Skip to content

Rituximab and Combination Chemotherapy in Treating Patients With Diffuse Large B-Cell Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma

Phase III Randomized Study of R-CHOP V. Dose-Adjusted EPOCH-R With Molecular Profiling in Untreated De Novo Diffuse Large B-Cell Lymphomas

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT00118209
Enrollment
524
Registered
2005-07-11
Start date
2005-05-31
Completion date
2021-11-15
Last updated
2021-11-17

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Large B Cell Lymphoma

Brief summary

This randomized phase III trial studies rituximab when given together with two different combination chemotherapy regimens to compare how well they work in treating patients with diffuse large B-cell non-Hodgkin's lymphoma. Monoclonal antibodies, such as rituximab, may block cancer growth in different ways by targeting certain cells. Drugs used in chemotherapy work in different ways to stop the growth of cancer cells, either by killing the cells, by stopping them from dividing, or by stopping them from spreading. Giving rituximab together with combination chemotherapy may kill more cancer cells. It is not yet known which combination chemotherapy regimen is more effective when given with rituximab in treating diffuse large B-cell non-Hodgkin's lymphoma. PURPOSE: This randomized phase III trial is studying rituximab when given together with two different combination chemotherapy regimens to compare how well they work in treating patients with diffuse large B-cell lymphoma.

Detailed description

PRIMARY OBJECTIVES: I. To compare the event-free survival of rituximab, cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin hydrochloride, vincristine sulfate, prednisone (R-CHOP) versus dose-adjusted (DA-) etoposide, prednisone, vincristine sulfate, doxorubicin hydrochloride, cyclophosphamide, and rituximab (EPOCH-R) chemotherapy in untreated cluster of differentiation (CD)20 positive (+) diffuse large B-cell lymphomas. II. To develop a molecular predictor of outcome of R-CHOP and DA-EPOCH-R chemotherapy using molecular profiling. SECONDARY OBJECTIVES: I. To compare the response rates, overall survival and toxicity of R-CHOP versus DA-EPOCH-R. II. To define the pharmacogenomics of untreated diffuse large B-cell lymphoma (DLBCL) and correlate clinical parameters (toxicity, response, survival outcomes and laboratory results) with molecular profiling. III. To assess the use of molecular profiling for pathological diagnosis. IV. To identify new therapeutic targets using molecular profiling. V. To perform a comprehensive analysis of somatic alterations to the tumor genome and to understand which genomic alterations are somatically acquired by the tumor and which are encoded in the germ line of the patient. VI. To identify biomarkers of response to chemotherapy by fludeoxyglucose F 18 (FDG)-positron emission tomography (PET)/computed tomography (CT) imaging that are predictive of histopathologic remissions and survival in patients with stage I (mediastinal), II, III, or IV untreated DLBCL. VII. To evaluate the use of semiquantitative measurements of FDG uptake in defining FDG-PET/CT based biomarkers of response to chemotherapy in patients with DLBCL. VIII. To determine whether FDG-PET/CT measurements of tumor response after the second cycle of chemotherapy can predict clinical response. IX. To establish a standardized protocol for FDG-PET/CT image acquisition. X. To determine additional FDG-PET/CT parameters (e.g., the ratio of tumor maximum standard uptake value \[SUVmax\] to liver SUVmean; SUVs corrected for body surface area and lean body mass; nuclear medicine physician's assessment) and evaluate their utility in refining FDG-PET/CT based biomarkers of response to therapy. XI. To evaluate inter-institutional reproducibility of FDG-PET/CT measurements for this indication. OUTLINE: Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.

Interventions

BIOLOGICALrituximab

IV

DRUGcyclophosphamide

IV

DRUGdoxorubicin

IV or CIVI

DRUGvincristine

IV or CIVI

DRUGprednisone

oral

DRUGetoposide

CIVI

DRUGfilgrastim

IV

DRUGpegfilgrastim

IV

Sponsors

National Cancer Institute (NCI)
CollaboratorNIH
Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

1. Histologically documented de novo CD20+ DLBCL with stage II, III or IV disease. * Stage I primary mediastinal (thymic) DLBCL is also eligible. * Patients with an underlying low-grade lymphoma, such as a transformed lymphoma or low-grade lymphoma in the bone marrow, are not eligible. * Diagnosis should be based on an adequate tissue sample, including open biopsy or core needle biopsy. * Needle aspiration for primary diagnosis is unacceptable. * Patients must have one of the following WHO classification subtypes: * Diffuse large B-cell lymphoma (includes morphological variants: centroblastic, immunoblastic, T-cell/histiocyte rich, and anaplastic) * Mediastinal (thymic) large B-cell lymphoma * Intravascular large B-cell lymphoma * Note: Failure to submit a pathology block within 60 days of patient registration will be considered a major protocol violation. * Fresh (frozen) tumor biopsy must be available or attempted. A frozen tumor biopsy equivalent to a minimum of four at least 16 gauge needle cores is an important component of this study. * Patients without adequate frozen material should have a biopsy performed to obtain material. * If a biopsy is performed and does not yield adequate material, the patient is still eligible for the study. If a biopsy cannot be done safely, the patient may still be eligible for the study if permission is granted. * Note: This study does not allow concurrent radiation unless a patient has a documented CNS treatment failure with no systemic failure. 2. No prior cytotoxic chemotherapy or rituximab. Patients may be entered if they have received prior limited field radiation therapy or a short course of glucocorticoids (\< 10 days) for an urgent local disease complication at diagnosis (e.g., cord compression, SVC syndrome). Patients who have received chemotherapy for prior malignancies are not eligible. 3. Age ≥ 18 years 4. ECOG Performance Status 0-2 5. No active ischemic heart disease or congestive heart failure. If there is suspicion of cardiac disease, a cardiac ejection fraction must show LVEF \> 45%, but the study is not required 6. No known lymphomatous involvement of the CNS. A lumbar puncture prior to study is not required in the absence of neurological symptoms 7. No known HIV disease. Patients with a history of intravenous drug abuse or any other behavior associated with an increased risk of HIV infection should be tested for exposure to the HIV virus. Patients who test positive or who are known to be infected are not eligible. 8. Non pregnant and non-nursing. Treatment would expose an unborn child to significant risks. Women and men of reproductive potential should agree to use an effective form of contraception. 9. Patients with active medical processes (e.g., uncontrolled bacterial or viral infection, bleeding) not related to their lymphoma should be excluded. 10. Required Initial Laboratory Values (unless non-Hodgkin lymphoma): * ANC ≥ 1000/μL * Platelets ≥ 100,000/μL * Creatinine≤ 1.5 mg/dL or creatinine clearance ≥ 50 cc/min * Total Bilirubin ≤ 2 mg/dL (unless a history of Gilbert's Disease)

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Progression-Free Survival Rate at 2 and 5 YearsUp to 5 years post-registrationProgression-free survival (PFS) is defined as the time from randomization to progression, relapse, or death from any cause, whichever occurred first. Progression (PD) or Relapse\> * ≥ 50% increase from nadir in the SPD of any previously identified abnormal node for PRs or nonresponders.\> * Appearance of any new lesion during or after completion of therapy.\> * PET+ is not a criterion for progressive disease. Patients only with PET+ findings must have evidence of progression on CT or biopsy proven.\> The PFS rate (percentage of participants who are alive and progression-free) at 2 and 5 years Kaplan Meier estimates and 95% Confidence Intervals are reported below.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Response RateUp to 5 years post-registrationThe overall response rate is defined as the percentage of participants with a response (Complete Response or Partial Response)
Overall Survival Rate at 2 and 5 YearsUp to 5 years post-registrationOverall survival is defined as the time from randomization to death due to any cause. The overall survival (OS) rate (percentage of participants who are still alive) at 2 and 5 years Kaplan Meier estimates and 95% confidence intervals are reported below.

Other

MeasureTime frame
Whether the Gene Expression Signatures That Were Previously Associated With Survival Following CHOP Therapy Are Associated With Survival in Either of the Treatment Arms of the Prospective TrialUp to 5 years post-registration

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Arm A - R-CHOP
Patients receive the following treatment:\> * Rituximab 375 mg/m\^2 IV infusion on Day 1 prior to CHOP chemotherapy\> * Cyclophosphamide 750 mg/m\^2 IV on Day 1\> * Doxorubicin 50 mg/m\^2 IV on Day 1\> * Vincristine 1.4 mg/m\^2 IV (2 mg cap) on Day 1\> * Prednisone 40 mg/m\^2/day PO on Days 1-5\> * filgrastim or pegfilgrastim as defined in the protocol\> Required ancillary medications is administered during all cycles as defined in the protocol.\> Cycles will be repeated every 21 days for 6 treatment cycles. Restaging will occur after Cycles 4 and 6.
250
Arm B - DA-EPOCH-R
Patients receive the following treatment:\> Cycle 1 Doses:\> * Rituximab 375 mg/m\^2 IV infusion on Day 1 prior to EPOCH chemotherapy\> * Doxorubicin 10 mg/m\^2/day CIVI on Days 1-4\> * Etoposide 50 mg/m\^2/day CIVI on Days 1-4\> * Vincristine 0.4 mg/m\^2/day (no cap) CIVI on Days 1-4 (total 1.6 mg/m2 over 96 hours)\> * Cyclophosphamide 750 mg/m\^2 IV on Day 5 (following completion of 96 hour infusions)\> * Prednisone 60 mg/m\^2 PO BID on Days 1-5\> * Administer filgrastim 480 mcg subcutaneous daily from Day 6 until ANC \> 5000 after the \> nadir (nadir usually between Days 10-12) or for 10 days (Days 6-15) if the ANC is not \> being monitored, during every cycle.\> Doses for subsequent cycles will be determined by the absolute neutrophil (ANC) or platelet nadir from the previous cycle.\> Required ancillary medications are administered during all cycles as defined in the protocol.\> Cycles will be repeated every 21 days for a maximum of 6 cycles. Restaging will occur after Cycles 4 and 6.
241
Total491

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicTotalArm B - DA-EPOCH-RArm A - R-CHOP
Age, Continuous58.0 years58.0 years58.0 years
ECOG Performance Status
0
214 Participants113 Participants101 Participants
ECOG Performance Status
1
215 Participants96 Participants119 Participants
ECOG Performance Status
2
61 Participants32 Participants29 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
31 Participants15 Participants16 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
434 Participants214 Participants220 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
26 Participants12 Participants14 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
4 Participants2 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
17 Participants8 Participants9 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
60 Participants31 Participants29 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
5 Participants3 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
19 Participants8 Participants11 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
385 Participants189 Participants196 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
225 Participants109 Participants116 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
265 Participants132 Participants133 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
53 / 25056 / 241
other
Total, other adverse events
94 / 243119 / 237
serious
Total, serious adverse events
232 / 243214 / 237

Outcome results

Primary

Progression-Free Survival Rate at 2 and 5 Years

Progression-free survival (PFS) is defined as the time from randomization to progression, relapse, or death from any cause, whichever occurred first. Progression (PD) or Relapse\> * ≥ 50% increase from nadir in the SPD of any previously identified abnormal node for PRs or nonresponders.\> * Appearance of any new lesion during or after completion of therapy.\> * PET+ is not a criterion for progressive disease. Patients only with PET+ findings must have evidence of progression on CT or biopsy proven.\> The PFS rate (percentage of participants who are alive and progression-free) at 2 and 5 years Kaplan Meier estimates and 95% Confidence Intervals are reported below.

Time frame: Up to 5 years post-registration

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
Arm B - DA-EPOCH-RProgression-Free Survival Rate at 2 and 5 Years2-year PFS78.9 percentage of participants
Arm B - DA-EPOCH-RProgression-Free Survival Rate at 2 and 5 Years5-year PFS68.0 percentage of participants
Arm A - R-CHOPProgression-Free Survival Rate at 2 and 5 Years2-year PFS75.5 percentage of participants
Arm A - R-CHOPProgression-Free Survival Rate at 2 and 5 Years5-year PFS66.0 percentage of participants
p-value: 0.651995% CI: [0.68, 1.27]Log Rank
Secondary

Overall Survival Rate at 2 and 5 Years

Overall survival is defined as the time from randomization to death due to any cause. The overall survival (OS) rate (percentage of participants who are still alive) at 2 and 5 years Kaplan Meier estimates and 95% confidence intervals are reported below.

Time frame: Up to 5 years post-registration

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
Arm B - DA-EPOCH-ROverall Survival Rate at 2 and 5 Years2-year OS rate86.5 percentage of participants
Arm B - DA-EPOCH-ROverall Survival Rate at 2 and 5 Years5-year OS rate77.5 percentage of participants
Arm A - R-CHOPOverall Survival Rate at 2 and 5 Years2-year OS rate85.7 percentage of participants
Arm A - R-CHOPOverall Survival Rate at 2 and 5 Years5-year OS rate78.5 percentage of participants
p-value: 0.641495% CI: [0.75, 1.59]Log Rank
Secondary

Response Rate

The overall response rate is defined as the percentage of participants with a response (Complete Response or Partial Response)

Time frame: Up to 5 years post-registration

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Arm B - DA-EPOCH-RResponse Rate86.7 percentage of participants
Arm A - R-CHOPResponse Rate88.0 percentage of participants
p-value: 0.67t-test, 2 sided
Other Pre-specified

Whether the Gene Expression Signatures That Were Previously Associated With Survival Following CHOP Therapy Are Associated With Survival in Either of the Treatment Arms of the Prospective Trial

Time frame: Up to 5 years post-registration

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Mar 27, 2026