Skip to content

Lapatinib Ditosylate in Treating Patients With Unresectable Liver or Biliary Tract Cancer

A Phase II Study of Efficacy and Tolerability of GW572016 in Patients With Advanced Hepatocellular and Biliary Carcinomas

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT00107536
Enrollment
26
Registered
2005-04-06
Start date
2005-10-31
Completion date
2009-05-31
Last updated
2015-04-29

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Adult Primary Hepatocellular Carcinoma, Advanced Adult Primary Liver Cancer, Localized Unresectable Adult Primary Liver Cancer, Recurrent Adult Primary Liver Cancer, Recurrent Extrahepatic Bile Duct Cancer, Recurrent Gallbladder Cancer, Unresectable Extrahepatic Bile Duct Cancer, Unresectable Gallbladder Cancer

Brief summary

Lapatinib ditosylate may stop the growth of tumor cells by blocking some of the enzymes needed for cell growth. This phase II trial is studying how well lapatinib ditosylate works in treating patients with unresectable liver or biliary tract cancer

Detailed description

PRIMARY OBJECTIVES: I. To evaluate the objective response rate (complete response \[CR\] + partial response \[PR\]) as defined by the Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) criteria in each group of patients. SECONDARY OBJECTIVES: I. To evaluate the progression free survival at 6 months. II. To evaluate the toxicity profile of this treatment in each group of patients. III. To evaluate median overall survival, 6 and 12 months survival rates. IV. To assess target-epidermal growth factor receptor (EGFR)/EGFR-P protein expression and the genes that regulate the cell cycle and apoptosis, which are either downstream of or cross-talk with the EGFR signaling pathway, to explore their association with clinical outcome. V. To measure expression profile and mutations of genes critical for EGFR and (v-erb-b2 erythroblastic leukemia viral oncogene homolog 2 (ERBB2 signaling pathways with particular relevance to GW572016, and to explore new gene-drug relationships as relating to hepatocellular and biliary carcinomas. OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study. Patients receive oral lapatinib ditosylate once daily on days 1-28. Courses repeat every 28 days in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 70 patients will be accrued for this study within 1 year.

Interventions

DRUGlapatinib ditosylate
OTHERlaboratory biomarker analysis

Correlative studies

Sponsors

National Cancer Institute (NCI)
Lead SponsorNIH

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Histologically confirmed diagnosis of 1 of the following: * Hepatocellular carcinoma (hepatoma) * Child-Pugh classification score ≤ 7 * Biliary tract carcinoma * Surgically unresectable disease * Measurable disease * At least 1 unidimensionally measurable lesion ≥ 20 mm by conventional techniques OR ≥ 10 mm by spiral CT scan * Fresh tissue or paraffin embedded tissue from tumor blocks available * No ampulla of Vater tumors * No known brain metastases * Performance status - ECOG 0-1 * Performance status - Karnofsky 60-100% * More than 12 weeks * Absolute neutrophil count ≥ 1,500/mm\^3 * Platelet count ≥ 75,000/mm\^3 * Bilirubin ≤ 2 times upper limit of normal (ULN) * AST and ALT ≤ 3 times ULN * Albumin ≥ 2.5 mg/dL * INR ≤ 1.5 (for patients not receiving an anticoagulant) * Live metastases or stable chronic liver disease allowed * No current active hepatic or biliary disease except for Gilbert's syndrome or asymptomatic gallstone * Creatinine ≤ 2 mg/dL * Ejection fraction normal by echocardiogram or MUGA * No unstable angina pectoris * No cardiac arrhythmia * Able to swallow and retain oral medication * No gastrointestinal (GI) tract disease resulting in an inability to take oral medication * No malabsorption syndrome * No requirement for IV alimentation * No uncontrolled inflammatory GI disease (e.g., Crohn's disease or ulcerative colitis) * Not pregnant or nursing * Negative pregnancy test * Fertile patients must use effective contraception * No significant traumatic injury within the past 3 weeks * No active or ongoing infection * No history of allergic reaction attributed to compounds of similar chemical or biological composition to lapatinib * No psychiatric illness or social situation that would preclude study compliance * No other uncontrolled illness * No other malignancy within the past 3 years except adequately treated basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer or carcinoma in situ of the cervix * More than 4 weeks since prior biologic therapy * More than 4 weeks since prior immunotherapy * See Radiotherapy * More than 4 weeks since prior chemotherapy (6 weeks for nitrosoureas or mitomycin) * No prior cumulative doxorubicin dose \> 450 mg/m\^2 * At least 14 days since prior and no concurrent glucocorticoids (e.g., dexamethasone or equivalent \[dose \> 1.5 mg/day\]) * More than 4 weeks since prior radiotherapy * More than 12 weeks since prior radiotherapy with or without a fluoropyrimidine as a radiosensitizer (for patients with biliary carcinoma only) * No prior surgical procedure affecting absorption * More than 3 weeks since prior major surgery * Recovered from all prior therapy * No more than 1 prior systemic anticancer therapy, including chemoembolization * No prior epidermal growth factor receptor-targeting therapy * More than 6 weeks since prior cryotherapy, radiofrequency ablation, ethanol injection, transarterial chemoembolization, or photodynamic therapy AND meets both of the following criteria: * Indicator lesion is outside the area of prior treatment OR there is clear evidence of disease progression associated with the sole indicator lesion * Edges of indicator lesion are clearly distinct by CT scan * At least 7 days since prior and no concurrent H2 inhibitors or proton pump inhibitors * Concurrent antacids allowed provided they are administered \> 1 hour before and \> 1 hour after study drug administration * At least 7 days since prior and no concurrent CYP3A4 inhibitors, including any of the following: * Clarithromycin * Erythromycin * Troleandomycin * Delaviridine * Ritonavir * Indinavir * Saquinavir * Nelfinavir * Amprenavir * Lopinavir * Itraconazole * Ketoconazole * Voriconazole * Fluconazole (doses ≤ 150 mg/day are allowed) * Nefazodone * Fluvoxamine * Verapamil * Diltiazem * Cimetidine * Aprepitant * Grapefruit and grapefruit juice * Bitter orange * At least 6 months since prior and no concurrent amiodarone * At least 14 days since prior and no concurrent CYP3A4 inducers, including any of the following: * Phenytoin * Carbamazepine * Phenobarbital * Oxcarbazepine * Efavirenz * Nevirapine * Rifampin * Rifabutin * Rifapentine * Roxithromycin * Telithromycin * Hypericum perforatum (St. John's wort) * Modafinil * No concurrent combination antiretroviral therapy for HIV-positive patients * No other concurrent investigational agents * No other concurrent anticancer therapy * Concurrent oral anticoagulants (e.g., coumadin or warfarin) allowed provided there is increased vigilance in monitoring INR

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Proportion of Patients Demonstrating Objective Response (PR+CR) as Defined by RECISTUp to 3 yearsPR (Partial Response) definded as at least a 30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter (LD) of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum LD. CR (Complete Response) is defined as the disappearance of all target lesions.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Toxicity Profile Assessed Using NCI CTCAE Version 3.0Up to 3 yearsPercentage of patients with Adverse events accordng to NCI CTCAE version 3.0
Median Overall SurvivalUp to 3 years
Progression-free Survivalup to 6 months
Target-EGFR/EGFR-P Protein ExpressionUp to 3 yearsEGFR (exons 18-21)
Expression Profile and Mutations of Genes Critical for EGFR and ERBB2 Signaling PathwaysUp to 3 years
Overall Survivalup to 12.6 months

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

Patients were enrolled between the dates of March 3, 2006-May 14, 2007.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Arm I
Patients receive oral lapatinib ditosylate once daily on days 1-28. Courses repeat every 28 days in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. lapatinib ditosylate laboratory biomarker analysis: Correlative studies
26
Total26

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicArm I
Age, Continuous58 years
Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) Performance Status
Performance status 0
12 participants
Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) Performance Status
Performance status 1
14 participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
25 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants
Prior treatments
Chemo-embolization
2 participants
Prior treatments
Chemotherapy
3 participants
Prior treatments
Surgery
16 participants
Prior treatments
Unknown
2 participants
Prior treatments
X-ray treatment
3 participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
4 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
20 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
26 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
8 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
18 Participants
Sites of metastasis
Adrenal gland
1 participants
Sites of metastasis
Bone
1 participants
Sites of metastasis
Chest wall
1 participants
Sites of metastasis
Hepatic mets
1 participants
Sites of metastasis
Lungs
8 participants
Sites of metastasis
Lymph nodes
8 participants
Sites of metastasis
Not available
4 participants
Sites of metastasis
Peritoneal mets
1 participants
Sites of metastasis
Spine
1 participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
— / —
other
Total, other adverse events
26 / 26
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 26

Outcome results

Primary

Proportion of Patients Demonstrating Objective Response (PR+CR) as Defined by RECIST

PR (Partial Response) definded as at least a 30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter (LD) of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum LD. CR (Complete Response) is defined as the disappearance of all target lesions.

Time frame: Up to 3 years

Population: Only 25 patients were evaluable for response (1 patient passed away before staging).

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Arm IProportion of Patients Demonstrating Objective Response (PR+CR) as Defined by RECIST0 patients
Secondary

Expression Profile and Mutations of Genes Critical for EGFR and ERBB2 Signaling Pathways

Time frame: Up to 3 years

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Arm IExpression Profile and Mutations of Genes Critical for EGFR and ERBB2 Signaling Pathways0 patients with mutations
Secondary

Median Overall Survival

Time frame: Up to 3 years

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Arm IMedian Overall Survival12.6 months
Secondary

Overall Survival

Time frame: up to 12.6 months

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Arm IOverall Survival12.6 months
Secondary

Progression-free Survival

Time frame: up to 6 months

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Arm IProgression-free Survival1.9 months
Secondary

Target-EGFR/EGFR-P Protein Expression

EGFR (exons 18-21)

Time frame: Up to 3 years

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Arm ITarget-EGFR/EGFR-P Protein Expression0 patients with somatic mutations
Secondary

Toxicity Profile Assessed Using NCI CTCAE Version 3.0

Percentage of patients with Adverse events accordng to NCI CTCAE version 3.0

Time frame: Up to 3 years

Population: All 26 patients were evaluable for toxicity analysis.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
Arm IToxicity Profile Assessed Using NCI CTCAE Version 3.0Diarrhea73 percentage of patients
Arm IToxicity Profile Assessed Using NCI CTCAE Version 3.0Nausea54 percentage of patients
Arm IToxicity Profile Assessed Using NCI CTCAE Version 3.0Rash50 percentage of patients

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026