Skip to content

Chemotherapy Combined With Radiation Therapy in Treating Patients With Limited-Stage Small Cell Lung Cancer

Phase I Study of Irinotecan and Cisplatin in Combination With Twice Daily Thoracic Radiotherapy (45 Gy) or Once Daily Thoracic Radiotherapy (70 Gy) for Patients With Limited Stage Small Cell Lung Cancer

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 1
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT00059761
Enrollment
36
Registered
2003-05-07
Start date
2003-03-31
Completion date
2013-11-30
Last updated
2015-11-17

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Lung Cancer

Keywords

limited stage small cell lung cancer

Brief summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Combining chemotherapy with radiation therapy may kill more tumor cells. PURPOSE: Phase I trial to study the effect on the body when combining irinotecan and cisplatin with radiation therapy in treating patients who have limited-stage small cell lung cancer that could not be completely removed during surgery.

Detailed description

OBJECTIVES: * Determine the maximum tolerated dose of irinotecan administered with cisplatin and thoracic radiotherapy (given at two different schedules) in patients with limited stage small cell lung cancer. * Determine the qualitative and quantitative toxicity and non-dose-limiting toxicity of these regimens in these patients. * Determine the reversibility of all toxic effects associated with these regimens in these patients. OUTLINE: This is a non-randomized, dose-escalation study of irinotecan. Patients are assigned to 1 of 2 radiotherapy (RT) treatment groups. * Radiotherapy: * Group I: Patients undergo thoracic RT twice daily, 5 days a week, for 3 weeks. * Group II: Patients undergo thoracic RT once daily, 5 days a week, for 7 weeks. * Concurrent chemotherapy: Patients receive irinotecan IV over 60-90 minutes on days 1 and 8 and cisplatin IV over 1 hour on day 1. Treatment repeats every 3 weeks for 1 course for group I and 2 courses for group II. * Post RT chemotherapy: Patients receive irinotecan and cisplatin as above for 3 courses for group I and 2 courses, beginning after RT is complete, for group II. Sequential cohorts of 6 patients per group receive escalating doses of irinotecan until the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) is determined. The MTD is defined as the dose preceding that at which 2 of 6 patients experience dose-limiting toxicity. Patients are followed every 3 months for 1 year and then 6 months for 4 years. PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 12-36 patients (6-18 per group) will be accrued for this study within 18 months.

Interventions

DRUGcisplatin
DRUGirinotecan hydrochloride
RADIATIONradiation therapy

Sponsors

National Cancer Institute (NCI)
CollaboratorNIH
Radiation Therapy Oncology Group
Lead SponsorNETWORK

Study design

Allocation
NON_RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: * Histologically or cytologically confirmed small cell lung cancer by one of two methods: * Fine needle aspiration biopsy * Two positive sputa * Must have limited disease as defined by all of the following: * Stage I-IIIB * Confined to 1 hemithorax * No T4 tumor based on malignant pleural or pericardial effusion * Patients with pleural effusion too small to tap under CT guidance and not evident on chest x-ray are allowed * No N3 disease based on contralateral hilar or contralateral supraclavicular involvement * Measurable or evaluable disease * Tumor must be able to be encompassed by specified radiotherapy fields without unacceptable risk of serious pulmonary compromise * No complete tumor resection * No pericardial effusion (regardless of cytology) PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age * 18 and over Performance status * Zubrod 0-1 Life expectancy * Not specified Hematopoietic * Absolute granulocyte count at least 1,500/mm\^3 * Platelet count at least 120,000/mm\^3 Hepatic * Bilirubin no greater than 1.5 mg/dL * No known Gilbert's disease Renal * Creatinine no greater than 1.5 mg/dL Cardiovascular * No myocardial infarction within the past 6 months * No symptomatic heart disease Pulmonary * Forced expiratory volume (FEV)\_1 at least 1.0 L/sec * No uncontrolled bronchospasms * No uncompensated chronic obstructive pulmonary disease Other * Not pregnant or nursing * Negative pregnancy test * Fertile patients must use effective contraception * No pre-existing peripheral neuropathy grade 2 or greater * No other malignancy within the past 2 years except curatively treated basal or squamous cell skin cancer or carcinoma in situ of the bladder or cervix * No other concurrent serious medical illness PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy * No prior biologic therapy Chemotherapy * No prior chemotherapy Endocrine therapy * Not specified Radiotherapy * No prior radiotherapy * No concurrent intensity-modulated radiotherapy Surgery * See Disease Characteristics Other * At least 7 days since prior enzyme-inducing anti-convulsant drugs (EIACDs) (e.g., phenytoin, carbamazepine, or phenobarbital) if used on a regular basis for more than 2 weeks * Less than 2 weeks of regular use of EIACDs does not require a 7-day wash-out period * At least 14 days since prior Hypericum perforatum (St. John's wort) * No concurrent EIACDs * No concurrent amifostine during chemoradiotherapy * Concurrent gabapentin or other non-EIACDs allowed

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frame
Maximum tolerated dose of irinotecan in combination with cisplatin and thoracic radiotherapy (45 Gy BID or 70 Gy daily) by toxicity assessment (Common Toxicity Criteria version 3.0) during acute and late toxicityFrom the start of treatment until 90 days

Secondary

MeasureTime frame
Rate of non-dose limiting toxicityFrom start of treatment to the end of follow-up

Countries

United States

Outcome results

None listed

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026