Skip to content

Amrubicin and Irinotecan in Treating Patients With Recurrent or Relapsed Extensive Stage Small Cell Lung Cancer

Phase I Study of Weekly Irinotecan Combined With Amrubicin in Previously Treated Small-Cell Lung Cancer

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 1
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT00132054
Enrollment
30
Registered
2005-08-19
Start date
2004-05-31
Completion date
2008-11-30
Last updated
2013-05-30

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Lung Cancer

Keywords

extensive stage small cell lung cancer, recurrent small cell lung cancer

Brief summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as amrubicin and irinotecan, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Giving more than one drug (combination chemotherapy) may kill more tumor cells. PURPOSE: This phase I trial is studying the side effects and best dose of amrubicin when given together with irinotecan in treating patients with recurrent or relapsed extensive stage small cell lung cancer.

Detailed description

OBJECTIVES: Primary * Determine the dose-limiting toxicity and maximum tolerated dose of amrubicin when combined with irinotecan in patients with recurrent or relapsed extensive stage small cell lung cancer. Secondary * Determine the response rate in patients treated with this regimen. * Determine the overall survival of patients treated with this regimen. * Determine the frequency and severity of adverse events in patients treated with this regimen. OUTLINE: This is a dose-escalation study of amrubicin. Patients receive amrubicin on day 1 and irinotecan IV on days 1 and 8. Courses repeat every 21 days in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Cohorts of up to 6 patients receive escalating doses of amrubicin until the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) is determined. The MTD is defined as the dose preceding that at which at least 1/3 (or 33%) of patients experience dose-limiting toxicity. An additional 6 patients are treated at the MTD. PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 6-30 patients will be accrued for this study.

Interventions

DRUGirinotecan hydrochloride

Sponsors

Japan Multinational Trial Organization
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Primary purpose
TREATMENT

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: * Histologically or cytologically confirmed small cell lung cancer * Extensive stage disease * Recurrent or relapsed disease after 1-2 prior chemotherapy and/or radiotherapy regimens * No unmanageable massive pleural effusion or pericardial effusion by chest CT scan * No symptomatic brain metastasis PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age * 18 and over Performance status * ECOG 0-2 Life expectancy * More than 3 months Hematopoietic * Absolute granulocyte count ≥ 1,500/mm\^3 * Platelet count ≥ 100,000/mm\^3 * Hemoglobin ≥ 8.5 g/dL Hepatic * ALT and AST ≤ 2 times upper limit of normal * Bilirubin ≤ 1.5 mg/dL Renal * Creatinine normal Cardiovascular * No uncontrolled hypertension * No unstable angina * No congestive heart failure * No myocardial infarction within the past year * No ventricular arrhythmia requiring medical intervention * No other serious cardiovascular disease Pulmonary * Arterial oxygen pressure (PaO\_2) ≥ 70 torr * No interstitial pneumonitis or pulmonary fibrosis by chest x-ray Gastrointestinal * No serious diarrhea * No paralytic or obstructive ileus Other * Not pregnant or nursing * No uncontrolled diabetes * No severe infectious disorder PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy * Not specified Chemotherapy * See Disease Characteristics * No prior anthracycline or its derivatives at \> the upper dose limit (e.g., daunorubicin ≥ 25 mg/kg, doxorubicin ≥ 500 mg/m\^2, or epirubicin ≥ 900 mg/m\^2) Endocrine therapy * Not specified Radiotherapy * See Disease Characteristics Surgery * Not specified

Countries

Japan

Outcome results

None listed

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026