Skip to content

Vincristine, Dactinomycin, and Cyclophosphamide With or Without Radiation Therapy in Treating Patients With Newly Diagnosed Low-Risk Rhabdomyosarcoma

Vincristine, Dactinomycin, and Lower Doses of Cyclophosphamide With or Without Radiation Therapy for Patients With Newly Diagnosed Low-Risk Embryonal/Botryoid/Spindle Cell Rhabdomyosarcoma

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT00075582
Enrollment
390
Registered
2004-01-12
Start date
2004-09-04
Completion date
2021-09-30
Last updated
2021-11-19

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Adult Rhabdomyosarcoma, Embryonal-botryoid Childhood Rhabdomyosarcoma, Embryonal Childhood Rhabdomyosarcoma, Previously Untreated Childhood Rhabdomyosarcoma

Brief summary

This phase III trial is studying how well combination chemotherapy and radiation therapy work in treating patients with newly diagnosed low-risk rhabdomyosarcoma. Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as vincristine, dactinomycin, and cyclophosphamide, work in different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Combining chemotherapy with radiation therapy may kill more tumor cells. It is not yet known which treatment regimen is more effective in treating low-risk rhabdomyosarcoma.

Detailed description

PRIMARY OBJECTIVES: I. Determine the failure-free survival of patients with newly diagnosed low-risk rhabdomyosarcoma treated with vincristine (V), dactinomycin (A), cyclophosphamide (C), and radiotherapy. SECONDARY OBJECTIVES: I. Determine local control rates in patients treated with this regimen. II. Determine the rate of second-look surgery in patients with bulk residual tumor at diagnosis (clinical group III) and the proportion of second-look surgeries that render patients treated with this regimen tumor-free or with microscopic tumor only and evaluate the pathologic significance of that residual tumor. III. Determine the local control rates in patients with clinical group III disease treated with response-adjusted radiotherapy doses after second-look surgical resection. OUTLINE: This is a nonrandomized, multicenter study. Patients are assigned to 1 of 2 treatment regimens according to disease stage and clinical group. REGIMEN I (subset 1 patients) \[closed to accrual as of 08/13/2010: Patients receive VAC chemotherapy comprising vincristine IV over 1 minute on day 1 of weeks 1-9 and dactinomycin IV over 1 minute and cyclophosphamide IV over 1 hour on day 1 of weeks 1, 4, 7, and 10; VA chemotherapy comprising vincristine IV over 1 minute on day 1 of weeks 13-21 and dactinomycin\* IV over 1 minute on day 1 of weeks 13, 16, 19, and 22; and radiotherapy\*\*, 5 days a week, beginning on week 13 and continuing for 4-7 weeks, depending on prescribed dose. REGIMEN II (subset 2 patients)\[closed to accrual as of 9/23/2011\]: Patients receive VAC chemotherapy and radiotherapy\*\* as in regimen I and VA chemotherapy comprising vincristine IV over 1 minute on day 1 of weeks 13-21, 25-33, and 37-45 and dactinomycin\* IV over 1 minute on day 1 of weeks 13, 16, 19, 22, 25, 28, 31, 34, 37, 40, 43, and 46. Patients with clinical group III disease may undergo second-look surgery at week 13 followed by response-adjusted radiotherapy, and continued VA\* chemotherapy. In both regimens, treatment continues in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. NOTE: \*For both regimens, dactinomycin is omitted during radiotherapy. NOTE: \*\*Clinical Group I tumors and those with Clinical Group III uterine/cervix primary disease with negative nodes who have undergone a complete resection (i.e. hysterectomy) at Week 13 do not receive radiotherapy at Week 13 Patients are followed up every 3 months for 1 year, every 4 months for 2 years, every 6 months for 1 year, and then annually thereafter.

Interventions

PROCEDUREconventional surgery

Some patients may undergo second-look surgery

DRUGdactinomycin

Given IV

DRUGcyclophosphamide

Given IV

DRUGvincristine sulfate

Given IV

RADIATIONradiation therapy

Undergo radiotherapy

Sponsors

National Cancer Institute (NCI)
CollaboratorNIH
Children's Oncology Group
Lead SponsorNETWORK

Study design

Allocation
NON_RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
No minimum to 49 Years
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Histologically confirmed newly diagnosed embryonal rhabdomyosarcoma (RMS), botryoid or spindle cell variants of embryonal RMS, or embryonal ectomesenchymoma, meeting criteria for 1 of the following subsets: * Subset 1, defined by meeting 1 of the following criteria (closed to accrual as of 08/13/2010): * Stage 1 and clinical group I (completely resected) or II (microscopic residual disease and/or regional lymph node involvement) disease * Stage 1 and clinical group III (gross residual disease) disease arising in the orbit * Stage 2 and clinical group I or II disease * Subset 2, defined by meeting 1 of the following criteria (closed to accrual as of 09/23/2011): * Stage 1 and clinical group III disease arising in a non-orbit site * Stage 3 and clinical group I or II disease * Prior staging ipsilateral retroperitoneal lymph node dissection required for all patients age 10 and over with paratesticular tumors and patients under 10 years of age with clinically or radiographically involved lymph nodes (except when extensive lymph node involvement is identified by imaging studies) * If there is extensive gross node involvement only confirmatory node biopsy is recommended and the patient is classified as Clinical Group III * Prior regional lymph node sampling required for patients with extremity tumors * None of the following diagnoses: * Intermediate-risk embryonal RMS * Metastatic embryonal RMS * Alveolar RMS * Undifferentiated sarcoma * RMS not otherwise specified (NOS) * Other soft tissue sarcoma, including sarcoma NOS * Prior enrollment on clinical trial COG-D9902 * Performance status - ECOG 0-2 * Performance status - Karnofsky 50-100% (≥ 16 years old) * Performance status - Lansky 50-100% (\< 16 years old) * Absolute neutrophil count at least 750/mm\^3 * Platelet count at least 75,000/mm\^3 (transfusion independent) * Bilirubin no greater than 1.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN)\* * Creatinine\* based on age/gender as follows: * No greater than 0.8 mg/dL for patients age 5 and under * No greater than 1.0 mg/dL for patients age 6 to 9 * No greater than 1.2 mg/dL for patients age 10 to 12 * No greater than 1.4 mg/dL for female patients age 13 and over * No greater than 1.5 mg/dL for male patients age 13 to 15 * No greater than 1.7 mg/dL for male patients age 16 and over * Creatinine clearance\* or radioisotope glomerular filtration rate at least 70 mL/min/1.73 m\^2 * Not pregnant or nursing * Negative pregnancy test * Fertile patients must use effective contraception * No uncontrolled infection * No prior chemotherapy (except for patients treated on the related intermediate-risk study) * Prior steroids allowed * No prior radiotherapy

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Percentage of Patients With Low-risk Rhabdomyosarcoma in Subset 1 Failure Free at 5 Years Following Study EntryFrom enrollment up to 5 yearsKaplan Meier estimate of failure free survival at 5 years, where failure free survival is defined as the time to relapse, progression, second malignancy, and death whichever occurs first.
Percentage of Patients With Stage 1, Clinical Group IIB or C (Node Positive) or Stage 2 Failure Free at 5 Years Following Study EntryFrom enrollment up to 5 yearsKaplan Meier estimate of failure free survival at 5 years, where failure free survival is defined as the time to relapse, progression, second malignancy, and death whichever occurs first.
Percentage of Patients With Low-risk Rhabdomyosarcoma in Subset 2 Failure Free at 5 Years Following Study EntryFrom enrollment up to 5 yearsKaplan Meier estimate of failure free survival at 5 years, where failure free survival is defined as the time to relapse, progression, second malignancy, and death whichever occurs first.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Cumulative Incidence of Patients Who Receive Reduced Doses of Radiation TherapyFrom enrollment up to 5 yearsThe local failure rate will be estimated using cumulative incidence curves.
Percentage of Patients With Delayed Surgical ProceduresAt 13 weeks after inductionThe decision to perform second-look surgery should be based on the physical examination and imaging studies at Week 12 and should only be considered if a reasonable functional and cosmetic result is anticipated.
Cumulative Incidence of Group III Patients Who Received With Reduced Radiotherapy DoseFrom enrollment up to 20 weeksThe local failure rate will be estimated using cumulative incidence curves for Group III patients who received reduced doses of radiation therapy after second look surgical resection.

Countries

Australia, Canada, New Zealand, Puerto Rico, Switzerland, United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Regimen I (Chemotherapy, Radiotherapy)
Patients receive VAC chemotherapy comprising vincristine sulfate IV over 1 minute on day 1 of weeks 1-9 and dactinomycin IV over 1 minute and cyclophosphamide IV over 1 hour on day 1 of weeks 1, 4, 7, and 10; VA chemotherapy comprising vincristine sulfate IV over 1 minute on day 1 of weeks 13-21 and dactinomycin IV over 1 minute on day 1 of weeks 13, 16, 19, and 22 (dactinomycin is omitted during radiation therapy); and radiation therapy, 5 days a week, beginning on week 13 and continuing for 4-7 weeks, depending on prescribed dose. Some patients do not receive radiation therapy; some start it at week 24. (closed to accrual as of 08/13/2010) dactinomycin: Given IV cyclophosphamide: Given IV vincristine sulfate: Given IV radiation therapy: Undergo radiotherapy
305
Regimen II (Chemotherapy, Radiotherapy, Surgery)
Patients receive VAC chemotherapy and radiation therapy as in regimen I and VA chemotherapy comprising vincristine sulfate IV over 1 minute on day 1 of weeks 13-21, 25-33, and 37-45 and dactinomycin IV over 1 minute on day 1 of weeks 13, 16, 19, 22, 25, 28, 31, 34, 37, 40, 43, and 46 (dactinomycin is omitted during radiation therapy). Some patients do not receive radiation therapy; some start it at week 13 and some at week 24. Some patients have conventional surgery (second-look) at Week 13 (closed to accrual as of 9/23/2011). conventional surgery: Some patients may undergo second-look surgery dactinomycin: Given IV cyclophosphamide: Given IV vincristine sulfate: Given IV radiation therapy: Undergo radiotherapy
85
Total390

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001
Overall StudyAdverse Event31
Overall StudyIneligible for study3616
Overall StudyLack of Efficacy48
Overall StudyPhysician Decision58
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject22

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicRegimen I (Chemotherapy, Radiotherapy)TotalRegimen II (Chemotherapy, Radiotherapy, Surgery)
Age, Continuous7.69 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 5.81
7.11 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 6.13
5.02 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 6.78
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
38 Participants47 Participants9 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
255 Participants326 Participants71 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
12 Participants17 Participants5 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
2 Participants4 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
9 Participants11 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
39 Participants48 Participants9 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
1 Participants1 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
26 Participants33 Participants7 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
228 Participants293 Participants65 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Australia
7 participants10 participants3 participants
Region of Enrollment
Canada
21 participants26 participants5 participants
Region of Enrollment
Netherlands
2 participants2 participants0 participants
Region of Enrollment
New Zealand
1 participants1 participants0 participants
Region of Enrollment
Puerto Rico
2 participants2 participants0 participants
Region of Enrollment
Switzerland
3 participants3 participants0 participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
269 participants346 participants77 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
88 Participants143 Participants55 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
217 Participants247 Participants30 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
— / —— / —
other
Total, other adverse events
74 / 27227 / 70
serious
Total, serious adverse events
1 / 2721 / 70

Outcome results

Primary

Percentage of Patients With Low-risk Rhabdomyosarcoma in Subset 1 Failure Free at 5 Years Following Study Entry

Kaplan Meier estimate of failure free survival at 5 years, where failure free survival is defined as the time to relapse, progression, second malignancy, and death whichever occurs first.

Time frame: From enrollment up to 5 years

Population: Patients found not to meet the eligibility requirements are by group policy not followed for adverse events or outcome.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Regimen I (Chemotherapy, Radiotherapy)Percentage of Patients With Low-risk Rhabdomyosarcoma in Subset 1 Failure Free at 5 Years Following Study Entry87 Estimated percentage of participants
Regimen II (Chemotherapy, Radiotherapy, Surgery)Percentage of Patients With Low-risk Rhabdomyosarcoma in Subset 1 Failure Free at 5 Years Following Study Entry67 Estimated percentage of participants
Primary

Percentage of Patients With Low-risk Rhabdomyosarcoma in Subset 2 Failure Free at 5 Years Following Study Entry

Kaplan Meier estimate of failure free survival at 5 years, where failure free survival is defined as the time to relapse, progression, second malignancy, and death whichever occurs first.

Time frame: From enrollment up to 5 years

Population: All eligible patients among this subset of regimen 2 patients were included in this outcome measure to regimen 2 patients (there were 16 patients determined ineligible). Patients found not to meet the eligibility requirements are by group policy not followed for adverse events or outcome measures.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Regimen I (Chemotherapy, Radiotherapy)Percentage of Patients With Low-risk Rhabdomyosarcoma in Subset 2 Failure Free at 5 Years Following Study Entry67 Estimated percentage of participants
Primary

Percentage of Patients With Stage 1, Clinical Group IIB or C (Node Positive) or Stage 2 Failure Free at 5 Years Following Study Entry

Kaplan Meier estimate of failure free survival at 5 years, where failure free survival is defined as the time to relapse, progression, second malignancy, and death whichever occurs first.

Time frame: From enrollment up to 5 years

Population: All eligible patients among this subset of regimen 1 patients were included in this outcome measure restricted to regimen 1 patients (there were 36 patients determined ineligible). Patients found not to meet the eligibility requirements are by group policy not followed for adverse events or outcome measures.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Regimen I (Chemotherapy, Radiotherapy)Percentage of Patients With Stage 1, Clinical Group IIB or C (Node Positive) or Stage 2 Failure Free at 5 Years Following Study Entry90 Estimated percentage of participants
Secondary

Cumulative Incidence of Group III Patients Who Received With Reduced Radiotherapy Dose

The local failure rate will be estimated using cumulative incidence curves for Group III patients who received reduced doses of radiation therapy after second look surgical resection.

Time frame: From enrollment up to 20 weeks

Population: Patients with Group III vaginal primary tumor

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Regimen I (Chemotherapy, Radiotherapy)Cumulative Incidence of Group III Patients Who Received With Reduced Radiotherapy Dose0 Estimated percentage of participants
Secondary

Cumulative Incidence of Patients Who Receive Reduced Doses of Radiation Therapy

The local failure rate will be estimated using cumulative incidence curves.

Time frame: From enrollment up to 5 years

Population: Patients who received reduced doses of radiation therapy.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Regimen I (Chemotherapy, Radiotherapy)Cumulative Incidence of Patients Who Receive Reduced Doses of Radiation Therapy0.081 stimated percentage of participants
Regimen II (Chemotherapy, Radiotherapy, Surgery)Cumulative Incidence of Patients Who Receive Reduced Doses of Radiation Therapy0.115 stimated percentage of participants
Secondary

Percentage of Patients With Delayed Surgical Procedures

The decision to perform second-look surgery should be based on the physical examination and imaging studies at Week 12 and should only be considered if a reasonable functional and cosmetic result is anticipated.

Time frame: At 13 weeks after induction

Population: All eligible Stage I Group III nonorbit primary and stage III group I/II patients

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Regimen I (Chemotherapy, Radiotherapy)Percentage of Patients With Delayed Surgical Procedures0.49 percentage of participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 6, 2026