgical specimen obtained at end of 3 weeks of treatment.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Participants With Changes in Mammographic Density6 months after treatment of last patient enrolledThe mammograms will be scanned and a validated computer based threshold method will be used to determine the mammographic densities.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

Participants were recruited from the USC+LAC General Hospital between August 2006 to April 2008.

Pre-assignment details

The study had no pre-assignment criteria.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Arm 1: Control Group1
Arm 2: Tamoxifen Group1
Arm 3: Low Dose Fulvestrant1
Arm 4: High Dose Fulvestrant1
Total4

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicArm 1: Control GroupArm 2: Tamoxifen GroupArm 3: Low Dose FulvestrantArm 4: High Dose FulvestrantTotal
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
1 Participants1 Participants1 Participants1 Participants4 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants3 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants1 Participants0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants3 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
0 Participants1 Participants0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
1 participants1 participants1 participants1 participants4 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
1 Participants1 Participants1 Participants1 Participants4 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
EG003
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
— / —— / —— / —— / —
other
Total, other adverse events
0 / 11 / 10 / 11 / 1
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 10 / 10 / 10 / 1

Outcome results

Primary

Number of Participants With Molecular Changes in Markers of Cell Proliferation and Apoptosis Associated With Treatment

Molecular measures of effect will be measured in tissue obtained at baseline biopsy (paraffin specimen) and on surgical specimen obtained at end of 3 weeks of treatment.

Time frame: 6 months after treatment of last patient enrolled

Population: Analysis was not conducted since there was only 1 subject randomized on to each of the treatment arms.

Secondary

Number of Participants With Changes in Mammographic Density

The mammograms will be scanned and a validated computer based threshold method will be used to determine the mammographic densities.

Time frame: 6 months after treatment of last patient enrolled

Population: Analysis was not conducted since there was only 1 subject accrued on to each of the treatment arms.

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026