Skip to content

Topical Imiquimod Compared With Surgery in Treating Patients With Basal Cell Skin Cancer

A Randomized Controlled Trial of Excisional Surgery Versus Imiquimod 5% Cream for Nodular and Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT00066872
Enrollment
500
Registered
2003-08-07
Start date
2002-10-31
Completion date
2010-04-30
Last updated
2013-09-17

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Non-melanomatous Skin Cancer

Keywords

basal cell carcinoma of the skin

Brief summary

RATIONALE: Biological therapies such as imiquimod use different ways to stimulate the immune system and stop cancer cells from growing. It is not yet known if topical imiquimod is more effective than surgery in treating basal cell skin cancer. PURPOSE: This randomized phase III trial is studying how well topical imiquimod works compared to surgery in treating patients with basal cell skin cancer.

Detailed description

OBJECTIVES: * Compare the rate of local recurrence at 3 years in patients with nodular or superficial basal cell skin cancer treated with imiquimod 5% cream vs excisional surgery. * Compare recurrence at 6 months and 1, 2, and 5 years in patients treated with these regimens. * Compare the time to first recurrence in patients treated with these regimens. * Compare the aesthetic appearance of lesion sites in patients treated with these regimens. * Compare pain in patients treated with these regimens. OUTLINE: This is a randomized, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to participating center and lesion type (nodular vs superficial). Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms. * Arm I: Patients receive topical imiquimod to a single lesion once daily for 6 weeks for a superficial lesion or 12 weeks for a nodular lesion. Patients with early treatment failure or recurrence are offered surgical excision. * Arm II: Patients undergo surgical excision. Patients are followed at 6, 12, and 18 weeks, every 6 months for 1 year, annually for 2 years, and then at 5 years. Peer Reviewed and Funded or Endorsed by Cancer Research UK PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 500 patients will be accrued for this study within 18 months.

Interventions

DRUGimiquimod
PROCEDUREconventional surgery

Sponsors

Queen's Medical Center
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Primary purpose
TREATMENT

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: * Histologically confirmed primary basal cell skin carcinoma * Nodular or superficial lesion(s)\* * Located in low-risk areas NOTE: \*Any number of lesions are allowed but only 1 lesion per patient is selected for the study * No genetic or nevoid conditions (e.g., Gorlin's syndrome) * No morphoeic (microinfiltrative) histology PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age * Any age Performance status * Not specified Life expectancy * Not specified Hematopoietic * No bleeding disorder Hepatic * Not specified Renal * Not specified Other * Not pregnant or nursing * Negative pregnancy test * Fertile patients must use effective contraception during and for up to 1 month after study participation * No allergy to any of the study interventions * No life-threatening disease * Must be available for study follow-up for up to 3 years * Must have access to a telephone PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy * Not specified Chemotherapy * Not specified Endocrine therapy * Not specified Radiotherapy * Not specified Surgery * Not specified Other * No concurrent participation in any other experimental trial

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frame
Absence of local recurrence at 3 years after start of treatment

Secondary

MeasureTime frame
Recurrence of basal cell cancer (BCC) at 1, 2, and 5 years
Time to first occurrence up to 5 years from completion of study treatment
Aesthetic appearance of lesion site as measured by participant and blind observer using 5-point Likert scale at 6 months, and then years 1-3
Pain at lesion site as measured by 6-point scale daily during treatment, and then 16 weeks after the completion of study treatment
Cost effectiveness assessed up to 3 or 5 years

Countries

United Kingdom

Outcome results

None listed

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Mar 31, 2026