Skip to content

Adjuvant Hypofractionated Intensity-Modulated Radiation Therapy With Incorporated Boost in Treating Patients With Early-Stage Breast Cancer

Phase II Study of Hypofractionated Intensity Modulated Radiation Therapy (IMRT) With Incorporated Boost in Early Stage Breast Cancer

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT00084539
Enrollment
78
Registered
2004-06-11
Start date
2003-11-30
Completion date
Unknown
Last updated
2016-03-03

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Breast Cancer

Keywords

stage I breast cancer, stage II breast cancer, breast cancer in situ

Brief summary

RATIONALE: Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Hypofractionated (fewer treatments than in standard radiation therapy) intensity-modulated radiation therapy (radiation directed at the tumor more precisely than in standard radiation therapy) with incorporated boost (an increase in the amount of radiation given during treatment) may kill more tumor cells. PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well adjuvant hypofractionated intensity-modulated radiation therapy with incorporated boost works in treating patients with early-stage breast cancer.

Detailed description

OBJECTIVES: Primary * Determine the toxicity associated with adjuvant hypofractionated intensity-modulated radiotherapy using an incorporated boost in patients with early-stage breast cancer. Secondary * Determine the long-term cosmetic result and quality of life of patients treated with this regimen. * Determine the long-term local control in patients treated with this regimen. OUTLINE: Patients undergo adjuvant hypofractionated intensity-modulated radiotherapy with incorporated boost once daily 5 days a week for 4 weeks. Quality of life is assessed within 1 month of starting radiotherapy, at 6 weeks after completion of radiotherapy, and then every 6 months for 5 years. Patients are followed at 6 weeks and then every six months for 5 years. PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 37-74 patients will be accrued for this study.

Interventions

RADIATIONRadiation therapy

Sponsors

National Cancer Institute (NCI)
CollaboratorNIH
Fox Chase Cancer Center
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: * Histologically confirmed carcinoma of the breast * Invasive or in-situ disease * Stage Tis, T1, or T2 (AJCC stage 0, I, or II) disease * Treated with breast-conserving surgery within the past 8 weeks * Hormone receptor status: * Not specified PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age * 18 and over Sex * Not specified Menopausal status * Not specified Performance status * ECOG 0-2 Life expectancy * Not specified Hematopoietic * Absolute neutrophil count ≥ 1,500/mm\^3 * Platelet count ≥ 75,000/mm\^3 Hepatic * Not specified Renal * Not specified Other * No other malignancy within the past 2 years except inactive, non-invasive carcinoma of the cervix or non-melanoma skin cancer * No active systemic lupus * No history of scleroderma * No other medical or psychiatric condition that would preclude study participation * Not pregnant or nursing * Negative pregnancy test * Fertile patients must use effective contraception PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy * Not specified Chemotherapy * No more than 6 weeks since prior adjuvant systemic chemotherapy * No concurrent chemotherapy Endocrine therapy * Not specified Radiotherapy * No prior radiotherapy to the breast Surgery * See Disease Characteristics

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frame
Acute toxicity by CTCAE at 6 weeks6 weeks

Secondary

MeasureTime frame
Quality of life as measured by the Breast Cancer Treatment Outcome Scale (BCTOS) every 6 months for 5 yearsevery 6 months for 5 years

Countries

United States

Outcome results

None listed

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026