Skip to content

Zoledronate in Preventing Bone Loss in Postmenopausal Women Who Are Receiving Letrozole for Stage I, Stage II, or Stage IIIA Breast Cancer

A Randomized, Controlled, Open-Label Trial of Empiric Prophylactic vs. Delayed Use of Zoledronic Acid for Prevention of Bone Loss in Postmenopausal Women With Breast Cancer Initiating Therapy With Letrozole After Tamoxifen

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT00107263
Enrollment
558
Registered
2005-04-06
Start date
2005-01-31
Completion date
2012-08-31
Last updated
2016-12-06

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Breast Cancer, Osteoporosis

Keywords

osteoporosis, stage I breast cancer, stage II breast cancer, stage IIIA breast cancer

Brief summary

RATIONALE: Estrogen can cause the growth of breast cancer cells. Hormone therapy using letrozole may fight breast cancer by lowering the amount of estrogen the body makes. Zoledronate may prevent bone loss in patients who are receiving letrozole. It is not yet known which schedule of zoledronate is more effective in preventing bone loss in patients with breast cancer. PURPOSE: This randomized phase III trial is studying two different schedules of zoledronate to compare how well they work in preventing bone loss in postmenopausal women who are receiving letrozole for stage I, stage II, or stage IIIA breast cancer.

Detailed description

OBJECTIVES: * Compare the effectiveness of zoledronate vs standard care in reducing bone loss during the first 12 months of study treatment in postmenopausal women with stage I-IIIA breast cancer initiating letrozole after prior treatment with tamoxifen. * Compare the effect of immediate vs delayed zoledronate, annually at 2-5 years post-baseline, in reducing bone loss in these patients. OUTLINE: This is a randomized, open-label, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to duration of prior tamoxifen therapy (≤ 2 years vs \> 2 years); time since tamoxifen therapy was discontinued (\< 1 vs ≥ 1 year); prior adjuvant chemotherapy (yes vs no); and baseline total lumbar spine or femoral neck bone mineral density (BMD) T-score (\> -1 standard deviation \[SD\] vs between -1 to -2 SD). Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms. * Arm I (immediate therapy): Patients receive oral letrozole once daily. Patients also receive zoledronate IV over 15 minutes once every 6 months. * Arm II (delayed therapy): Patients receive oral letrozole as in arm I. Patients with radiologic evidence of bone loss after 1 year of letrozole therapy receive zoledronate as in arm I. In both arms, treatment continues for up to 5 years in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 550 patients (275 per treatment arm) will be accrued for this study within 28 months.

Interventions

DRUGletrozole
DRUGzoledronic acid

Sponsors

National Cancer Institute (NCI)
CollaboratorNIH
Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
SUPPORTIVE_CARE
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
FEMALE
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: * Diagnosis of breast cancer * Stage I, II, or IIIA disease * Completed ≤ 6 years of adjuvant tamoxifen therapy * Total baseline lumbar spine or femoral neck bone mineral density T-score below -2.0 standard deviation (e.g., a patient with a T-score of -2.1 in ineligible; a patient with a T-score of -1.9 is eligible) * No clinical or radiological evidence of recurrent or metastatic disease * Hormone receptor status: * Estrogen receptor- and/or progesterone receptor-positive PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age * Postmenopausal Sex * Female Menopausal status * Postmenopausal, defined by 1 of the following: * Over 55 years of age with cessation of menses * 55 years of age and under with spontaneous cessation of menses for \> 1 year * 55 years of age and under with spontaneous cessation of menses for ≤ 1 year, but amenorrheic (e.g., spontaneous or secondary to hysterectomy) with postmenopausal estradiol levels (\< 5 ng/dL) * Undergone bilateral oophorectomy Performance status * ECOG 0-2 Life expectancy * At least 5 years Hematopoietic * WBC ≥ 3,000/mm\^3 * Platelet count ≥ 100,000/mm\^3 Hepatic * Alkaline phosphatase ≤ 3 times upper limit of normal (ULN) * AST ≤ 3 times ULN Renal * Creatinine \< 2.0 mg/dL * No hypercalcemia (i.e., calcium \> 1 mg/dL above ULN within the past 6 months) * No hypocalcemia (i.e., calcium \> 0.5 mg/dL below lower limit of normal within the past 6 months) Other * No uncontrolled infection * No uncontrolled diabetes mellitus * No uncontrolled thyroid dysfunction * No disease affecting bone metabolism (e.g., hyperparathyroidism, hypercortisolism, Paget's disease, or osteogenesis imperfecta) * No malabsorption syndrome * No uncontrolled seizure disorder associated with falls * No known hypersensitivity to zoledronate or other bisphosphonates, letrozole, calcium, or cholecalciferol (vitamin D) * No mental illness that would preclude giving informed consent * No other malignancy within the past 5 years except adequately treated basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer or carcinoma in situ of the cervix * No other non-malignant systemic disease * No clinical or radiologic evidence of existing fracture in the lumbar spine and/or total hip * No history of fracture with low intensity or not associated with trauma * No contraindication to spinal dual energy x-ray absorptiometry (DEXA) due to any of the following: * History of surgery at the lumbosacral spine, with or without implantable devices * Scoliosis with a Cobb angle \> 15° at the lumbar spine * Immobility, hyperostosis, or sclerotic changes at the lumbar spine * Evidence of sufficient sclerotic abdominal aorta that would interfere with DEXA scan * Any disease of the spine that would preclude proper acquisition of a lumbar spine DEXA * Considered reliable PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy * Not specified Chemotherapy * No concurrent chemotherapy Endocrine therapy * See Disease Characteristics * Prior parathyroid hormone allowed provided it was not administered for \> 1 week * More than 6 months since prior anabolic steroids or growth hormone * More than 12 months since prior endocrine therapy (including estrogen) except for the following: * Tamoxifen * Insulin * Oral hypoglycemics * Thyroid hormone * Steroid inhalers * More than 12 months since prior systemic corticosteroids except short-term corticosteroids to prevent or treat chemotherapy-induced nausea and vomiting or acute respiratory illness * Concurrent short-term corticosteroids allowed * No other concurrent hormonal therapy * No concurrent parathyroid hormone Radiotherapy * Not specified Surgery * Not specified Other * Prior systemic sodium fluoride allowed provided it was not administered for \> 3 months within the past 2 years * More than 3 weeks since prior oral bisphosphonates * More than 2 weeks since prior and no concurrent drugs known to affect the skeleton (e.g., calcitonin, mithramycin, or gallium nitrate) * More than 30 days since prior systemic investigational drugs and/or devices * More than 7 days since prior topical investigational drugs * No prior IV bisphosphonates * No prior aromatase inhibitor therapy * No concurrent calcitonin, sodium fluoride, or Tibolone * No other concurrent anticancer therapy * No other concurrent bisphosphonates * No other concurrent investigational drugs or devices

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frame
Average intra-patient change in total lumbar spine (L1-L4) bone mineral density (BMD) as measured by dual energy x-ray absorptiometry at baseline and 1 year after completion of study treatmentat 12 months

Secondary

MeasureTime frame
BMD (lumbar spine) annually for 5 years after completion of study treatmentUp to 5 years
Incidence of osteoporosisUp to 5 years
Loss of bone densityUp to 5 years
Incidence of bone fracturesUp to 5 years
Time to disease progressionUp to 5 years

Outcome results

None listed

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026