Skip to content

Treating Young Patients With Newly Diagnosed, Low Stage, Lymphocyte Predominant Hodgkin Disease

Treatment of Children With Newly-Diagnosed Low Stage Lymphocyte Predominant Hodgkin Disease (LPHD)

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT00107198
Enrollment
188
Registered
2005-04-06
Start date
2006-03-10
Completion date
2026-03-31
Last updated
2026-06-05

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Ann Arbor Stage I Childhood Hodgkin Lymphoma, Ann Arbor Stage II Childhood Hodgkin Lymphoma, Childhood Nodular Lymphocyte Predominant B-Cell Lymphoma

Brief summary

This phase II trial is studying how well surgery and/or combination chemotherapy with or without radiation therapy or observation only work in treating young patients with newly diagnosed stage I or stage II lymphocyte predominant Hodgkin disease (LPHD). Surgery may be an effective treatment for LPHD. Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as doxorubicin, vincristine, prednisone, and cyclophosphamide, work in different ways to stop the growth of cancer cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to kill cancer cells. Giving more than one drug (combination chemotherapy) with or without radiation therapy may kill more cancer cells.

Detailed description

PRIMARY OBJECTIVES: I. To preserve the excellent cure rate in patients with lymphocyte predominant Hodgkin disease (LPHD) while employing a treatment strategy that minimizes the exposure to chemotherapy and radiation therapy in appropriate patients. II. To estimate the proportion of stage I patients (with a single involved lymph node that is totally resected) who can be cured with surgery alone. III. To estimate the proportions of stage I unresected, stage I resected (whose disease has recurred after observation), and stage II LPHD patients who can be cured with adriamycin (doxorubicin)/vincristine/prednisone/cyclophosphamide (AV-PC) x 3, with involved field radiation therapy (IFRT) for those who are not in a CR after chemotherapy. IV. To reduce the potential for long-term toxicity of LPHD treatment. OUTLINE: This is a pilot study. Patients with stage IA disease who underwent confirmed complete resection of a single involved lymph node at diagnosis undergo observation only\*. Patients with stage IA disease who underwent possible complete resection of a single involved lymph node at diagnosis undergo imaging at 6-7 weeks after surgery. Patients with a confirmed complete resection by imaging undergo observation only\*. Patients who do not demonstrate complete resection by imaging proceed to combination chemotherapy with or without radiotherapy. Patients with stage IA disease who underwent a fine needle aspiration of a single involved lymph node OR an incomplete resection of a single involved lymph node at diagnosis may undergo a second surgery to achieve complete resection. Patients who undergo complete resection during the second surgery undergo imaging at 6-7 weeks after surgery. Patients with a confirmed complete resection by imaging undergo observation only\*. Patients who do not undergo a second surgery OR do not achieve complete resection with the second surgery proceed to combination chemotherapy with or without radiotherapy. Patients with stage IA disease with involvement of more than 1 lymph node OR stage IIA disease proceed directly to combination chemotherapy with or without radiotherapy. NOTE: \*Patients with recurrent disease after observation only undergo biopsy and restaging and then proceed to combination chemotherapy with or without radiotherapy. (AS OF AMENDMENT #4, THE TREATMENT ARM FOR PATIENTS WHOSE CANCER RECURRED AFTER OBSERVATION ALONE IS NOW CLOSED) COMBINATION CHEMOTHERAPY: Patients receive doxorubicin hydrochloride intravenously (IV) over 10-30 minutes and cyclophosphamide IV over 1 hour on day 1, vincristine IV over 1 minute on days 1 and 8, and prednisone orally (PO) or IV two or three times daily on days 1-7. Treatment repeats every 21 days for 3 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients who achieve complete response (CR) after 3 courses of therapy proceed to follow-up. Patients who do not achieve a CR proceed to involved-field radiotherapy. INVOLVED-FIELD RADIOTHERAPY (IFRT): Beginning within 3 weeks after completion of combination chemotherapy, patients undergo IFRT once daily, 5 days a week for 2.8 weeks (14 treatments). Patients are followed every 3 months for 2 years, every 6 months for 3 years, annually for 5 years, and then every 5 years for 10 years.

Interventions

PROCEDUREConventional Surgery

Undergo surgery

DRUGCyclophosphamide

Given IV

DRUGDoxorubicin Hydrochloride

Given IV

DRUGPrednisone

Given IV or PO

RADIATIONRadiation Therapy

Undergo IFRT

DRUGVincristine Sulfate

Given IV

Sponsors

Children's Oncology Group
Lead SponsorNETWORK
National Cancer Institute (NCI)
CollaboratorNIH

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
1 Months to 21 Years
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Patients with newly diagnosed, previously untreated, biopsy-proven lymphocyte predominant Hodgkin disease (LPHD) are eligible for this protocol as follows: * Diagnosis of LPHD must be made using the Revised European American Lymphoma (REAL)/World Health Organization (WHO) classification criteria and will be confirmed by rapid pathology central review * Clinical stages as follows: * Stage IA without bulk disease * Stage IIA without bulk disease * Patients with "B" symptoms or bulk disease are NOT eligible for this study * Slides for rapid central pathology review must be sent to the Biopathology Center (BPC) * Serum glutamic oxalo-acetic transaminase (SGOT) (aspartate aminotransferase \[AST\]) or serum glutamate pyruvate transaminase (SGPT) (alanine aminotransferase \[ALT\]) \< 2.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN) * Total bilirubin =\< 1.5 times ULN * Creatinine clearance or radioisotope glomerular filtration rate (GFR) \>= 70 mL/min * Creatinine based on age/gender as follows: * No greater than 0.4 mg/dL (for patients 1 to 5 months of age) * No greater than 0.5 mg/dL (for patients 6 to 11 months of age) * No greater than 0.6 mg/dL (for patients 1 year of age) * No greater than 0.8 mg/dL (for patients 2 to 5 years of age) * No greater than 1.0 mg/dL (for patients 6 to 9 years of age) * No greater than 1.2 mg/dL (for patients 10 to 12 years of age) * No greater than 1.4 mg/dL (for female patients \>= 13 years of age) * No greater than 1.5 mg/dL (for male patients 13 to 15 years of age) * No greater than 1.7 mg/dL (for male patients \>= 16 years of age) * Shortening fraction of \>= 27% by echocardiogram or ejection fraction of \>= 50% by multigated radionuclide angiogram (MUGA) * Lactating females must agree that they will not breastfeed a child if they are to receive chemotherapy or radiation treatment\* * Female patients of childbearing potential must have a negative pregnancy test if they are to receive chemotherapy or radiation treatment\* * Males and females of reproductive potential may not participate unless they have agreed to use an effective contraceptive method if they are to receive chemotherapy or radiation treatment\* * Note: \*Pregnant or breastfeeding women with stage I, single involved lymph node and confirmed (by Quality Assurance Review Center \[QARC \]) total resection, are eligible for the observation arm only; no chemotherapy or radiation treatment will be administered to pregnant or breastfeeding women * No prior chemotherapy * More than 30 days since prior systemic corticosteroids * No prior radiotherapy * All patients and/or their parents or legal guardians must sign a written informed consent

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Failure-free Survival (FFS)At 5 yearsThe time to a treatment (strategy) failure, where failure includes one of the following occurrences as a first event: disseminated disease (\> Stage I/II) progression or recurrence at any time, local disease progression or recurrence anytime during or after treatment with AV-PC +/- IFRT, occurrence of a second malignant neoplasm, death from any cause.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Event-free SurvivalAt 5 yearsFailure includes one of the following occurrences as a first event: relapse/progression or second malignancy from enrollment.
Cure by Surgery Alone in Stage I Resected PatientsAt 2 yearsTo estimate the proportion of Stage I patients (with a single involved lymph node that is totally resected) who can be cured with surgery alone.
Cure by AV-PC x 3 or AV-PC x 3 + IFRT for Stage I Unresected, Stage I Resected Whose Disease Recurred, and Stage II PatientsAt 5 yearsTo estimate the proportions of Stage I unresected, Stage I resected (whose disease has recurred after observation), and Stage II LPHD patients who can be cured with AV-PC x 3, with IFRT for those who are not in a CR after chemotherapy.
Grade 3 or 4 ToxicityAny time during chemoradiotherapy, up to the end of 3-cycles of AV-PC induction. Each cycle is 21 days.

Countries

Australia, Canada, Israel, New Zealand, Puerto Rico, United States

Contacts

PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATORBurton E Appel

Children's Oncology Group

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Surgery or Combination Chemotherapy, With/Without Radiotherapy
Patients receive doxorubicin hydrochloride 50 mg/m2 IV over 10-30 minutes and cyclophosphamide 800 mg/mg2 IV over 1 hour on day 1, vincristine sulfate 1.4 mg/m2 IV (2.8 mg maximum) over 1 minute on days 1 and 8, and prednisone 40 mg/m2/day PO or IV two or three times daily on days 1-7. Treatment repeats every 21 days for 3 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients who achieve CR after 3 courses of therapy proceed to follow-up. Patients who do not achieve a CR proceed to involved-field radiation therapy (IFRT). IFRT: Beginning within 3 weeks after completion of combination chemotherapy, patients undergo IFRT once daily, 5 days a week for 2.8 weeks (14 treatments). doxorubicin hydrochloride: Given IV conventional surgery: Undergo surgery cyclophosphamide: Given IV prednisone: Given IV or PO vincristine sulfate: Given IV radiation therapy: Undergo IFRT
188
Total188

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicSurgery or Combination Chemotherapy, With/Without Radiotherapy
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
184 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
0 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
4 Participants
Age, Continuous13 years
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
16 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
164 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
8 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
5 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
21 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
17 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
144 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Australia
2 participants
Region of Enrollment
Canada
20 participants
Region of Enrollment
Israel
2 participants
Region of Enrollment
Puerto Rico
2 participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
162 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
31 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
157 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
other
Total, other adverse events
26 / 183
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 183

Outcome results

Primary

Failure-free Survival (FFS)

The time to a treatment (strategy) failure, where failure includes one of the following occurrences as a first event: disseminated disease (\> Stage I/II) progression or recurrence at any time, local disease progression or recurrence anytime during or after treatment with AV-PC +/- IFRT, occurrence of a second malignant neoplasm, death from any cause.

Time frame: At 5 years

Population: Of 188 patients enrolled, five ineligible patients and five patients who did not receive the upfront chemotherapy +/- RT per protocol were excluded from this analysis. 178 patients are included. The median follow-up for the 164 censored patients is 61.2 (range 3.5-107.4) months.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Surgery or Combination Chemotherapy, With/Without RadiotherapyFailure-free Survival (FFS)0.91 Probability participants
Secondary

Cure by AV-PC x 3 or AV-PC x 3 + IFRT for Stage I Unresected, Stage I Resected Whose Disease Recurred, and Stage II Patients

To estimate the proportions of Stage I unresected, Stage I resected (whose disease has recurred after observation), and Stage II LPHD patients who can be cured with AV-PC x 3, with IFRT for those who are not in a CR after chemotherapy.

Time frame: At 5 years

Population: Of 188 patients enrolled, five ineligible patients were excluded. 136 patients received upfront AV-PC with or without RT per protocol. Of these 135 achieved CR with AV-PC and avoided RT. The median follow up among the 121 censored patients is 62.2 months (range 3.4-104.5).

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Surgery or Combination Chemotherapy, With/Without RadiotherapyCure by AV-PC x 3 or AV-PC x 3 + IFRT for Stage I Unresected, Stage I Resected Whose Disease Recurred, and Stage II Patients0.89 Probability participants
Secondary

Cure by Surgery Alone in Stage I Resected Patients

To estimate the proportion of Stage I patients (with a single involved lymph node that is totally resected) who can be cured with surgery alone.

Time frame: At 2 years

Population: Of 188 patients enrolled, five ineligible patients were excluded. 52 patients with Stage IA, single node LPHL were enrolled with a confirmed total resection (TR). The median follow up among the 39 censored patients is 56.3 months (range 3.9-107.4).

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Surgery or Combination Chemotherapy, With/Without RadiotherapyCure by Surgery Alone in Stage I Resected Patients0.82 Probability participants
Secondary

Event-free Survival

Failure includes one of the following occurrences as a first event: relapse/progression or second malignancy from enrollment.

Time frame: At 5 years

Population: Of 188 patients enrolled, five ineligible patients were excluded from this analysis. 183 patients are included. The median follow-up time for the 155 censored patients is 61.2 months (range 0.03-107.4).

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Surgery or Combination Chemotherapy, With/Without RadiotherapyEvent-free Survival0.85 Probability participants
Secondary

Grade 3 or 4 Toxicity

Time frame: Any time during chemoradiotherapy, up to the end of 3-cycles of AV-PC induction. Each cycle is 21 days.

Population: Eligible patients beginning AV-PC.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Surgery or Combination Chemotherapy, With/Without RadiotherapyGrade 3 or 4 Toxicity26 Participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Jun 6, 2026