Skip to content

Combination Chemotherapy in Treating Patients With Extensive Stage Small Cell Lung Cancer

Phase III Randomized Study of Cisplatin and Etoposide With or Without Epirubicin and Cyclophosphamide for Extensive Stage Small Cell Lung Cancer

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT00003606
Enrollment
216
Registered
2004-05-21
Start date
1996-03-31
Completion date
2001-06-30
Last updated
2021-02-21

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Lung Cancer

Keywords

extensive stage small cell lung cancer

Brief summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more tumor cells. It is not yet known whether combination chemotherapy with or without epirubicin and cyclophosphamide is more effective in treating patients with extensive stage small cell lung cancer. PURPOSE: Randomized phase III trial to compare the effectiveness of combination chemotherapy with or without epirubicin and cyclophosphamide in treating patients who have extensive stage small cell lung cancer.

Detailed description

OBJECTIVES: I. Compare the overall survival and survival without recurrence of patients with extensive stage small cell lung cancer after receiving cisplatin and etoposide with or without epirubicin and cyclophosphamide. II. Compare the relative dose and intensity of cisplatin and etoposide between the two groups of patients. III. Compare the complete and objective response rate and quality of life of these patients. IV. Compare the toxic effects of these 2 regimens in these patients. OUTLINE: This is a randomized, multicenter study. Patients are randomized to one of two treatment arms. Arm I: Patients receive etoposide IV on days 1 and 3 and cisplatin IV on day 2. Arm II: Patients receive etoposide and cisplatin as in arm I, plus epirubicin IV on day 1 and cyclophosphamide IV on days 1 and 3. Treatment is repeated in both arms every 28 days for up to 6 courses. Patients who achieve a partial or complete response receive cerebral and/or thoracic radiotherapy. Patients with residual tumor may receive oral etoposide for 3 of every 4 weeks. Patients are followed every 3 months. PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 216 patients will be accrued for this study within 2.5 years.

Interventions

DRUGcisplatin
DRUGcyclophosphamide
DRUGepirubicin hydrochloride
DRUGetoposide
RADIATIONradiation therapy

Sponsors

UNICANCER
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Primary purpose
TREATMENT

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to 75 Years
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Histologically proven extensive stage small cell lung cancer Extends beyond hemithorax and supraclavicular lymph nodes Pleural effusions allowed Bidimensionally measurable disease Bone marrow metastases allowed No symptomatic CNS metastases or carcinomatous meningitis PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: 18 to 75 Performance status: 0-2 Life expectancy: Not specified Hematopoietic: Neutrophil count at least 2,000/mm3 Platelet count at least 100,000/mm3 Hepatic: Bilirubin no greater than 1.5 times normal Renal: Creatinine less than 1.24 mg/dL OR Creatinine clearance greater than 60 mL/min Cardiovascular: No cardiac insufficiency No uncontrolled cardiac disease LVEF greater than 50% OR ECHO greater than 30% Other: Not pregnant Fertile patients must use effective contraception No psychoses No active infection No loss of weight greater than 10% during the last 3 months No other malignancy except nonmelanomatous skin cancer or stage I cervical cancer PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy: No prior or concurrent immunotherapy Chemotherapy: No prior or other concurrent chemotherapy Endocrine therapy: Not specified Radiotherapy: No prior or concurrent radiotherapy Surgery: No prior or concurrent surgery

Countries

France

Outcome results

None listed

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026