Skip to content

Combination Chemotherapy in Treating Patients With Recurrent or Refractory Small Cell Lung Cancer

Phase II Trial of Gemcitabine/Irinotecan as Second Line Therapy for Small Cell Lung Cancer

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT00005972
Enrollment
73
Registered
2004-03-24
Start date
2000-05-31
Completion date
2008-02-29
Last updated
2016-07-14

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Lung Cancer

Keywords

recurrent small cell lung cancer

Brief summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more tumor cells. PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of combination chemotherapy in treating patients who have recurrent or refractory small cell lung cancer.

Detailed description

OBJECTIVES: I. Determine the overall, complete, and partial response rates of patients with recurrent or refractory small cell lung cancer when treated with gemcitabine plus irinotecan. II. Determine the overall and failure free survival of these patients when treated with this regimen. III. Determine the duration of response of these patients after this treatment. IV. Evaluate the toxicity associated with the administration of this treatment in this patient population. OUTLINE: Patients are stratified according to prior response duration (progression 90 days or more after initial therapy vs progression less than 90 days after initial therapy or no response to initial therapy). Patients receive gemcitabine IV over 30 minutes and irinotecan IV over 90 minutes on days 1 and 8. Treatment continues every 21 days in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients are followed every 3 months for 1 year, then every 6 months for 2 years, and then annually for 3 years. PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 78 patients will be accrued for this study over 12-18 months.

Interventions

DRUGgemcitabine hydrochloride
DRUGirinotecan hydrochloride

Sponsors

National Cancer Institute (NCI)
CollaboratorNIH
Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Histologically or cytologically confirmed recurrent or refractory small cell lung cancer Measurable disease At least 20 mm with conventional techniques OR At least 10 mm with spiral CT scan The following are not considered measurable: Bone lesions Leptomeningeal disease Ascites Pleural/pericardial effusion Abdominal masses not confirmed and followed by imaging techniques Cystic lesions Tumor lesions situated in a previously irradiated area Known CNS metastases allowed PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: 18 and over Performance status: CTC 0-2 Life expectancy: Not specified Hematopoietic: Granulocyte count at least 1,500/mm3 Platelet count at least 100,000/mm3 Hepatic: Bilirubin no greater than 1.5 mg/dL Renal: Creatinine no greater than 2.0 mg/dL Other: Not pregnant or nursing Fertile patients must use effective contraception No prior or concurrent malignancy in past 5 years except curatively treated carcinoma in situ of the cervix, breast, or basal cell or squamous cell carcinoma of the skin PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy: Not specified Chemotherapy: No more than 1 prior chemotherapy or chemoradiotherapy regimen No prior gemcitabine or irinotecan Endocrine therapy: Not specified Radiotherapy: No more than 1 prior chemoradiotherapy regimen At least 2 weeks since prior cranial radiotherapy for CNS metastases No concurrent cranial radiotherapy Surgery: Not specified

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frame
overall response rateUp to 18 weeks

Secondary

MeasureTime frame
overall survivalUp to 18 weeks
failure-free survivalUp to 18 weeks

Countries

United States

Outcome results

None listed

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026