Skip to content

Dolastatin 10 in Treating Patients With Metastatic Or Recurrent Liver, Bile Duct, or Gallbladder Cancer

A Phase II Trial of Dolastatin-10 (NSC 376128) Administered as an IV Bolus Every 3 Weeks in Patients With Hepatobiliary Cancer

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT00003557
Enrollment
16
Registered
2004-07-22
Start date
1999-01-31
Completion date
2003-08-31
Last updated
2014-03-06

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Extrahepatic Bile Duct Cancer, Gallbladder Cancer, Liver Cancer

Keywords

advanced adult primary liver cancer, recurrent adult primary liver cancer, unresectable gallbladder cancer, recurrent gallbladder cancer, unresectable extrahepatic bile duct cancer, recurrent extrahepatic bile duct cancer, adult primary hepatocellular carcinoma, cholangiocarcinoma of the gallbladder

Brief summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of dolastatin 10 in treating patients with metastatic or recurrent liver, bile duct, or gallbladder cancer.

Detailed description

OBJECTIVES: I. Determine the objective response rate, time to progression, and survival of patients with previously untreated advanced hepatobiliary cancer treated with dolastatin 10. II. Determine the toxicity of this regimen in this patient population. OUTLINE: This is an open label, multicenter study. Patients receive dolastatin 10 IV bolus every 3 weeks. Treatment continues for a minimum of 2 courses in the absence of unacceptable toxicity or disease progression. Patients are followed until death. PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 14-35 evaluable patients will be accrued for this study within 9 months.

Interventions

Sponsors

National Cancer Institute (NCI)
CollaboratorNIH
University of Chicago
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Histologically confirmed metastatic, locally advanced, or recurrent cancer of the liver (hepatoma), bile duct, or gallbladder (cholangiocarcinoma) Bidimensionally measurable disease The following are not considered measurable lesions: Lesions seen on colonoscopic examination or barium studies Bone metastases CNS lesions CEA, CA19-9, or AFP levels Ascites No CNS disease only No symptomatic brain metastases PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: 18 and over Performance status: CALGB 0-2 Life expectancy: Not specified Hematopoietic: WBC at least 3,500/mm3 Neutrophil count at least 1,500/mm3 Platelet count at least 100,000/mm3 OR Platelet count at least 75,000/mm3 in patients with clinically documented sequestration or hemodilution unrelated to primary bone marrow insufficiency Hemoglobin at least 9.0 g/dL Hepatic: Bilirubin no greater than 1.5 mg/dL Transaminases no greater than 5 times upper limit of normal Renal: Creatinine no greater than 1.5 mg/dL OR Creatinine clearance at least 60 mL/min Other: Not pregnant or nursing Negative pregnancy test Fertile patients must use effective contraception No significant underlying medical or psychiatric illness No active infections No other malignancy within the past 5 years except curatively treated nonmelanoma skin cancer and carcinoma in situ of the cervix PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy: Not specified Chemotherapy: No prior chemotherapy for advanced or metastatic hepatobiliary cancer No other concurrent chemotherapy No concurrent investigational antineoplastic drugs Endocrine therapy: Not specified Radiotherapy: No prior radiotherapy to only site of measurable disease At least 6 weeks since prior radiotherapy and recovered No concurrent radiotherapy to any lesion Surgery: Not specified

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frame
Objective Response Rate2 years

Countries

United States

Outcome results

None listed

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026